Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial Mariazinha by Petit Hotels

Rua de Santa Maria 155, Santa Maria, 9000-040 Funchal, Portugal

#10 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    need better lighting in room , no main lights in bedroom , only lamps which made it very dark.

    staff very informative and friendly, breakfast sufficient , rooms very comfortable, perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location good near cable car and plenty shops, bars, restaurants. Also, near market, promenade and bus terminal,tours situated there and bus to airport near buy on promenade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Be prepared that the reception is not open all the time, so very important is to let the hotel know, when you plan to arrive.

    Great location in the old part of Funchal, next to Teleferico, sea front and with thousands of restaurants just a few meters away (I especially liked Santa Maria right next to the hotel). Spacious room with a terrace. Very friendly staff, they can also help you to book some local tours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had one person using a wheelchair and access from the road was quite difficult because there was no ramp and quite a big curb. Once inside the building it was wheelchair friendly.

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The shower was excellent with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful with ordering taxis and organising a day trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Breakfast should be richer in terms of variety. It can be somewhat noisy on weekends when all the bars in the street are packed with people, but you can ask for a quiet room on the other side.

    Our 2nd stay here equally enjoyable as the first one 3 years ago. Beautiful rooms in a house with character in the oldest part of Funchal, close to beaches, plenty of restaurants and tapas bars around, and almost every bus that goes from Funchal is close to get to as the stops are 2-10 min away from the property. Veronica, the host, most helpful and kind, makes you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The other hotel staff could improve a bit.

    Excellent: Very gentle and courteous, very fluently English-speaking manager/receptionist giving very good advice and courtesy. Nice style with antique furniture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They have two different places in the same street, therefore the breakfast is in a different building, it didn't bother me, but maybe ask before to know exactly which place you are staying. And nothing related to the accommodation, if you want to explore the whole island is better to stay a few days in Funchal and then stay in another part, maybe in the north of the island.

    The hotel is in the most charming street of Funchal. Very touristic, but the room was amazing new, comfortable and still very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helped us to rent a car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The road is potentially noisy (people noise not traffic noise) because full of restaurants: not a huge problem for me, but one to be aware of. Given the quality of fruit in the market, disappointing selection for breakfast, by modern standards.

    Location is excellent and not immediately accessible by car/taxi (a good thing). I had the suite at the top: simple, comfortable, very clean, small balcony, polished wood floors, splendid bathroom, everything worked, good bed(s). Great bread.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is situated in the middle of the restaurant street of Funchal but the rooms are very calm and there was no disturbing noise during our stay. The restaurants near the Hotel are offering the typical food you can find everywhere, but the real good recommendations you will get from the owner of the hotel. We followed her advice and had two amazing dinners outside. The breakfast is nice, unfortunately no eggs available but for us it was enough to eat and we liked it a lot, especially because of the nice fresh bakery stuff from the bakery next door and the great coffee. The Hotel itself is a wonderful house with a great atmosphere, very nice style and the furniture fits perfectly. We would definitely recommend the hotel. Price was good for the place it is situated and the stuff was very friendly and always helpful. They even organised a Taxi to the airport for us in the middle of the night and they set up a good price for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We missed a little fridge from our room, but everything else was spot on

    Very very very helpful staff. Very nice and very clean room a bit noisy though (because of the location), but you can shot the windows and shutters and just turn the aircondition on. All in all it is very nice and cosy hotel with very helpful receptionists. Tha location is 5*!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioner wasn't working and we were provided with a fan, but the fan was loud, and has a little effect. Our room was Casa do Lado room number 3 with view of restaurant Venda da Donna Maria backyard tables and barbecue, where the guests have been very loud on Friday and Saturday nights so we had to keep our window closed. It would be better if there were some spare soap and additional rolls of toilet paper.

    Great location. Very friendly staff, especially Veronica, the receptionist, who explained us everything we want to know. Breakfast is served from 8 o'clock but there is an option for earlier breakfast if your levada walk is scheduled earlier. There are some good restaurants in vicinity.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were happy with everything. If you have a car, the public parking garage is about a 10 minute walk and it's very cheap.

    Great location, extremely friendly staff, very clean and well maintained property. If you want to be in Funchal, this is a place that I highly recommend. The manager on duty was very nice and gave us some great recommendations for local, off-beat restaurants and things to do. You can tell that this place is run by people who take pride in pleasing their guests. You won't find a better deal for your money. We absolutely loved it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There had been a mix up with our booking, so we had to switch rooms half way through the week into the suite, which we'd booked for the full week. However, we were given a nice double room in the meantime.

    A beautiful building in a fantastic lively location. The rooms were lovely - very comfortable with gorgeous polished wooden floors. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had the suite on the third floor. Very spacious and clean. My husband had an accident whilst on holiday, the staff at the hotel were so nice and helpful. Would not hesitate to return to the hotel - hopefully for a stay in lovely Madeira - without accidents!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes there were lack of vegetables or somerhing else at the breakfast. It wouldn't harm to check the breakfast table more often. Unfortunately the yagucci wasn't working.

    Excellent location and cosy atmosphere. The room was also marvellous. Not to mention the staff, they are an important part of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed and pillows were too firm. The wood floor was beautiful, but also noisy for early risers. Breakfast was typical and good. Not much to complain about here.

    The staff is wonderful, helpful and friendly. They were warm and welcoming. Our room overlooked the best street in the old town. We watched strollers, diners, the wood truck make a delivery to the bakery, street cleaners, and a variety of cats. Great local flavor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foam lumpy pillows Fruit flavoured teas, but no earl grey or breakfast etc Some noise from the next door bakery

    Excellent location Very helpful receptionists

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was very small and the smell in the bathroom was awkward. But as we just went to the room for sleeping, it was not a big deal for us. Breakfast was "OK" for us...

    fantastic location - in the middle of the nicest street in Funchal, even though it is located in the middle of all restaurants and tourists, it was not noisy in the room. Very friendly and warm welcome at the reception and great support.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could have been more inventive with a little more choice but nevertheless put us on our way for the day. .

    We were in room 10 on third floor. We had a little balcony and could see the harbour and cruise ships coming in and out. Just the place to rest with a bottle of wine and a good book.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Air conditioning was broke when i was there it was desperately needed with the high temperatures during my stay! Veronica did give me a cooling fan for my room which helped! but i was upgraded to a superior room.

    Location was perfect, the hotel was immaculately clean! and The Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Very poor breakfast & breakfast service. Very little choice and the replenishment was poor. 2. Dishonest Staff: We booked the Suite, but we noticed that the air conditioning was broken, as the shower and that the toilet seat was cracked. We mentioned these problems in the next morning, but to them it was all a big surprise. Just for the record, if you read some earlier comments from visitors who stayed there months ago, you will see that they refer to similar kind of problems in this Suite. We received another, little bit, smaller room with a working air condition & shower, so that was o.k., but there was no excuse and/or refund at all. When I asked about a refund when we checked out the staff told me to write or email the management about this, she couldn't help us....."Good bye and have a nice trip home!" For me it's not about the money, but about honesty and respect and there was a lack of that during our stay. Advise: Please make sure you don't pay upfront, but check everything in your room first before you pay anything.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed with our 2 children in the flat that belongs to the Residencial (located in front of it). The flat was very spacious (3 floors! be aware that there is no elevator - at least the one in the flat was not working). The kitchen is on the 3rd floor. There is a bathroom in each floor. The flat was in general clean but the kitchen cabinet and drawers underneath the sink had a horrible moldy smell. Mold was also present in the bathrooms. The flat/Residencial is central. There are many restaurants and pubs on the Santa Maria street. The major problem we had was that loud music was played in the pubs underneath the flat until almost 1 am. This happened on weekdays (Tue/Wed). People in general stayed talking on the street until almost 2 am. Delivery to the bakery next to the Residencial started around 5 am. Even with all windows closed, it was very loud in the dorms. The bedrooms had a strong smell of cigarettes during the day and night, as staff of restaurants/shops close-by smoked in front of the Residencial. In conclusion, the flat is spacious and well-located but we would not recommend it for people looking for a quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are getting really hot in the summer, there is AC unit in the room, but it is not powerful enough. Fortunately we got ventilator to our room when we asked for it, so it was manageable. Breakfast could be more diverse.

    Nice hotel in the historical centre - perfect for spending the time on sightseeing. Staff was very friendly, tried to fulfil all our requirements and needs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The location was perfect in the heart of everything, rooms were clean and big. Veronica was lovely and really makes you feel welcome. Will definitely return. Could not recommend this place more. Thank you, you made our honeymoon stay perfect Craig and Jamie Rayner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, well-appointed, friendly, helpful and cheerful staff. Strongly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A mirror in the bedroom would have been helpful.

    The helpfulness of the staff. Location of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location, great small hotel, with friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having a room at the front the noise from the next door bakery was occasionally loud in the early mornings.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eggs for breakfast, but much bread and pastries

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small road bad quality, difficult to move with a luggage.

    Big room, very clean good reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    eggs for breakfast would be fine

    very good breakfast big room comfortable armchair nice, modern bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courteous and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have access to a hairdryer

    Excellent continental breakfast. Very relaxed atmosphere. So friendly staff,informative and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Wi-fi definitely could have been better.

    Hotel is located in great story center of Funchal city. Surrounded by cosy restaurants and caffe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in an area full of character with easy access to central Funchal and the harbour area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Veronica was great! Great room and location in heart of Old town. Great bakery next door and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    excellent location the staff first class very helpful nothing was too much trouble for them

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hot breakfast choice would have made it perfect

    Great choice, very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy in the street outside on Friday and Saturday night until 0230.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veronica, the receptionist, was so friendly and very helpful with everything from booking day trips, to favourite restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Very nice hotel with superb staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Small friendly hotel, lovely staff, nothing too much trouble, well situated in the old town and close to all amenities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very lively but noisy. Poncha bar next door! Nice staff!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was just right.

    Friendly, helpful staff; big room in historic house in excellent location in the heart of Funchal Old Town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thee room was noisy as its on a street.

    Location on the old town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy even with closed window for whole night. Cleanness in the room.

    Great location. Air conditioner in the room. Nice reception.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is impossible in the area. Only option is a parking garage (5-10min walk, 3 euros for a day).

    Spacious room,perfect location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We love staying here. Relaxing and restorative after a busy work life

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plumbing (sink not flooding properly and moreover toilets needed to get the water shut as there was no stop of water filling when the tank was full) issues known but not addressed. Ear plugs mandatory in room one (at least) due to the restaurant activity in the small street (till late!) and the activity of the bakery (very early in the morning!!!) as room 1 is just over the bakery....

    Everything else !

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to arrive by car as it is in the old centre - narrow streets, and restaurants zones - but it really was not a problem for us :)

    A really nice place in the old part of Funchal (zona velha) located just above a small bakery, so you have the nice smell of fresh croissants right at your windows. Nice and stylish equipment, very clean place and staff is being nice to all customers. Can only recommend to use this place during your stay in Funchal

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A proper shower in the huge bathroom.

    We were upgraded to the suite which was a lovely spacious room. We enjoyed the balcony with views over the rooftops to the sea. The hotel is beautifully renovated whilst retaining the feel of an old Madeiran house.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit on the noisy side at times.

    Great location in the heart of the old town. Staff very friendly and helpful. Happy to book trips and arrange taxis. Lots of room in the suite but three flights of stairs to get there. Nice to have the balcony to sit out on but view mainly of roofs. However, catches the afternoon sun.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We knew we booked an apartment in the citycentre with lots of outdoor restaurants. As a result one can hear the outdoor life @ night. We took it for granted because we just loved this place.

    We loved the area because it's the best to experience and explore the old citycentre of Funchal. Veronica welcomed us warmly and was always friendly & helpful. The apartment is very well kept and clean. We were stunned by the spaciousness of this two bedroom apartment. Finally....a feast to shower!! (Dolinda's remark :-)

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really outdated decor and very dim lighting. We had a room on the 1. floor with no real windows, and french door to the small courtyard. We found it difficult to air the room out properly and the door only being covered by thin see through curtain, so not for shy people..;)

    Super location in the middle of the old town and the receptionist Veronica are super professional and helpfull. Good value for the price we paid:)

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only disappointment is the lack of direct sunlight in the rooms themselves although the terrace at the top is good. This will keep you fit!

    The situation in the Old Town is ideal for exploring the 'real' Funchal; the back streets as well as being close to the tourist attractions. The receptionist is exceptionally well informed and generous.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing that annoyed us. Great value for the money you pay, you're closer to real Madeira there, than in a sterile hotel district in the west (unless big hotel is what you want).

    Great location in the centre of Funchal, very good conditions inside, nice separate bathroom, fine breakfasts, Veronica is a wonderful person, always smiling, knows everything about the island and is happy to share her knowledge and help with things like booking a car or trip planning. She is truly a face of this place. I hope I can get there again and get some pasteis de nata from padaria pastelaria next door (and poncha from the poncha bar on the other side of Rue de Santa Maria in the evening :-)

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is sober and space to sit at is very limited. Quite noisy at night especially from machinery probably of neighbour bakery.

    very kind staff and surprise upgrade to suite. Next door bakery makes you a sandwich for 80 cents and a coffee at 50 cents!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from a machine was very loud the whole night, the doors were closed when we arrived, no parking near, we found a big bug - cockroach?

    Interior decoration,

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the first night we had a room at the back of the hotel right on top of a bakery which was very noisy at night. Got moved to a room higher up by request which was much better noise-wise

    Almost too central, smack in the middle of the Rua Santa Maria. Friendly and welcoming receptionist, large rooms, decent bread for breakfast, good wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy outside (but it was New Year!) Breakfast always the same No mirror outside the bathroom (wife)

    Very friendly and helpful owner Right in the centre of all the restaurants Good wifi always avaialable Near buses

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff,especially Veronica.Brilliant location and liked the smell of fresh bread from the bakery below (that provided our breakfast also).Spacious room and bathroom with user friendly shower.Good wifi.A thoughtful conversion of a building in the old town to a comfortable and friendly hotel.Lots to do in the area even on Christmas Day with no transport needed.Breakfast is good although maybe a choice of cheeses would be an idea. Can't really fault anything.One night was a little noisy in the area but that was the annual Noite do Mercadores where everyone gathers in the Market Area to eat,drink and buy fruit and flowers for Christmas culminating in a public Carol Service in the Fish Market.We went and it was fantastic! Impressed by the fact that on Christmas Day Veronica and the housekeeper served breakfast and gave the rest of the staff the day off,explaining that our rooms would not be serviced that day but we had a number to call if we needed anything.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartment can be noisy at weekends but ok during the week but the noise is due to the central location to the bars and restaurants. Location makes up for it.

    EXCELLENT LOCATION. Old Town one street away from sea surrounded by numerous restaurants/bars not forgetting the bakery next door where you can get your early morning croissant. The hotel is situated on a pedestrian only cobbled road. There are some very interesting shops. Well located for the bus station/cable car/taxi/walks along sea front. The breakfast is excellent value. Will definitely be returning

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Our room had nice furnitures, a tube, sofa and a nice bed. The breakfast was standard - 3x meat, 1x cheese, cereals, honey, jam, marmalade, good cafe, juices, fruits - this is completely ok. If you want more, buy it at the supermarkt and you can eat it there. The rolls were very good from the own bakery. Even for me as vegetarian you have enough to eat. The own bakery next to it has nice cafe and nice cakes for resonable prices. WiFi was perfect everywhere, the TV is oldschool, but for holiday its ok - go out in the nature instead. Remember this hotel is in oldtown in a restaurant & bar area. You will asked every day for lunch. At the weekend you can hear a little noise from the bars. But completely ok! Many thanks to Veronica and her Team for that sweet little place. They are so friendly and organise everything what is possible for them.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was adequate but could have had more variety. A mini fridge in the room would have been great but that is being uber critical.

    The suite on the top floor is excellent value for money with a little balcony for use if the weather is nice. Veronica on reception is a lovely lady and so helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room or after the bar closes. Front rooms noisy at night and morning, bakery located at ground level.

    Very Welcoming

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was noisy at the weekend but improved once we discovered the air conditioning and closed the window. Would have preferred double rather than single beds.

    Personal attention of the staff and their knowledge of the area. Veronica is wonderful. The smell of the bakery in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't personally bother us but can be a lot of noise at night from the street below. Very basic breakfast with little choice.

    Excellent location in the old town,very near the restaurant's and cable car. Very clean and individual air conditioning in the bedroom's. Super friendly staff especially Veronica and Andrea.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Honesty Bar was not open, except at breakfast when we requested a bottle of water. The blind in the bathroom completely unravelled and stayed that way, blocking out the light.

    We upgraded to the suite which was very spacious and had a little balcony. The bathroom was enormous with a Jacuzzi bath and overhead shower. Loved the beautiful staircase and decor.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Points for the future: to have wi-fi awailable in all rooms, not only in the lobby. It would be also nice to have hairdryer.

    Veronica is the best host ever! Always ready to help and recommend good places and will find some time to talk with everyone.So far the best hotel I've ever stayed in relation quality vs price. Located in the heart of Funchal. Will recommend to anybody without hesitation. Enjoy it! One again, thank You Veronica and C U on Monday ! ;[]

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    You can hear the noice from the street/taberna until 1 or 2 a.m., but in the old city center with this must be calculated...

    We were accomodated in 2 bedroom appartment in Rua da Santa Maria No. 123 on 2nd floor just above the Taberna. The appartment is large, clean, very well equiped.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1st floor room above restaurant, bars and bakery, very noisy except for a few hours in the afternoon. Sleep only possible with ear plugs in and windows closed, on the weekend even that didn't help. Probably not such a problem in other rooms, but property was fully booked. Spoiled our stay in an otherwise nice little hotel. Breakfast rather basic, repetitive.

    Big room, very clean, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bar across the street, right outside our window, was very noisy. Every night, but the Mariazinha makes an effort with double-glazed windows, etc, and on weekdays it was manageable. But on the weekend, it is simply too loud, really, just too loud to be a bedroom where normal people can sleep. Breakfast was not very interesting.

    lovely neighborhood, close to everything, nice place, helpful knowledgeable staff, etc

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea/coffee making facilities in room would have been nice but am really nit-picking to find fault!

    Location excellent (near cablecar) for exploring Funchal & rest of beautiful Madeira. Multitude of bars & restaurants nearby. Hotel manager Veronica couldn't be more helpful & attentive.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - in our room (suite with a spa bath) there was actually no separate shower cabin, so taking a shower using the spa bath which didn't have any curtain whatsoever was somewhat not convenient. There is more than enough space there to make a separate shower, so it's a mystery why it wasn't done. - spa bath itself was quite dirty so better do not take it. Also the floor in the bathroom was dirty. - a warning that you would have to pay 2 euro for every item taken out of the breakfast area. Never saw anything like that before and it's just pathetic.

    - location - staff and communication - sea view from the balcony :)

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residencial Mariazinha by Petit Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: