Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Farol 3 stars

Avenida Fernão Magalhães , 3830-753 Praia da Barra, Portugal

#3 of 18 hotels in Praia da Barra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 832 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, friendly and with a convenient cafe/bar open until late. ❤️ Only a couple of steps to the beach 🌞 with a great sunset view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like, but a suggestion to make it even better would perhaps be tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a little fridge.

    This gorgeous hotel is a hidden gem. I had a balcony room on the second floor overlooking the beach and the lighthouse. It feels like everything is brand new. The room is spacious and exceptionally clean and well maintained. So close to all the little cafes and restaurants. The breakfast was plentiful and lots to choose from. The staff were amazing and friendly and ever so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had few issues - door didn't close, broken water switcher, very loud door lock

    Beautiful view on lighthouse, faros, nice room, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to clean beach. Quiet place. Lovely 1 mile paved walk towards sea. Comfortable walk at back of beach area because of wooden slots made like a bridge to walk on top of sand. Benches also in places to relax and rest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electronic key system is little noisy, but makes sense once you get used to it.

    The main selling point here is the exceptional view of the lighthouse and the sea, perfect for sitting on the balcony watching the sun set. The beautiful classic hotel building is right by the beach with well equipped rooms and professional yet friendly staff. They also offer a great breakfast spread and you will find some fantastic little restuarants nearby for lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are warmed up in the winter by the airconditioner..so it can be loud during the day

    Very friendly staff One of the best breakfeast in the region and very tastefull Nice view to the sea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that we could not get breakfast and take to room without additional charges, was not informed of this policy in advance so while hubby and kids were getting dressed I went down to get breakfast. After fixing their plates, which were minimal and only consisted of toast, cheese and ham ( I made us each a small sandwich with it) i was told I could not take it to them without paying extra. The end result was all of the food trashed and then they had to come fix their own. Just seems like such a waste, it would have been much better if informed of this on check-in. Also my son's room had a very thin itchy blanket while ours had a nice comforter. He was cold and uncomfortable.

    The view and surrounding were phenomenal!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Great location, with a nice view to the lighthouse. Big bed, comfortable room, friendly staff and a truly great breakfast, even better than many hotels in upper rankings!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not perfectly maintained. Toilet lid loose Hook behind door missing Needs a bit of update. Not bad enough to spoil stay .

    The breakfast was satisfactory and the lady serving was very helpful. Location and view from room excellent. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking at the Hotel so we parked the car on the street, even it was near the property, we were concerned about it.

    The breakfast was excellent with a big choose of fresh fruits (mellon, watermelon , passion fruit, pear, apple, ananas, etc) , breads, juices, cheeses, and pastry. We could even eat "Ovos moles" (this very special Portuguese pastry from Aveiro)!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking on the street a little difficult sometimes.

    Excellent location, fairly easy to find. Superb view from the room, with balcony. Quite friendly staff. Nice room and bathroom, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street lamps in front of our room (standard room). No chair and no desk in the room

    View to the sea with this big, impressive lighthouse. Lots of restaurants nearby. Good access to beaches. Relativly quiet place. Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A kettle in the room would have been useful to prepare food for our baby. Barra is flooded with tourists and crammed with ugly apartment buildings, but the Hotel is located in the only "nice" spot in town, next to the central square with its lighthouse.

    Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, our room was spacious, nice view on the lighthouse and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was a nightmare - the resort was incredibly busy, perhaps to be expected in August. Hotel staff were unable to assist or suggest suitable parking. We eventually found space at least a kilometer away. The room we were given had a strong smell of smoke. After complaining and threat of cancellation we were finally offered an alternative room which was fine. The air conditioning unit was too loud to be on overnight. The town of Barra is not great and local places to eat were generally poor.

    The breakfast was good. The bed was very comfy. The room was quiet at night. The beaches at Barra are vast and beautiful - very busy in August Costa Nova 3/4 kilometres down the coast is a pretty town with some good places to eat. Averio was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior
    • Stayed 11 nights

    A few minor complaints: very small waste basket in the bathroom, none in the room itself. One of the two air conditioners in the room blows directly on the head of the bed, so I would have to turn it down or off at night.

    Nice big suite with balcony and great view of the lighthouse. The room was comfortable, housekeeping was very good. Good breakfast. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Will stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is not as interesting as Costa Nova, which is nearby.

    Rich breakfast boofet, definetely try delicious croissants. Perfect location with the view on the lighthouse and the beach right next to the hotel. Spacious rooms, cost lobby. Lots of cafes in the neighborhood. Free public parking Just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor problems with the facilities - the blow dryer came off from a wall when picked up (but the friendly staff quickly glued it back). Poor selection of vegetables at breakfast (but great of pastries and meat!)

    Superb location, really friendly staff, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very kind and helpful. Excellent English and good at recommending other things we would like in the area. Balconies with beautiful view of Ocean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room was too crowded, the staff (while being very polite and trying to help) was overloaded, replenishing the trays took time. Guest coming later than us even did not find a seat anymore. There is no hotel parking, be prepared to have to take a little walk.

    We booked a spacious room on the top floor, we enjoyed the view to the lighthouse and the sea (you don't actually see the open sea but the inlet to the harbour, this is adequately depicted on one of the photos of the hotel description).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If possible ask for a room facing the lighthouse. The town is dormant in the off season.

    We were very surprised by this upscale hotel. The views are incredible, the room nice and spacious, opening on to a balcony. Big bathroom, very modern and comfortable. Very rich breakfast with lots of choices. There's also a coffee shop on the ground floor. Friendly and helpful staff. 2 minutes from the beach and boardwalk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee on the breakfast buffet. Long wait for coffee in the morning.

    Nice pool Very nice and helpful staff Parking lot (car parked by staff) Very calm place Nice rooms and bathroom Close to centre on foot Nice terrace with outside bar

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my boyfriend stayed in the suite for 3 nights while visiting family ( he is portuguese and I'm English) we were definitely impressed with the hotel. Breakfast was lovely, the room was perfect with a really comfy bed, Staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall a great experience. We just wish we stayed here longer!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not the newest hotel, so some modernization is needed (wardrobe hard to open, hair dryer malfunctioning)

    The localization is more than excellent. Perfect view of lighthouse and close to beach. Staff very helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plugs next to bed or vlose to the desk. The door sometimes would open again after closing it ("fortunately" it does beep quite loud .... like an alarm)

    The large room (superior room) and the terrace viewing the lighthouse.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a room with a view instead of looking into the back alley :-(

    The lovely guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful although the sadly I can't remember his name. The hotel was really close to the beach

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely location, very well furnished and managed hotel, excellent breakfast buffet. Free parking in whole area (can get busy at weekends, but there seemed plenty within walking distance). We had a room with a balcony on the third floor overlooking the lighthouse beach and ships coming in and out of the nearby port, which was all very relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel by the beach with a restaurant. Our room was clean and roomy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, with lost of pastelaria and very friendly host

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location and view. Great beds and modern decor. Scrumptious breakfast with a tasting of local specialties.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small mistakes to be really a superior room. At arriving loud noises because of some repairs

    Excellent point of view to the lighthouset

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk guy was amazing. We arrived in our bikes in the evening after a very long day. He was kind, considerate and beyond helpful. Awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely assortment of local fresh pastries and specialties at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    Room could not be faulted We were the only in hotel but was perfect Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good and efficient service! We had a positive surprise with the staff, breakfast and view!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Perfect location. Nice staff. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little cold but nothing very special

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location just opposite the light house!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Delightful view of the lighthouse from a very comfortable room. Great breakfast, good bar and full on attention to detail.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of towels, shower curtain grubby, bedroom furniture tired.

    The location, staff, views and amazing beaches. Excellent choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet needs renovaiting and wardrobe too.

    Nice view from our balcony. We saw lighthouse and sea and beautiful sunsets. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very rude, unfriendly, unhelpful receptionist, musty smell in room

    great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was so windy

    Great location for the town!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    need to change/repair bath furniture

    friendly personnel. location - sand beach 2m from a hotel, restaurants and walking areas near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of tourists. More locals feeling

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is noisy and some of the infrastructure is quite old (e.g. Bathtub, blankets, heater)

    Lovely views of the lighthouse and efficient staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to the sea, nice view to the lighthouse, spacious rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice view, very clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    vegetables at breakfast.

    Excellent place to spend a night near Haviero. on the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor beds.

    Great view from the balcony. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise in the top floor

    Amazing view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely view from clean and comfortable room. Close to beach and restaurants, nice breakfast with lots of choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music playing loud from the TV on the ground floor

    Staff were helpful and the room with sea view was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony with seaview was great, clean room, very good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpfull staff, especially Miguel. Spaciour rooms with good beds. Front rooms with balcony and nice view on the lighthouse. Restaurants and beach around the corner..

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing - It was perfect

    Fabulous - great hotel - rooms were modern and very clean and mine had a fabulous view of the lighthouse. The air con was excellent and heated the room fine in February

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hand towels were provided. There is only small sanitary trash can in the room so you have to use own plastic bag to put any trash there. Air conditioner is very noisy. WiFi in the room doesn't support any devices except mobile phones (say, my notebook couldn't access Internet at all).

    The view from room on lighthouse and ocean is great and the room is big. The bed is real double one. The hotel has excellent breakfast (omelet with bacon, bacon, good choice of fresh fruits (strawberries, mango, melon, pineapple and more) and dessert. There are many free parking places around the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent, a really good experience in a really good price. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was really good, but a bit more of vegetables would be just perfect.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't find any interesting places to eat around the hotel, but a walk or a short drive solves the problem.

    Location just a minute away from the ocean shore, wonderful breakfast with rich selection of fresh fruit, cheese and ham, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotels doors needed to be closed quite hard or else they wouldn't close properly and the door would beep endlessly until you returned to close it. The blinds were a bit annoying, I think they would do well to replace them with organza type curtains to allow light in and to have privacy during the day. The air conditioners were a little on the noisy side.

    Amazingly fast check in; they didn't insist on payment uprfont which always makes one feel less like a customer and more like a guest. This hotel was so reasonably priced and absolutely exceeded my expectations on all levels particularly how clean it was. We had a phenomenal view from our sea view suite, which was very spacious for the two of us, maybe even too spacious; we hardly used the lounge. Was very quiet at all times of the day. Firm but very comfortable beds. Really fantastic traditional Portuguese breakfast, fresh food and a perfectly attentive hostess. Will definitely be going back next time I'm in Barra.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from the cafe beneath our room combined with the isolation of the Windows.

    Got a huge room with separate living room and a nice bathroom. Also had sea view from the bed. Breakfast was good, nothing outrageous.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The staff were helpful, kind and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Our room was beautifully kept throughout our stay and looked out to sea.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the elevator broke down one day and it took a full day to repair wifi quality was better in the first days,afterward impossible to look tv in i-pad

    location friendly staff bed frig in room breakfast with fresh orange juice

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the shower was not working properly and when I related that to the staff they kinda ignore and say that anyone else complained before... I except more when you pay 75 night...

    Location is good, sea view (although it's blocked partially by other building)

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Family with older children

    I absolutely loved this hotel starting with the staff I couldn't say enough how kind and helpful they all were.. The cleaning staff kept my room implacable during my 8 day stay and the breakfast was lovely every morning.. The location was perfect for me because I found the perfect sunset every evening from my room's balcony overlooking the beach.. Just a perfect hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They didn't have any highchairs for kids, in the breakfast living room.

    The hotel is located in a privileged area near the beach. The room was large, with a great view .

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Top location and nice summer hotel, even if a bit old, anyway it was a nice staying, just in front of the farol.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A simpatia do staff, quer da recepcão , quer da sala do p. almoço. Localizacao e vista do quarto.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As toalhas do tipo mini.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything keep up the good work, and complements to the lady in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, the room, location, the breakfast, clean...highly recommended!!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy hotel as there is a bar underneath and the heating system is like having an airplane inside the room.

    Extremely clean and nice breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff was very friendly except one

    The view,the service and the beautiful suite

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    Hotel was excellent, clean, great location, much higher quality then expected for the price. Breakfast also very good.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Farol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: