Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial do Sul

Avenida Almirante Reis 34, Anjos, Arroios, 1150-013 Lisbon, Portugal

#216 of 343 B&Bs and Inns in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1462 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    blah blah
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi in rooms - as advertised so acceptable, but it's 2018 should not be that difficult to expand. No toilet paper in shared bathroom both in the evening and in the morning - sorry, but not acceptable.

    Location is very convenient to enjoy Lisbon, but nothing more to say.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought before arrival that the apartment had its own bathroom and that the apartment was bigger. It could have been informed better on the website

    Nice personal, clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    1 night crash in Lisbon is enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    district is not the best in Lisbon but nearby

    no plug for charging, soap is for everything in shower hand head and not really usefull, bed does not look really clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Short stopover in a busy lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was full,so had the last room which was on street side and shared bathroom...and more expensive than what i am used to over here

    Location,access to metro,close to good pastellaria Capri for good food from 7,30 till 22hrs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    'Neath the halo of a streetlamp I turned my collar to the cold and damp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There had been a few colder days before our arrival in early Jun but nevertheless the room was really chilly and damp. The staff was quite bored and the place seemed a bit rundown.

    The location is really good, close to Salema center and not too far up to the hill. The pool area is also really nice. The room was equipped with a kitchen and with beach towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location, very clean, incredibly friendly staff, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds but not terrible, the kitchen really isn’t a kitchen, the internet is only available on the first floor lounge

    Good location, very clean, incredibly friendly staff, big and spacious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    Personel was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were quite lot of noice from street, but even more bad was that in my room you can here everything what hapend in other room almost same, like people would be in same room.

    Personel was friendly and helpful. Place were locaded near by the metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    really friendly staff, good location, terrible internet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet, just does not work here. They have a common room where they have wifi, but even there, the connection was horrible. No breakfast, but I suggest crossing the street to Banho, a four-star hotel, for really really good breakfast.

    Staff was super friendly. Although everyone spoke perfect English, they helped me learn Portuguese, with a lot of patience. Building is very old and run down, but surprisingly the really strong hot shower. Despite the horror movie hotel feel, it was surprisingly spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    nice staff -24 hours Service - very near to Metro Station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not like the bedroom though it was big (4 single beds for only 2 adults) Unfortunately they did not serve breakfast (only a coffee machine to pay

    nice staff -24 hours Service - very near to Metro Station -we could leave the car at night in front of the Hotel for free

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall a clean and nice place with horrible beds. I think it was a little over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. I was accidentally charged for two nights of taxes for two people instead of one so the woman working that evening gave me free drinks (water and beer) to more than make up the cost. The building itself it quite nice and is in a very good location with a metro stop basically right out the front door. Walking distance to many wonderful things. The room was large and had a private shower which was a surprise. There was a shared bath and it was never an issue of having to wait. It could be a little noisy but always quiet by 10 pm and quiet in the morning. The room was good size....but, the bed was awful. Like really, really uncomfortable as were the pillows. Just hard for me to get a really good nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Basic and simple, but very clean hotel in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No breakfast available, but do you really need that with all the pasteleria?

    This hotel well situated, is a basic 2 star hotel. We booked at the last moment and paid probably a bit too much for this type of accommodation. The staff was nice, the rooms are simple, but clean. The water in the shower was hot and with exellent pressure. Do not expect anything luxurious, but we had a 5 bed (payed two adults) which was very nice with two small kids to spread out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.3
    I liked the pictures on the walls, on the halls .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was too small and with poor furniture, there was no wi-fi (only at the 1st floor and it was not running very well, the signal was very low) and there was no heating system, except for one air conditioning . On the last night, the water in the shower was cold.

    I liked the pictures on the walls, on the halls .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay for value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really hard but it's really the only downside.

    The room was really big and everything was really clean and had nice decoration. It was also fairly quiet which is a definite plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older gentleman at the front desk was a little snarky but he did assist me.wonan staff were great.

    Good comfortable room with good security. A shower in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    In a busy street, there is this secret gem hidden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a busy street, there is this secret gem hidden. All the facilities are very clean, we were surprised how big our room was and also we had our own bathroom. There is a small kitchen on the first floor so you can freely prepare breakfast and snack as you wish. Overall great stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Best what i had in the area for long time.ideal location with metro sta Intendente just at doorstep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed quality moderate(spring mattress)

    Very clean and all renewed.spacy private bathroom.noisy neighbours can be a problem due to -be it nicely covered-wooden floors.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Good for one night in Lisboa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room with many beds, but there is no really comfortable one.

    Another hotel had cancelled reservation (when we already got place) and I looked for accomodation for one night. This hotel is cheap and good location in the center of Lisboa. But this is all about advantages.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked urgently, when my pre-booked and pre-payed Residencial Mar dos Acores had awful non-life-compatible toxic smell in windowless room, and I had to run away and lost my money... It was all good here, fast check-in, good people, cheap coffe-machine. When my phone suddenly died, signor receptionist gave my his phone to call my old mom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    good value for money; not a great location; recomended for a very short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI signal was bad in the room, couldn't connect. No proper kitchen, shouldn't be advertised as such. Bad, mini-size TV, not straightforward to operate or watch. There was only one Toilet operating in the whole floor. Room was small size.

    Very comfortable bed. Very friendly staff. Clean. Pleasant lounge / reading room. Near the undergoing station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    I was prepared for separated toilet -like in hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was prepared for separated toilet -like in hostel. Amazing surpised was that all was only for my use. Perfect. Location near metro station. Lovely, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    The room was basic but clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic but clean. The location is very good. It is easy to reach the city centre both on foot and by public transport. The metro stop is next to the hotel. The staff is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Realy good location, just outside the Subway station, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little thin walls, you could hear the one in the room next to you speak.

    Realy good location, just outside the Subway station, and like a soft 15 minutes walk to the center of town. All staff where friendly and spokw good english, you felt secure during the stay. Great price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was little bit small but if you coming back from long and intensive visiting the city, you don’t think about this anymore. ;)

    Location - near to metro station and also close to city center, friendly and positive clerk desk, clean room, free towels, 24h reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Warm welcoming staff clean basic hotel with extras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good! Super staff!

    The staff were really nice, friendly and helpful. Room was great - basic but clean - comfy bed and great shower. The hotel has a small kitchen which is great for travellers on a low budget. Also has a small eating area and a comfortable lounge for Internet and coffee from the coffee machine. From the outside the hotel doesn't look too great but once inside a warn welcoming new world opens. Had a great time in a great city with friendly people. Highly recommended for those on a low budget.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Everything you need on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in and 100 percent need to be replaced. Lack of wifi was a nuisance although I appreciate this was a budget option and having to hand the key in every time you leave the premises is arduous.

    The property is situated very close to the city centre and the walk was easygoing i.e. not too steep. Everything was clean and staff were very welcoming. The price was reasonable and provided all the absolute necessities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    We could leave the luggage after check out and they printed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift did not work. Wifi only in common living room.

    We could leave the luggage after check out and they printed our boarding passes with no extra fee. The room was clean and comfortable, and very quite and dark to sleep well at night. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    See you next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a great simple place , no breakfast but across the street you have the padaria português where for 2,50 euro you get a coffee, fresh orangejuice and a cheese or ham or both sandwich

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Good for it's money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark, had no main light just lamps. There was two of us and in the room was six beds and nothing else, making it feel like a dormitory not a comfy room.

    It was well priced and in a good location. Reception open 24/7

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Super Cheap and basic alternative to Avenida da liberdade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was alright. The surrounding area could be better.

    It's super cheap and a short walk/ Metro ride to the city centre. The staff are very atentive. Good to sleep for one or two nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Patrica at front desk is just wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patrica at front desk is just wonderful...she let me check in ewrly and let me store my luggage after check out--and called a taxi for me---she is a lovely hostess

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location, very friendly staff, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy (internal and external noises), very hard matrasses, tiny television and the interior was al but new and up to date.

    Good location, very friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Exceptional customer service in central Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only available in lounge area and, even there, it was quite patchy.

    The staff were exceptional. We needed to print out some train tickets and two members of staff spent a long time helping us when we had problems. Nothing was too much trouble. Great central location close to two metro stations, bars and restaurants. The room itself was basic and perfectly adequate for a short stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Good price/quality peaceful stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quite old fashioned elevator in the centre of the building is very noisy and resonates through all corridors, so any use at night is heard in almost all bedrooms, I guess, even in mine that was at quite a distance from it. Not much to do about it unfortunately. I asked not to replace my towels for reuse. A standard indication for environmental friendliness could be provided to only replace towels that are left on the floor, towels that are hung up not being replaced to save water and energy.

    The owner took my request to have a silent room very serious by giving me one of the most silent rooms, as far as possible from traffic and elevator noise, which I am absolutely very grateful for, since this is very important to me for a good quality sleep at night. Staff is very friendly and helpful, also respecting the request not to replace towels as an environmental friendly measure. They also helped with check-in online and printing boarding pass (for 15 cent) Common fridge available to leave smth. Nicely painted and tiled decoration in the corridors.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Short stay but worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby ,ballcony and the view and ,cleaness of the property,comfort, area and the way they decorated whole hotel. If I had a opportunity to go once again in Lisbon I will definitely go to this hotel and I recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location, wifi available, nice staff, a bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too pricey. But as our earlier booked accommodation was cancelled due the owners illness and we had 24 hours for booking new accommodation, I can't complain much.

    15 minutes walk from downtown with lots of good local pastelarias on this way. Breakfast prices in those local pastelarias are 3- 4€ per person. The same things (coffee, pastry, pasteis de nata and freshly pressed orange juice) in downtown cost 9- 10€ per person. And the coffee in pastelerias was always good or very good. Never got lousy coffee so I guess it is generally a good idea to avoid breakfast in Lisbon hotels and have it instead in those local pastelerias, which are 10 minutes from downtown. Hotel was clean, staff was nice. We had shower and toilet in our room but not every room in Residencial do Sul have those. Some rooms are just for sleeping, toilet and shower are in the corridor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi is available only in the rest room at the first floor and there was a bad smell in the private bathroom.

    The location was good and the staff very helpful and always with a smile on their face

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Loved Lisbon and everything there is to see in short day trips: Sintra, Cascais, Belem & the free wa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room facilities were lacking since they didn't provide the shampoo & conditioners and we would have to request the bathroom tissue, but I guess you get what you pay for.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful, always able to assist us for information. It was centrally located once we became familiar with the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't care so much but there wasn't wifi in my room (3rd floor), the shower was broken but not impossible to use (this seems a good occasion to suggest hotel to repair it :D )

    The staff was very friendly and speaking good english. Amazing and very central location, room very spacious for the price and generally good value for the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    I love how the staff managed to wait for us checking-in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they also have free wifi for every room and breakfast. But it's fine, you'll find many leiterias near the property for the affordable breakfast.

    I love how the staff managed to wait for us checking-in until after midnight, due our delayed flight. They were also nice and informative. The location is great, near the Metro Intendente and some bus stops. The legendary Tram No. 28 is also passing by. They have the smallest lift I've ever seen (for my Asian standard), but it's enough for 2 persons and luggages. It's important for me because I went with my aged mother. Obrigado!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable walking distance from all transports Trams buses and Metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mentioned above Kitchen area and bath towels

    The building was an old building it was plain simple and very clean my only complaint was the bath towels which looked very old and grayish looking so I bought my own towel Staff were excellent I would go back. kitchen could do with better utensils.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    With a last-minute discount (EUR ~85 per night), great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a particularly comfortable mattress and cramped room - barely enough room to walk between the end of the bed and the wall

    Good internet connection (although not in the room), beautiful building, clean room and very friendly staff. Good value for money with the last-minute discount we had; not sure if I would consider it worth the money at the standard rate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    We can recommend this place, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room, shower and bathroom was very small - to consider if you are a big person. But there are also bigger showers in the shared toilets in the hall.

    My mother and me stayed for six nights. We liked that there was a kitchen we could use and the lounge to sit in. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money! We liked the neighboorhood with a lot of Indian restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    You don't need to try another place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I have to say that is a tiny bit negative, must be that there is no ventilation system in the bathroom. Luckily for us we had the bathroom beside a window, so if we had the bathroom door open at the same time as the window, it went ok. But nothing will get dry in there, so you'll get creative.

    I really enjoyed my stay! I stayed for 2 1/2 week at Residential Do Sul and don't need to try any other place for a stay in Lisbon. The staff is the best and the service over all is top notch! It's clean and you can totally relax. There is a small kitchen corner with a water boiler, toaster, microwave and refrigerator. Absolutely perfect! We had a room that faced the side street where the tram and some traffic goes, but it's no problem with the noice. And with it's balcony door and window it was great for both the light and the opportunity to have fresh air in the room. The wifi is only in the living room area and won't work at your room. Look at it as a much needed break from the phone! When you stay here you are nearby to everything! The metro stop Intendente is literally outside the front door, and it's only a 10 minutes walk to the city center. If you want to go the the beach (for example Estoril) you can walk to Cais do Sodre. It takes about 30 minutes and you get to see a lot at the same time. The metro will take you there in no time, so you have options! The area is up and coming, and after talking to locals we got to know that it used to be worse. Today you have police walking the streets (typical in Lisbon over all) and I felt safe. But, like everywhere you go one doesn't need to be naive, so late at night I didn't walk alone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Holiday with a friend!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, i think the facilities like wardrobe, bed, tv, pillows and blankets should be renewed!

    The bedroom and the toilet were very cleaned, the wifi room was confortable, the staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean place in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Clean place in a great location. lots of great eateries around and very close to the metro. Definite value for money. Would definitely stay here again. The staff were all helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Cheapest place available in Lisbon at the time we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheapest place available in Lisbon at the time we booked. Close to the Airport but the neon sign doesn't work so we ended up doing several laps of the one way system! It won't blow you away, but did the job for getting our head down before heading further afield. Shared toilet, decent shower in room, small lift just fit our pushchair, friendly staff and a great breakfast spot just a couple of doors down.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    2.5
    very bud location
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the rooms apparently clean but after few hours there were a very bud smell!!! we were at the last flat and the rooms had not a normal height but they were attic non comfortable. in the hotel pictures, when we selected them, we sow normal room..... in internet !!!!! We went there with our sons ( one of 8 years old) and the doors for outside of the attic were without balcony and without any protection for the child !!! it is very dangerous !!!!!! The last day, before to take taxi to the Lisbon airport, in the early morning (at 3 o'clock am) we found on one bed the bedbugs, and it was very abhorrent !!!!!! when we returned at our home we left the baggage out side of our house, we checked every thing to avoid to have in our baggage this kind of animals and we put every thing in plastic bags and then we cleaned it. a lot of problems!!!!! I don't known who send positive feedback to this hotel but it is very strange. I suggest to booking.com to visit the hotel before to include it in their suggestion!!! It is very complicate to start a discussion with the hotel owner after paid every things and together your family. we were there for holidays not to start quarrels !!!!!

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    It was in centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were before at hotel which was cheaper and with awesome breakfast and is located few hundreds meters away from this one. We are very tolerant family but in this case we were dissapointed. You will park your car only with fortune because the private parking is 10 minutes away and its avalability is not guaranteed... The furniture was old and quite damaged. Luckily we stayed here just one night.

    It was in centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Value for money - functional but not fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wifi access in the rooms.

    The staff were extra friendly - always courteous and willing to give good directions. We were also given a free upgrade to a room with an ensuite bathroom, with a fabulous view from the rooftop(that being the case, I cannot say for sure how the shared bathroom facilities are)! Would have preferred if the room was a little brighter, but that did not affect our comfort in any way. Location is excellent, just a decent walk from the Sao Jorge castle and the main squares. About a 5-7 min walk from the start of the scenic tram 28 which also goes up to Sao Jorge and into the main shopping area. Plenty of food options for breakfast, lunch and dinner within a 10 min radius of the hotel, ranging from the more upmarket options to cafes, to the cheap kebab shops. Also plenty of minimarts and supermarkets nearby for stocking up on essential items such as water, fruits, etc. Needless to say, the hotel is only about 3 mins away from the entrance to a metro station. Great location for those who are happy with a clean but not fancy place to roam Lisbon. Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Really worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WiFi in 4. th floor

    Accomodation itself , Room Nr. 406 wit open balcony awesome. Very clean, enough space, nice big bathroom. Nice paintings on the walls. Elevator. Old stairs. Nice WiFi Room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Good location,very good staff, clean and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good, only a 10 minute walk to downtown Lisbon We were on a trip with our camper van and wanted to see Lisbon, after looking for a campsite - we could find only one - and it seemed expensive with not very favourable reviews, we decided to try a hostel, so glad we did... the staff couldn't have done any more, we were a bit apprehensive about leaving the van parked on the street (free by the way as all the meters were off) so the young lady on reception arranged parking for us at a nearby garage, it did cost, but worth it for the peace of mind. If you have ever had any qualms about using hostels.... forget them, the room was better than some hotel rooms we've stayed in.. Air conditioned, thankfully... it was 38° outside, good shower with plenty warm water, English telly(news) All in all ... a good stopover.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Living room was big and wifi was only there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For the whole stay of 6 days twice the hot water was gone. Everywhere was clean, but we saw a couple of cockroaches in the common area.

    Living room was big and wifi was only there. Location was on a walking distance from the city centre and the metro station really close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    It located just 2 mins to the subway station with several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not comfortable.

    It located just 2 mins to the subway station with several shops and simple restaurants nearby. Good value for the money we paid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    great location and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi wasnt available in my room. I was told that when I checked in, so I wasn't annoyed by not having it. There's wifi in the common area in the first floor, furnished with very comfy sofas and lots of electric sockets for us to charge our devices.

    the staff was very friendly, best experience I've had in a long time. AC in the room works fast and everything else was as described. Very quiet in the evenings, good for sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very lumpy. Wifi often did not work in the lounge area. Very small kitchenette with only a bar fridge and almost no plates and spoons.

    Very clean. Staff friendly. Shared bathroom always free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.8
    Not for everyone!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is tiny and the building has seen better days.

    If you want one of the darker side of Lisbon, this is the neighbourhood for you. Prostitution and junkies roam the streets. On the other hand, pleasant bars at nice prices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    This beats staying in the centre. Have u seen the prices in the bairro alto?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange javel smell throughout the building. Bed sheets a little thin and mattress a bit too hard for my liking.

    Terrific location away from tourist location but walkable to them. Cheap local eats and cafes around (like 1 euro coffees). Tons of amenities like pharmacy and grocery stores. The women working at front desk were both very nice and helpful. Shower was strong as hell. Nice common room to use wifi. Room was very clean and basic. The neighbourhood grew on me very quickly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    GOOD LOCATION, CLEAN AND COZY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet only at internet room at 1st floor but good internet and comfortable room.

    Very good location. Easy to go anywhere by subway. Very comfortable, clean and cozy.Room spacious and clean! Staff very friendly, helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Well positioned !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some receptionists can't speak english. The bathroom is very small and doesn't have window.

    Very well located. Nice living room. Staff members were very kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    simple, but nice hostel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms are very small and u do not have enough room to store your clothes. also, it is very noisy because the windows dont shut out the noise from the street. the beds were not very comfortable.

    very nice hostel, everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. right next to barrio alto. i recommend this place for people who dont wanna pay too much and just need a clean place to sleep and like friendly staff :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    9,6/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady at desk speak poorly English, but she is very nice anyway. The neighborhood is pretty loud.

    When we arrived, we got our own bathroom as an act of courtesy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    Good price, no internet in rooms
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air conditioning/heating was not working in the room. Mattress of double bed was not in a good condition so we slept in two single beds. There is a balcony in room but unfortunately unable to use it because of safety issues. Internet was only in the lobby of first floor and not available in rooms (maybe it was said in description, but I probably missed it).

    Positive thing for sure was the price we paid for our stay. The receptionist was friendly and nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    3.3
    Better choose anther hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a group of 12 persons, at the arrival we had no one who could understand English. Although we had 6 double rooms booked they offered us triple or 4-5 bed rooms. The payment method was "pay at the property" but they had already withdrawn the money from the credit card account. Except from that they had an extra 12 euro fee that was not mentioned. Awful...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.7
    The room was warm because they turned the air conditioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 3 extra beds in the room. A table would have been nice. The wifi was very bad. The door to the bathroom was small

    The room was warm because they turned the air conditioning on before we arrived

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    An old yet still functioning, 2 star hotel in the residential part of Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi is only available on the "internet lounge". Does not serve breakfast.

    The shower always has hot water at anytime. Very accessible: Intendente metro station is just a few meters away from the Hotel. Plenty of restaurants, coffee bars and groceries can be found near the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    Close to city center , in front of a metro station , cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    free internet only in common space , cuffie machine too noisy specially if you have the room at first floor. Staff not speaking english neither spanish or other language

    Close to city center , in front of a metro station , cheap and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.0
    Thumps up for stuffs, thumps down for total value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow has not been dried in the sun but they just put it back on the bed Poor wifi and lift.

    Nice shampoo and shower gel Very cute and helpful stuff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.0
    Lisbon made us forget about the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean enough. The interiors were too old. There was no sign of sound proofing although the hotel was on a high street. The bed was totally uncomfortable. Especially, the water pipes in the building made such horrible noise that it was impossible to sleep when people in the next room had shower late at night or at an early hour in the morning. Too far to the historical center to walk, one needs the subway at all times. The people did not speak English, it was almost impossible to communicate. I would definitely not recommend this place

    The location, right across the subway station. The elevator

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    Great value for money - simple, clean and good access to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We knew the WIFI wouldn't work in the rooms, but even in the lounge area, it didn't work, so that was very frustrating. We were in the roof room, which opened out onto a makeshift balcony, but it was far from safe! The wall didn't come high up at all and it seemed to be a case of 'Get fresh air at your own risk'!

    The room was spacious for the cost, the bathroom was a good size and clean, and the shower was powerful and nice and hot. The location was great - right by a metro station and shops and cafes on the same street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.8
    good place for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked doublebed (couple travelling), still get twin bed. Not nice for a "romantic city holiday". Room was very dark, only 2 small wall lamps (hard to put make-up etc.). Room was 3rd floor, and wifi was available only at 1st floor lobby.

    Good location, really close to metro station. Easy connection to airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Very basic but fine for us for a short nights rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No glasses/cups in the room and not available when asking at reception. Pillows very thin and no extras. Sloping, sinking floor was not a good feeling. Shower could get very very hot.

    Convenient location. Cheap night. Lift to room. Reception was open 24hrs good for our very late arrival.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    4.2
    The worst hotel in Portugal I ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy, soundproof is merely nonexistent. Much noise from the street and the corridor, clapping doors all night long. Almost no furniture in the room (no table, chair, etc), even a closet for clothes is tiny and not tall enough to fit a shirt. No soap in the bathroom, just a dispenser with a liquid soap heavily diluted with the water. Extremely high weekend rate applies to the whole stay if the dates include the weekend, making 2 separate bookings is much cheaper.

    Close to the metro station, walking distance from the town center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some sounds are audible from around the building during the night, though overall is peaceful

    location by Metro station, easy check-in etc., room cleaned, extra blanket, facilities all working, shower fine

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    6.3
    Depends on your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first, we were in a room at the rooftop, which was very cold, ceiling was very close to us!one Of The walls brought a strange bad smell! "hotel staff gave us an air freshener to overcome this". When a room in the 3rd floor got empty, we moved to it & noticed it was much better regarding all the previous points, although both rooms were at the same rate.

    Location is very close to city centre. Had a machine for hot drinks. Called taxis to airport for us. Hotel is surrounded by cafes for breakfast, supermarkets & halal food restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    Enjoyable Lisbon stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only accessible from level 1 lounge. Door security was a bit flimsy. Although not affecting comfort etc, the hotel exterior is overdue for an upgrade/painting/resurface.

    Being next to Intendente metro stop was really good. Area was ok but not flash. Near to a number of modest price eateries. Easy walk to Lisbon centro and Rossio. Interior still contained some old school features. A block or so from a good self-service laundry.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residencial do Sul traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: