Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Quasar 2 stars

Rua Silva Brinco, 79-91, 4465-266 Porto, Portugal

#78 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 417 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was terrible, our balcony was oriented to some kind of used things storage. Blankets on the beds - very old and dusty. This detail damages the total appearance of the room. Hopefully, not all rooms have that old blankets. Sound isolation very bad - we have heard every door opening near by.

    We liked pretty big room with very nice balcony, although the view was real disaster. We liked a bit old fashioned bathroom with a real bath tub. Everything looks like not new, but fairly maintained.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was broken, it kept leaking and making noise and I could not sleep at all. I asked to one of the staff to be moved to a different room or to find an alternative solution but I was just told "the technician doesn't work during weekend and we don't have another room". The lady was not helpful at all.

    The bakery/cafe' nearby (5 min walk) were my friends and I had lovely breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THERE SHOULD BE RICE FOR BREAKFAST AS ONE OF THE OPTIONS FOR rice eaters like Asians.

    The staff are very helpful in giving any assistance I need like talking to taxi drivers explaining my destinations as I dont speak Portuguese. Thay've been so helpful. Thw place is also near DOURO via taxi which is very close to the center. qUIET EXCELLENT FOR REFLECTIONS AND PLANNING FOR BUSINESS TRIPS.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be picky the breakfast could be more varied but NO complaints from this experienced traveler.

    Excellent value and comfort. Super clean and staff is very helpful. Parking is included and a bus to city center is one block away. Careful research on websites pays off!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good!

    Although I didn’t have breakfast, I had a very comfortable, enjoyable stay at the hotel Quasar, & the hotels location was perfect for visiting my friends who live nearby, also the bus stops were very convenient for travelling around the FABULOUS city of Porto 😊, the hotel staff were also friendly & efficient 🙂

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    This small hotel is about a 20 minute bus ride, almost due north, of the centre of Porto with a bus stop within 100m taking you directly to the city centre. The ensuite rooms are of adequate size, very clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast has, in my opinion, sufficient variety to satisfy the tastes of most travellers. The staff have always been friendly and very helpful. There is a small bar which remains open for guests late into the evening. There are two good local restaurants within 100yds with, as stated, the centre of Porto being a short bus ride away on the 600 service which runs very frequently during the day and early evening. I have stayed here twice and it definitely my first choice as a great combination of location and value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar at night not really open although we did get a drink the area was already set for breakfast the next day

    Located about a 25 minute bus ride from centre of Porto with free car parking, good wifi and pleasant staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not so good for walking, but by car is ideal for Porto

    best 2 star hotel i stayed at. On site free parking available, good breakfast, fast wifi, clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    It was small and friendly hotel with quality fixtures and fittings. In fact it was the best, in all respects, 2 star hotel that I've ever stayed in. 5 Euro breakfast was just right to get me going. The location is away from the city. However, I quite liked it since it introduced me to the suburb where working people live. Neither was I concerned about the distance from the city as I enjoyed 15-20 minute walk to the metro. In fact I used metro to get to the airport when flying out. Bus is available 50m away and good bakery just a few steps from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room or Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice, clean, pleasant stuff. Short travel to the city center, park near the Trindad Metro and take it or walk, its very close to the central attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fair hotel. Nothing fancy, but clean and provides parking - good deal considering the price/night. 15 min walk to the tram, which might discourage as you actually walk by a huge road with almost no sidewalk, but once there you reach city centre very quick; alternative would be by bus, but we preferred the tram. Near the hotel you can find a pastry shop with tasteful products, option for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you do not have a car, I believe it is a bit more complicate to arrive to the hotel since it is in a location not reached by the underground system.

    It is a nice option to stay in Oporto city if you have a car, which is my case. They have car park in the property. (The hotels nearer the city centre normally do not offer good car parking facilities.) Staff people in this hotel are very friendly. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is good, although I did not take breakfast this time since I had to leave early, but I did take breakfast in previous stays in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was very comfortable. I arrived in the middle of the night and was greeted by a nice young man who also carried my luggage to the room without me asking for it. All the staff I met spoke fluent English, so communication was excellent. The hotel is about 50 min. walk from the center of Porto, but I like walking and there are busses running all the time if you want another mean of transport. The busses stop in front of the hotel. Breakfast was simple but fine and the coffee excellent. Everything was very clean. I am totally satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from town if you wanted to pop back to your room. Difficult to find from Metro station. (bus 600 from main square takes you directly to hotel). Window from room 6 looked straight out onto entrance so kept black out blind closed which meant room was very dark. No outside area to sit.

    Spotless room, delicious simple cold buffet breakfast. Bus stop into Porto across road from hotel. Most staff were helpful and spoke good English. Hot power shower. Room cleaned daily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not like that much the surronds, room was noisy for the street and for the guests also, wifi was so, so :)

    The staff was super friendly and helpful, Hotel is very clean, parking is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from center of the city (15 minutes by walk to the metro station and 20 minutes by metro to the center.)

    Nice small hotel. Clean and comfortable room. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is simple but good. A lot of small restaurants near the hotel. 15 minutes by walk from the metro station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think it's a little cold since there's no heater at night.

    The property was very nice. I must mentioned that the breakfast was great! I really like the breakfast and its definitely worth it!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we missed fresh fruit and vegetable for breakfast and fresh air in room - window was into patio with glass roof

    Staff very friendly, day receptionist with very good English (she loves Porto), she explained where to go in Porto, public bus stop really close, good parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too dark

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Made us feel very welcome. The location isn't for tourists however it was nice to embrace the local culture.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but limited variety. Plenty of it though. It would be nice to have somewhere outside to sit and drink. The bar is nice but in the breakfast room.

    Very friendly and rooms were really nice with classy bathrooms. AC was very good and very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not shower gel in the bathroom, No small fridge in the room, A bit noisy: we can hear people talking in the hallway, windows are poorly soundproofed,

    Comfortable bed, Air conditioning, The price, staff is amazing !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Free parking. Good location. Adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very kind and helpful and a reliable source of good advice regarding the activities during my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very nice and it has private parking. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place and nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variation at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel.

    Hospitality and cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The personal is kind and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit much noise from the road.

    Nice staff. Clean rooms. Good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast

    the cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more variety

    The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very cozy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city centre

    Super clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too far from the center

    Nice, clean, worth of money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful receptionists, clean and very close to city center by bus. Bus stop in 2 min from the hotel! Definitely we could come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is away from the city center but easily reacched by bus

    The staff were helpful and the room was clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room just had one bulb and it was not enough to light it up.

    Staff and location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very limited but I wasn't too bothered. Im not a big breakfast lover.

    Very comfy beds. Shower was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and nice staff. Very good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to the car park bit narrow

    All

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff is good location also good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast selection and juice quality could be better

    very nice staff, free parking, free and fast internet. Rooms big einough, bathroom very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Curtains difficult to pull together

    Good undercover parking. Bus from outside went straight to town

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    cold in room

    Helpful and nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to mention.

    Great conditions, very good price. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Weak air conditioning

    Parking Cleaning daily Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable. Far from city center if you are visiting for leisure.

    Nice breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Free parking lot.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet accessories wasn't enough.

    Room was very clean. Enough Breakfast and was very good.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complains.

    Very nice and helpfull staff. Good basic breakfast. You have all you need.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    staff was very nice and friendly..always helpfull,kind and polite..everything was very fine...

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relação preço qualidade ótimo.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: