Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jardim Viana do Castelo 2 stars

Alameda 5 de Outubro, nº 68, 4900-515 Viana do Castelo, Portugal

#16 of 30 hotels in Viana do Castelo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Great staff, amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a thing I didn't like. Our stay was excellent!

    The staff was incredibly nice and helped me and my friend with directions and other information. Will definitely book again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional- Highly recommend this place for any family or business traveler!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not have comments

    I found the hotel to be very clean and the room very comfortable. The staff were helpful and pleasant and the breakfast was adequate with several choices and all good fresh. I would go back again if ever in this area. Hotel on the corner of the main avenue of the City, with wonderful views of the river Lima, very convenient access to shops, restaurants, mall, very close to the train station and immediate access to other transport. It was perfect in terms of location. Highly recommend this place for any family or business traveler!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, overlooking the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, overlooking the river. Beside restaurants, in the historic Centre. Breakfast included fresh fruit and yogurt. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Quiet, peaceful stay at a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no on site parking. We parked in a lot across from the Gil Eannes, about five minutes away.

    Great hotel on the main street and just a few minutes from the Gil Eannes. Within walking distance of pretty much everything we needed. Very quiet. Our room was on the back side of the hotel, but the view was down one of the very narrow streets so common in Portugal and we enjoyed people watching from the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property has no parking but there is ample free parking about a 5-10 minute away.

    Great 2* hotel. The facilities were better than expected and the location is ideal for exploring the town and nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Great choice for a two star hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel building and amenities are old, specialy the bathroom, so although it was very well maintained, it wasn't so confortable.

    The hotel is bit old, but extremely tidy and well taken care of. The room was very spacious and had good heating. Breakfast was amazing!! A lot of choices and delicious food! Staff was very helpful and friendly too. I recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    It was ok as location is fine and not all apartments were occupied, so it was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electricity system is weak point , as soon as you turn on more than one electricity consumer, there is no electricity at all. For example, air conditioner and hair dryer or hairdryer and water boiling machine. Isolation is another weak point, you can hear all voices and steps in all other apartments.

    lokacija

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Perfect choice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Staff was really very very kind and very helpful, the atmosphere was very warm and domestic. Hotel is close to the historic centre of Viana Do Castelo as well as close to the railway and bus station. All recommendations!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Helpful staff, good location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning can not work in our room.

    Clean rooms. The staff is very helpful and responsible. Quickly response if asking for service. Very thanks for help when Mom is sick when visiting Viana.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful room with high ceilings & view to the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise from the street and from other guests with an extremely loud child.

    Beautiful room with high ceilings & view to the river. Great location right in the centre, direct 5 min walk to the train station. I was lucky to get the room already at 9.30am and appreciated that very much. Nice place overall!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    I felt relaxed and comfortable there so I joined the siesta...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd have liked muesli as well as cornflakes for breakfast. Some noise transfer between rooms.

    I felt relaxed and comfortable there so I joined the siesta habit in mid afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    The room was very spacious, as well as the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom should be freshened up.

    The room was very spacious, as well as the bathroom. Style is a little kitsch but it did not disturb us. Public (free) parking available at 100m. Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Room for improvement
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dated. The bathroom had mildew. The beds were worn. The manager seemed to always be admonishing someone. ( I don't speak Portuguese, so I could be wrong. )

    The location was excellent. The breakfasts were delicious. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we did not like!

    Good location right on the waterfront, lovely old property and owners are trying to keep it in character with the building - worth going up and down the stairs each time to enjoy the beautiful timber staircase! Don't take the lift! Staff really helpful and knowledgable about the building which is always nice to get history. Lots of varied and yummy fruit for breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the style of the room, very simple and clean. Felt nautical. Staff were pleasant! We were able to check into our rooms early and relax before we went out. We got a FANTASTIC recommendation on where to eat too. Great start to our Camino adventure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    very central, old charme, helpful management
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not all the rooms are renovated, which is allright but there should be clear on booking which room you book. This was compensated by the helpful staff.

    The rooms in the first floor were very modern and confortable The view from almost all the rooms is very nice The hotel is direct in the old town very near to the riverside They also have rooms for persons with special needs Good breakfast The personnel is very friendly and helpful, the management does all possible to make the customers happy when there are problems with the room or breakfast A lot of information about the city and the surroundings , well done!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    Location of hotel was in a beautiful area of town, facing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no bathplug in the bath, so the option of a bath was not available. Too tired after a walk of 30 km to ask for one!

    Location of hotel was in a beautiful area of town, facing seafront. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    A Great Find - So Convenient to the Train Station, Too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host and front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice with a large selection to choose from. We loved that we could walk from and to the train station. A bonus: the sidewalk was mostly smooth so it was easy to pull our luggage.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    3.3
    Do not stay here under any circumstances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were horrid, especially Celeste. The room was damp and we were attacked by insects. We felt very unwelcome and could not get out of there quick enough. We stayed here as it was recommended as a pilgrim friendly hotel, and it was the exact opposite - so very different to every other place we have stayed in Portugal. The only redeeming feature was the view over the city towards the church on the hill.

    The bar down the road

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.5
    Did not meet our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not meet our expectations

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom & bed

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haven’t seen yellow bathroom suites for many years!

    Amazing breakfast choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    All the staff are absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the noise that sometimes happens outside at night.

    All the staff are absolutely amazing. Nothing was ever too much for anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. More fruit variety.

    Location and price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Room not ready untill after 3 PM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready untill after 3 PM

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great place for Camino walkers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place for Camino walkers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff and very clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    It was a pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WI-FI

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Very high price/value ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 17 nights

    Excellent maintenance of the room and very helpful staff at the reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Just the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made a reservation for a double bed and got a room with 3 singles and still paid the full amount

    Just the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little dated.

    Good location on the main promenade. Large rooms. Free Wi-Fi. Lovely local cake included in the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Staff spoke good English and were so helpful telling us what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff spoke good English and were so helpful telling us what to see and do

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    it's ok for few days, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel looks old

    it's ok for few days, good value for money good brekfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Not bad not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Forniture old, bathroom was ugly. People in the reception not very polite.

    It is in the city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Authentic Portuguese welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family run hotel very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel with nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    The bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell when we came in to the Hotel. It smelled a bit old.

    The bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff and the room aswell. Clean and really good view. 10 out of 10 for the price value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Super big bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why are all the bed mattresses so damn hard in Spanish hotels?

    Super big bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    friendly and helpful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly and helpful service

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard Not enough pillows

    Location Value Fresh cooked eggs for breakfast Waterview room Staff nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    3.8
    Look for another better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, room, prize, nosy

    Anything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.5
    Easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Easy access

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    nice central place, good price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    clean big rooms nice view good breakfast, friendly staff who tried to improve the breakfast when we said that we expected more variety

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.5
    Right in the heart of the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little property. Good breakfast, helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay here with outlooks over the river.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room was cramped

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Quiet and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and quaint, super staff and easy, convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.8
    Second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would only remark that the breakfast room was a bit chilly.

    Second visit. Taking account of the price, the facilities were good value. It's an old building with character and metre thick external walls. Clean room with a bath/shower and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.1
    Staff is super nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a terrible room in the reception and the decor is outdated. The bed is not very comfortable and the bathroom was freeeezing.

    Staff is super nice

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.3
    Staff was very helpful attending to our requests .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The traffic and the out doors could be heard from our room, which was located facing the park. . We were offered the option to change when a room was available, which we turned down .We stayed for two weeks but we adapted.

    Staff was very helpful attending to our requests . I asked for a hair dryer and extra hangers for our clothes.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Jardim Viana very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Jardim Viana very much. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, despite my not being able to speak portuguese. The room was spacious - I had a twin room, with a street view - which was not too noisy. I loved the decor. It rained the whole time I was there, so I spent a lot of time indoors! I recommend staying here.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    6.7
    The room is bright with two big window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It' not ready the breakfast at 7 and without coffee. It's front of very noisy street.

    The room is bright with two big window. Location is central.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Hotel Jardim and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Liked everything about this hotel

    We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Hotel Jardim and can't recommend it highly enough. The hotel is spotless, apparently the Portugese in this region pride themselves on cleanliness. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. It is right in the centre of town and just across the road from the ferry that takes you to the beach. The tourist information which hires out bikes is also just across the road. There are many excellent restaurants within a few hundred metres. We were staying in Viana do Castello for a sailing event and would love to go back to explore this lovely town and the region. We would definitely stay at Hotel Jardim when we go back.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.6
    Great location provides easy walking access to all important...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem was that we couldn't get wifi in our room. We had to access internet in the lobby.

    Great location provides easy walking access to all important sites, restaurants, and a ferry to a beautiful beach. The hotel is old fashioned but a fun stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is in the city center with nearby free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not friendly at all and there were problems with the wifi.

    The hotel is in the city center with nearby free parking. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    Room size was good,bath was large and nice,back room had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    First night was good,second night somebody on the room above got up at 3am with hard shoes and walk around for an hour like they were getting ready to leave and packing up.

    Room size was good,bath was large and nice,back room had pretty view of church on the hill and old town area.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    10
    The spacious room was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel details mention 'laundry' which I misunderstood. There is not a washing service for guests personal clothing!

    The spacious room was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfasts very good with lots of fruit. The wifi was really excellent and as the weather was cold it was great that the air conditioner worked well as a heater.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff ,basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff ,basic accommodation

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.1
    Located very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room without any wiew.

    Located very central. Close to Restaurant area

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was full of character.The staff were friendly and helpful.close to bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    Reception was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.5
    Very helpfull staff, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was smallish and with shower in bath not very practical.

    Very helpfull staff, nice location.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    The cleanliness of the hotel and the very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The cleanliness of the hotel and the very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    Da simpatia dos proprietários
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Não há nada que desabone

    Da simpatia dos proprietários

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed was very hard

    The location

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location; helpful, friendly staff; clean, comfortable room; nice, old, well - maintained building

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.5
    Clean room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean room, good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Excellent location, good car parking facilities nearby, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location, good car parking facilities nearby, very friendly staff, good room, nice balcony, huge bathroom

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    conceirge was very helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    conceirge was very helpful and accommodating. Lovely rooms. Great location!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.2
    Nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room wasn't ready till 3

    Nice and friendly. Good room. Not massive but big enough. Airy. Quiet. Good location but parking a little wal

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    8.8
    Location, big room, good view, hospitality of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, big room, good view, hospitality of the hotel personnels

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: