Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial Porto Novo - Alojamento Local

Rua Alexandre Herculano, 185, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-450 Porto, Portugal

#170 of 198 B&Bs and Inns in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1593 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    In the city center but not suitable for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small family room, not suitable for a family of 4 people, narrow beds. Bathroom required renovation.Thin walls, you hear noise in a nearby room

    Close to all tourist spots, the staff is friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Simple but decent lodging, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No card payments accepted. Room a bit modest but decent. It could really do with an extension cord - I had more things to charge than there were plugs.

    It's a very well-located hotel with friendly staff. There were buses to São Bento and Campanhã that were regular. There was an elevator - a godsend for those with heavy baggage. Tv in room and nice to find an ensuite for this price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not 100% clean (toilet, under the beds). No cooker in the kitchen.

    Nice big beds and good location. Friendly reception people. No problem with living the lagguage before a flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    The room and bathroom with toilet was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was for 3 people - we have 2 double beds - but it was very small double beds :/ In our room was not window ("window was to the kitchen - no fresh air) and room was next the reception where was noise all night. Room looks like for personal no for guests.

    The room and bathroom with toilet was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the receptionists didn't speak English. The furniture is a bit old.

    Great location, friendly staff. The view in the room with terrace is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff doesn't speak English, bed is for one person, not two. The shower is in the room and it doesn't make any sence because you can't use it (you can see through the glass and the water gets out). One toilet for all, you can't lock the door. My friend and I travel a lot, and this is the worst accommodation we have ever been to.

    It's close to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Thanks god only one night here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnitures. Outdated. Needed to update. We got insect bites from the bed. Wifi not working. Some staffs don’t speak English only the helpful guy in the evening. Old apartment. You get what you pay. There are better hostels/hotels in Porto around.

    Very central. Close to the old town and transportation. Bars/restaurants and famous landmarks are near.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really liked the accomodation as it was in a walking distance to the centre (about 7 minutes!!) and it was in a quiet street so we could have a good sleep with our balcony open :). Near the accommodation are excellent Pastelarie - Snack bars where we had a delicious breakfast :). Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Perfect localization, walking distance to the most important spots - clean, private bathroom - lift -Wi-fi working very good - comfortable bed - Possibility to leave the luggage after check-out at the reception desk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money in Porto for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are small...One of our rooms was much smaller than the other...room 303 is more suitable for children.

    Location...within walking distance of most attractions. Friendly helpful staff. Laundry service available. 2nd stay at this Residencial.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.3
    Please, don't visited that's hotel. Chaostage an other one in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfreundlich Service. It was dirty and a Bad smell in the room and in the bathroom.

    The Hotel is near the centrum of Porto. That's all, that is ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    We would stay here again but check the room before checking in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ceiling in room 203 had black mold on the ceiling and in the bathroom. The floor in the bathroom and room was very slippery even when not wet, but just from the humidity. The worse part was the noise every night either from someone's tv or talking in the hallway or downstairs!!! And the noise continued until after midnight every night! Beware they did not take credit or debit card and we were not notified by Booking.com about this rule. So we had to return to train station to find an ATM.

    Location, just a few short blocks from a beautiful little park, grocery and everything we needed to see so no metro or bus ticket was needed. The room was very clean with fresh bed linens and towels every day. They even let us use the microwave and store some food in the refrigerator. The front desk man in the evenings was very kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    We found a very easy parking place;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've been looking for an accommodation from where to go early in the morning to the airport. The neighbors were very lame and did not let us sleep all night. Sincerely, I will not nominate the nation, but I really do not understand what they had to fight all night long

    We found a very easy parking place; excellent location, very close to downtown. The room meet my expectations of such a place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.3
    Never going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff didn't speak English at all so they were just shouting random things I couldn't understand. The room was dirty and smelling very bad. There was no sound insulation so you could hear everything that happened in the other rooms like it is happening in your room. Generally wouldn't recommend this to anyone

    The only good thing about this place was that it was very close to old city. 10 minutes walking from Sao Bento and Ponte Luis. However just the location wouldn't make me go there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Not bad, could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms stink like crazy, There is no ventilation. The smell is very disturbing and all of your clothes smell after one day. The rooms are cold so you have to ask for additional heating. I wouldnt advice to go there with children.

    Well, Basically the localisation is the best I can say about the hotel. What was good was the receptionist - who were very helpful and kind, even though they mostly did not speak English too but thats all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for value and sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower mix of hot and cold needs to be improved.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. This is my fourth time staying at the hotel. Great location and the room with a terrace has views of Porto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Good atmosphere, helpful stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only background was the cold room and the mould on the walls.

    I enjoyed my stay in at the hostel. Its location is perfect. Everybody was really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.0
    Inexpensive and inelegant in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and the bed too hard. The bathroom was in need of updating. Mould and rust in the shower.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful . They did not speak English but went out of their way to be helpful. The wifi was free and fast. The location was on a rundown street but a short walk from the historic centre and the river valley restaurants. Easy to walk to the port wineries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was awful, terrible water pressure and not hot. Beds were old and hard.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good location in town. Borrowed a hair dryer from them which I appreciate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    Bleak but cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decoration and fluorescent lighting were gloomy and the space heater was not exactly strong enough to keep the cold away.

    The bus stop was directly in front of the establishment, and it was walking distance t.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Very nice for this money!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff doesn't speak english at all! Only hot water, no cold(!) water. Very difficult to take shower! No wi-fi connection on the fourth floor.

    Easy to find. Friendly staff (google helped us to understand each other), clean rooms. Close to historical center and to pingo doce supermarket.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Fine for our one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No-frills budget accommodation in a rather gloomy building. But the room was clean, the bed firm, and it was astonishingly quiet given its location. No breakfast, but the Rua do Duque de Loule round the corner has an excellent cafe / bakery which opens at 7am.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Basic and smelly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is basic, and I was expecting that, after all what you pay is what you get, but there was an awful smell from the pipes from the shower (located next to the bed); maybe it was only in this room, I don't know, but it wasn't nice. Also, the walls are thin, so expect to hear noise from your neighbours in the next room.

    The price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    it was fine to stay for a night before the transportation, nice staffs and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was because I wanted the budget room, but if with a window, it could have been better.

    it was in walking distance to the points to see, but it was away from the area with bars and restaurants, so quiet in the night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds could be bigger, and the bathroom could be cleaned better, since we found a few hairs in the wall. However the price, staff and location made us have a very nice trip

    The hotel is well located and next to many touristic attractions. You get bed linen and towels and they get changed every day, the room is cleaned everyday as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they give good ideas for things to do in Oporto. There is a kitchen with the basic elements (Kettle, cuttlery, microwave, plates) which you can use to prepare small food, plus a fridge. Also there are many restaurants near the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was good but there was not a lot of comfort and in the middle of the night we could hear the person in the next room snoring. There was too much noise in general as people kept knocking on the door for no reason and speak loudly which woke us up every night.

    We really liked the location of the room and the host was nice and very helpful. The room was a bit old fashioned but big in size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent situation to access the centre of Porto easily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny bathroom with a bidet, a toilet, a hand-wash basin and a bath all crammed in making it not easy to get in and out of the bath Lovely to have plenty of hot water but water dangerously hot Bedspread & sofa a little old & stained though clean

    Spacious bedroom with view towards the other side of the river Good wifi connection Towels changed every day, not necessary but nice and bin emptied daily Good shutters making room nice & dark at night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Staff and manager helpful and friendly and clearly work hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was damp and no windows. Hotel clean but tired and in need of refurb without losing its old world ambience. My car window was smashed in street outside and others advised it had happened at least 4 times recently to foreign plate cars in same street which is in decline.

    Staff and manager helpful and friendly and clearly work hard.. Location near main town and funicular. Great Fado Restaurant near by..Retiro de Fado. Inexpensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Cheap taking location into consideration
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old facilities such as unfunctional and devastated kitchen and bathrooms

    Possibility of leaving backpack before check-in and after check-out! Comfy bed mattress

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are few thinks which needs to be fixed or replaced. Its hardly possible to find the balance between cold and hot water in the shower so either you have a cold shower or burning yourself. The shower holder is broken and won't keep the shower head. Mattresses needs replacing it's rather uncomfortable to sleep with springs digging into your body, pillows also have their best time ages ago. Being woke up every day early in the morning by the pneumatic hammer or drill just behind the wall on holiday when you want to relax it's not acceptable. I understand contractions work in the building next to but there should be information about it when you do a booking or agreement with builders nit to start noisy works till 10.00 in the morning. Not everybody can stand the feeling of making hole on the brain at 8.00 am.

    Hotel is I'm great location , you are close to everything. The view from the room with tarrace on the 4th floor is stunning. Rooms are simple but clean, towels changed every day. Stuff very friendly and helpful. Its a basic good value hotel for a short stay but needs improvements.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    This apartment building was in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very creaky! Every little move was the cause of big creak! My husband couldn't sleep the first night... And you have no possibility to drink the tea or coffee at the Residential if you had not your own kettle. It's very pity! The terrace as I said was very dirty. I dreamed to sit there in the evening but I had no desire to do this.

    This apartment building was in a very convenient location. The price is very low. Our room was enough big and clear. We had a big terrace overlooking the city and the river. But the terrace was very durty and we could not stand on it. Perhaps it was because of the big and noisy constructin not far from there. We had the opportunity to store food in the refrigerator and cook smth simple in the microwave owen. The room was always clean. They cleaned it every day. If you need, you can ask to wash. It costs 5 EUR

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.2
    If it wasn't for the location... it wouldn't be worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy dogs barking at cats all night long, staff can't speak english, dirty bathroom that can't be locked. Hot rooms reeking of mold and other funky smells

    Location is the only good thing here

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy made me pay twice. Told me I had to pay cash when I had already booked with my credit card. When I got home I was charged on my credit card plus I paid cash upon arrival

    Location was great! Clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Near bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower had a little mold on it but for me it was as I aspected. I.ve seen in the pictures.

    Near bus station. The room is clean. Althought everything is old (building, furniture, towels) it is clean and if you are a traveller on buget, it.s quite ok. The staff was really nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    For a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my room there was no window; the bathroom looks like old and dirty because of bad ceil and mildew on the walls. Bad smell in the room due to the damp.

    The room was clean and looks like good, in old style. The bed was big and comfortable; there was many place for things; nice stuff; elevator in the hotel, good price, one of the cheapest hotel in Porto; great location, close to the old city, bus stop and metro station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot, had to open the window which faces the corridor, a bit scary as people can easily climb into our room while we were sleeping. Asked the staff for an electric fan the second night and it was so much better, recommend that they can install an electric fan in every room then it would be a much nicer experience to stay there. The shower with completely transparent door locates right next to the bed which is a bit weird, and the shared toilet cannot be locked.

    Staff were friendly. Although some do not speak English they tried their best to accommodate us. Clean rooms. Low price, great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.8
    A short night experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist does not speak English. The kitchen is just a microwave so making your morning Coffee is quite an experience. The parking is bon existent unless You find a place and pay a city fee. The room oberlooks the busy street so not much sleep to be expected

    The location is very close to the center so You stay within the walkable distance to almost all attractions of the city. The bedą are royal size and very comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.2
    A bad hostel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock of the outside bathroom was broken so another person had to stay outside as a guardian. The high temperature (almost 40 degrees) made the room very hot, it was impossible to sleep during the night because the room itself was not provided with air conditioning or even a fan! In addition to make things more complicated there was much noise from other rooms (because of the thin walls) but especially from a noisy dog that barked all night. The room had only one socket so it was difficult to charge more devices at the same time, so we had to stay up until late to charge what we needed. We asked for a double socket but unfortunately it was already used bu another guest so it was not available. The shutter of the room was broken, for this reason we couldn't leave the window open during the day finding the room at our return so hot as hell. Moreover the window faces the corridor so the people that pass can easily get inside when the window is open.

    The location was very near the city center, everything was very easy to reach from this hostel. The receptionist was very kind as he tried very hard to help us with everything and he also let us pay the following day because we did not have the precise amount when we arrived. The shower and the basin in the room were very comfortabile because we could avoid using the outside bathroom that was awful. The 24 hours reception was a great thing because we arrived at night and we were let in immediately without problems. If you need to print something or use a computer it is possible (computer is free and printing is 50 cents a page). Wifi works very well which is very important on an international trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Worth the money. In the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our stay (June 2017), some construction work was in progress (in neighboring tenements), so the noise was since morning. The street, where the hotel is located is busy, so around the clock you can hear passing cars (our window was on the street side).

    Personell was friendly and helpful. Check-in after mindnight was possible. Hotel is good for few nights. Ideal - If you want to see Porto without using public transport - city center available on foot. No breakfast in the hotel - but kitchen available and nice bistro next doors with good sandwiches and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Morning coffee with the view
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room could be fixed or replaced even. It is a bit old.

    We liked the staff. They were so kind and helpful. The terrace was very big and one can enjoy morning coffe with a nice view of the river and the brige and the city. The coffee can be bought just below the property, also the breakfast. In the evening there is an amazing view on the church which has such a beautiful lights on. The city center is just 7 min away on foot. One doesn't need to use the public transport at all when staying here. The location is great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    4.6
    Not like it. Need tone updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy place. In the beginning there is no lift quite a lot stairs to carry your 💼🎒

    Very noisy next door building was refurbishing. Also an other next door people has got dog barking to builders all day long. But if you need they can give hairdryer to use., all furniture are very bed condition, when you try to open the drawers get broken😜 Day time receptionist can't speak English at all but night time one yes. They have got kitchen to use. Not prefer to go again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    Would not recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came very late in the evening and were not able to find it easily. The room was too small - there were about 15 cm from the bed to the wall and the whole room was just the bed. There were no windows in the room and the air was stale. It was dark as well. The bathroom desperately needs a new curtain - that's not expensive at all and would contribute to normal showering. Otherwise this mold covered nylon curtain threatens to stick to your body!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    3.8
    Worst hostel experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may have been the worst hostel I've ever been to. We booked a private room with a shower which we never got to use due to vomit from a clogged toilet near our room backing up into it. We were sleeping and the hostel host was slamming on the door next to us at 2 or 3am then the very loud plumbing started. We woke up to a room smelling of sewage and vomit. The floor was even wet. Once the vomit water went down the chunks were still in the shower and all over our things we put in there. Additionally, the dogs in the courtyard barked nonstop and a playground to the school was very loud. There is also construction that started at 8am. Needless to say we didn't get any sleep. There isn't a real hostel vibe there. It's really more like a cheap dank motel. There has to be better hostels in the area.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location with comfy rooms in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The early morning noise around the property - of course, this was none of the hosts' fault! There's a construction going on in the neighbouring house and they started rather early as well as a school with a loud bell around 8am. We are not morning owls so while it was a tiring trip, we got to get up early every day to explore this lovely city.

    The location of this property is absolutely amazing. Our room was cleaned every day (the bed made, we got new towels etc.) so we had a nice and comfortable stay. We didn't spend much time at the accommodation as we were out during the day hence we didn't have much contact with the staff but they always greeted us with a smile. We stayed in room 106 and we had a lovely passage (with big windows) leading to our room. We had breakfasts in the sun on the passage/balcony which was lovely or a beer or two at night. For the price it is absolutely worth it, we would go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Stuffy room close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was damp and stuffy and if you wanted to ventilate the room everybody could see in your room. Furniture is quite old and sticky.

    Loction is good, close to city center. The reception is open 24/7.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money in Porto
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too narrow for two people.

    Good value for money. Shower in the room but toilet outside. Very nice furniture in a not that very nice building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    3.8
    worst hotel that I see
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was 6-7 degree in porto, and there is no any heating system or any air condition in the rooms. The rooms are cold like poles. We leaved the keys to see around and requested to recepsionist a portable heater at least, he said Ok but he did not bring anything. We are frozen. There is no any isolation on windows and all cold weather and loud voices comes inside. The worst place that I stayed. Never recommended

    price is suitable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    3.3
    Nothing in short
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English speaking staff in the day time...beds are not comfortable... No exhaust system in the room as well as in the washroom... They mentioned the lift but not from the ground from the 1St floor...

    Nothing in short

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    3.8
    If you like survival, take it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty bathroom, cold room (no heating, in night there was 7 degree Celsjus), no wifi at 4 floor, problems with water, no possibility even make a tea at kitchen.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cleaned everyday, location is perfect. Very friendly staff. Cafes and restaurants nearby serves great quality portugese cousine. Perfect place as base to enjoy Porto.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.5
    Not suitable for people afraid of cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating or air conditioning in winter; Really cold and humid;No wifi works in the room far from the elevator.

    15 minutes walk from the Sao Bento stadion;Really cheap.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.1
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of heating system. Since it was around 2 centigrades at night it was really cold in the rooms, consider it when booking in winter. It was nearly impossible to set pleasant water temperature in the shower - it was either very hot or freezing cold. The WiFi was working only in the corridor.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    3.3
    Nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awfull no heat at all in the whole hotel the room was even colder than the weather outside,also there was an awfull smell.Only one person from the start spoke english.Although it says free wifi you dont have at all floors only in reception but it lags alot.My advise never go to that place not worth it even if its cheaper than other plaxes just dont go i woundnt wish it even in my worst enemy P.S the room had alot of mold too look the photos below

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.9
    great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but clean, with fresh towels daily. The staff were really nice and offer a laundry service which meant I didnt have to spend my night in a laundromat - instead I got to enjoy town. Located close to some very good restaurants and the train station, this is a no frills value for money place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Quiet place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of kettles. If you want to boil water, you have to use microwave oven. But it was funny ;) Lack of windows in a few rooms. If you don't need to spend days in room, it's no problem.

    Clean bathroom and nice staff. Towels were exchanged every day. Free access to the kitchen. Good localization. Close to bus station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    2.9
    HORRIBLE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful, awful place Looks like a prison cell There's no light in the corridor Dirty shower in the room! No heating Dirty sheets and towels Only one bulb above the mirror No kettle in the kitchen! (You have to microwave water for at least 7 minutes in order to make a tea haha!) Cleaning staff is so rude and they go into your room even tho you didn't want them to clean

    The man at the reception was really nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.7
    For price - quite good, but won't come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No window in the room! There is only one window to corridor, which made no sound separation and I could hear everything in the building. There is no kettle in the kitchen, which I found very disturbing (I had to cook water in the microwave). Staff is no-english

    Localisation is quite good, close to supermarket, there is a microwave in the kitchen

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    5.0
    Hm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was moldy and the shower head was loose- I had to hold the dripping shower above my head to wash. The bed had springs sticking into my body as I slept. The doors barely locked and every time I left the hotel I had to give the key to the desk (once I arrived back in the hotel they had to give it back to me).

    The hotel had a lovely marble staircase, and it had a lift which was easy for my suitcases, cleaner was very good with my room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    4.6
    Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was really cold in the room (begining of November), the rooms are not soundproof, you can hear everything you neighbors are talking about. Personnel barely speaks english. Entrance and pictures look like in 5 stars but rooms are quite poor.

    Price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.3
    We had a small kitchen, where you could store your food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not comfortable at all. The staff doesn't speak english, it was a little bit hard to ask or explain something to them.

    We had a small kitchen, where you could store your food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Good place to stay, fair prices, awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, tiny bathroom and some noisy english neighbors. A bit far for walkers of the train station to Lisbon.

    Good property: clean, good sight from the bed room, great hospitality

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    2.5
    I want to warn everybody strongly to never stay at Pensão...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I want to warn everybody strongly to never stay at Pensão Residencial Porto Novo in Porto, Portugal. We got robbed inside our room in the Pensão. While we slept, someone entered the room and stole my boyfriends phone from the bedside table. The reaction of the personell was absurd. They showed no sympathy, support or regret. Since the main door is locked during the night and has to be opened from the security guard at the reception, and because the reception was right in front of our room, we asked the lady at the reception to call the security guard to see if he saw someone entering our room. She refused. I am speechless about the behaviour of the personell. Someone entered our room, while we slept there, and robbed us. The least I would expect from the personell is to show regret and support. But exactly the contrary happened. The lady was treating us in a way dont even have words for. For me this rises many questions about an involvement of the personell. The case is with the police now. I therefore warn everybody urgently to never stay in this pension. Who knows what else might happen, when strangers have no difficulties at all to enter the guests rooms at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Low cost and convenient,pity about the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff,sreaming matches,while we were trying to eat in the common area,not conducive to the digestion.

    Use of a kitchen,location/location.good super market less than 1km

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.2
    Hard to reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had only an interior window to the kitchen therefore there was no fresh air. There was a lot of mold in the bathtube.

    Fast internet, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Own bathroom, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows, smell of sigarets or something

    Own bathroom, good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no breakfast, but cheap cafe next door

    everything was perfect. 10 min to old town. clean room. feel like home)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    They were very nice and helpful and the hotel is very easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfy

    They were very nice and helpful and the hotel is very easy to access

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy from the street.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    No windows in double room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in double room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    the space is noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room the , beds, bathroom

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    Room too dark.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room too dark. The staff not welcoming. I will not stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of pee all over the building, Rude staff that don’t speak English

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, near to the bridge and square. Friendly staff. I'd recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    No air in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: