Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mar A Vista 2 stars

Cerro da Piedade, Albufeira City Centre, 8200-918 Albufeira, Portugal

#67 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 931 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room v small , mouldy dirty bath/ room, very tatty, no air con , no balcony , leak in floor in room? Plug socket hanging off wall,Weeds all round small pool. Wasn’t able to upgrade !

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, 5 minutes walk from the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, 5 minutes walk from the sea. Uphill with a nice view of the sea from our room. It's not exactly in the old city centre but this is a positive point as during nights the centre is too noisy with all the bars and loud music going on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    met my requirements for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a couple of well located extra sockets are needed, & some light bulbs need replacing. Extending the internet to the rooms rather than just the reception area should be a priority

    Excellent front desk staff - polite, friendly & helpful. Hotel is a bit tired but was very clean & comfortable for a short stay. Good location in the old town, close to beaches & main activities. Excellent car park for an old town location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small pool area. Needs renovating, a good paint, and could do with some new steps down to it. Could do with new sunbed and umbrellas perhaps need to be supplied. Wifi only available in Reception area.

    Sylvia, Receptionist was excellent, very helpful and informative. Comfortable rooms, spacious with balcony and lovely bathroom. Excellent views across the bay and old town which is not far to walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel did not disappoint lovely location with spectacular view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is quite old however I like old buildings that have character. I think this hotel is perfect for short stay.

    Excellent location with excellent view. Lovely staff. Room fine for two nights. Very close to everything. Would definitely recommend this hotel for short stay. Plenty of restaurants and close proximity to beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    I can say, that was our best holiday ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can say, that was our best holiday ever. Everything was really close, we didn’t use any transport, bus or taxi. The view to the sea and the old town were unbelievable. The staff amazing friendly and helpful ( specially the Breakfast served Lady). Really clean and tidy. Thank you Hotel Mar a Vista Team!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, close to the beach and restaurants, nice view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No vegitables for breakfast and hotel do not provide shampoo - you have to bring your own.

    Good location, close to the beach and restaurants, nice view of the ocean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    The location is quite nice as it is 10 min walking from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old itself and the room was smelly in the bathroom. Also very early every morning it was a strange sound like a washing machine, which woke us up. The bed was old and not very comfortable because of the springs in the mattress. May be in some rooms the beds are better, but we were unlucky.

    The location is quite nice as it is 10 min walking from the beach and the centre. But it is on the hill, so consider it if you are carrying your bags or travel with kids. Though the view from the balcony is amazing and the pool is quite nice. The staff is polite and they let us leave the bags after check out. But the comfort in the room is according to the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money and a relaxing stay with beutiful kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was a little off, so the hotels is situated on a hill and because of cold weather it was more windy than in the city. But we went in May, so perhaps in summer months it would be a bonus.

    The price/quality ratio is amazing in this hotel. The staff are wonderful people, starting from the cook eho welcomed us to breakfast every day, to all the receptionists who work very hard at keeping the quests satisfied. Breakfast could be more varied, but still there is a coffee machine and bread that you would really like, it is a value for money without a doubt. The towels and rooms are replaced and cleaned every day, the views are jut like in the photos. We weould go back definitely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay at Hotel Mar A Vista
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Fridge was sometimes noisy , maybe newer model will produce less, for us not really an issue(can be unplugged if needed) Some renovation could be done.

    Stayed for 13 night in this lovely small hotel and enjoyed it very much. Hotel staff was very kind. At the time we stayed it was very quiet at night(except for the fridge). We stayed in the rooms next to the lobby which had a little "garden", which we enjoyed very much. Possible less suited for people in wheelchair, from the village you have to go up the "mountain" to reach the hotel. For us this was no problem at all, stayed with 4 , all around 40 years old. Value for money was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room was awful(some garbage outside), and the property was kind of hidden so I got lost oon first night, hotel not in the old town centre...

    Room clean and tidy, the woman in the reception was very friendly and helpful,tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Great little hotel and reasonably priced and I would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room had a pillar immediately in front of the toilet which made it difficult and awkward to use. Unfortunately no outside space with the room and the room next door had a patio directly on to one of my bedroom windows, no good for privacy. The pool area wasn't very clean and the pool small but ideal for cooling off. If you have any mobility issues you will need to use taxis down to the town and back up, very long and steep hill to Albufeira Old Town.

    Very quiet location, good size rooms, decent bath with shower over plus air-con. The staff were very helpful and all happy in their work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere you will want to go is down hill, very scenic walk but the walk back up, doing that several times a day, is exhausting. Then to walk up 5 flights of stairs to our top floor room was alot.

    Clean, staff were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Good location, good price, lovely staff but no internet in the rooms and they would need renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - no internet in the rooms - The equipment and the rooms are rather old, I had an impression there was humidity, bad smell in the room. - Our room was at the bottom floor, so no view but direct access to the swimming pool (rather small) area.

    - The staff was very nice and helpful. - It was very nicely located, close to the centre and the beach with lovely view from the breakfast room and reception. - breakfast was optional and at a good price. - the staff organised the transfer to the airport, direct and for a good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    On a large Hill not ideal for disabled people unless they always catch taxis there. ! Budget hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff that were both males. One we nicked named laughing boy.He would laugh when you would say the TV is broken and not working. and the other guy was a former worker a hotel villa recife, the most unhelpful miserable person I've ever came across, never smiled and never really was any help at all.

    The room we got moved to was way better. But had small problems couple of lights did not work. But a good helpful staff member Sylvia was the best.sorted any sort of problems we had. very helpful lady indeed. On the other hand the male staff were a joke.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value and the best view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not complaining because it was great value but the hotel needs a refurbishement and it would be nice to have a kettle in the room to make a drink.

    The sea view (Mar A Vista) was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    It was brilliant thank you
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv was pretty small but can’t complain for the price you pay

    Bathroom was really clean, the staff were expectional and for 2 star I’d recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to save money, the sea view was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay with friendly hotel staff and very clean too
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - very honest too. I left my wallet in reception overnight by accident and they gave it to me the next day - such kind, honest people. They're super friendly too. The hotel is very good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Stayed for 3 days in room with balcony facing sea and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very basic breakfast. Although coffee made it up for me!

    Stayed for 3 days in room with balcony facing sea and city. Room was clean and good for two people. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They also booked the boat tour on request.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Staff was realy nice and helpfull, location and breakfast also good, but bed was so so as well as pi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no soundproof at all and bad bed

    Staff was realy nice and helpfull, location and breakfast also good, but bed was so so as well as pillows and all beding, very old fashioned furniture and bathroom, no soundproof at all, you hear people walk out side and so on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Cheap and Nice place for your holiday :)
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was absolutely the best time in Hotel Mar A Vista ‚we’re really happy We spent there amazing time with my mum. Hotel located nearby the beach and city. Staff were really Kind and helpfull. Breakfast basic- coffee, tea, croissants, jam, cheese jak and etc. Possible to book a transfer to and from the airport;) Thank you hotel Mar a Vista

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.6
    Not value for money :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of ants in bathroom and room. We had to ask for another room after first day. Dirty walls, shower and balcony. It absolutely wasnt vaule for money :(

    Staff, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.2
    a very depressing hotel which not many would choose to return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    room facilities only allowed 1 pillow each smell in bathroom awful enough to make you feel sick.very small cold room no sun ever on balcony .costs a fortune to go to beach every day as pool not manned very small and uncared for ,really not useable.We are not choosy but would definitely not return to this hotel .It is not a money saver as you have to spend on taxis every day and money for beach beds every day .Pay a bit more and go elsewheRe

    the only redeeming thing about this hotel is the staff.who do there best in a very run down dismal hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, quiet and close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bathroom could use some maintenance

    Good location, quiet and close to city center. If you're lucky you got a room with nice view over the ocean. Very nice and helpful staff :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't very comfy and doors slamming throughout the night kept waking us up

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Good location - Just 5 mins from the beach but quite a few steps/hill, easy for us but may be difficult for others

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value for the price. Don't go if you expecting all sing dancing accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for views over old town but walk back up hills hard work. Wouldn't recommend for wheelchairs or pushchairs due to location and pool unasscessable for people with mobility issues as you have go down quite a lot of steep steps. Furniture in rooms very dated

    Good value, no frills accommodation,friendly helpful staff. Clean if dated rooms. Good shower with plenty of hot water and power. Our room 506 had a huge balcony with amazing views over old town, beach and fab sunrises. (Emailed hotel ahead of arrival to request this room.) lack of electrical points but we always take a multi plug adapter/ extension lead wherever we go. Small bar tho the white wine was undrinkable. Maybe my taste ? All things considered 8 nights for 2 people for less than £400 excellent. Walk down town about 10 minutes, back up 20 mins. A few bars doted about to break the trek, personally recommend Hot Sun bar, small but super friendly hosts Domingos and Claudia, Bagettle restaurant on the roundabout very good for evening meals. Taxi to/ from old town about 5euro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.6
    The room was fine as was the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the room barely blew out any cold air , the stairs throughout the hotel are musty and outdated and the whole place could do with a face lift

    The room was fine as was the balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    The bedroom was terrible with mould on the walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom was terrible with mould on the walls.The furniture was old and dreary looking.The whole place needs to be painted and upgraded.Very dissapointing not suitable for holiday makers,would depress you if anything staff very nice and helpful did the best they could always.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    -Location (5-7 minutes walk to the beach and old city) ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very noisy, mostly no warm water in the afternoon/night , old furniture, no AC only a fan that was not very helpful.

    -Location (5-7 minutes walk to the beach and old city) , great view from the room's balcony on last level. -nice and helpful staff -parking available in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Location was great with excellent views but this is a budget hotel so expect to mildly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The original room we booked was on the lowest level and it felt like we were in a basement. The room was musty and there were cobwebs above the door. We requested a different room after one night and were granted a much better room on a higher floor. Honestly, it didn't look like we were in the same hotel. Basically, anything on the lower levels felt like it was neglected and the staff only focused on the higher rooms with better views. In addition the hotel doesn't offer any shampoo or blow dryer. If you forget something like a toothbrush you're also out of luck. The room safe costs 3 euro a day to rent which isn't a lot but still annoying to have to pay for something that's already in the room.

    The view and location was great for my wife and I because it was away from the hustle and bustle of old town city center. Great for taking pictures and a pleasant stroll down to the beach. Would not recommend for the elderly or physically challenged as the property requires a lot of walking up and down step hills.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for couples and very relaxing with fantastic attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air con in the room although there was a good fan.

    Hotel staff were amazing. They allowed us a late check out at last minute. I left my bag at the hotel with passports etc. In it and they tried to contact me before I got to the airport. I turned back and they had the bag safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    Worst hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much to say... the car park was full The arguing, fighty receptionist Sylvia had an excuse that it's August and the car park is shared by 3 hotels. This is not mentioned in Booking.com. The bathroom was repaired with cellar type. The room was extremely dirty, the ventilator was rusty. I can continue describing bad things untill tomorrow.

    There is no much to like in the property. The housekeepers were very nice and smiley. The location is close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    It is not bad for the money. could do with a refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hills to the hotel were very steep. Carpets need replaced, beds uncomfortable. there was no hot water for two days out of our five day stay and we had to go to our sisters hotel for showers.Sink cracked

    . It is ok for the money . Great views . We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced and run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was not nice at all. She didn't inform about the amenities, breakfast, safe key. If you had questions it was like you were bothering her. Not compatible to all the Portuguese people I have met. Also, I have travelled through Europe and this hotel did not provide good value. It was very expensive for a very uncomfortable bed. Bath tub was dirty and didn't drain. Old carpets. Just lame.

    Most of the staff was really nice specially Silvia. I enjoyed the view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.0
    Great if u want a cheap central place That you won't spend much time in. Better for single ppl
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the towels have stains on them. They are clean and washed but so old that they have stains and it's kind of gross. They put the fresh towels for the day in the bidet! That's where they placed them. I asked to have new ones and I was treated like it was a problem. I don't think this is a good place for families who use hotel facilities a lot.

    The location was OK 10 min walk to city center. The front desk/ reception was amazing and very helpful. They helped us and were so friendly at all hours. The decor was my favorite. It was nice for 2 girls on a girls holiday. We didn't spend much time in the room and the receptionist Olda was so helpful she upgraded our rooms to an ocean view! So for single ppl on holiday it's fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    A great little hotel for a budget holiday. Perfect if you need a warm shower and somewhere to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The security of the room door felt very flimsy, you could have literally kicked the door in if you wanted.

    The room we stayed in was very basic but absolutely met our needs. We needed a clean room, fresh towels, beds made...that's what we got. The bathroom was fit for purpose and the shower was great. We needed the room to shower after the beach and to sleep in after a night out. We were far away enough to not hear the rowdy town life but not too far to walk. The hotel is very high up, a long walk for some, but for two lads in their 30s it was fine. The staff were always so friendly and let us leave our bags there for the day after we had checked out. They allowed us to use the shower down by the pool and change in the toilets next to the reception. Very friendly and helpful. We were also very fortunate that the hotel wifi reached our room so we didn't need to keep going up to the foyer to use it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Portugal is expensive for U.K. People, so this is a value proposition for travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside area dusty with litter. Random cleaning times 11-3 Why does everyone use those bad coffee machines that ruin the breakfast? £5 a day wifi.

    Our room backed on to swimming pool. Clean room and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Had a lovely time. A week wasn't enough. You get what you pay for at the hotel. will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking through booking.com. Will go direct in future

    Staff were so lovely, very welcoming and accommodating. While the hotel was situated on a hill, it was a good work out plus the views made up for it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.3
    Rough and ready.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor so every time we wanted to have a shower the water was Brown so had to let it run for 10 minutes to clear then most of the hot water was gone .only a small fan that you plug in for air condition . A mini fridge in the room. Wouldn't go back .

    Only good thing was room cleaned every day with fresh towels

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel quite high up from sea level - good exercise for burning the calories!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Although the hotel was busy we were very disappointed that our room did not have a terrace or a balcony. Some rooms had a sea view or pool view with balconies but our room was located at the side of the hotel and we overlooked another hotel.

    The room was spacious and well furnished with a small fridge and large fan, no air con. The bathroom was well equipped. Our room was cleaned every day and we had clean towels almost every day. Small pool with a spacious sunbathing area with plenty of beds, very quiet most of the time and the pool water was clean and not too cold! The staff were all lovely, pleasant and extremely helpful - 24 hour reception, small bar but well stocked. I would definitely stay here again, just wish it was less of a climb/descent to and from the colourful, lively square full of bars, shops and restaurants - very large beautiful beach about 10 minutes down the hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    A good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very dissapointing , little choice and not worth getting up for but it was at no extra charge as included in the price of the room. Outdoor pool is small. The hotel is on a hill so it can be difficult to return to the hotel multiple times throughout the day. The room is very basic , no tea/coffee facility or hairdryer but it is spacious.

    Great location , 10-15 minute walk to old town and the beach. Beautiful sea view from the room(501) . The pool area was quiet and very relaxing . The hotel had a bar which was handy to order drinks throughout the day. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly for booking tours and providing information to us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    We had a great time. Its perfect for a cheap short break in Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More sockets in the room. tea/coffee facilities in room. Somewhere to get snacks during the day.

    We had rooms 301/302 which had the most amazing views from the balcony, day and night. You can also see the pool easily. The staff were really friendly. We wanted something cheap and cheerful for our short break and this was perfect. The decor is tired but the rooms are clean and serviced every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic trip - friendly staff and the best location to reach everything by walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is the best and most friendly hotel ever! I have been there twice now and I would immediately go again if I could! Thank you very much hotel mar a vista for everything. Your team is great. Thank you for having us in your hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.0
    Avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, simply a fan which blew out HOT air. Trying to sleep at night was nearly impossible because of the extreame heat in the room. very smelly room and bathroom, rude staff. Difficulty when paying, staff lied when we arrived and said it had already been paid for and settled, however, on leaving there was a very over-complicated ordeal when trying to pay. The figures didn't make sense. They had not taken what they said they had off the card when the booking was made etc. Breakfast was extreamly limited. Very steep and long hill up to this hotel.

    The balcony, the pool was okay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Cheap and very very cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't amazing very simple cereal or toast options but they did have an option for cold meat and cheese. But this is just being very picky I found it hard to fault the place due to the price.

    Arriving at the hotel we were sceptical of the distance to the beach as the hotel is located up a hill but getting to the nearest town for restaurants and the beach was very simple and short the staff gave great instructions. The room was very cheap we had a budget room yet we still had a lovely view of the town and we had two large beds pushed together and air-conditioning which wasn't actually noted on the booking details so was a very lovely surprise. Surprisingly the room was very cool though. I really liked that we had the option to leave our key with reception to ensure it wasn't lost or misplaced as the reception worked 24 hours, which meant there was no problem leaving behind the key. Although small the pool was refreshing and there was plenty of sun in the lounging area yet enough shade to take your pick.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Room was clean but musty, no wifi in rooms which would prevent a return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a musty smell in the room, maybe from 2015 floods, no aircon and no wifi in rooms, just a fan, bath needs replacing coating all flaked off, thin plastic cups in bathroom very easily cracked in fact two of them were not usable as already bracked despite being in sealed bag

    good location and nice view over the beach especially if you had the right room helpfulness of staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs modernising and deep cleaning

    Carpets stained room in dire need of a hoover and makeover very dated and one towel each every two days- this is more like a hostel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    3.8
    Expensive slum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is grubby, bath so manky had to put towel down before could have a shower. Horrible tacky bacony on to tiny pool in the shade. Basic breakfast with little choice, bo acknowledgement on leaving. 2 star for sure but should be half the price for what they offer

    Close to some cheap ish eating and drinking places

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful Albuferia break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was only in lounge ( which really is a minor with all that beautiful scenery) No complaints with the hotel or staff at all. It's not too noisy, think that probably depends on when you go. We found most people were friendly Pool is small but beneficial when it's so hot

    Friendly hotel located 10 mins walk from the beaches and Old Town. It was comfortable and clean. The staff were fantastic and very willing to help you with whatever you need. Loved the view from outside breakfast tables. Breakfast was typical continental so if you are avoiding carbs you'd struggle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.6
    The bathroom was recently redone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not properly cleaned on arrival. There was dust and dirt underneath the bed and in the corners. There weren't any plugs in the room besides the tv plug and the fridge plug, therefore phones or other devices could not be charged or used unless either the tv or fridge was unplugged. There were no English channels on the tv. The bathroom and room floor was not cleaned only swept. There was only Luke warm water in the shower.

    The bathroom was recently redone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Balcony was just in front of a concrete wall and went to a closed yard for hotel staff's technical usage which was big difference with a photo. 2) It was not easy to find a free place in parking.

    Stayed for 2 nights. Room and toilet were clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Location is good - 10 minutes walk to city center with restaurants and beach. I would recommend it for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    3.3
    I wouldn't
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the room Room didn't look as in pictures Full of ants ! Wouldn't return Swimming pool area poor Sub loungers in poor condition

    no comment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Great views but a long trek
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the top of a massive hill and it's a long walk back from town up it.

    The view from the hotel was amazing looking right out over Albufeira and the sea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Room was a decent size with good storage and clean , small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic Only 1 socket in room which broke whilst there so couldn't use fridge . Had a socket on wall high up for tv so had to unplug that to re plug fan . Noisy in a morning from 7.30 onwards. Left my rucksack on settee by reception whist checking in and taking.case to room on 1st floor ( 5mins) and returned to collect as soon as I had taken case to room but purse had gone with card and £20 in ! Only 1 purson in redeption plus receptionist who was near to sette on my return ?! ( my fault for being so trusting!

    Room was a decent size with good storage and clean , small balcony with sea view.pool was small and compact but didn't use so can't comment on really Quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    i would stay there again,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no air con, but there was a noisy fan, but we can not have it all your way

    staff are great , really enjoyed my holiday, the hotel was not high tech but it had most of the things I needed, and my view from my room was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Amazing views & friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating, basic

    Fab budget hotel! Friendly staff. Amazing views! In need of some updating & difficult walk up hill from town BUT clean & friendly, good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Good deal for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good 10-15min walk uphill from the center of town. Shower wasn't hot. Lukewarm at best. No wifi in rooms. Only in lobby (but it worked well) When we were there, the pool area was taken over by a loud group of disrespectful, low-class patrons who continued to party by the pool at night. Not really the hotel's fault but the place is very inexpensive so you might get that kind of crowd at this hotel in Albufeira at times. Most guests were quiet and respectful.

    Nice staff. Nice view from the lobby. Plenty of parking in front of hotel. Only 22 euros a night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    What we expected but the staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem for them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel needs a makeover as bathrooms are old .

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were dated and in need of refurbishment but we knew this from other reviews however our room was clean as were the beds and we had fresh towels every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It was a pleasant stay. The location is certainly good and the view from the number was directly to the ocean. The staff is very friendly and it was a very comfortable journey. Thanks a lot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.6
    The view of the beach from the bedroom and the helpful lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 single beds & both were totally uncomfortable. The pillows were bumpy. One of the beds had a plastic sheet under the bedsheet. The beds were appalling and a disgrace!

    The view of the beach from the bedroom and the helpful lady at reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    3.8
    You will be disappointed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of suerage in our room Beds were damp Basic facilities Poor wifi Being told by man on night reception that he had no other triple room for us so he would call us a taxi at 1:45 in the morning. Being moved to a double room with 3 people sleeping in two beds Noise 24/7 in the hotel Being woke up twice by staff looking to come into room

    The only thing saving this hotel from an extremely irate customer review is Silvia working at reception. This 'hotel' is outdated and in need of doing up, thankfully we were just staying one night. You couldn't pay me to go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location if you don't mind a bit of climbing, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very standard, bit grubby, very basic breakfast, you get what you pay for

    Good location if you don't mind a bit of climbing, staff were accommodating, beautiful view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were put into room 301 bt had to be moved the smell in the room was shocking we requested a sea view which we got what a view but the room we were moved to was at the other side of the building no view and no balcony

    the views and staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    4.6
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt very damp, the pool was very small with no room around it for sunloungers, my grandson cut his foot at the side of the pool on broken glass

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.5
    Budget Hotel with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As someone who finds walking difficult the hotel was at the top of a hill and although I knew this when booking I hadn't realised just how steep it was to get up and down. The views, however were really good. I felt that tea/coffee making facilities would have been a good idea given the fact the hotel only provides a continental breakfast for a price.

    The value for money of the accommodation. The views from the balcony in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Amazing stay ! Highly recommended :) !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To leave

    Amazing ! I really enjoyed my stay ! The staff was very nice and helpful , the view from the room ( sea view ) was very pleasant The hotel is located 8min walk from the center. There is very cheap bar in the hotel ( 2€ for a beer , 1€ coffee , 1€ for a soft drink The room was really clean , towels changed regularly Everything was perfect , I'll be back :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Helpful staff, beautiful view, 2-min-walk to the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is placed on the hill, so if you have a room with a view you are lucky because the view is totally amazing. quite big room with a private bathroom. The room included beds, airmschairs, tv sent, big waredrobe and a balcony. You are provided with towels, soaps and plustic cups. there was no hair dryer but you can ask for it at the reception desk. The staff was helpful, didnt deny any request.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    4.2
    Accommodation with poor condition
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is old, the carpet stained, the shower water comes out yellow. Very old facilities, in poor condition and needing works urgently.

    The price and the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Good value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There was a lot of bird poop on the balcony and balcony furniture - Water in the shower was barely warm.

    While its true that the hotel could use some renovation, the cleanliness of room and bathroom and view were great and staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    5.4
    Book this hotel only if you feel the need for maximum exercise and exertion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is very tired looking and in desperate need of a make-over. It's location is completely inappropriate for mobility restricted or elderly people without transport (there is no courtesy transport) as it's located high up towards the back of the resort. Swimming pool area was very small, inadequate and with little provision for sun bathing. Breakfast was minimal and uninspriring.

    Staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were clean but very basic. The hotel needs a bit of money spending on it to make it more appealing. It was located quite far up a hill from the old town so we ended up getting taxi's back most evenings.

    The reception staff were really helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable enough

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.0
    Not very good location, unless you are a mountain climber
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired looking, a bit quaint, carpet in some of the rooms???? Could do with a major overhaul, location awful, too many steep hills to climb & state of roads/pavements dangerous ...........

    Staff at reception very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    4.2
    Desperately needs maintenance work
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room smelled like stale cigarette smoke and was dark. Second room didn't smell, but had a giant Hairball in the middle of the room and large pockets of water damaged paint flaking off onto the furniture. Bathroom caulk had spots of mold and the hallway carpet was spotted and stained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    2.9
    No Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired furnishings, poor decor, dirty staircases and access areas, atrocious breakfast, too far out of town. Swimming pool unfit for use.

    Some wi-fi availability, pleasant 24 hour reception staff, small balcony with good view. Spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.1
    Albufeira chill week in the sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Early morning staff at reception needed more customer service skills. We were picked up at 6.30 a.m, the man on the desk managed to grunt a couple of times, which was a shame really as all the others were really nice.

    Continental breakfast was plentiful. Beds comfortable. Very good sea view, probably not so good from the opposite side of the building. Majority of the staff were polite and helpful. Previous reviews I read prior to visiting were not very complimentary of the hotel. It's a budget hotel that does what it says on the tin. If you don't expect silver service, you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mar A Vista traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: