Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Laranjeira 2 stars

Rua Candido Dos Reis (Antiga Rua General Luis do Rego), 45, 4900-082 Viana do Castelo, Portugal

#4 of 24 hotels in Viana do Castelo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1428 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn’t work in our room but was fine just round the corner in sitting area.

    Great value. Lots of stairs to go up with luggage but we managed. Room and bathroom very nice. Very good breakfast. All the staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Fantastico!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little small but was designed well

    The Portuguese excel in all aspects of hospitality and this hotel had it all- great welcome, clean, helpfull in every way- I would highly recommend to anyone Obrigada

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Welcoming lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Edourdo and Juan on the desk were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff in the breakfast room were extremely attentive, great service. Andrea looked after us very well. We were walking the Caminho and felt very lucky to stay here. Added bonus was a balcony overlooking rooves to the cathedral where we could sit out and enjoy a drink. Also great location in the old quarter, close to restaurants and cafes and lovely to wander around. We were lucky to be there on the last day of the flower festival when all the streets were decorated with flowers. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 3 friends travelling together so the see through bathroom door was a bit offputting!

    Comfortable room & good breakfast in the center of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel Laranjeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think there was a residents lounge.

    Location. Everything the hotel had to offer was very good indeed. The rooms were very clean, plenty of hot water good house-keeping. Very helpful staff on reception who kindly helped us with our cases to our rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay in Viana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovely welcome! The most helpful staff who even carried the bags to the room door. Room was compact though adequate, and so clean and comfortable. The bathroom was great too. A delicious breakfast served early on request. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    The enthusiastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hooks to hang anything, not even in bathroom. ( designers think of practical use too!)

    The enthusiastic service. Staff bent over backwards to help. Gave recommendations for dinner, things to do / visit ... all with a smile🙂

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    madern hotel in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    its on a one way street so difficult to get to -- clear glass walled bathroom !

    Hotel is right in the centre of town with a parking garage for the motorbikes -- rooms were modern and clean -- glassed walled bathroom is a bit off putting for some !! breakfast was basic but plentiful -- staff were helpful - bar on site --

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    It was clean and warm enough, located right in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked a little worn-down next to the modern bathroom, also rather small. Shame that they only have limited parking spaces.

    It was clean and warm enough, located right in the center. The breakfast lady was excellent and was almost filling our pockets with food; the reception staff was very nice too. Food, mainly cakes and pastry, were very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideal position just off the Avenida
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedside shelf is starting to sag on its hinges. The chair for the desk was rather heavy.

    Second visit. My room had a south facing terrace - not much of a view but a nice place to sit out in the evening. Everything is clean; the hot water works; there are some English speaking channels on TV; staff are helpful; breakfast is fine. It is a bonus to be almost on the Avenida, but it's also very convenient for the funicular, railway station and Interface (bus station).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding staff, great position and view from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very difficult to fault this hotel. Only very slight niggle - sheets on our bed were slightly too narrow.

    Outstanding staff, great position and view from balcony. Quiet but very central to old town and railway station. Naffy design and modern decorated room. Lift was a pleasant surprise and very welcome as on high floor. Compact room but contained everything you needed. Breakfast was simple but adequate and breakfast staff were a treat. Bed comfortable and plenty of pillows and extra blankets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved It
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The weather! But have to say being caught in a mega hailstorm with thunder and lightning was awesome.

    We loved staying here. A really professional hotel that has kept the caring and friendly service of the family business that it is. We were made to feel very welcome and appreciated all the info about the town and being taken to our room and shown how the a/c worked rather than just being given the key and left to get on with it. Glad to say the a/c heated the room very quickly! The room was small but quite well arranged with enough space for our stuff and plenty of hangers in the cupboard. One of us had minimal room to get in and out of bed but it wasn't a problem. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom had a bath with a plug that worked and a shower mixer tap - there was always hot water and the pressure was good. Breakfast was plentyful with no hot options - a mixture of help yourself and being served by the most delightful people. We had a great time and leaving felt like leaving friends that we look forward to seeing again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic travel and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    Todo.Fantastic staff,lovely rooms, A lot of restaurants and places near. Is in the center of the City. I recomendad TOO MUCH. The best hotel in Viana do Castelo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    The Hotel has an excellent location, right in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel has an excellent location, right in the middle of town and very near the train station. The staff is exceedingly helpful and pleasant. Underground parking is provided. It is not free, but it is very cheap, which is great, as parking in Viana is not easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and most helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and most helpful. Parking facility was great (it is difficult to find a parking spot in Viana). The location is also excellent. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    We enjoy staying in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You must be careful when park in garage. Room was very steril - without any picture or other decoration.

    Hotel is in the center of the citty. Stuff is very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Good choice for business stay in Viana do Castelo
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited parking place (understandable as resulted from hotel location) Only thing lacking was no (even small) fridge.

    Good hotel in very convenient location (located in the city centre, short walk from train station and main shopping mall Estacao Viana, with few good restaurants within walking distance). Staff friendly and very helpfull. The prices are reasonable. Despite limited parking place available in hotel, its alternative solution proposed by hotel to park your car in underground parking Parque 1° Maio (just 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel, with very convenient price for 24-hours ticket). Breakfast services were good, but could have been a bit more varied (perhaps some hot options?)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Great town for a weekend stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room with balcony on the top floor had a lovely view of the Monte de Santa Luzia, Room was modern with a glass wall around the bathroom, we were ok with this but some may like a bit of privacy! Spacious Garage for parking our motorbike. The hotel is in the town centre close to everything, the man at reception explained all about the town making it easy to make plans for our visit this lovely town. We also used this town as a base to visit Porto getting the early train from Viano station to Porto buy a ticket to Sao Bento and change at Campanha . we loved this day trip and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very very tiny, bathrooms adequate but no privacy. The rooms were not large enough to be comfortable. I think they have some larger rooms, but the hotel did not offer to up grade us, and the hotel was not full. The wall are very thin, rooms could be noisy depending on your neighbours.

    Location was great. Good breakfast, gal serving breakfast was fabulous. Very helpful staff. Parking was handy and reasonably priced. A/C worked well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Loved Viana do Castelo, loved the Hotel Laranjeira and hope to return one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel has been modernised and is now a Design Hotel. My room was comfortable and had a large walk-in shower which was very good. The only thing I was not keen on was the modern designer sink! It is almost impossible to wash in a sink that is a mere 3 ins (8 cms) deep. I call them tsunami sinks as the slightest agitation of the water causes a tidal wave! I know they are the latest fashion, but I usually have to resort to washing under a running tap, which is wasting precious water.

    I was very impressed with all the staff. The two young men who cover Reception were so friendly and helpful, and always found time for a quick chat about my day. The staff serving breakfast were also friendly and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Petite but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny and there is no on-site parking without a reservation. Staff didn't mention you need to talk to the cashier at the nearby parking ramp to actually get the tourist parking rate. Otherwise, the parking rate is five times more expensive.

    Convenient location near the harbor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Viana to experience city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was toilet paper very close to running out... not a deal breaker. Also, if you are tall (I'm 5'9"), the beds will probably be a little short, for me, they were fine.

    Overall amazing value for location, amenities, and friendliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and pleasant welcome to central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity three of their recommended restaurants were closed on Monday (the day we were there, and they recommended them that day!!)

    Superb info and helpful guidance from reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EXTREMELY nice staff at the reception (helped us to find a parking, restaurant, beach....informed us that the furnicular didn´t work and so on) very quiet, clean room and modern bathroom. I highly recommend this accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Well located boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel is a bit undersized but very nice. Premade filter coffee is served in the morning. I noticed a coffee maker and asked for an expresso - 1euro extra. I didn't mind paying but it seemed unnecessarily mean.

    Very well located hotel right on the Camino. Literally follow the arrows to the front door. Nice staff adequate breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    The best example of Portuguese hospitality on our entire Camino Santiago trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are small and uncomfortable

    The staff were so welcoming and unbelievably helpful. The receptionist gave us a great summary of the tourist attractions and all the info we needed for our Camino route

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    We had a fantastic day in Viana thanks to the marvellous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    We had a fantastic day in Viana thanks to the marvellous receptionist who gave us good advice on what to do, how to get there, where to have dinner. The room was comfortable and quiet. At the rich breakfast, there was something for everybody's taste, fresh products, fresh juice and attentive staff! a great stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Tailored service, a real plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was superb, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Really went out of their way with helping us when we had a question or request and it was really appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    A warm welcome to Viana Do Costello
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design was different and very practical. The location is stunning, centre to everything. The staff were more than obliging to help and provided a warm welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Good central location for a great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want 'traditional' this is not for you, but if you're happy with a modern 'pod' accommodation then it's great.

    Friendly greeting at reception with a map and lots of info about the town. Room with air-con, great shower and comfy bed. Very generous breakfast...even offered to get soya milk for me if I needed it. Staff were very attentive. There was a really happy atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Limited parking. My elderly parents who accompanied me did not care for the glass ensuite!

    Excellent location. Modern stylish rooms with air conditioning, if on the small side. Friendly staff with good local knowledge and suggestions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Airy modern hotel , comfortable rooms lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we should have stayed longer for the festival if we had known it was on

    Airy modern hotel , comfortable rooms lovely staff would return anytime I wasin the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Very warm welcome from the manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit small, but we are not big people (for two big people the bed would have been too small, 140cm or even less.

    Very warm welcome from the manager

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location and breakfast is plentiful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was confusion over the booking - not from the hotels mistake - but nevertheless the resulting fee meant that I paid double for the room..... and the attitude was somewhat unforgiving

    Some of the staff very friendly and the cleanliness was very good. The rooms had all that was needed and shower was very good, and the breakfast was plentiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Great modern location in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking places but there's a separate car park around the corner

    Nice modern feel to it but not pretentious. Very friendly staff at reception and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Budget and friendly small hotel in a lovely part of Portugal
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing should be tackled!

    All staff were very pleasant and helpful, the late-night receptionist particularly so. The room was spotless. Perhaps some small use of colour might give a warmer look.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    A gem of an hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Great welcome with loads of help and information about the area. Excellent breakfast with fresh orange juice, a good variety of breads. Ham and cheese, yoghurts, fruits, quince marmalade and lots more with very friendly attentive service. Light modern room with good shower. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location right on the Camino Portugues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small, but well appointed.

    Excellent location right in the middle of town and 5 minute walk to the train station. The receptionist was excellent and gave us a great recommendation for a delicious seafood dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Way overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is way overrated. The room is like a cheap motel room. Breakfast was not much. Very small room. Uncomfortable bed.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Hosts with the most.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Igor was more than accommodating. He waited for us to get there as we were much longer at the airport than anticipated. Great location , lots of recommendation where to go and eat. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.3
    Location oké but everything inside is to small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two persoon bed is to small and not long enough The shower was so small you can hardly turn

    Located in the centre The balcon has a nice view on the mountain

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Delightful place to stay in Viana do Castelo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful; friendly, enthusiastic...nothing was too much trouble. They provided comprehensive information about the attractions of the town and I had secure parking for my motorbike. The hotel is crisp, clean and comfortable. It is within easy walking distance of the beautiful old town streets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was exactly the same each day .......bread, cheese and cold meats aren't very enticing. Even the 'juice' wasn't fresh.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful with travel assistance and information regarding the town and environs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stop for pilgrims
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a kettle in the room to be able to make tea. The area just outside the rooms was cold and unfriendly.

    The rooms were comfortable with an outside area making it feel bigger than it was. The availability of a covered line to hang out washed clothing was great. The surrounding area in the town was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    This was a perfect overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was just an overnight stay for us as we were on our way from Porto airport to Pontevedra in Spain. The staff at reception and serving breakfast were particularly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and served in a pleasant, spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing is the reduced acoustic isolation between rooms, with will only be a thing if you really unlucky with your neighbors.

    It's a family run business. It's small, modern and clean. They are nice not because they have to, but because they are genuine nice people. They will help you wherever they can, for instance you will be kindly forced to take something to eat (a small snack, a piece of fruit) during your morning activity, don't try to resist, just embrace it :) The location is great, equally near to the old town center, supermarket, traditional commerce, train station and all main attractions. Viana is a small town so you will not need your car, will in this hotel. This will be my hotel for when I return to Viana.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable place for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Happy with the hot water, cleanliness, toiletries and the room in general. I had one of the four (?) rooms with a french window opening onto a terrace, which was a pleasant bonus. The staff were always helpful. Excellent location just off the main Avenida in this charming town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Central location with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location in old town. Easy walking to all places of interest. Onsite car park a real bonus. The staff were super helpful, great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Location verry good, private parking for reasonable price
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All personell most friendly, pure! From reception to breakfast to night watchman all verry helpfull. Breakfast opened especially for us as we had a verry early check out. (without asking from our part ) Thats service !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    great deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good, but it would be much better with daily variations.

    The hotel is located nearby the railway station. Very friendly and polite staff. I was always greeted by name. Room was clean and spacious. Shower booth was large enough - easy to use it. Great WiFi. The staff recommended a couple of good restaurants in the town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.5
    Could walk to old town and a lovely mall at train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking about a block away in underground. Long pull over bumpy streets and some construction dirt. Didn't have good directions to hotel. They had apparently changed street to one way and said they had emailed instructions which we didn't get before we left home. GPS and one way streets do not work well. Town was rather dirty.

    Could walk to old town and a lovely mall at train station nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not fault the hotel at all.

    The staff were excellent and a great welcome. Great location. Car park at hotel good but you must book it's limited to about six cars. Very clean hotel, family run, great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Compact, convenient and clean with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very compact room, hardly space for two people to get in and out of bed! Bathroom design worst feature, as water from shower box leaked onto bathroom floor in big puddles and out into the bedroom. Swelling in parquet floor indicates this routinely happens

    Friendly staff, good location, very clean, nice view of Santa Luzia and quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Great value and wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an economic room and it was really nice but the shower was quite bijou! No worries though - only one night.

    The welcome was great, English spoken, so much advice given about what to see and even restaurant recommendations!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Excellent location in old part of city,yet up to date in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in old part of city,yet up to date in decor and bathroom facilities.excellent help and kindness by desk staff. My husband was very ill with a cold and he was shown great care and concern by staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb! All staff were friendly & accommodating. Brilliant location, near railway & all places of interest. Great coffee/fresh fruit for breakfast. Modern & clean. Highly recommended. Really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Exeptionally good reception! Very good service at breakfast. Comfortable room with beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We should have stayed longer to enjoy the surroundings/ocean.

    Exeptionally good reception!! Modern, comfortable room with nice balcony and great view of Santa Luzia church. Very good service at breakfast. Very good price/quality ratio.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Design hotel, right in the centre with welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Small bed, actually smaller than a queen size. Being 1.85+ my feet were out of the bed. Not a big deal in summertime, though - Noisy. Walls resemble the paper-thin Japanese houses: From dawn you hear and know everything happens around you :-)

    + Design hotel. Fancy. Cool. + Super-helpful staff. Friendly, welcoming, keen to advise about the town. + Small terrace, despite in fact shared with other rooms + Cheap 4-euro municipality parking facility, 2mins walking from the hotel for We tried to book the inside park but it was full that night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Happy happy Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we knew that our room was on small side due to old building,... Location .....

    The incredible warmth of all staff was amazing , at breakfast through to reception nothing was left to chance and wonderful help with our overall visit in terms of history and restaurants. We loved our stay at this hotel in historic Viana..thankyou so much

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent and very accommodating. Breakfast needs to be less processed and more interesting. Dr Anne Harris. This would give an excellence to the business

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Pretty and modern room in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small for 3 persons and the bathroom had seethrough glass, which made privacy not existent.

    The breakfast was very good and we liked the little private balcony. Beds were comfortable and the staff super nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    The gentleman that checked us in was so nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman that checked us in was so nice and helpful. He went out of his way to tell us about everything that was going on (i.e. jazz festival) that evening. We asked him to recommend a restaurant that the locals frequent, and he gave us an excellent recommendation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bad thing, if you like to sleep with open windows, prepare for a bit of noise...

    Excellent hotel. The staff went go out of their way to acomodate us, and were very very pleasant. The rooms, if not huge, were big enough, cozy and confortable. Excellent place really.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.2
    A nice hotel, well placed with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was rather small and the glass bathroom is rather a strange idea.

    The staff, all friendly and helpful particularly the breakfast girls. Excellent breakfast. Well situate in centre of town with its own car park.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    10
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely helpful friendly staff, clean, modern, comfortable , great shower, no complaints , great value for money, receptionist wentvthecextracmike to print off naps fir us as we werexwalkingvthe Portuguese Camino

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.5
    Very nice but with a few small issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking could be bigger, as there was no room for us to park our car when we arrived. However, we did manage to get a good deal very near by, with the help of the hotel staffs advice. Personally I do not mind the transparent glass walls into the bathroom. However, other people may find this a problem. There could be more selection for alternative diets, such as vegans. We did not have soya milk at breakfast and so had to bring our own. It would be a good idea to have more selection for vegans. Tea-making facilities in the room would be nice.

    The hotel is fairly central, not far from all sites. The staff are quite friendly, giving much information about the town. The hotel is quite modern and clean and in a fairly quiet location. The bedroom is a decent size and very clean. The room is a nice temperature, not too hot, not too cold, and keeps fairly quiet throughout the day. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast room is nice and clean too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and made a real effort to give a good service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing really wrong

    Service was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Just super, couldn't ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly efficient staff especially the manager in reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean compact and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean compact and close to everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    staff beds great shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could be better

    staff beds great shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    No sound proof
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proof

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice and helpful staff, great location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very perfumed

    Nice and helpful staff, great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: