Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Residencial Marisela

Rua Filipe Folque 19, R/C, Avenidas Novas, 1050-111 Lisbon, Portugal

#255 of 343 B&Bs and inns in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 307 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    2.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.8
    Good room near public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's kind of an old building but the rooms are really new. We only were disappointed by the fact that there was no Wi-Fi inside the room, only in the common kitchen area downstairs.

    Welcoming and helpful staff, near public transportation and many restaurants, at walkable distance to many interesting touristic spots. Very clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    5.8
    Clean room and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi not in room,just in shared living room. The door between bathroom and bedroom was not possible to close. Not possible to pay by card (but advertised it is possible).

    Clean room and good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    6.3
    Ok to have to sleep somewhere cheap, wont go there for longer stay anymore, especially not in winter
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no wifi in rooms (on reception there is paper that wifi is only in living room downstairs), no elevator so if you have big baggage (like me, 35kg case), you have to go by stairs with it, hear a lot of noise from other rooms and also street, no heating - only small heater that is really not helping. Balcony doors had really big holes between them and floor, so there was always cold air flowing from there, right to the bed. Shutters and curtains were helping little bit, but then the room was absolutely dark. My back got cold after 4 nights in there, although I never opened that shutters when I was in room and the heater was nonstop on. Receptionist that welcomed me didn't know english very well. For warm water you always had to wait for like 5 minutes after turned on

    Price was good because booked in advance, there were some restaurants, groceries nearby, big shopping centre in 5 minute walk, metro station similar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    5.0
    Slept well but the rest of hotel made me uneasy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs were very uneven and dangerous. The staff barely spoke English and even though there was supposed to be WiFi it could only be used downstairs.

    The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was new and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    3.8
    Dirty,smelly,felt unsafe and i was itchy all over.stayed away as.long as possible,only showered and
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That place needs a massive makeover,i mean,strip that smelly carpet off and use tiles,the stairs i am.surprised no one has fallen through them yet,they look like they will give in any minute.no elevator so i was forced to lug my 30kg bag up the rickety stairs!the rooms are dated and the poor lighting doesnt even hide that.

    The only thing i liked was the closeness to the city.The staff look miserable,cant blame them working in that dreadful place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    7.1
    Clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated building and corridors, room slightly better. Very basic room. Uncomfortable mattress for me.

    Clean room. Very polite staff. Descent size single room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.6
    A perfect week in Lisbon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wi-fi.

    My first impression was quite bad in fact - but only because I arrived right after midnight after a long day. Everything changed the next day when I realised where I actually was and how good the accommodation was. Excellent location. Nearby shops cafes and restaurants, Metro stations that that you wherever you want to go in minutes...the reception staff tried their best language-wise. The only trouble was no wi-fi but then again who needs it in your room when in Lisbon, working and sightseeing all day :) I fully enjoyed my stay at Residencial Marisela! Lisbon is simply amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    5.8
    Underwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is a long way from any sights and there are few restaurants or shops around. Particularly in the evening everything is shut. Even Burger King is a good 10 min walk away. People at front desk not overly friendly. Always a different person on the desk.

    Room and bathroom were clean and quiet. Shower was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    8.8
    Fear deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Internet didn't work most of the time. The beds was extremely squeaky, we put the mattresses on the floor!

    The place was in a good location. The stuff were friendly and helpful. Great hot shower, spotlessly cleaned bathroom!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    7.1
    Nice clean room with a private bathroom, close to the metro,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old building, needs a serious makeover

    Nice clean room with a private bathroom, close to the metro, quite easy to find. Pingo Doce few meters away. Wifi working fine in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    7.9
    Worth staying, great location and value for money.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the 2nd floor so we had to carry the luggage upstairs.

    The reception was friendly and helpful, the bedroom and bathroom was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was excellent very near to were we had to go, to Corte Ingles shopping, to Gulbenkian, cafes restaurants and metro station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    9.2
    Nice place. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing is that I didn't love the bed. It was a little bit uncortable for me. But for the price it was awesome.

    The staff, room and bathroom was nice. Everything was clean and it wasn't noisy. It was near a train station that allowed us to move easily through the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great staff !! thank you for everything !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    Great location for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    5.8
    Staff was helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was very bad smell in toilet. WiFi was weak. One chair in 3-bed room.

    Staff was helpful and nice. Localization - nice, near to metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was cold in the room during the night (february). The wifi was only in theory...

    It was clean. The staff was friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    8.3
    A really enjoyable stay here and fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A really enjoyable stay here and fabulous location. Lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    5.4
    I love Lisbon beautiful city friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no lift in the building very noisy wooden floor dark back room

    Service ok the staff very helpful and the location is very good .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.5
    good value , friendly staff and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    5.0
    Very bad smell from bathroom,very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad smell from bathroom,very bad. Excellent staff . Very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    I always stay at Marisela every time I go to Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I always stay at Marisela every time I go to Lisbon

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    8.3
    overall, it is good value for money considering the money paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no bedside table lamp, wifi only available in public area

    spacious room. Convenient location, close to two metro stations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    7.5
    Nice place for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not have wifi although it was advertised.

    The location was good, our room was big enough. Everything was very clean. The bathroom looked new.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    7.1
    An essential but comfortable and well positioned pensão
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The unsafe steps

    The proximity to Parque metro station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    9.2
    quaint with great location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Steps

    Free wifi in public area. Great location friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    10
    The staff is so loving and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is so loving and welcoming.The room was clean and tidied.Definitely will be coming back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    6.3
    Extremely Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small bed, very bad security, no shampoo

    Good location, clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2016

    7.5
    Next to the hotel there are grocery shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator in the building.

    Next to the hotel there are grocery shops and restaurants. The staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2016

    8.3
    the excellent price and the quietness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    the door of my room was not closing easily and I had to push it very hard. The lock does not seem good. There is no elevator

    the excellent price and the quietness. And the location close to 3 metros, including one going straight to the Airport. Contrary to what has been written in previous comments, I was able to use WI FI without costs the room was large with a big Dresser. The bathroom was also large with a window and a bidet.

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2016

    5.4
    It was close to different metro stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    It wasn't what was shown in the pictures. It was a bit creepy. A bit expensive considering this.

    It was close to different metro stations. Not far from the centre. Staff was fine.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    7.1
    good central area,close to the metro stations, restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    very old steps to the bedrooms, strange smell, no central heat, but a heater,no air conditioning, old mattress, poor lights on the hall to the bedrooms

    good central area,close to the metro stations, restaurant, supermarket and stores, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2015

    4.2
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ants in the room, Blankets in the cupboard looked like they were used as carpets. The room looked nothing like on the picture. Wouldn't go back.

    The location is good. Sheets in the room were clean =)

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    5.0
    Location, near to metro station, private bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old building, I had a feeling that it collapses when walk up the stairs, cockroaches in the bathroom, staff have very poor english, paid wi-fi (1,5 EUR per hour), very noisy, no elevator, never go back there!

    Location, near to metro station, private bathroom

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. I cannot find even single thing to say it was good or nice

    Nothing. Old, sad place where you should turn off the light and go to sleep asap because the place and room are so ugly that you don't want to look at it and dream to quickly forget this place

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    6.7
    The hotel is close to a metro station, a short journey from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Given the price, it would be churlish to complain.

    The hotel is close to a metro station, a short journey from the centre of Lisbon. Plenty of local cafes for breakfast and an excellent fondue restaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2015

    7.5
    Room was cleaner and nicer than I imagined from reading the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wifi.

    Room was cleaner and nicer than I imagined from reading the reviews. Great value. Supermarket that serves cheap local food around the corner.

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    10
    The staff is super friendly and they keep everything very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish they'd had breakfast also!

    The staff is super friendly and they keep everything very clean. If you need something, always ask, they WILL find a solution!

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    3.8
    Das Treppenhaus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Das Treppenhaus. Das Zimmer (Risse in Wänden und Decke). Rost in der Dusche, nur kaltes Wasser. Aufgerissener Teppichboden. Kein kostenfreies wifi (1.5€ pro Stunde).

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    7.9
    It is a very good budget hotel in the heart of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room is not properly ventilated.

    It is a very good budget hotel in the heart of the city. It is easy to locate the place, the super market is very near, the metro stations are also very near. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was within walking distance of the Centro and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was within walking distance of the Centro and Parque Eduardo. It was comfortable and perfect for staying in a bed to sleep, as sightseeing all day.

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2015

    2.9
    nem volt ilyen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lépcső maga az életveszély, félig meg van süllyedve. Végig azt néztem mikor fog leszakadni. Pici összerepedezett szoba, NEM tiszta, a zuhanyzókabin szűkös, alig lehetett az ajtaján beférni. Az szerintem mindent elmond, hogy a zuhanyzóba is papuccsal kellett belépni. Azt hittem a többi ember eltúlózza, de nem.

    nem volt ilyen.

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2015

    3.8
    If you are ten feet tall then you will be ok here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpet on the floor is like a 100 years old. The tv the same. The doors the same. Actually everything is old. Extremely dull and dark with no natural light. Dont go by the pictures. The bed is also so low you think you are sleeping on the floor.

    If you are ten feet tall then you will be ok here. The ceilings are high.

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2015

    6.7
    Location, balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No free wifi internet. The room was not ready for check in at 2pm.The keyring that comes with your room key is heavy and exaggerated big, making it difficult to open the door and quite noisy.

    Location, balcony

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2015

    4.6
    Coffee machine in the hall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very uncomfortable pillows. Big foam chunks! I did not sleep well at all. Also as the door did not lock properly I did not feel very safe.

    Coffee machine in the hall.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2015

    4.2
    The was an insuportable smell in the rooms.
    • Group

    The was an insuportable smell in the rooms. The windows didn't close well and all night it was a noise comming from outside, maybe from a construction.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    3.3
    Location was ok,15 mins walk from m.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    First and main:there is nothing in common between photos on the website and the real rooms! Room is very dark,it is not possible to see anything at all. There were thousands of insects (termits) who lived on the extra bed which is probably used for kids,thank God we did not use it. Room is old,shebby,dirty, there is a huge gap between the door to balcony and floor in it was freezing in the room in end of April! The shower is small,old, toilet smells awfully, you need to wait for hot water in shower for 10 minutes. We were completely shocked. We will never return to this hotel, and not recommend it to anybody. Any hostel will be better than this awful place. The worst hotel I have ever been to!

    Location was ok,15 mins walk from m.pombal square

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2015

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't even know where to start. Very old facility. Rooms shown in web sites don't match the actual room. Door barely closed. Floor wasn't leveled (tables with pieces of wood underneath so things on top would not fall). Washroom door didn't close. Holes on the ceiling. Reservation mentioned Bathtub which was a lie. Staff not friendly at all. Do not recommend and will never return

    Location. Price

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2015

    6.7
    - good location (you can get to/from the airport without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no sheets in the room - quite cold - no free Wi-Fi (although you could try, sometimes it's open) - we saw a dead cockroach near the stairs

    - good location (you can get to/from the airport without changing lines)

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2016

    7.1
    just location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Incomod rooms, ants and darkness...

    just location

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    7.1
    Location, price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No lift.

    Location, price.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    7.5
    Room was clean, correct and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Some of them don't speak English. The stair in the house seems very old.

    Room was clean, correct and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2016

    10
    It is a excellent place, the manager is nice and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no WiFi in each room, only in the dinning room.

    It is a excellent place, the manager is nice and the neighborhood is awesome, very classic.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    7.1
    Value for money and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Decoration could be improved

    Value for money and location

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    9.6
    Good place, nice staff, friendly room, cheap price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I suggest fridge in the room. This is not problem, only confort.

    Good place, nice staff, friendly room, cheap price.

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    7.1
    No window in room, only door in public space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No window in room, only door in public space.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    7.1
    beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no wifi

    beautiful room

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    7.5
    Quiet place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No free wifi is not very convenient to me.

    Quiet place.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    5.8
    Big room, clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid wi-fi service. This is way too extraordinary in the modern age... all hotels even lowcost ones offer wi-fi for free.

    Big room, clean bathroom

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    7.5
    Nice, friendly staff, many cafeterias, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy

    Nice, friendly staff, many cafeterias, restaurants and grocery shops around, short walk to metro station

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    9.2
    Location - couple of minute walk from either Picoas or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - couple of minute walk from either Picoas or Parque metro. Stations. Easy walk into downtown / city centre

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2015

    7.1
    uneven stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lounge at the reception was scary

    uneven stairs

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2015

    9.2
    I HAD A TERRASSE WITH BOUGANVILLE AND BIRDS IN THE MORNING
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I HAD A TERRASSE WITH BOUGANVILLE AND BIRDS IN THE MORNING

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2015

    8.3
    excellent position near parque metro and also red ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent position near parque metro and also red line 30 mins walk into centre of Lisbon. Restaurant next door.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Residencial Marisela Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: