Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grande Rio 2 stars

Rua Do Bonjardim,977/Entrada Rua Santa Helena ,31, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-461 Porto, Portugal

#112 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1867 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small but comfortable - good, clean bathroom facilities.Near a metro station just two stops from the city centre. Two bikes couriered the previous day stored securely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok - basic and clean. The hotel is noisy, as doors virtually didn’t cancel any noise from the hallways, got woken up a few times during the night and early morning, WiFi barely useable, breakfast very basic but ok. Staff was polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not easily accessible from rua de bonjardim

    Hotel does not quickly replenish the trays which get empty. Croussants are too few put up for the guests. When we asked for more.we were told its over.Mr. pedro is a good guy though

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and not comfortable, dirty towels, loud rooms you could hear everything from the staircase, poor breakfast mainly made with frozen food and cheap stuff

    The location was comfortable enough to reach the center on foot, 5 euro/day for garage parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could be better organised at breakfast - from time to time there was not enough food and hot/cold drinks on the buffet

    Rooms were cleaned every day, localisation close to the metro station (Faira Guimares) so the hotel have a perfect connection with the airport and is located in a walking distance from the main city attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is little bit small

    The staff are very nice and provide kind help when we need. The room is little bit small, but the staff provided a remote for air-condition. The breakfast is good enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometime the staff cn not provide remote for aircondition, therefore the temperature in the room is little bit low.

    The staff are very nice and provide kind help. I booked one triple room for one day and double room for anothertwo day, then provided triple room for all three days. The breakfast is also good. The room is clean and quite. The location is not so far from Center. WiFi is good enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is little bit small.

    The staff are very nice and provide kind help. The breakfast is also good. The room is clean and quite. The location is not so far from Center. WiFi is good enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was terrible someone had made great big holes in the shower head so there was no spray. Like washing your self down with a hose pipe !

    Breakfast was a added bonus, staff were helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff is pretty helpful and friendly, room is comfortable and large. close to the metro station and bus station. will come here again if visit Porto again. for this price, it is so pretty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no central heating, only air condition that unfortunately operated for 5-6 minutes and then stopped for 10-15 minutes on its own. The city of Porto is built on a hill so you know that you will have all uphill from the river to the hotel.

    During the check-in a gentleman greeted us at the reception. The room was clean, with good wifi, clean towels and sheets, shampoo in the wc. We had informed that we would do early check out at 06:00 to catch the flight, had us ready in a bag of paper, ready sandwich, juice, biscuits and fruit to take them with us, although at that time the breakfast room was closed. It was the most pleasant surprise of the trip and we thank him very much. Good bed mattress. My room was 119.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating unit (split AC unit) did not heat well and we solved the problem with 4 additional blankets. They need to make sure the heater works well enough to heat the room.

    Very friendly staff and good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location very close to the city center with a Metro station just arround the corner. Good accomodations and the staff was very hospitable. Breakfast was very nice and diverse. Highly recomend for a short visit to Oporto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather far from the city centre and the room was really tiny, only place for a bed and a wardrobe...

    Very clean, the staff was nice and the area is really quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -There was no toilet paper. It was necessary to ask staff about it and it was given us just one toilet paper; -There was no staff after 22h00 (10:00 pm); -There was no bathtub drain cover. The staff justified it saying that guests steal such thing; -Before the check-out, someone tried to enter the room (and in fact did it with a universal card). Not only that, but that staff was substantially rude with us.

    -Cleanliness; -Near to subway station and restaurants; -Security; -Good neighbourhood;

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was very satisfactory even the amusing night porter who gave me an 07.00 early call at 23.30 at night. I showered, packed and went to leave. Only a glance at the clock stopped me.

    There is very little to condemn. It is a good walk to the river but all downhill and about 7 euros in a taxi back up hill

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very reliable staff! I needed a wake-up call at the crack of dawn, and a taxi at 5am: no problem, and they gave me a breakfast pack to take away with me!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely simple, some decoration wouldn't hurt. Top of the wardrobe was dusty. Timer of the heating system was wrong, and it took a while to set it right (no instruction manual). Heat was off when we arrived, and it takes a while for the room to get warm.

    Friendly staff and simple but good room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bath towel had a hole in it and the bed sheets had seen better days. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every single noise from other rooms or from the street. There are garbage trucks passing to pick up the trash and you will definetely hear them. There is no elevator so be prepared to climb stairs with your bags.

    Very polite and friendly staff, great location next to a metro station which allowed for quick travel throughout the city. The breakfast was decent with enough options to cover a traveller for this particular hotel type. The area is quiet around the hotel and there is a police station nearby if you need anything. The price was good enough considering that Porto is a tourist destination. Clean room with delay visits from the cleaning staff. The air condition worked without a problem with hot air for the winter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small shower in bathroom. Also they could serve some hot food for breakfast.

    Good location. Not so far from the center. Friendly stuff, small clean and simple rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a very small thing - the room to have a breakfast at is underground, so not very cosy and a bit sad with all the artificial lighting.

    Nice, proper place, with friendly staff. Close to the city center (around 15 min on foot). Has own private parking places on the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Facilities (a bit old) - Very basic breakfast - Cold rooms and bathrooms and the air conditioning was quite noisy In any case, the hotel served its purpose and for the price which was super good, I wasn't really expecting much more.

    - Location - Price - Clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to highlight, can't complain about anything.

    Fabulous environment, close to the beach, secure area, very nice pools, spacious rooms, balcony, friendly and helpful staff, very delicious food (we had full board). All was just perfect! Will definitely come back again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready when we checked in, had to have it cleaned. Ground floor room open to street

    Close to Faria Guimarães station which was very convenient. Overall, it was good value in the budget accommodation segment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location - tucked away in back street. Noisy with traffic on cobbled road. Room - ground floor immediately facing pavement and road through a barred window. No chair in room - small tv on top of wardrobe.

    Reasonably cheap

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit dated but nice & clean. Good value for money.

    There was a large variety of breakfast choice. Friendly & helpful staff. There were a couple of communal areas for sitting in both inside & out. This hotel was in a residential area so we got to meet local people. Found a small bar at night for a drink also a cafe just round the corner, which was used by the locals. We walked down to the river and back exploring the local area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More adaptors for 3 pin mobile chargers needed!

    Pleasant little lounge/patio for relaxing in the sun / shade. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Clean, well kept rooms. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A but too far out of town. I walked from the bus station but should have taken a taxi as it was hard to find and uphill.

    This hotel had a very nice garden are to relax in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NAIL in the bed!!! you come to the hotel, you are tired, you go to the bed and you touching a nail of the previous tenant. "Cleaning" next day but somehow they didn't clean it from the floor.

    metro is close

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, very noise, bathroom not comfortable, soap not daily charged, bath towel not daily changed

    Great staff very kindle last day i have received a breakfast big pack related to an early check out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny shower but it was very clean.

    Nice quiet neighborhood. Good breakfast and not expensive. Close to metro station and very easy to get to the old town center. Very easy to get to train station as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very nice personnel, very good breakfast, great location - quiet, close to the metro station and to the center of the city. Small but very clean room, comfortable bed, very clean and nice bathroom. Exellent price/quality index.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs an upgrade, so does the bathroom,there is no parking

    Close to Metrostation, convenient price, good breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its in quite a derelict part of town - there is wreck of a house directly opposite with weeds growing through the remaining brickwork. We specifically booked secure parking despite which the garages were full, so we had to go onto an open car park 200 metres away. The hotel reception arranged this for us and took payment and they stamped a ticket for us. Despite this we had a run in with the car park attendant when we tried to leave and he tried to make us pay him too. Luckily an English speaking local eventually put him straight. Although this was staffed with a barrier it was not what we had in mind as we like to keep an eye on our Harley Davidson motorbike. One night there was a party in apartments opposite our room and it was deafening. There is a lot of graffiti everywhere.

    It was reasonably located in that we could walk into the old town from there in about 20 minutes. The reception staff were pleasant. The hotel inside looks nice and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is run down and dull. Decor is outdated, bath too small for 90% of adult human beings. Noisy street, didnt feel car was safe. Underneath bed clearly does not get cleaned, doubt its the exception.

    Staff, price, free but unsecure parking in street, they have wine for sale. Easy metro access. Cheap breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have tea making facilities in the rooms.

    Pedro was very friendly, helpful and professional. He did his best to help to make my elderly mother comfortable. Thank you Pedro for making our stay in Porto pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bed are a bit small, but gor this amount of money, it was good enough.

    We could do very late check in, very nice staff, quiet place, location very near to metro station, good breakfast, GREAT value for money. Thank you very much, Grande Rio!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it was my 'luck', but all shower cabins in all 3 cities where I've stayed in Portugal had shower curtains instead of doors!? Made lots of water in the bathrooms with every shower...

    Good location, good size room and comfortable, good breakfast, good value of money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very easy to find! could do with a sign at end of adjacent street!

    Fine view of domestic Porto from the room which was a good size with god bathroom off. I was two floors up which may be a bit much for some people. Lovely basement breakfast room and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old hotel (worn-out blankets, not working light, rust in the bathroom, uncomfortable beds). Tiny bathroom with microscopic shower.

    Friendly staff. Close to the metro station. There are shops and bars nearby. Clean sheets and daily housekeeping.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic. Location of property was hidden in a side street def need gps or other things to find it.

    Great value for money. Easy access to town and other facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cleaned very well each day, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great and I think it was very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room forniture would need a big renewal the hotel is not in the best neighborhood of the town the room isn't soundproof, there is a lot of noise coming from the other rooms and from the corridor

    good value for money 24 hour reception efficient wi-fi connection 3min to the closest metro stop

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The only thing I would have liked was a choice of Muesli at breakfast as one of the cereal options. (This is , of course, just a personal preference)

    This hotel is in a perfect location just a short walk to the metro station but also within walkable distance to the centre of Porto. The staff were friendly and always ready to answer any questions about Porto, places to go and how to get there. We had to leave at 5am for our return flight and they had prepared us a breakfast selection to take with us, which was very handy. The hotel throughout was spotlessly clean and we found the bed to be very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had asked for a quiet room because I am a night owl and late sleeper. So I was not happy with my room being on the wooden stairs that the many guests will clatter down at 7am to the breakfast room. Many must be on their bus at 8:00am. I was told, "If you didn't want a room on the stairs you should have said so!" Oh...silly me. But they did give me a room in the solid extension which was quiet, until the cleaning ladies at 8:30am. The directions in English were not great. From the metro station one should be told to walk UP the slope and turn right where you see the Cafe Macao on the corner. The hotel is about 220m down on the right. it is a very quiet street and neighbourhood. It was easy to walk back and forth from the city centre. I would stay there again. My photo is the lovely view from my bedroom.

    I actually stayed for two nights. I am Irish, not French. The breakfast was The Best ever! Everything you could ask for (beyond eggs and sausages) The staff speak English and were very helpful and the bed very comfortable. It was a 10-minute walk to Trinidad, the centre of Porto City so the location is good, once you find the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is near by old town. In the right corner of the street can find a local store with cheap and good stuff for self catering. Very quiet zone in the night. Very nice staff, helpfully with what you ever you need!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a twin bedded room facing street side. Window was protected with bars. Anyhow clean and space enough for 2. Luckily got a parking space free of charge opposite my room. Nice outdoor atrium - would be great in summer months to serve breakfast there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was at the Hotel for 3 nights, unfortunately last night people were coming back into the Hotel around midnight and very noisy, talking loud in the corridors and still in their room until 2.30pm. I had to be in the lobby by 5.10am to catch a plane. The other 2 nights I was there was very quiet indeed, it was wonderful.

    Very nice Hotel. Comfortable bed and very clean. Walking distance to all the attractions in Porto city, a vibrant city, and walking distance to the metro's, which I did not need as it was easy to walk to everything. Manager was very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend staying at this Hotel, and asked for a quiet room, being a light sleeper.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bedroom. The lights of the room had to be activated by pluging in the keycard, and the installation for this was kind of broken, I needed to find the exactly right angle that the card established the contact, otherwise the light switched off aftet a few seconds. The worst was the bathroom, there was some mould and I found the whole bathroom repulsive. Beside that, loud talking and loud music from other guests till 3 in the morning. I was happy to leave 3 hours later.

    Close to the metro and the Aliados-Area. The staff was friendly and was multilingual. The checkin was umcomplicated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next door to common area and reception making for an uncomfortable stay, if Pedro had not intervened.

    Proximity to the metro, cleanliness, Good wi-fi, Pedro's assistance to make my stay comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stains of rust and mold on the bathroom ceilings and sanitary installation. Room small and dark, a bit shabby. Stayed on 1st floor, right above reception desk. Very difficult to get some rest because of the noise made by guests coming in/going out or congregating around the breakfast area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast option was fine but could be improved with better quality coffee etc but overall for the price it was perfectly acceptable.

    Good value hotel a little away from the centre (15 minutes walk downhill but all uphill on the way back to the hotel). Nice helpful staff. Nice local bar on the corner near the hotel (Macu I think it was called).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could be slightly bigger. One of the drawers wouldn't close properly. Only very minor things. Although we have stayed here at least 4 times, the staff do not seem to recognise us, which is a pity.

    We go to this small quiet Hotel especially when we have a very late Arrival and Need 24 hrs reception. The rooms are quite small but have all we need - TV, bathroom, hairdryer, air-conditioning and so on. It's quite basic but absolutely adequate for our Needs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no welcome pack no information about the room service what to expect it was so unwelcoming going for breakfast I only went twice cause it was not good

    The breakfast was poor no variety bacon and cheese what about people who don't eat these things I like the quietness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very small room for two persons. One of the employees told us later that this room usually is for one person only - we are two very tall persons, my husband is 2m tall. Room not clean enough and very old. Breakfast was poor.

    Very close to the City (10 Min walking) from where you can take the Sightseeing bus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is too far from city center by walk

    quite near from metro station just 5 mins walk. The room is ok, have a lot of facilities. Staff is ok. Breakfast is very nice and have a lot of things to eat. Teerisa from Thailand

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a little far from the center by walk (about 25 - 30 mins). So, if you stay here, would be better to take metro.

    For the price I paid, this hotel is exceeded my expectation. The breakfast is good. The room is clean and comfortable. Very close to metro stations.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no easy parking. It is difficult to find parking through out the day

    Great sitting area, everything in hotel is accessible, good wifi, knowledgeable and helpful staff, spoke English

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towels were dirty and old. It doesn't matter if they change them everyday, all it can be used for is for cleaning floor in the toilet. Better take one with You. No heater in the room, but all the Portugal is rather cold in the winter. The only warm place is bath.

    Considering the price - the best offer in the city! Good enough for a couple of nights. Room was cleaned everyday, towels also were changed. Close to metro station and about 15 minutes walk from the city center. It will take You 45 minutes from the airport to the hotel. The staff was very helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The toilet door did not have a lock, and we had to figure out a way to let people (we were 3 people in a room - 1 man and 2 ladies) know that its occupied :) 2. The directions to reaching room were not clear, we were a bit lost in the corridors.

    Overview: Good place to spend a night or two, good location, nice staff, clean and comfortable room. Details: Location --> The hotel was just 4-6 mins walk from 2 metro station, close to police station and in a residential area. A couple of grocery shops around, if needed. There is also an Indian restaurant (Gandhi) close-by (2-4 mins walk from hotel) which serves good authentic Indian cuisines. Room --> We were 3 people and it was a 3 bed room with bathroom. The room was well maintained and clean. The beds were very comfortable with good soft linen and bedding. Air conditioner and tv was also present with remote control (very handy). Bed lamps were beautiful Toilet and bathroom --> It was clean and with all necessary items (shower gel, hairdryer etc..). Staff --> Very friendly and trusting staff at reception who was ready to let us into the room even without finishing the payment and other check-in formalities. Appreciate the trust. The person at reception was very kind enough to explain to us all the places to visit in Porto, some famous destinations, food outlets, wineries, public transport etc..showing and marking all this on the free map. really appreciate this gesture. We had to check out the next morning at 5AM, where the person at reception was very courteous to bid us a farewell. Summary: A good stay, great location and definitely value for money. I do recommend this to other visitors.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Quiet area, close to the city center. The rooms are very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. Breakfast had a good choice. Excellent for the price, would book again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really liked the breakfast option that they had. The room was very nice and comfortable. Staff were very nice. Its very close to the Faria Gumaraes station which is like a 4min walk from the hotel. The hotel is a little away from the main city center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all the stuff (at least the stuff we met) was only talking in their language and as such we couldn't even communicate. The room was too small and not clean at all. It was smelling and bathroom floor was sticking. Also the fact that annoyed us the most is that the next morning one of the stuff got in our room using their keys without even knocking the door. We hadn't checked out at that time yet. Definitely the worst experience in my life. For me it doesn't even worth 0/10. If I could give a negative point, I would happily do it.

    Nothing. Worst experience in my life

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit far (around 20 min walk) from city center but close to metro station

    Nice and clean room, free parking if there is a place. VERY friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight noise in mornings from hallways and doors, but not an issue.

    All good, easy enough to find via metro, arrived early left bags, can walk straight down to centre in 10 minutes. Breakfast was good too, continental but selections.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could only find one plug in the room, so recharging was done in installations.

    I had a comfortable stay here and one big bonus was that the lights above the bed were actually bright enough to read by, which is a rarity. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old water drainage a little bit noisy but we could tolerate it .Its not at the night time. a bit far from city center but still can reach by foot and next to Gumaires station.

    Quiet neighborhood, clean and enough space for 2 people. They cleaned the room everyday. Basic accommodation. Very nice staff Gerar. Air conditioner . Value of the money . Nice and local restaurant in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally I found it a bit difficult to find the hotel entrance in the late evening when I arrived, since the Google Maps address for the hotel is not the entrance address. However - enter the address Rua de Santa Helena, 31 manually and you will find it easily :-) My first room had a dripping from the ceiling in the bathroom, but the receptionist offered me another room straight away, so never became a problem for me.

    The reception and breakfast staff was very pleasant and service minded - very surprised with the service level in the reception for a 2 star hotel. Easy to walk from the hotel to the city center - all down hill which is seldom in Porto :-D Small but nice breakfast with the essentials - bread, yoghurt, fruit and muffins/crackers as a snack. Coffee, tea, orange juice, water and milk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - wall painting needs soon some refresh, including rooms.. - no fridge in room

    - tips from the personal for near restaurant (for dinner) - tips from the personal for point of interest in Porto - internet access was OK - paid parking with no problem - breakfast were ok and fine

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed for one night, but the price was so fair for such a comfortable, clean room and if you don't mind, you can also walk down the city center. It's a great deal for such a price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and felt almost in the room, the walls were very thin and the pipe work extremely noisy which made it hard to sleep. Porto is very hilly, so the location may not suit some people, but was fine for us.

    Clean room, able to leave bags when checking out as our flight wasn't until late. Porto itself was a beautiful place with an amazing atmosphere!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was a bit noisy, quite far from the city center (to the centre is fine by foot, because it is downhill; about 15 minutes. However, to get back to the hotel you have to walk uphill)

    Very nice staff, very helpful. Rooms were clean and great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Destination is a little bit save and from station Trindade isn't a much closer when you have a more baggage.

    Room was small but clean and pleasure. For couple is enought.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking situation on street was problematic. I had paid for parking, got an actual 1-car garage which the rental barely fit into. The owner was nice enough to help me get it out and gave me his spot on the street. Don't go here with a car.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Fixed me a breakfast bag since I left earlier for airport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't expect much from breakfast for 4 EUR per person. I would be ready to pay 6 or 7 if at least croissant would be freshly beaked - but no - they have them in foil packaging. Bed was noisy and some nails gaping on sides - I scratch my leg on one of it. Just for sleeping during night - acceptable, but definitely I will look for alternatives next time.

    1 block from metro station - most valuable part of the hotel plus more or less cheapest price in that time of the year.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Grande Rio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: