Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Imperial

Rua José Pires Padinha, 24, 8800-354 Tavira, Portugal

#32 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 420 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Great Location, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elderly staff sometimes helpful sometimes a little abrupt. Not much English, so asking for advice a little difficult. Stairway entrance tucked between two busy restaurants with outdoor seating wasn't easy to spot right away

    Location. Right across from the second foot bridge over the river. Some parking bays right outside if you're lucky enough to get one. Easy to walk everywhere, including ferry to the island.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Town good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Female prodded me and was not friendly. Keys had to be handed in always and they almost stood on guard. Will not go there again ever unless they get new staff

    The little town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Would not have wanted to stay for more than one night.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (No 15) was infested with black ants running up and down the wall and in the bed from a nest somewhere in the skirting board behind the bed. I got bitten alive, and still have sores on my legs today. The WiFi did not work so far away from the router, and don't consider it very hygienic to put used toilet paper into a container to be emptied the following morning. In that sort of temperature (30+), it stinks.

    Location and old style friendliness of staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing that wasn't very good was the wi-fi, which switched off about every five minutes, then took about a minute to reconnect.

    Friendly staff, good atmosphere, comfortable room and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    next to the park, and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did lock the front doors of the hotel from 3 to 7 am. If we where not in by 3 am we would have to sleep outside. Not acceptable at all. They should inform all gests of this before the booking is done. We will not be using this guesthouse again. The staff was very unfriendly and unpleasant.

    next to the park, and old town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    When we booked, it stated it was a twin bed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we booked, it stated it was a twin bed room. We were 2 single females travelling. It ended up to be a double bed. They did apologized, but I do not understand how this could be a discrepancy as when I did my booking, it indicated a twin room on booking.com. Besides this issue, the room was clean and fairly comfortable. Location is good as everything is very walk-able. The reception area is dingy and make shift. Personally, I do think the whole place needs a bit of an upgrade.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The location was superb and the folk who run the hotel are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was superb and the folk who run the hotel are absolutely lovely! We enjoyed being there. The room was clean, simple, with a comfortable bed and good shower. It was cleaned every day and we enjoyed friendly exchanges with the staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.8
    The staff need to be trained for this job. They should be honest with services that are able to prov
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose this place as it had AC but AC didn't work and I sweat all night. I checked in late around 11 PM they didn't give me Wifi pW in check in and when I needed to log in I went to front desk at 11:30 pm I couldn't find anyone at front desk . I got PW in the morning. Nobody speak English and was supper difficult to communicate with the stafff. They were not helpful to provide some information about the city. The worst thing that happened they charged me 2 times. And I had to hold their transaction through my credit card company that cost me lots of time and international call cost.

    I didn't like anything about this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff was old and didnt speak any English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was old and didnt speak any English. You have to leave the key in the reception all the time, or the old lady will chase you. They are not always in the reception, so that’s really inconvenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    A great position in one of the main areas and almost on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s riverfront and pedestrian walking position meant noisy revellers passing during the night.

    A great position in one of the main areas and almost on the river. Breakfast in the cafe below was delicious fresh orange juice, a coffee and a bread roll with ham and cheese- a good start to the day. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a kettle and herbal teas, there was a communal sitting room with a minibar. The owner was very cheerful and managed our lack of Portuguese language with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Included breakfast from Flavour Cafe downstairs is nice -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is clearly the bare bones option for Tavira - it is very inexpensive, and you get what you pay for. Property owners are not the friendly sort, they do not go above and beyond to make you feel welcome or provide you with recommendations. Additionally, we requested a double bed, but were assigned a room with two twin beds pushed together. I would recommend looking elsewhere.

    Included breakfast from Flavour Cafe downstairs is nice - bread with ham and/or cheese, OJ, and coffee how you like. Location is great, as the property faces the promenade along the Gilão River.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay lovely traditional Guesthouse on a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 23 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Traditional , personal family run guesthouse ,friendly owners and excellent location ..Close to public transport , ferry to the Island ,restaurants and bars ,the local market ,river opposite with the 2 bridges and lovely small park with local events during my stay .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Very basic, but couldn’t ask for a better location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work in my room. Apart from the younger gentleman (who wasn’t always there - but was really lovely & helpful when he was), nobody else at reception spoke any English which made communication tricky.

    Perfect location. Very basic, but neat & clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Loved Tavira, a gem before the built up centre of the Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been easier with our own key instead of disturbing the parents all the time.

    Right in the heart of Tavira. Free parking within 5 minutes. Fantastic breakfast cafe just out side on the right. Very sweet old couple who are always on hand, they even gave us a Surprise of cake as we entered one evening!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    It was great stay but spoiled by the departure-there was no facility to pay by CARD!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    However as the lady and older gentleman in the property only spoke Portugese, and their son had limited English speaking, it was difficult to communicate. There appeared to have been a breakdown in communication, in the date of our leaving, agreed over the phone previously to our arrival with their son. Date of departure was very stressful as she wrote down on a piece of paper that we owed 130 euros, and she would not release our luggage, until it was paid. We were told at the commencement of our stay there was no further money to pay. However on day 1 she charged us 35 euros for our extra day-what extra day?? We arrived 30th April-14th May-14 days. We left 7am on 14th May. They have made the mistake.

    he property was ideal for our needs and location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Simple basic accommodation with bed and is sufficient for my needs.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely place and on 2 nights had cake and liquor as a gesture. This was my second visit and is central to Tavira. Bed was comfortable and I slept well. I will stay again in this lovely Portuguese accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    very convenient and central place to stay in Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We paid for breakfast to be included but hadn't realised this meant a meal voucher for the café below. This hadn't been made clear.

    very convenient and central place to stay in Tavira. Room clean and adequate. Tea making facilities in room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice and charming
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful old couple running the place. Good athmosphere and excellent location. Some small diffucilties because of little english vocabulary, but we sorted things out with body language and a nice french/spanish/english mix.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very steep stone steps to reach reception area.

    Very nice women who runs the guest house, everything very clean, wonderful location (at first glance entrance looked a bit sketchy but it actually was fine). We stayed several days and had a very good time. Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Quaint accommodations in excellent location. Steep staircase with no lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Adorable elderly couple seemingly running this cute property. They do not speak a word of English, so it is helpful to know some Portuguese or just have fun with gestures. Room was tiny, but adequate and clean with a spacious bathroom. Be sure to note the sign at reception regarding door hours! Also noteworthy, there is a fairly steep and lengthy staircase to get up and into the property. No lift.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    loved this place its been in the same family forever the furniture was the original from the ladys greatgranny The bedding was lush and the breakfast was good .We would stay again everything about it was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.2
    Bed was short, room depressing, TV would not turn off,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was short, room depressing, TV would not turn off, street noise all through the night, missed breakfast as it started 08.30. A very poor experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    The room and ensuite were very clean and there was good wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortably hot and there wasn't air conditioning. There wasn't much space in the room, it was fine for one night but couldn't have stayed longer. Steep flight of stairs to access the property, made it difficult with our large suitcase! Watch our for being charged twice for your stay (before you arrive and during check out).

    The room and ensuite were very clean and there was good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Quirky little place friendly staff with little English spoken
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin slices of ham and cheese every day would have been good to have eggs as an option Also do away with eating off trays on the tables

    Custard tarts yummy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    A little gem of a guest house, hidden in plain view right in the centre of Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero issues

    Central location was excellent. The Property owners were amazing and extremely accommodating, and welcoming. Exceptionally clean room, serviced everyday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get. €80 for one night, single traveller. Room fridge extremely noisy and nit working. Air conditioning very noisy too and could not control the temperature.

    Proximity to the center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Served the purpose for an overnight stay, would not have been happy if my stay was longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was incredibly small and had a flimsy plastic pull door with a broken lock. Main bedroom door did not lock unless key was used to lock it. Entrance to the hotel was up some very steep stone steps which could be impassable for some people.

    Location was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.2
    It spoilt our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything it was like going back to the dark ages. The property needsome an update.

    We did not stay for breakfast as we were up most of the night with various noises

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was really rich. The room was really clean. Very calm and beautiful authentic housing in the centre of Tavira :) Very nice hosts. I liked this place. I recommend to people who appreciate traditional atmosphere ;)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location in the centre of Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no view from the room we stayed in and some of the staff were a little unfriendly and standoffish.

    The hotel was very well located in the centre of Tavira and the rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom was a reasonable size and perfectly adequate. The restaurant downstairs served good food and the restaurant's staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    BIt expensive but well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit pricey for facilities. I did not like the policy of leaving the key in the front desk every time you leave the hotel. The breakfast is too simple. There were some ants in our room.

    The hotel is family managed. The old couple that runs it is very sweet and make you feel at home every time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    This is an excellent small friendly hotel, wonderfully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an excellent small friendly hotel, wonderfully located on the riverfront close to the new bridge and the ferry to the beach. It gets my highest recommendation. Nice breakfast too. The owners/staff couldn't be more helpful. A gem

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Guesthouse Imperial: Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Probably the only negative we found was having to put the key in to reception and of course asking for it again when you come back. Although having enjoyed the local hostelries on one or two occasions, I'm sure we gave some light entertainment!!

    Had a lovely stay at the Guesthouse Imperial. We had a river view, bit noisy at night sometimes, but not so much that you'd worry about it. The guesthouse is centrally located, so really great for exploring the wonderful town of Tavira. We didn't have breakfast there, so wouldn't be able to give feedback on the breakfast they include with some packages. The guesthouse is very clean, room cleaned every day with clean sheets, towels etc.. Miguel and his parents were really nice and helpful, although a bit of a language barrier between Mr & Mrs Senior! we coped very well! Miguel was also very helpful in helping with our transfer back to the airport, phoning the company and arranging times etc.. which was a great help, thank you again Miguel. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse, a lovely family run business.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.3
    Far better places available locally , cheap for one reason.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stated on across advert that breakfast was included, received confirmation and it wasn't. Tried to contact company , no reply. No hot water in bathroom , to not working

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    A great holiday experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing! all good really

    excellent location in a lovely town, nicely furnished in a typical portugese style, very good value for money, nice and clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they only spoke a little english but it was enough to get by and caused no problems whatsoever, they seemed very willing to do anything to help and made the stay a pleasure. A thoroughly recommendable experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.3
    Lage, Sauberkeit, Early Leaving 15.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi, just Wifi from the Restaurant next to. Toiletseat not fixed. Door closed at 7, couldn´t leave.

    Lage, Sauberkeit, Early Leaving 15.-- Cash Back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    3.3
    Nightmare
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightmare; was not told that the building was locked during the night. Had toch wake up the lady of the house (91?), She had togo backwards from the stairs to open the front door; took twenty minutes. Wat the f... In case of fire? Cooking.com? Tavira, very Nice place to be, but not tot get killed

    There was coffee

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    It suited me fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very steep stairway from street level to reception: might be a problem for older people. In bathroom, shower basin was slippery. If I'd been staying longer I would have liked a table or desk in the room.

    Very clean, pleasant, sijmple room in excellent location in town. Kettle, tea bags and cups provided, also a small fridge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice Guesthouse near the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I needed to leave early in the morning and the front door was locked so I couldn't get out. However I didn't tell them I had to leave early. I'm sure if I did they would have accommodated me.

    Location near the river is great. The staff were great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.9
    Great location, no english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody speaks english. They force you to leave the keys at reception. . Breakfast should be avoided, do not pay for it, better go downatsirs to a cafe. Internet password didn't work half of the time.

    Location, right at the river font in tavira, couldnt ask for better. Nice family running the hostel, if younspeak portuguese you will love it. Value for money.Rooms nice and spacious

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Good position, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners speak only portuguese but they are nice

    Good position, clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit old fashioned

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay right in the heart of Tavira, which is a great Portuguese character place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place by river, friendly owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Proximity to the river and in room tea and coffee maker
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal fridge

    Proximity to the river and in room tea and coffee maker

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Tiny rooms, tiny beds, hot and stuffy, bad plumbing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms, tiny beds, hot and stuffy, bad plumbing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Old-school hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Proximity to the center of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Didnt sleep well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I didn't sleep well at all as the bed was so short

    Lovely couple run the place. Nice and clean. Kettle in room and good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Location was perfect, hosts were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, hosts were wonderful... definitely stay here if you want to experience Portugal!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice place with nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very nice hosts, best spot, nice old furniture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.0
    Excellent family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small double bed.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Terriffic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and son were very helpful and friendly.Very clean and maintained to the upmost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location but would I return? - no.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to lobby via steep set of steps - difficult/dangerous. Limited language skills. Limited breakfast.

    Location - very central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms may be newer, owners didn't speak english but wasn't a problem

    Very central, heritage furniture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Very limited breakfast. Limited English spoken. Hotel somewhat gloomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift - access to lobby via very steep set of steps. No apparent assistance with luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    It was average for one(1) night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drainage in the bathroom poor very smelly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Friendly family. Their grand mother and father over worked. Too much for an old couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't comfortable. Trying to hook up the kettle to electricity was a pain as you had to hunt for a connection.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Little gem, lovely ttaditional family run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Steep stairs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Lovely family feel to the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    The loveliest people and worm weclcomining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loveliest people and worm weclcomining. ❤️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Not having any outdoor space
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having any outdoor space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.4
    Central but very shabby!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby room , old furniture Moldy walls in bathroom, I would not stay there again

    Very central to walk around town Everything was close by ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly (language barrier ?). No bath curtain.

    Location. Family run. Price. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    I will return....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could be of better quality Soap in shower empty...kept forgetting to tell them!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    JUST IN THE CENTRE , VERY GOOD RELATION OF PRICE AND HOSTAL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE NOISE FROM THE STREET DURING THE NIGHT.SMALL PLACE TO HAVE A SHOWER.

    THE PLACE OF THE HOTEL AND THE LADIES WHO WERE WORKING THERE.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    A great little place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful even though english is not spoken. Other friendly guests who liked the quaintness of the place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and clean comfortable rooms with comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was disliked. Suited me very well and have no complaints

    Everything the cosiness and friedliness of staff and central location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.3
    Great river view from room at front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great river view from room at front

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location, clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms.

    Great location and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Good central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No impressed by our meal in the restaurant. Others in the town were preferable

    Good central location. Able to park for free 5 mins walk from hotel. Good views of the river. Also a lounge made available with fridge and kettle.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    Very relaxing, clean, friendly well organised family run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was just ok. Not a huge problem as fantastic value breakfast is available anywhere.

    Very relaxing, clean, friendly well organised family run hotel. Located right in the centre a great location and street noise hardly existed as much of this part of Tavira is pedestrian.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    The Imperial is a small hotel run by the most helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    The Imperial is a small hotel run by the most helpful, friendly family. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. Fantastic value for money. Highly recommended.

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: