Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial Dandy

Rua Filipe Alistão, 8000-343 Faro, Portugal

#26 of 31 B&Bs and Inns in Faro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1384 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    RUBBISH NO SLEEP QUIRKY DECORATIONS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on a road that people accelerated down all night which was incredibly loud considering you have to keep the windows open because the airconditioner didn't work. A man was banging on the door next to our window at 2am saying he had a booking so I had to get up and wake the lady up in her weird room next to reception. In the morning some idiots in the room were banging around for an hour packing their bags. Only partly their fault as thin wooden boards with no carpet on the floor.

    The whole place had a really quirky and slightly old fashioned feel to it with little rooms with seats and plants and old television

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Loved everything about this place. Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit creaky but very , very comfy

    Fantastic host, beautiful traditional room , very clean and room cleaned on daily basis. Very central. Highly recommend this

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Authentic residential that will stay in memory when all the fancy places fade away.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities but there are fridges in the rooms and an excellent cheap eatery a few doors up. Best homemade food. Lots of cafes and bars near by

    Excellent location. Very clean and bright pleasant room own balcony and bathroom. Old style resedincial. Reminds me of places I stayed in in the 80s . If you like authentic and retro u will love this place. Rooms are clean everything works..just a little worn. Night time can be noisy in St but seems to calm about 12. Bring ear plugs. The staff are a little eccentric but very kind and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Funny kind staff that spoke just Portuguese, nice antique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No windows in every room.

    Funny kind staff that spoke just Portuguese, nice antique furnished rooms. Very good location in old town. Washbasin and fan in every room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a triple room,the bathroom is very small and there is a problem with the đrainpipe. The size of the bathroom is suitable for slim people. The common bathroom is not always very clean. The triple room is middle-sized but there are too much furniture for such a room. The beds are not so comfortable, high and huge mattresses.

    The location is super, in the city centre. 7 min to bus/railway station. There is a refrigerator and a balcony in the room. 2 towels are provided for a person. Microwave, spoons, knives and plates are available in the common zone as well as the kettle. There is a library in the guesthouse. The host is super nice,speaking Russian as well. TV and printer are in the common room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    I could only recommend this place for it's location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls between rooms and the windows were extremely thin so you could hear what in the other room they were talking as well as if your room faces the street the cars and the people passing by, I couldn't sleep much. Everything in the hostel is very old and the windows wouldn't close properly.

    I could only recommend this place for it's location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Beware of Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was small & Ensuite was Smelly

    We Paid for an Ensuite & the room was very small & the Ensuite had a dreadful Sewer smell Would not stay at Dandy again Good Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    We stayed there for the second time and again we're very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for the second time and again we're very satisfied! The equipment is quite old-school but we don't mind. Also the price is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Location was fantastic and bed was super comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not great insulation from noise from outside or neighboring rooms. Towels and shower weren't amazing, but not expected to be for the cost.

    Location was fantastic and bed was super comfy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable,in a homely,peaceful residencial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not get the TV to work(could have been my Fault). A bit noisy (people shouting)in the early hours and church bells took a bit of getting used to,but a few glasses of wine soon remedied that!

    Excellent location for restaurants,shops,train and bus stations. Accessible 24 hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.0
    Good value for money really enjoyed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Bed was really comfy,lovely crisp white sheets. Bathroom could do with update but that is reflected in price. Very helpful lady on site. Anything i needed was brought straight away, sorted computer out so i could print boarding pass.Great location, can be a bit noisey in street outside but quiet within residence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    It`s close to the port and the garden and other interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door of our room were sometimes hard to open. The first person at reception didn`t uderstand English, I had to open the tourist guide and read the numbers in Portuguesqe from there. On the other hand the second one could communicate in English at least a little bit. We got a room at the basement a could hear everyone, who was going on the street and also all the cars.

    It`s close to the port and the garden and other interesting monuments. There was a wasbasin in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed,room with private bathroom and small balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostél remembers better times,long long time ago,stinks the whole room,most of all the bathroom.And the owners hassle which was really too loud was bot really pretty,but during night quiet also from the street,so we slept well.only for one night státy.

    Comfortable bed,room with private bathroom and small balcony to the street was ok,even when old furniture,there is TV and fridge in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location 5 minutes walk from the marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location 5 minutes walk from the marina. Nice big rooms. We had 3 rooms across 2 floors and 2 bathrooms. Sharing bathrooms but they're perfectly adequate. Excellent value. Perhaps not ideal for a couple travelling but great for a big group

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    Even at €30 this was poor value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy from street below (room on top floor looking onto street at back of entrance) as well as somewhat noisy from adjacent rooms. I guess the location is too close to the popular places for getting drunk and yelling all the way home. Stink of bad drains from bathroom. Aircon/heat exchanger did not work.

    Clean. Attractively presented entrance, hallway and reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a one night stay so close to the airport, there is a lot of 'traffic' all night. Ear plugs are a must.

    Central and close to the bus and train stations. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    It’s located in the city centre with good transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby and tacky furniture makes the atmosphere not so good, it feels like a horror movie scenery.

    It’s located in the city centre with good transport links. Spacious room with tv, lavatory, heather/air conditioner and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.3
    Unfriendly staff, very basic room, pillow was filled with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, very basic room, pillow was filled with little balls and mattress was not comfy. Kitchen facilities right outside our bedroom so were woken up at 5am by people making breakfast and chatting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Happy overall, cheap accommodation for a short stay in Faro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff was not particularly polite, since the moment that we checked in the lady has been grumpy for no reason (never seen a smile on her face for three days). Very old and basic furniture, but it met our expectations as it was very very cheap (you pay what you get, fair enough). The room had a window that was facing into a garage but we've been lucky as the other rooms we've seen didn't even have one.

    The hotel is very close to bus and train stations. Central location. Quite clean. Clean towels everyday. The owner let us leave our luggage for the last day and we appreciated it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Very eclectic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine but it's quite basic. Not for people who like glamour.

    Very eclectic place. It has character. It has a real feel and caters to Portuguese clients too. There are kettles and fridges scattered about so you could have your own food and drink. Having tried a shared bathroom and a private bathroom, I would recommend paying the extra for the private bathroom as the cheaper rooms with shared bath are street/basement level. Location is good, on a quiet street but still easy walking distance to bus and rail.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    1 night in Faro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It should be declared in the room description if there is no external window. Always a big disappointment to arrive and find out that's the case.

    Good location and although you hear noise from all around, the guests seemed to respect that and were quiet throughout the night hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Stay in traditional Portuguese property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Several of the rooms do not have windows and the Wifi is unreliable in some of the rooms. However it always seems to work near reception and there is a free to use PC with printer.

    This is a traditional Portuguese pair of houses merged into a hotel. It is a bit quirky in its arrangement but it is pleasant to stay at central to Faro's Bus and Train facilities. The Marina is a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Cute and quircky place, Location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are crazy THIN! I had to buy an ear plugs to get some sleep the next two night, my room was next to the reception and there was constantly a large man sitting in from of my room and snooring loudly. There was no window in my room.

    Cute and quircky place, Location is perfect!- very central. Lady that checked me in was very nice and friendly. My room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    One-night short stay to catch a flight the day after
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of noise until midnight. I didn't feel very welcomed, but this is acceptable considering I only got to the residential at around 22:30 - quite late. Overall, considering the low cost involved, it was definitely very positive.

    Hot shower and a big bed for one night for a great price - fantastic value for money. Not the highest quality accommodation but a great one in terms of price-quality. Couldn't have asked for more considering my only goal was to get a shower and a bed to sleep a few hours. If you want the same, you should be fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Standard clean double room with air conditioning and private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard clean double room with air conditioning and private bathroom, staff extreamly polite and helpful. Your getting what you pay for. Not fancy but more than acceptable. Room was cleaned everyday and bedding and sheets changed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.3
    Worst place in Faro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Straff seamed bothered by having guests. One of the owners sat in a chair in reception and slept (snored) day and night. No hot water in the morning and before dinnertime. We had ti change hotel aften two nights.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A place with authentic style - the building, furniture, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen was equipped with basic facilities only, so plan to eat out in the town.

    A place with authentic style - the building, furniture, and decorations are old-fashioned and interesting. Room was nice and clean, and the staff really friendly. Located in the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.4
    Not a good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In March It’s freezing cold that I nearly give up staying in residence. I had to buy a dressing gown and sleep with it at night ,and still I couldn’t sleep properly ,no heating at all .The owners speak louder through evening,night you can hear them from your room . The entrance bell doesn’t stop ringing and is very load for every time someone comes in and go out of the residence,it wakes u up in the morning. And the entrance it’s not like in the picture . The door key it’s a problem to open the room I need assistance for it .Cheap but I’m not coming back anymore to that place.

    The location it’s really good .Close to restaurants,coffees,supermarket,marina ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    There is no better value in Faro whatsoever.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

    This guest house does not offer any food. you can get drinks from the machine. There is a micro wave, a fridge, 2 kettles, plenty of cups, plates, soup bowls etc etc etc. It is incredibly good value and I hope too many people don't hear about it as they may increase the price...............I have stayed there many many times and I would not stay anywhere else, it's right in the centre of the old town, 2 mins to the bus station . The staff are very helpful also. Also, it is extremely clean and the beds are very sound.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Atmosphere was good and a great location.Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    one lamp wasnt working, friend couldnt see because of location of second bed - could do with extra transportable lamp. Shower leaked. air con didnt always work - on time switch? light in bathroom went off - timeswitch?

    individual local property with quaint additions. Kettle and microwaves (though only access to water was in bathroom (ensuite). Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Economical/temporary & eye opening
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower/Sex noises & staff could be at least more sincere as opposed to viewing guest as nuisances

    Okay, well it is value for money. However they do not have the facilities they advertise e.g for disabled and washing facility. Could do with being more cheerful but seems rather traditional. Feels more like a homeless hostel in disguise without the hassle of that if that makes sense. Every noise basically can be heard & they need to sort the shower out as the shower head needs to be held all the time. Bit awkward but worth it as a very temporary within Faro. They sometimes changed the bed over and it did actually smell nice most of the time-needs to be cleaner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    A cold but nice stay in Residencial Dandy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a small and hard bed. There was no heater or something to make the room warm. It was very cold and I had to sleep with my clothes on. The Wifi was something not working.

    The old house (more than 200 years) and the location. The price for the room and the room I had was a quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.0
    Loved our stay but big fire hazzard and horrible man on desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude unhelpful man on reception.The worst ever encountered. Fire hazard, as he was also smoking and no signs of fire escape or extinguisher.Smoke detector in our room covered in clingfilm.

    Lovely, quirky , traditional house.Great location, good to have access to kettle.Friendly lady, clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    One night stopover, served it's purpose fine and cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dodgy wiring about and very loud due to old style building.

    Great location 2mins walk to pier. Room was ok, large enough bed but some dodgy wiring about, especially the TV plugs. Bathroom was shared and perfectly acceptable. Good value for a one night pit stop in the heart of Faro close to the bus terminal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    2.9
    Worse room in 3 week holidays in portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in host nor room. Host not friendly nor helpful.

    Worse place in portugal 3 week stay. They charged me 23 eu4os for a room in basement that used to be a bathroom. All walls are bathroom tiles so very cold. I call it the dungeon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    For a low cost break near all the facilities of Faro just the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep stairs, no access for disabled

    It is very central and inexpensive. Near Bus and Train Station. Hours walk to airport. Bus drops off near the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Cheap, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work and the bathroom wasn't private/in the room, it was shared. Lock on the bathroom/shower door did not work. This should be fixed. A basic requirement!

    Cheap, good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    2.5
    Terrible Choice in Faro
    • Solo traveller

    When I got there I had to walk up a huge flight of stairs with my luggage in tow. Then they wanted to put me on one more floor up! The place was cluttered and filthy with barely any room to walk and the proprietor was obviously very sick. He was coughing. I told them I didn't want to stay on the third floor and they would not oblige me. The woman grabbed one of my bags and took it up the stairs. I said "no!" repeatedly, but she would not listen. They wouldn't take no for an answer, and in my book, that is not cool. Finally, I got my bag back from her, insisted on my money back, and and left! I stayed at the Best Western down the road.

    Nothing good about this place at all.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    Not recommended, but cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Automated doorbell rings throughout the place twice for every person entering and/or leaving. This bell never gets turned off...

    Adequate place to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    At some very late hour, some other guests were having a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At some very late hour, some other guests were having a fight shouting and slamming doors. Not the hostel's fault of course but still not very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    ok for 1 night, room was small, bed old and furniture also.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    ok for 1 night, room was small, bed old and furniture also. Many furnishure that make the place looks small. Ok for a couple or single perfect, if looking for a place to sleep 1 or 2 nights. Free boiler and microwave, TV in main entrance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Good economic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi is flaky.

    It is cloe to Faro center, harbour, Train and Bus stations. Restaurants nearby. About 15Euro Taxi from Airport or 2.30 Euro on the bus. Kettle, microwave and fridge freezer on each floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Chip and convenient for one day trip.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property in need of updating. Shared bathroom.

    Very friendly and extremely helpful lady at reception. Clean beding. Location- close to train station, bus station, restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Location is the bonus and Saudade Cafe/Restaurant opposite is the bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not have chosen this room had I been made aware of its location. I did get a look at a regular room & I would recommend on this basis.

    The location was great. My room was spacious, although next to reception & no windows as it was an interior room. Earplugs essential! No coffee or food supplied & no kitchen available, although utensils & a fridge available in a communal walkway. Excellent cafe/restaurant opposite!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Nicely decorated place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a bit steep for a room with a shared bathroom, but I guess the prices in Faro are like that. The bathroom was nice and clean though.

    The house is brilliantly decorated with a bunch of details. The location is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.2
    Might as well have stayed at a hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a room with a door to the communal area and reception desk. I could hear what was going on at the reception desk and even worse, couldn't get to sleep as I could hear someone outside of my door sleeping and making strange noises!

    The accommodation was in the heart of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    In the midst of Faro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled dusty, almost no natural light (but well, that was the cheapest hostel available, so I guess that comes at a cost)

    In the midst of Faro! The owners were kind, and she let us use another bathroom when we temporarily had no hot water in the ground floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.8
    it was ok to stay the night, for the price, as i was travelling alone, wouldn't take the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to climb stairs to first floor, with luggage, for reception, then had to drag luggage internally to ground floor to the room, bath tub and shower needs updating

    The price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.9
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, toilet, all the room needed urgent repairs.

    To be called a residential is the wrong choice of word, shower had no hot water, was dirty in the extreme, and dangerous to health, they stole my money as they called it a residential, the bed was like sleeping on rock and too uncomfortable to sleep on, I certainly do not advice anyone to stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    quite easy to get there by foot from train and bus station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is really noisy! I was given a room next to the reception, which is really noisy, can not really sleep... I could only recommend to not choose this room!

    quite easy to get there by foot from train and bus station as well as to the city center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.2
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS The room is semi converted kitchen, with pipes still showing, smell of sewage, fungous in the wall and without window! Wi fi only works in the lobby area. Toilet was bad, it did not have even soap (luckily I had my own). It was a 1 night stay from a late flight so I booked a cheap place, but I stayed on cheaper places in Portugal which were FAR better!

    The only good thing is the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    perfect location, great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast and the reception is not always there.

    Very interesting old Portuguese house decoration. Excellent location, close to everything, train station, bus station, restaurant, center, shops, cafes, quay, all in very short walking distance, and evening it is quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Extremely comfortable location, very friendly staff and great housekeeping!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms, WLAN not working on the first day

    Very friendly staff, every day new towels and extremely clean room service! The hotel is super close to many bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    Decent for low-price expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel does not have its own private parking, although it says it has "free parking", you actually have to park on the street and pay for it; the room where I stayed could have been made more "cheerful", it was ok, but somehow I had the feeling things had been neglected in terms of making you feel "at home"

    very good value for money, very close to some of the most important beaches in the Algarve, as well as good and easy accessible infrastructure, there is a market nearby and public parking places right near the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    Felt extremely unwelcomed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Residents quarters need upgrading i.e both bathrooms needs an upgrade as shower head did not have a holder and shower water was cold in the evening.

    The cleaner was the only one who made us feel welcomed with a smile and bom dia. The owner upgraded our room to a larger room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    TOO LOUD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed twice as residencial dandy now, both times it was far TOO LOUD. The place is a converted home and it shows - there just isn't anywhere near enough sound deadening anywhere. I could clearly hear someone snoring from the other end of the hotel! Definitely not reccomended for a light sleeper.

    Wifi was good, check in was easy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    OK for a short stay, close to the bus and train station, old town and marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something felt just a tad odd about the overall place. There was no staff when I arrived and after a while someone turned up, knew no English and made no effort to smile or try to be pleasant otherwise. Gave no advice. And the gentleman that came seemed like he was not well or just a heavy breather/very tired person. No shower handle so had to hold it and no air conditioning outside of the room or in the bathroom so hot place outside of the room, but it's bearable - you open the window for the bathroom and don't spend any more time than u have to in the hotel.

    Location. Close to the bus and train stations, marina and old town. Air conditioning in the room was good and it was a good sized room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Ok stay for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no windows, felt a bit like a prison. Place needs an update. Also our room was next to reception so it was noisy with guest leaving and coming in. Would not reccommend to stay longer then one night.

    Nice location, within three minutes we could reach the main area with restaurants and bars. And we liked the fact that the room had airconditioning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Rather lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly better shower would have been nice, but none the less it worked fine.

    The bed was made every time we returned to the room at night and the hostess was quite attentive, even lending us an umbrella for the beach :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    I am satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think this is a standard in portugal but still I cannot quite get it-all properties have shared bathroom and toilet. this property however had at least sink and mirror in the room.

    Lovely Ukrainian lady was really helpfull-allowed to check in earlier, gave us map, advised travelling possibilities, showed around, explained how to use facilities provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    not coming back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had problems communicating with the days before arrival, no one responding to e-mails or answering the phone, once I finally got an answer on the phone: the lady hung up - shocking. The light in the bathroom did not work, bathroom was a shocker etc etc

    Nothing appart from location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay! Loud at night (on a main street) but this was the only issue...thanks!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite warm and I couldn't get the AC to work. The room was adjacent to a busy street so it was quite loud at night.

    The staff was welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    A cozy quaint stay at dandy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find in the town and I arrived late night but wasn't an issue checking in.... very helpful with getting around town and any questions I had

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Great value for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were times where there was no hot water and we had to wait an hour or two to shower, but we just went out for drinks and food instead.

    It's a great location in central Faro. Very close to the bus and train station that you will use if you want to take day trips out to other parts of the Algarve. It's great value- we paid about half of the going rate for other hotels in the area in the middle of summer. The owner was very helpful and polite, and the place has a certain charm. It feels like a home. If you don't care about staying in the most comfortable and luxurious place, and you just want a place to wash off and lay your head after a long day out, then it's great for you. If you're looking for a luxury resort right on the beach, with meals and bubble baths, look elsewhere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    From another world
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm reaching but it is almost too quiet

    Very quaint room for a family although I used by myself. Late flight so stayed here to get organized which was easy done. Brilliant location and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    A very simple hotel where you aren't get welcomed warmly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    -the old style of the room (not vintage but OLD) -the clogged sink of the bathroom

    A very simple hotel where you aren't get welcomed warmly...It feels you disturb the 2 persons that are managing it even if the lady seems to be completely over-booked! The room was old and aesthetically unattractive but in contrast, very cleaned!! Our room was located just next to the living room where the TV was, not very good location as you feel you are sharing your room with everybody. The fridge in the room was very convenient to be honest. The bathroom was old and the shower sink was clogged! only one night spent there and it was enough!!! it felt like an old people house!!! On a positive note, the location of the hostel was very good, 5 min from the centre. 40 euros is enough for this kind of room. If you like nice and modern places, you won't find it there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice staff and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture

    Nice staff and clean room. There was air-con which was really good. Separate bathroom as in the room description. There was also a fridge in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Good old-fashioned residency, close to center and comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a twin room but they gave us a double. This was not the property's fault (in Portuguese the room's name was "double", even if on booking.com it shows as a two beds). So be aware when you book thought this website.

    Very close to town center, free on street car park, aircon in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Amazing quirky place, so friendly :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast :) Although they did have toaster / kettle / microwave etc..

    Loved this place was a great end to a fantastic holiday. We stayed in a very posh hotel for a wedding in Quinta Do Lago so wanted something cheap. This was £52.00 for me, my fella and my 2 kids immense value for money. Really quirky place, gorgeous windows, cool and airey building - was just a lush setting. Also close to some very nice restaurants and bars. I would stay there again in a breath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    3.8
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is really deplorable. It's run by hoarders and there's junk crammed everywhere. My room was actually an old kitchen, the tiles still on the wall, the chimney still there but blocked, no ventilation, no window. The "kitchen facilities" is a tiny table in the the hallway with a kettle, a few plates and a microwave. The hot water tank was outside my room door and the cleaning stuff was strewn all around it. There was a bucket with filthy water with the mop in it. The woman seems to take a few swings with the mop around the middle of the floor and then puts the mop back in the filthy bucket and that's the cleaning done for the day. This hotel was once a love,y place and I am sure under the right ownership it could be lovely again but I would advise to avoid for now.

    This hotel is in a great location. Near the train station, shops and the historic area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Great budget accommodation in Faro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't have a window to the outside but I knew this before I went there and it wasn't a problem.

    This was simple overnight accommodation for me and it was perfect for my trip. The room was comfortable and clean. The wifi and TV worked well. The bathroom was shared with this room but that wasn't a problem - I think it was only shared between 2 rooms. All-in-all, this was great value accommodation in Faro.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only street parking available and it's not free. Arrived very late at night but had to get up very early to go pay parking. Ensure you've got change. Some machines are old style. I slept in a room near the church and from about 7am the church bells chimed on the hour and one single clang on the half hour. Make sure you stay away from this particular room.

    Great central location. Room was very clean and the woman at the front desk was nice but didn't speak much English. Very much like the photos.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.4
    For the truly hardy only!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right off the common area, so pretty noisy. The bed was impossible... we really couldn't get comfortable either night (felt like an old mattress with a board under it). The bathroom needed serious upgrading just to be passable (shower head had to be held, over-sink shelf loose, loose tiles, etc.). And there was no air in the room at all. The reception staff were pretty invisible too.

    It was a good location ... easy to walk to the sights of Faro, & to the bus and train stations. Had a small fridge which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A short walk from the train station and to the bus station for the airport bus. Plenty of places to eat nearby and close to the old town for a nice evening stroll. Very quiet in the room during the night which is a bonus! Friendly receptionist on arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money in an authentic Portuguese building close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the authentic portuguese decoration. Especially that there's lots to look at. I like the balcony and the plants. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's a great location too!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: