Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Trovador 2 stars

10 De Agosto De 1385 Nº 22, 2300-553 Tomar, Portugal

Review score

Based on 509 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is just a public dirt lot across the road. The breakfast was one of the worst I have seen in Portugal. Not even worth walking the extra five steps for. You should just go two doors down to the nearest cafe and eat there. Excellent and helpful staff a the front desk.

    The location is great unless the annual fair is happening. If so it is right across the street and incredibly loud most of the night. The room was very clean and roomy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't appreciate the fact that even though I booked a double room, when I arrived at the property I received a twin room, which is not something I would have opted for since I was traveling with my husband. Therefore the room conditions were different than the ones expected since the twin room looks different than the double room. When I mentioned this to the reception desk they simply told me that the other double rooms had been already assigned to other customers and that I can be contacted by the manager to discuss more about the issue. I still haven't heard from any manager. Another not so good part is related to the window view of the room which showed the back side of an apartment building together with an abandoned building completely falling apart. The rooms on the other side have a view towards the street with a parking lot and the bus terminal. Also, they provide you with the password for the free wifi advertised on the property, however at the second floor the signal didn't even reach our room. For breakfast the water inside the bottle was actually plain tap water and not bottled water.

    The hotel is close to the historical centre and the room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was very weak in our room (2-nd floor); we had to step out and stand in the hallway to get connected and to download/send the email.

    Very conveniently located, easy to find. Big parking lot right outside of the hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is a bit old. Coffee machine in breakfast room makes terrible coffee, better take a bica in one of the downtown pastelerias.

    Good location (close to the both stations and quite close to the town centre) and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had breakfast ready for us at 04.30 before we left which was amazingly great of them, made all the difference as we had a 32km walk to do that day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    - This is a small hotel with very good value and room price, friendly and helpful staff, good location with 1 minute walk to bus station and train station. It was good for me as I arrived with a large luggage and left for 7am bus. - Although it is about 300-400 meters from the centro square, there are few restaurants and supermarkets along the way where I could stock up food for lunch and dinner. - I arrived about 9:30am in the morning and was able to get early checkin. Room interior was basic as advertised so I was happy with it. My room has open full window facing the bus station, mountain with Cathedral view, but it was very quiet. - Housekeeping lady was doing a very good job to keep the room clean. I had shower after I checked in and then when out sightseeing. After I came back in the afternoon, she exchanged my used towels and cleaned up. This would never happen in other properties except for 5 star hotel. - Breakfast was included and the spread and choice were surprisingly plentiful. I wasn't able to enjoy fully as I rushed for my 7am bus. Although the serving time started from 7am, the staff accommodated my needs to start at 6:30am.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one speaks English properly while the place was advertised as English-speaking friendly. I don't want people be fluent in English, but at least be able to exchange some important information. The room had many stuff that didn't work - lights, fan in the bathroom, and most of all there was no hot water and no one alerted us about that! The breakfast was less than average - I'm normally not fussy about breakfast (only some fruit and yogurt) but there wasn't really much around. I also have food allergies and nothing was written down about that :( Cherry on top, the Internet connection was awful, and it also took us a good 30minutes to figure out how to connect to it (and then, figure it didn't work or was horrendously slow) because no one was able to give us some hints. Overall, I've been in better 2stars hotel, much older and old-fashioned that this one, with way less problems than in here. Disappointed and would not recommend it.

    I appreciate they host pets although I didn't bring my dog with me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A friendly hotel that's very near the bus and train station. We really enjoyed our stay. We were out until 1.30am at a Fado evening and until gone 2.30am at a fabulous students Tuna music contest. If you think you might be out late ask reception to show you the night bell as the hotel is locked overnight. One ring and the night porter will answer quickly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi at all in the rooms as the connection wasn't working, windows didn't seal correctly so there was alot of street noise.

    Great location directly across the street from both the bus and train station. Friendly staff,clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms very dated. Shower over bath with a plastic curtain. Black mould around windows. Noisy rooms, difficult to sleep. Charge for parking in hotel garage.

    Proximity to the town. Staff helpful. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff does not speak much English. Hotel is not located in the historic center but a walking distance to it.

    Room was big but furnished in a bit old-fashioned style

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the rain and.this is not the hotel's fault.

    The quality of service and flexibility was exceptional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    History and culture around

    Very very loud. Did not have a chance to sleep, just left 3 hours earlier, because of street and neighbor room noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Extremely attentive front desk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was kind of hard.

    Located right next to the train and bus station, and within easy walking distance of the center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful friendly staff,excellent location for visiting the monasteries, walking distance from train station easy to find, comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no WiFi in the room

    Communication is great, people are great, WiFi in the room doesn’t work. Tv has 7 local channels

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in my room, the bed was too small and my neighbor was watching tv very loud at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly service, great value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only worked in reception. Coffee was poor. Room was gaudy.

    Elevator worked

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Struggled to communicate with staff

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no coffee machine to serve coffee for breakfast

    good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very poor. No place to place our toiletries, no shelves, no air dryer,

    Nothing in special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location Friendly staff The room is normal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and value for money. Our 3rd visit to the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    Comfortable, clean, and owners were very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room colours were severe

    Price was excellent for stopover

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great location, lovely big room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barking dogs. Lumpy bed.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and well sited near to railway and bus station and within walking distance of town and sites.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no evening meal but that was our choosing and not your falt also the lift was a little bit small for a wheelchair.

    everything was fine and what we expected but i wished they did a evening meal

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really nothing to complain about.

    The hotel is clean and modern, our room was very large and even had 2 bathrooms; the quality/price ratio is incredibly favorable. Plenty of parking also, and Tomar is so small that the position is not really a problem.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent staff and customer service. Very friendly and helpful staff. Location, staff, rooms, service were all great. Thank you from everyone in our family.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In town for easy access to things that you would like to do, lots of great restaurants in Tomar, and of course the Castle! Across from the train station if you want to avoid a car rental.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close proximity to train/bus station. Wifi is ok. Room had been refurbished but the feel is kind of dingy. Price is acceptable for the convenient but could be noisy for those light sleeper.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    30m from the railroad and autobus statons. Good breakfast.Everything is good.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No Wifi and very poor breakfast.

    Location and value for money. Good room for budget price.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi was not working

    location, price

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Right across street from bus and train stations, 5-10 minute walk to vented of town.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A location is in a short walking distance from the train station

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff comfortable bed very good wi fi.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: