Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial Joao Capela

Rua Direita 396, Quinta do Picado, 3810 - 832 Aveiro, Portugal

#24 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Aveiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1007 B&B reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.3
    All in all never again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay away!!! Very unfriendly and creepy staff. The information on booking.com was wrong and we had to pay extra amount for the room (12€). The wifi was not working(,also after asking the staff twice). The room was smaller than described and also less facilities. There was a very strange and old smell in our room and actually in the whole hotel. (They should open the windows sometimes...)

    Breakfast was okay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not clear that the pool will be closed. Since we made a booking via phone and added a filter POOL, we booked this place because of the pool. And only later noticed that it might be closed. So please double check if all the facilities you want are actually available!

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Not great if you want to be walking distance from averio
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite far out from averio but luckily we had a car or this place would have been a mystery to get to. Felt quite old and dusty.

    Not much to like really just cheap for the area. Breakfast was decent and included in the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    A cheap, reasonably comfortable base for photographing local carnavals and entrudos.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If up early, water can take 8 minutes + to run hot in shower/basin! Chilly, gloomy breakfast room where owners drift in and out to watch TV, while coughing and sniffing loudly. Wi-fi almost unusable; TV reception in room also poor. No "residents' only" parking (limited parking near hotel entrance fills up when events take place in restaurant). NB: Hotel might be difficult to locate from the address given, as it is actually set back off Rua Direita on a fork between two minor roads, R. da Alagoa and Tv. da Estaçao.

    Two friendly English-speaking staff (one unfortunately only at weekend), including the night porter, who didn't mind me returning late (even one night when I accidentally took my key, so he thought I was back when I wasn't). The quirky décor, especially outside where it seems like a theme park. Comfortable bed. Effective air-conditioning/heating. Quiet rural location. Low cost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    This is a comfortable and cheap place for one short nigh stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the shower and theTV reception was extremely poor.

    The room was clean and warm (the staff turned the AC on before my arrival).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Clean, comfortable and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a busy day and arriving very late at night, the night manager Luis made me feel very welcome and went out of his way to make me feel at home. After having driven over 1,000 kilometres and loading customers' removals I needed somewhere to rest and this was the perfect place. Thanks Luis!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Considering the low price, everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are a bit old.

    Considering the low price, everything was excellent. Just don't rise your expectations to much, and don't expect what you don't pay for... Very clean, comfortable beds, and a reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Good bargain for money if you can find it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely difficult to find. Our GPS did not register the road given in the address so we were traveling blind. Map downloaded was not helpful. Took us over an hour; finally stopped at police station to get help. We were 7 kilometers or more from hotel at that time. The hotel is out in the country not in the city of Aveiro. Spiral staircase difficult to maneuver for this elderly couple plus luggage. Internet only worked near front desk; not in room but was a secure site.

    Nice buffet breakfast included with room. Large room. Hot water. Staff helpful. Free parking within compound. Good bargain for money if you can find it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok, would probably choose the same place next time around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to known that the Restuarent would be closed for multiple days - the first day people was getting dinner, but when I asked I was told it was closed, but it should be possibly to get something to eat the following day. The 2nd day I as told that it was still closed. Unfortunately there is no other restaurant in walking distance ... The problem was not that is was closed, it was the lack of prober information.

    Nice, clean, and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Know where you go to and then like your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are somewhat not sound-proofed.

    Cleanliness was great and surprising. Breakfast was much better than expected. The town is quiet and peaceful, very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Great value. Lower your expectation and be happy.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WIFI needs an upgrade desperately. If your room is toward the far ends of the hallway area, you might want to use the small lounge area just above the reception area.

    This was my fifth stay over the last six years. Nothing much has changed. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The facilities are dated but clean. The rooms are small but the beds are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is typically continental and plentiful. The hotel is located in a rural/residential area just 15 minutes from Aveiro. Peace and quiet is what you get. It works for me and my companion.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    It gave breakfast which was included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too floors bed had low stability, was scary to sleep in higher bed. 5 km from Aveiro

    It gave breakfast which was included. Gave goog recommendations of traditional food restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Very nice place, super friendly staff, and in a very quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are intending to spend time in Aveiro, be warned that this isn't really in the city proper. It was an extra train ride the get there once we arrived in Aveiro. Make sure you plan your travel as we didn't realize how far from the city centre it was and it ended up taking us about an extra hour and a half to get there. Also, if you are getting in later in the evening make sure you bring some food with you as there aren't a lot of options for dining nearby.

    Very nice place, super friendly staff, and in a very quiet residential area. They also have quite a few extras like a lovely garden, a pool, and several pool chairs. We didn't make use of any of these as we didn't spend much time there, but it was a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant hotel and grounds but a bit dogeared in places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding function on the Saturday and we were much disturbed by noisy children playing in the courtyard late in the afternoon- yes thats a little grumpy but I wanted a nap-not possible. We went to a sort of Dinner/dance function at the hotel on the Saturday evening. Live music for the dancing (keyboard singer) which was quite good but the food they served us was abysmal and we ate almost none of the main course.

    The staff were very helpful and accomodated our requested change of room. Parking on site was plentiful. The breakfast was adequate. We went to the local restaurant recommended by other reviewers " Abilo Marques" which was excellent and very crowded with locals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee was cold, the restaurant and bar was closed for dinner, breakfast was poor with little healthy choices and it was difficult to make ourselves understood.

    The bed was comfortable,the balcony sunny and looked over the garden. The young man at reception tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    6.7
    The location was good, the staff nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not realize we had shared facilities. We had our own bathroom, but it was quite a ways from our bedroom. We shared a kitchen and living room. The person was nice, but it was a surprise to see we were sharing.

    The location was good, the staff nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    no wifi signal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi signal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    In the bedroom, there was no wifi signal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bedroom, there was no wifi signal. The TV no bigger than a 12 inch, and terrible reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    You get what you pay for,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds of the property were somewhat run down.

    Room was spacious, clean and well looked after although quite dated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Cheap to spend a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was not connectable. A lot of noise from AC so difficult to sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Kindness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was far from everyting

    Nice and cosy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Very picturesque little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very picturesque little hotel. Despite the restaurant being closed they recommended a nearby restaurant that was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    facilities, decor, location, access to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    facilities, decor, location, access to train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    3.3
    Don't go! It seems to be into the 'Shining' movie. Very old hotel, old furnishing, horrible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The location, the building, the room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Correct
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    RAS

    RAS

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was a great layout for a travelling family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a great layout for a travelling family of 4. Bathroom was lovely and big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    agradable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tema de bar y restaurante

    la piscina y los jardines

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration and furniture - old fashioned and not up to date. Mattress not very comfortable.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    satisfactory place, will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stay one night only, no restaurant nearby, but once you find , you will be amazed

    very good environment, good breakfast, quiet place,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    the pool with palm trees is a key contributor to its value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to communicate, no foreign language spoken

    the pool with palm trees is a key contributor to its value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    They attention and assistance of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They attention and assistance of the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Nothing fancy but a great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Simple clean room and bathroom, in a very quiet small town adjacent to Aveiro. Very good breakfast and a very attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.0
    Pretty Aveiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast, very limited. Long way from Aveiro. No other restaurant nearby.

    Good meal in restaurant. Friendly staff. Parking on site.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    Pedro, the attendant, was a fantastic resource for good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was pretty basic.

    Pedro, the attendant, was a fantastic resource for good places to eat in Aveiro. He was very friendly and helpful and even let us see the antique museum. The courtyard has a number of interesting rural artifacts that are worth seeing. The room was simple but very clean and comfortable. Great value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    It has private parking, a decent breakfast included in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is not best, quite far from Aveiro

    It has private parking, a decent breakfast included in the price and the rooms are comfortable. The price is very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.5
    - stylish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - they did not want to apply my discount to modified reservation (had to rebook via booking) - watch out for loud music from nearby buildings (we had room on the other side so not an issue)

    - stylish

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff was super helpful and room/facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had WIFI issues but the truth is i did not bother to ask the Staff for support. Breakfast could have been a bit better, specially the coffee

    Staff was super helpful and room/facilities were excellent. Room view to the orange trees was a delight

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    6.3
    The room was quiet big
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location of the hotel is quiet far away from the center The building is very old and it is needed to be renovated

    The room was quiet big Breakfast was good if it is compared to the others

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.8
    Clean, confortable, with a very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was in and out... but the techs were supposedly working on the issue.

    Clean, confortable, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Very quiet small town neighboring Aveiro. Away from the hustle and bustle but only 10 minutes away. Excellent breakfast every day during our four day stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    6.3
    The wifi didn't work in my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi didn't work in my room. I had to go to the common area if I wanted to use it. The room was for 3 people but there was only towel for 2 people and the 3rd bed (single) was not really comfortable

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly staff, beautiful garden, quiet and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi-fi in rooms. It's outside Aveiro, but if you have a car it's not a problem to get there.

    Very friendly staff, beautiful garden, quiet and cozy. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.1
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very small shower! Location - great difficulty finding it.

    Very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    7.5
    Charme do hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charme do hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.3
    Good croissants at the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant from the hotel was having some kind of party until 1 a.m. We could ear the noise from our bedroom.

    Good croissants at the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.2
    The room was excellent with plenty of place and a good bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was a little far from the centre though no terribly far and we had plenty of parking

    The room was excellent with plenty of place and a good bed!

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    Ideally situated this proved to be an ideal stopover for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was difficult.

    Ideally situated this proved to be an ideal stopover for three days and we really enjoyed the facilities.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Group

    Was a 10 minute taxi ride into Aveiro

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    The rooms especially the bed were really comfy a nice family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather but that wasn't their fault

    The rooms especially the bed were really comfy a nice family run hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    The relaxed atmosphere and outside fascilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location was not central making easy access to restaurants and activities challenging

    The relaxed atmosphere and outside fascilities

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.8
    Staff were helpful but communication was linguistically...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were helpful but communication was linguistically difficult; they only seemed able to speak in Portuguese.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    the yard is gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi comes and goes we had some troubles finding the place (without GPS)

    the yard is gorgeous the staff is nice Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Nice hotel, easy to find, perfect for the children - swiming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice hotel, easy to find, perfect for the children - swiming pool, football field, mini museum of farming

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.3
    small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small room

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    4.6
    The pool was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff wasnt friendly. Breakfast was poor and Coffee awful

    The pool was clean

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.6
    fit for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    internet only in main area.

    fit for families with children. very cooperative crew.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    6.3
    Flexible staff - initial family room very cramped and dated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Flexible staff - initial family room very cramped and dated, but on request we moved to a far better, more spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    9.6
    everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi

    everything

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: