Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Italia 2 stars

Av. Visconde Valmor, 67, Avenidas Novas, 1050-239 Lisbon, Portugal

#259 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 326 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As a student traveling on a budget, Hotel Italia was perfect for my needs. It was close enough to the metro line that I could get anywhere in the city easily, the facilities were clean, and the staff was super helpful in answering questions regarding things to do and see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel took the opportunity that my wallet was stolen and that I had to stay 4 days longer to revise the prices. This was not totally fairplay but what could I do ?

    Good breakfast corresponding to a 2** hotel. The lady at the breakfast never stops working, desserving tables ans refilling the buffet. Very nice and comfortable single room. Not far from the center and all accomodations. Beside a good Italian restaurant and in front of a Lidl. People at the reception are very helpful, even if you have been your wallet stolen and have to stay 4 days longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a lift in the building which is great, however, there are very steep steps up to the foyer from the street. I was lucky to be assisted by my Husband & Son. It would have been extremely difficult to navigate on my own.

    A good 2 star hotel. The staff are the real stars of this establishment, nothing is too much bother. They are pleasant & helpful. The location is good, walking distance to a Metro station. For self catering there is a Lidl supermarket literally across the road. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi often failed; ventilation allowed smell of smoke from elsewhere to enter room (especially bathroom)

    Convenient location; clean and comfortable; helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    This hotel is wonderfully located, the metro station is very close and there are many private and public parking options around, which was very important for us as we had a rental. Breakfast was a bit modest, but enough, and the hotel itself was very pleasant. I would especially like to praise the cleaning staff - our room was cleaned every morning, our towels changed, everything was impeccably clean and they even arranged things on our nightstands and folded our pajamas. The cleaning staff was fantastic! Hotel's neighborhood was lovely, it felt very safe, clean and pleasant, and we enjoyed the evening strolls around it. Travel communication with the airport was also great, as the closest metro line was on the red line, ending at the Lisabon airport. Across the hotel, there is a Lidl, and in the adjoining building is a great Italian restaurant, BellaLisa, with tasty food and very good prices. If I ever return to Lisabon, and I hope i will, I would stay in hotel Italia again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really only two problems: being the centre of Lisbon with many restaurants there are many kitchen extractors and one (from an Indian or Nepalese Restaurant at the rear of the Hotel.Fine if you like aircon not so good if you like the window open. The other very slight niggle - for security - access to the Hotel from the street has to be via a button behind reception. Might be a problem for some but understandable. Parking could be a problem but I don't use cars!

    God bed(s) Very helpful people on reception especially Isabella - a diamond. Good breakfast with an option to sit outside in little garden. Very clean, nice bathroom if a bit cramped but hey this is the centre of Lisbon. The Hotel had just received a make over so pictures not accurate but better for improvements. If you like Art - very near the Guklbenkian which has wonders to behold. Lots of nice restaurants - the Italian bistro next door is worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hardly luxurious but did exactly what I wanted in the right location. No complaints.

    Clean, quiet, good air conditioning, helpful staff, nice patio for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was quite basic, there was no warm food served, it was the same every day.

    The hotel is located in a quite street, so there is no noise at night. The staff are very hepful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Room was very small and the furniture very basic. - Bathroom was very cramped and the shower had a leaking hose. - Bathroom was flooded whenever you took a shower regardless of how careful you were, because the shower "cabin" is badly designed. - The sink was partially clogged. I told this at the reception but there was no reaction, just a promise to be fixed "tomorrow", which didn't happened. In the end I gave up and used it like that. - Clothes hanger were dirty and I had to clean them before use. - Window had no view, opening onto a shaft and lacking an insect net. - Wifi didn't work in the first two days of the stay and when it worked was very slow. - One day the lift was out of service. They fixed it quickly though. - AC was dirty and didn't really worked, I don't know why, just tested it and forgot about it. I kept the window opened instead. - Breakfast was very scarce with a very limited offer, and all the same food every day. No omelet or eggs, just some salami and cheese at the main course.

    - Maybe the price. - The Lidl shop over the road and the italian restaurant next door. - Relatively close to the metro station from where you can easily go anywhere in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Needed some croissants to make the breakfast worth buying for us. Wifi was only reliable from the lounge on the ground floor.

    Very clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inserirei una colazione un po' più varia e distributori di acqua e caffè collocati alla reception. I would suggest a more various breakfast and water/coffee distributors to be located at the reception.

    Staff super gentile. Prezzi buoni, camere confortevoli. Very polite staff and very good quality/price balance. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel staff were very helpful giving directions and providing a map. It was near a metro stop that would connect with every metro line at some point. Very nice grocery store right across the street with anything you might need available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walls of room very tin you can hear all the voices even foot-steps. Due to the restaurant below smell of cook may irritate you.

    The location is perfect by using sub-way you can go anywhere. Rooms are clean. Bathroom is also clean. Cleaning service for everyday.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking might be difficult to find, unless there is a free spot on the road side, I would enhance the ventilation at the toilet, as the air wasnt moving there at all and soon will start mould growing around.

    REcently renovated I guess as it looked better than in the pictures. Good location, not in the middle of the city center but easy access with metro which is about 5min walk away. El Corte Ingles also within 10min reach, LIDL opposite side of the street and some local store one block away, Good kebab place around the corner and also other restaurants nearby. Fixed price taxi to the airport with less than 15eur (at 6am it took about 10 minutes).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast cann't be described as a good one. Since I was there for a week I would be happy to get something different than bread with cheese aand sousage for every morning.

    The personel is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a two star hotel, clean quiet, well located close to the metro. If you don't expect too much you won't be disappointed. A good value hotel for those looking for utility over fanciness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room window opened to the interior courtyard, so that if people were sitting and chatting there, it became a bit noisy (even with the windows closed). Sometimes the wifi was not working very well.

    The room was the right size and had everything I needed. The hotel is 10 minutes walking from the airport metro line and about 12 minutes walking from the metro line going to the centre. It is also 5 minutes away from the Gulbenkian Museum and Park. The staff was very friendly and helpful, with a special mention to receptionist Claudia.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -I arrived during midnight and the receptionist asked me to prepay the hole stay before showing my room. This was not very polite. -All rooms are very noisy. I could hear the footsteps from the corridor & the room upstairs. They shouldn't use laminate floor during the renovation. -I could hear the plumbing beeing used from the room upstairs. -The breakfast could be better.

    -My room was better than in the photos. (Ask for the balcony rooms). -The girls at the reception were excellent. -WiFi was exelent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind and helpful staff. Good cleaning. Very good for a 2 star hotel. Easy transportatiob to town from Metro station Sao sebastiao!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The localization e cleaning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building site opposite which was noisy if you wanted a lie in

    Good size room very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms do not have balcony.

    Nice staff. Very good location close to metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no view to the outside simplistic wifi never worked overpriced

    cleanliness/service staff friendliness (they were great!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Showr

    Very helpfull, nice english speaking Portuguese speaking people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast. Very small room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room hardly adequate. Pillows not great.

    Good linen on a good firm bed. Plenty of hot water

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was not working properly Very poor quality breakfast (but cheap)

    Amazing location Great staff Great price for the value

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, however, after we told them this they provided a pillow topper for it and this certainly helped.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel. Very clean, Receptionist, Claudia, very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. And the homemade jams and marmelades for breakfast are delicious!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price,but it was August so understandable.

    Good location as we wanted to visit the museum.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wireless was very unstable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exellente local, centro, mas rua tranquila

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi was not working.

    Beds were comfortable, room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is close to the airport and the area is nice and calm.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location wasn't the absolute best. It was further from the more active area of Lisbon than I was expecting. The view from our balcony wasn't the best either. They served a very minimal breakfast, which was surprising.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I liked that the front door was constantly locked; added security! I also enjoyed the balcony off our room.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very uncomfortable..it was too hard.

    Staff were very friendly & helpful.The room very clean.Good bathroom.Location was very good.Lots of good restaurants around.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A standard which would be ok for half the price. Quite worn-down. The internet was barely working. The luggage room smelt heavily of mold.

    Nice, homemade bread for breakfast and reasonably friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single rooms' windows are see for a very little atrium, it was very depressing. The room was very small.

    The recepcinist was very friendly and hopefully.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    The balcony rooms are lovely

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No view from the room.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom flooded when showering suggest longer shower curtain.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water form the shower reaching the floor could not be evacuated.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price was really good value, and was met by a really helpful young lady....

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was tiny and not so comfy, but I slept ok.

    Close to metro stop, easy to find. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi could be better

    Balcony, friendly staff and located near two metro stations in a quiet neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hospitality, facilities, price

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi could be better

    Staff is friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    All staff from receptionist to those who take care of cleaning ate really concerned about their duty.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Family with older children

    Não me ajudaram a carregar as malas quando cheguei ao hotel apenas a saída.

    Recepcionistas muito atenciosas e local muito limpo.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing negative, great hotel.

    Quiet location in a typical neighbourhood setting. Close to metro and the Gulbenkian.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: