Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial Mares

Rua José Pires Padinha, 134/140, 8800-354 Tavira, Portugal

#21 of 33 B&Bs and Inns in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1213 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    It’s ok, but bed in not good condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious Balcony Location

    Young lady on the reception on the check in didn’t speak English Horrible bed Very basic breakfast-not really tasty with Russian speakers

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but a bit pricey for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of stairs. Rooms needed an upgrade. This was our most expensive accommodation in Portugal and was probably the worst value for money.

    Excellent location, less than a minute's walk to the ferry which takes you to the beach. Also close to town/restaurants etc. Nice roomy balcony. Big shower too. Included breakfast was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    The location by the river and the ferry but not right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were a lot of stairs for taking the luggage!

    The location by the river and the ferry but not right in the middle of town was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit and you could sit outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good old fashioned hotel on river near everything. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast next door will make expresso upon request as I recall. Rooftop terrace is fun for a drink at sunset.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Better off to stay in Salema an extra day & just drive to Tavira for day trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to get to front of hotel by car for check-in. ? Road blocked part of day. Nor enough hot water for shower in the evening but O.K. the next morning

    Room with nice balcony with river view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    A great old fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an old, quirky hotel and all the better for it. We really enjoyed the change of style. Excellent value for money. Lots of good places to eat and things to seeþ

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location , lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really great place to stay. All the staff were nice - breakfast was basic but fine. Hotel doesn't have parking but we parked for free about 5 min walk from hotel. Location is perfect for wandering about Tavira.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast was really bad. Fruit was too ripe or poor quality. Overall the breakfast was not value for money.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    This was an ok place for a quick stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believe the previous guests in our room were smokers - we didn't like the smell. Breakfast in the adjoining caff could have been improved. The next door caff seemed to be owned by eastern Europeans and I hope they won't mind our suggestion that they ask for some advice on buffet presentation and service from the locals.

    The lady at the check-in and out was very kind and helpful. She gave us some good advice on restaurants in the area and was especially helpful with my luggage. A small room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Very well situated hotel - handy for the ferry as well as restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok, but things often ran out. Meat and cheese were cut extremely fine, and there was no jam / honey for your toast.

    Helpful staff, speaking very good English. Room cleaned daily, sheets changed, generally clean atmosphere. Our balcony at the back of the hotel got the sun all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    the friendliness and attitude of reception and good humour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast was poor and what is more felt unfriendly, i understand the restaurant portion is not part of the actual hotel but this may not always be the case with other guests. it will not prevent me going again and i recommend this hotel totally.

    the friendliness and attitude of reception and good humour of other staff,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    staff at breakfast unfriendly, We stayed a fortnight and the breakfast was the same every day. Would have been nice to have a change.Very enjoyable holiday

    hotel in good position, good shower, reception desk very friendly and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only criticism is that the air conditioning unit probably needed its annual overhaul,but for one night at this time of year it wasn' a problem.

    Have stayed here many times and as always it was excellent. Ideal place to stay,whether like us as on overnight stop over before flying home,or for a longer period as there is lots to do and see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    This a perfect position to enjoy the river and the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This a perfect position to enjoy the river and the centre of Tavira and you will get a wonderful welcome by staff. An excellent breakfast was provided each morning. If you want to take the train to Faro or Vila Real, the station is about 10 mins away and the fares are astonishingly low (half price if over 65 years old). The town and surroundings are well worth exploring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location near the river and historical area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near the river and historical area. The room was clean and pleasant and breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and spoke English. I was there during the off season and got excellent rates. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Tavira is a lovely town with lovely people food and wine. The accomodation was ideally located .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was 2 single beds together. Would have loved a proper double bed. Breakfast was basic but fine. No foyer or reception room to relax as an alternative to the room.

    Location and view excellent. Good value for money. Great host with great local knowledge and info with great resturaunt recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our 3 night stay, will recomend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator, so could be a problem if on top floors.

    Location is good ,right in Tavira. Breakfast is good,Front deck is very helpful! Good value place to stay. Good free parking within 5-6 mins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The noise from other guests walking down to or back from breakfast past our room which was the closest to the stairs. Was like troops marching past and could hear every little sound which was annoying. Our fault for not being first to breakfast!

    Location was excellent, the continental breakfast was reasonably good although some variation would have been better especially if you did not like eggs or cakes for breakfast. A bit of imagination would have been appreciated but it was acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely 3 night stay to the start of our holiday .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only found 1 news English Channel on the tv. Breakfast staff didn’t seem happy not very welcoming.

    The size of the 3 bed villa was great, Lady on reception very helpful and welcoming. Location was great, short walk to shops and restaurants....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    the bread rolls were fresh and warm each morning as were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bread rolls were fresh and warm each morning as were the custard pies A good selection of meats, cheese and hard boiled eggs. Plenty of hot water and good shower pressure . ocation only a short 2 min walk to centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great experience!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent!! We had room with balcony is was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast is nice. Staff very friendly and helpful but excellent value for money. Would highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Lovely historic hotel, right next to the river, easy access to many cafe's and a park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Guests with disabilities might find it challenging, as there are a lot of stairs.

    This hotel has a lot of character, beautiful woodwork, glass block sky lights. There was a lounge area and a lovely rooftop terrace. The couple running it are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was provided in the restaurant next door, and was very satisfying, with a good variety of breakfast foods. Exceptional custard tarts were a welcomed treat with our morning coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double mattress was of dubious vintage. A newer, more comfortable one would have been very welcome. There was no plug in the bathroom wash basin.

    Wonderful hotel and very well situated. The reception staff were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect waterfront position in early February Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our hosts/ staff were friendly and helpful and our suite (for six guests) was of a very good standard. Our buffet breakfasts were a pleasure and satisfying. Thank you all for our comfortable winter stay in beautiful Tavira.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Great value option for a break in delightful Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately - but understandably - there were improvement works taking place in the hotel so some loud drilling and hammering had to be put up with during the daytime.

    The hotel is on the riverfront, just a few minutes from the central square, brilliantly located. Nevertheless it was peaceful. Breakfast was fine. We had one meal in the restaurant which was good, with an excellent value wine. We were very lucky with the weather, enabling us to take advantage of our secluded balcony, though we could equally have enjoyed the cosy rooftop terrace. Overall, it was a very good base for our break. And excellent value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Loved Residencial Mares, loved Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The TV in the room was small, but we didn't spend much time in the rooms. A reading light by the bed would have been helpful.

    It was a simple but very nice breakfast. The restaurant in the hotel was extremely good for quality and cost. The location was brilliant, right by the river with easy access to the island and lovely views across the town. Everything in the town was an easy walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, comfortable and clean in authentic surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge temperature control was cranked up to maximum, which I didn't notice and it froze my food.

    The hotel felt authentic with its terracotta floors and solid structure. It was clean, comfortable and convenient and by the river. Could walk everywhere. There was a fridge in the room. The breakfast was fine. Ate dinner in the restaurant one night and it was very good. Excellent wifi reception. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    our experience was a very positive one
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is a personal opinion.for us the mattress and pillows were a little to thin.

    so friendly and helpful.very clean even a fridge in the room.the building was beautiful inside and out.would defiantly recommend to everybody.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Quiet hotel with splendid view on Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds for tall people.

    So helpful people - they helped us to put our bikes inside. Hotel is at the heart of Tavira and very quiet at the same time. Breakfast has everything needed for a day of bike riding. Seen the price of this hotel, it is good value. The interior is typical Portugese.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed gave my husband a backache. The walls were thin, we could hear everything in the rooms next door and in the hall. The breakfast was mediocre, and the staff was also mediocre.

    Location was good. It was economical.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing, fun, peaceful. Be sure to go out to the island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff. Also, Tavira has great food: Cafe Nikita,right behind the hotel, is incredibly good. A young family has acquired it recently, and townspeople are just realizing what a find it is. Also Noel's, which is a local favourite, a short walk--ask staff for directions. Also Alvaro de Campos, which has excellent food and fado (tradtional Portuguese music) every Thursday night. Also, when you exit the hotel in the evening, note the cafe immediately to your right. It's usually crowded. You'll be greeted by a very friendly Brazilian woman and great food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Place good with friendly and helpful staff, all round a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cold at night, had extra blankets to use.

    Breakfast was excellent, cold meats 3 sorts, eggs,fruit,cereals, pastries, jiuice, tea and coffee all fresh and fruit. Set you up for the day. Good internet through to the top floor, good enough to stream Netflix etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.0
    Awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of raw sewage, badly rusting bath, beds hard causing back pain, one hard chair, no room safe Breakfast croissants over baked bread stale No lounge or central area to sit No lift

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in a typical Algarve house which has a lot of charm but unfortunately no lift. Our room had only one bedside table with a lamp, so only one person could read in bed! A tiny tv high up on the wall which was very uncomfortable to watch. Breakfast was just adequate, but for example some well-known Portuguese tarts were finished 45 minutes into breakfast and when I requested replenishment was told there were no more. In three days we were not able to have any!

    The position of the hotel is excellent. Beautiful views of the river from our balcony. Close to everything. Very pleasant reception attention. Extremely clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a bit thin so you can hear the people next door and other doors opening and closing so would be a problem for light sleepers. The beds had a plastic type underlay so was a little warm and noisy when turning over ... but at least you know they are clean.

    Nice hotel on the river front with helpful and friendly staff and fresh breakfast included. Shower was good. Had a room at the back (200) with a balcony which was nice to sit out on but no view except roof tops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Has everything except a pool but is great location and clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, I asked for an americano coffee at breakfast instead of machine coffee being served and this was served at no extra charge and with a smile 😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    A two night , hotel was only used as place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately had a standard room and couldnt be upgraded. For standard read basic , too small for even a couple, no view out of window but at 130 euros for the two nights then shouldnt expect more.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Relax at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a small issue if you were to use your car frequently.

    Friendly helpful staff with very good breakfast. Centrally located next door to ' Restaurant a Barquinha' run by Julia . This is a must. Great food and wonderful personality. Also a few meters from the boat taking you to the wonderful clean beach 10 minutes away. East town to visit with a small historical section.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    Charming older hotel with perfect location in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds in our room were very uncomfortable and it took two days to get softer top matresses. The brekfast was OK but not great. The breakfast restaurant staff was not so alert and we had to ask for more food if some types were finished.

    Perfect location with walking distance to the beach boat and to many restaurants. A nice roof-terrace with great view of the river and the old town. Freindly staff in the hotel part.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We'd stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some help to carry case up 2 lots of stairs- there was a young man behind reception! (No lift)

    Comfy bed. Quiet double room on second floor with lovely views from good sized balcony over tiled rooves.Pleasant lady owner. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed staying at the Mares and look forward to booking it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathrooms aren't ventilated.

    The Mares is an attractive and inviting establishment with a very friendly and helpful staff. It has an excellent location overlooking the river and is within easy walking distance of virtually all points of interest. The ferry to the beach on Tavira Island is just a couple of hundred feet away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    A delightful mini-break within our main holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Close to all the sights and amenities of Tavira. Friendly helpful staff in hotel. Right in the centre of all that is good about Tavira.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Tavira great place but would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - checking in first priority was paperwork on his desk. Checking out as soon as we'd paid it was as if we'd disappeared . Breakfast (taken in restaurant downstairs which we were told in no uncertain terms was simply an arrangement and nothing to do with the hotel) was very poor- first day I didn't finish 'orange juice' or 'coffee' and nothing appealed to eat. Second day I went out. No lift so you need to carry your own bags.

    Great position. Good sized room with fridge . Balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    If you arrive with a car this is not the place to be at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, Didn't provide shampoo or soap Lack space to unload luggage from your car. Parking lot a block from the hotel

    Location to the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Expensive hotel, lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive. Depresding. We were given two rooms, there was no option to get only one room. It was unfair. The hotel had no elevator, no parking and costed $179.00. Our other hotels with all facilities costed between $50-95. Unreasonable.

    Nice people. Clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Best location, great views over river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free street parking is very limited so don't count on it.

    This hotel is in the best location. Right in the heart of the main buzz of Tavira with restaurants right out front. We booked a room with a balcony and view and I'm glad we did. It was great to unwind after a day at the beach on the balcony. The room was huge. Beds were old and not the most comfortable but not uncomfortable either. The bathroom was huge, good water pressure. The hotel itself is huge, with a sauna (at a cost) and a large terrace. Breakfast was in the restaurant downstairs and simple but tasty. Our room was not wheelchair accessible and I didn't notice a lift to the rooms so not sure if hotel is wheelchair accessible. For a good meal, steer away from the Main Street and venture in to the quiet back streets where you can get authentic and cheap meals i.e. Not pay tourist prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    handy for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fan or window in bathroom (en suite) so very hot. Bed not very comfortable so only ok for a few nights.

    Friendly staff and good location with view across the river

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Very spacious appartement , little outdated but Well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price Quality , it is for that area of Portugal quite expensive for a family of 5. It sleeps up to 8 if you include the living room then better off course , but crowded. And besides a small balcony no outside space .

    Very spacious appartement , little outdated but Well maintained , very close to the Ferry that takes you to the beach and 1 minute walk to city center . Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, central but quiet bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A price more reflective of a hotel without services but we were there in the height of the season so what could we expect

    The staff were very helpful and friendly suggesting places to visit etc. The breakfast was efficiently served with empty platters of self service foods removed and replaced immediately, rooms were clean and although small, adequately comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice enough for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one beside cabinet and one lamp for a double room? No tea/ coffee making facility in room

    Soft pillows, fridge in room, plenty of towels, rooms serviced each day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Smaller simpler but good little hotel but not cheap for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We drive a top sports car which we really look after and there was nowhere to put it other than in a public car park round the corner where we couldn´t keep an eye on it but we had no problems.

    Being right on the front of this pretty estuary and our room having a small balcony that overlooked all this. Also we enjoy simpler hotels that are above a bar or similar where you can sit out for meals in the evening or breakfast in the morning and Hotel Mares was good for this. As a final note we are lovers of Indian food and the Taj Mahal a little further down supplied Brilliant food, service and location over looking the estuary.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Very nice stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather minimalistic. No fresh juice but cheap industrial stuff. Very short on croissants and bakeries.

    Confortable room in size and style. Excellent location and balcony !!.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Really nice situated in Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To carry you suitcases to the second floor

    We liked the central position,It can not be any better. Parking is easy If you know your ways around and have been there before.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Relax in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked more choices for breakfast.

    The staff was very helpful. We had a different room each night. The first night we had a room with a view of the tiny quiet street in the back of the hotel. The setting was interesting and quaint. The second day we stayed in a riverfront room with a great balcony with wonderful views. Although the cost was higher we thought it was worth it. However, each room has it's own personality and style no matter the size and location. The hotel is located close to free public parking and very near the ferry to the beach. There is a roof top terrace which is accessable to all hotel guest which you can enjoy. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    We liked the second room, it was a river front room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very small in our first room. Also, the breakfast choices were limited.

    We liked the second room, it was a river front room with a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    This small hotel is a great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding it on the one way system.

    Really great location. Friendly staff. Helpful. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast. Roof terrace a bonus. Can ask for room with a front view to see the estuary. On one way road system so can be difficult to find. Parking near by, which is currently free.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dark and dated

    Great location, clean but basic, good value. Watch out for mosquitoes at night its next to the water. Walk into center to eat, restaurant below hotel expensive for what you get

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely older hotel on the River in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we did'nt like so well was the breakfast offered and included in the room price . The breakfast buffet was adequiet ,but we had had much better elsewhere in Portugal .

    The location was very good...our room was on the back of the hotel ,so the view was just OK ,and we had a small balcony which was nice after the Sun went down... we were offered a view on the front side that looked out over the River and to the other side of Tavira ,but opted for the rear room as we wanted to make sure it would be quiet in the night. The Hosts were very friendly and helpful. We loved the authentic ambiance of the Hotel .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Friendly, efficient hotel in a really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was excellent and so were the staff. Paolo, Dulce and isobel couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast staff/chamber maids were very helpful and always pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public parking was available at no charge, but some distance from hotel entrance. Quite difficult to find a free space. Bathroom seemed a little cramped and lighting was dim. Lots of Escher-esque stairs and no elevator made handling luggage a chore.

    City center location overlooking the river, within easy walking distance of sights and restaurants. Staff was cordial and consistently helpful. Refrigerator in room was much appreciated, as was A/C. Room was comfortable and quiet. Terrace was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel right in the center of Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing..

    Great location at the river bank right in the center of Tavira. Hotel is little bit dated but our room was nicely renovated and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast in the cafe downstairs. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful staff at the reception with good English. Free public parking available nearby. Tip: you will find a lot of nice restaurants popular among local people on the other side of the river across the Roman bridge (approximately 5 min walk). While those places right near the hotel at the river bank are mostly for tourists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like about this fabulous small hotel?

    Everything - from the staff (we dealt with 3 different people at reception and all were helpful friendly and chatty) to the beautiful interior of the hotel to it's location (on the riverside, two steps from the ferry to the beaches , also close to the town centre) to the lovely breakfast. Forgot to say, a lovely room as well with a nice balcony. It was our first overnight in Tavira and we would have no hesitation in staying in this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Very clean,good location, good breakfast,nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steps-no elevator, very noisy with kids yelling in the alley until well after midnight, beds old,lumpy and need replacing as do pillows

    Very clean,good location, good breakfast,nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel on the river in Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think for a 3 star hotel it met expectations.

    Nice location on the river but very hard to find even with a GPS. The host was wonderful and took our bags to room. Parking is tricky and was a block from hotel on street. Lovely walking town and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Riverside location is hard to beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not available on site but there were 2 large free car parks 5 minutes away. We were able to unload by the hotel and then leave the car overnight in the car park.

    The hotel is next to the river and near the ferries. There is an excellent market nearby and a large Pingu Doce on the other side of the river. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment which was traditionally furnished but had a modern kitchen with everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and there were 2 balconies with tables and chairs. Staff were very helpful and spoke good English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    view from the room - on top of the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were not that sound proof - could hear the conversations of people as they walked up the stairs and past the room door.

    view from the room - on top of the action.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Short stay in Tavira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but lacked fresh juice and fruits.

    The location near the river and boat to the Island for the beach. The room was airy and the bathroom a décent size. We liked the roof terrace for an evening apéro.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel at the riverside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we appreciated having a refrigirator in our room, but at night its compressor was too loud so for the night we unplugged it. The door knob involved the lock too that we were not able to operate, so had the room unlocked.Anyway we didnt worry, everything felt so safe there

    three minutes walk from the very center of charming Tavira, right on the riverside. Quiet at day and night, friendly atmosphere, staff wonderful. Room clean, bed perfect. Breakfast the same every day but plentyful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place very noisy at night and in morning.

    Close to centre. Easy check-in and check-out. Good sized room. Good breakfast for hotel of this size. Good value for single room in this location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was great for our family with good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable. Lots of stairs in property which can be challenging with young kids.

    Breakfast was great for our family with good service. Beautiful location with nice balcony. Space was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel conveniently situated in Tavira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the bed to be quite hard and the room and bathroom starting to look a bit tired.

    The hotel was conveniently situated to explore Tavira. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was OK for a Spanish hotel consisting of cereals, yogurts and continental breakfast and could be enjoyed outside overlooking the river.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    The beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were very comfortable. The hotel is very pleasant and peaceful. It is located right by the river and just across from the ferry stop to the beach. Nice breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A light at the mirror would have been extremely helpful.

    Location very good. Desk people excellent. More information pamphlets would have been helpful as town information was closed all weekend and Monday since it was a holiday..unbelievable for a tourist town. The balcony with table and chairs was remarkable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not their fault but you must park away from Hotel. SKIP the breakfast...it was marginal at best.

    We were welcomed by Paulo & this place is in a wonderful area on the river. Room was clean, but there was a leak from the sink. The parking is not easy & it took forever to figure out how to get there to drop off our luggage. The town itself is picturesque & enjoyable. Paulo was accommodating & helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a quiet room and they gave us one at the top of the stairs (room 100) which wasn't quiet due to there being no carpet on stairs and very thin walls so we heard everyone coming past. The 'orange juice' at breakfast left a lot to be desired!

    Location, view of river.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: