Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residencial Joao XXI

Rua Gomes Freire 179, 1º, Arroios, 1150-177 Lisbon, Portugal

#252 of 343 B&Bs and Inns in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2172 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    3.8
    Never ever, horrible accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were awful. The beds had just frames and inside were uncofortable folding beds with unstable matrasses on it. Terrible experience. No microwave, no small fridge, no hairdryer in the room, no equipment at all

    Just personal was nice nothing else

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Okay for one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room had a window to the back and it was smelling badly from it.

    The other room was good with a big window to the street. It had fresh air inside. Check-in and check-out was without any problems.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.6
    Smoke bothered us, too little quality for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke of cigarettes in the hall downstairs, one time even unto the reception at the first floor Maintainance could be a lot better with broken tiles in the bathroom, dust under the beds. The floor of the room had a step of a few centimeters, so not totally flat. A little uncomfortable like the beds. Ugly view from the window Barking dog in the early morning from neighbours Parking was not free but not far at the other side of the road a few minutes walk away. Narrow doorways

    The price is not high allthough what we got for this price is not enough for this price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning ladies would talk loudly during cleaning and their voices (and sometimes music) would carry down the halls and into my room. Not a big deal, but noteworthy. The price on the snacks in the reception are also grossly overpriced.

    Warm welcome and quick check in at the reception. It’s worth noting (as is seen in the hotel policies) that €2 per night in hotel taxes is due at check in on cash. Credit cards can be used for the remainder of the balance. Spacious, quiet room with amazing running hot water. Tv worked great and offered several channels in English, including movie channels. Air conditioner worked like a gem. Hotel is located on the blue trolley line, a bust stop is literally right out front and close to several eateries. It’s a fair distance, however, on foot to the center of town. Easy check out-save some confusion about towels and a possible charge for dirt stains they hadn’t tried to remove before wanting to collect €6 per towel (I had two for the entirety of my stay-7 nights, which some would say was pretty conservative in its own right), but otherwise a truly great experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very helpful, given direction, and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They sell cans of beer for 3.50 euro, when the cans are clearly bought from a local store for 1.00 euro. Also the staff ask for the money first before opening the fridge which has a lock on it. I believed to think the staff would think I would steal the beer, I thought this was very cold service from the night staff.

    Staff was very helpful, given direction, and helpful information about buses metros and trains,where to eat etc. All this information is priceless when you are on a small trip, saves so much time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The property was very clean and surprisingly very cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very helpful and always happy to assist at any time of the day.

    The property was very clean and surprisingly very cool. Much more comfortable to stay than the double tree Hilton.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Bus stop to the city was right in front of the accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Area is quite local so some people may not like it. If you plan to party or go out at night, maybe staying in the centre would be better.

    Bus stop to the city was right in front of the accommodation which was convenient to get into the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Good option for a budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was old, everything in it as well: the furniture, the bed, the bathroom equipment, the shower curtain, even the towels had holes in them. The area has not many restaraunts, their working hours are rather unpredictable, and the big supermarket is quite a walk away.

    The receptionist was very nice and friendly. The room itself was spacious, we even got a small balcony overlooking the street. Short walk to the metro, a longish but walkable distance to Rossio and other main attractions. The air conditioning was working well. The bus stop in front of the hotel. There is a very nice coffee shop (perfect for breakfast) right next to the entrance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Good no thrills clean place to stay for group on a budget with friendly staff in decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was just a bit crammed but we were four people and wanted four separate beds. They added a temporary bed which made moving around in the room a bit difficult and it wasn't a very comfortable bed. But the others beds were okay (not as good as in some other places we stayed in).

    The place was near the underground station Picoas (not more than 10 minutes) and was easy to find. Reception was staffed till late, perhaps even 24 hours. There was a locked luggage room. From Picoas it was a 15 - 20 minute long metro ride to Baixa-Chiado depending on how long we had to wait when we changed trains. We once walked to the Barrio Alto which was a pleasant walk and not too long and complicated. We took a taxi to the airport which was only 10 Euros (3 people with three suitcases). The ride took about 20 minutes at 2pm in the afternoon. It was a 20 minute walk to the Gulbenkian museum, which is amazing. Our room was on the 4th floor to the street. It was quiet when the windows were closed, but it is not a super busy road and if one is not too sensitive to noise, one could possibly sleep with the window open or at least the bathroom window. The bathroom was very clean (towels and pillow cases were changed after 2 days, beds made, bathroom cleaned), the shower spacious, water pressure okay. Being 4 in the room, we had to ask for toilet paper twice which was readily provided. There was a tv in the room which we didn't try out. The air conditioning worked fine, was perhaps a little noisy. There was no noise from the other floors or rooms or the corridor. There was a ramp for suitcases from street level to the lift and the lift served all floors. The was one restaurant near by recommended by the accommodation, Nossa Lisboa, which was fine. We were late and the service was slow. Joao serves no breakfast but there is a bakery nearby where one can sit and have coffee and a few simple cafés which the people living and working in the area came to and they offered fresh pastries and coffee. The reception staff at Joao was very friendly and helpful. We paid on arrival. Wifi worked fine. The neighbourhood is residential. We didn't really have time to explore it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean room with good shower and air conditioning, great value for four people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A new fridge and better kitchen area would be a big improvement.

    Good value for money, clean, within walking distance to the centre helpful receptionists.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    One night is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Number 209. there are 5 beds, it is too much for one room. There is no place to go and leave clothes. Cleaning is rare. Pillows were dirty. At the bathroom it was stinky. It was noisy inside of hotel, near this room there is a toilet to other room, it was annoying to hear how people use it and how other guests talking loudly at night.

    Staff is friendly and always ready to help They give an iron, hair dryer Hotel is closed at night and no one can come without calling, it is safe. There is air conditioning Close to the metro station (550 meters). There are cafes near the hotel to eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.0
    To old. Need renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are horrible. It is super old and after 2 days you can already feel your back. Take something for the ears. The windows you cannot close and the police station is close by. The location is also not super central. There are better locations ins Lissabon. This is a to high price for basically just a bad place to sleep.

    In general there was nothing special. I can recommend to bool something else. This is a very old location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    without breakfast, a bit noisy surroundings of the hotel

    very comfortable bed, the rooms are in the old house with azulejos in interior and nice metallic balcony railing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    excellent location, great for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most comfortable room. Quite cramped, and the bathroom wasn't very nice. No shower products either.

    excellent location, great for a short visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Basic but comfortable residencial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was annoying that I couldn’t pay with my card as the room was under 50 Euros. This should be on the website.

    Basic Residencial a little bit out of Lisbon centre. My room was very spacious if simple.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room without fresh air- window opens to the small closed area with no air exchange and air conditioning units from other rooms and air conditioner of that room out order. We found that situation after check inn i.e. beeing charged. When we wanted to resign, the staff promised us to give us money back the next day in the morning. We found the other hotel. The next day when talking to manager, he told us we should ask as an option room with a window (!) and finaly told, that will not give miney back. We informed the booking.com customer service about that situation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    bus station just outside the property, 10 min to center by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was quite small, they clean the room every 3 days, just 1 towel per person, no toiletries

    bus station just outside the property, 10 min to center by bus. polite staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    We had a place to sleep but too far from the old town, Alfama and riviera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and dark with no windows. The bathroom had a window. Staircase very narrow and steep. Tea and coffee making facilities on the ground floor in the plumbing shaft with pipes, geysers and dirt around you.

    The room had an air con, so we slept warm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Simple accommodation, but very clean and practical, and with extremely helpful staff.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They arranged transport to and from the airport and very kindly allowed my friends to use the transport, even though they were staying in a different hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.8
    the only thing good about this hotel was the friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of any amenities ie: soap, shampoo, glasses etc. Noisy pipes and neighborhood at night.

    the only thing good about this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, very helpful staff with good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space to get into the bath/shower was rather small.

    Friendly, very helpful staff with good English. Excellent value for money. Bus stop into the old centre right at the door with frequent buses. Cafe/restaurant next door. Really all you need is within 50m reach. I would. certainly book this again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no satellite TV (only Portuguese channels) .A small refrigerator and a boiler for water should exist at every room.No breakfast ability at the whole building, small rooms,but for the price of 30 euro for two persons each night,I recognize that I am satisfied.

    At first floor there was a shared refrigerator,a boiler for hot water,a microwave and a bread heater.Also a coin machine for coffee at reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, good communicative, helpful Staff, easy transport connections to center of Lisbon,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel almost fully booked, room cleaning became poor, and only became 3 days cleaning circles. Old building difficult to maintain cleaness but all works, room slightly cold during winter season

    Area,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.0
    No heating system for winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No heating system for winter...and old blankets were there with bed bugs..... I was using some spray to prevent .....staff is so friendly and helpful....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    good value, about 10 mins walk to metro, just need the drains to be sorted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the drains in the ensuite needs to be flushed out and cleaned , so a constant smell/ odour that pervaded the room

    very good value , clean and comfortable, en suite ,tv and wi-fi . lovely staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms were below standard and cleanliness.

    Good location. Basic hotel. Room standards and condition vary. Easy to access public transport. Plenty of nice cafes nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice place for a short stay, if you like the Mediterranean level of cleanliness :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of room cleanliness, no promised cosmetics.

    Rooms were nice, with comfy beds and at a reasonable price. Bathroom had a bathtub and a bidet. Helpful staff, possibility to get hot water/ coffee/ sodas (vending machines, kettle) and the possibility to book an airport transfer were additional advantages of this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Good location, only PAID public parking available! Cash payments only if less than 50 EUR-not nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to stay half an hour dealing with the staff about cash payment! I was not aware the policy of cash payment only! this supposed to be clear on my mobile app booking confirmation - nothing was there. This is not the staff mistake as they are instructed by Manager to collect cash only if the payment is below 50 EUR - my was 26 Euros... I had to explain that I am regular booking user and was never asked for cash payments as I have already provided my credit card details as this is my preference. At the end I was able to pay with my credit card, although it require call to the Manager and over half an hour waiting. The tax had to be paid in cash anyway... I had no Euros with me and had to go away to find the ATM. Please investigate to avoid such frustration in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Three very good nights on Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As for budget trip this place is fantastic. King sized bed, very comfy,big clean bathroom, friendly and helpful staff. Located near metro/bus stations, or 20min walk to centrum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect budget city-break location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating only comes from the AC. This can be a bit problematic in the winter period.

    This hotel is perfect for a budget city break is Lisbon. The location is clean, the staff is very friendly and the placement gives it a very good access to public transport. Also, right near the hotel there is a supermarket and a cofee shop where you can have a quick and quite good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially difficult to locate having exited the metro from the least convenient exit. Once I got my bearings, property was easy to locate.

    Staff were great. Location not bad. Bus stop right outside to get into town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    quiet and cheap
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the room - some dirt in bathroom and smelly bedclothes - we changed it without a problem in reception. Rather big beds, so there were very little spare place. Beds very soft (what I don't like).

    Price was big advantage of this place. Air conditioned (it isn't standard in Lisbon unfortunately), so cold nights weren't problem. Good location - few hundred meters from metro lines, next to bus stop, about 30 minutes walk to the center. Neighborhood rather quiet and safe. Many caffees and restaurants nearby. Staff was nice and helpfull. Wifi worked very well. For this price I can't be demanding and rigorous. I am satisfied, I got what I expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.3
    This is more of a hostel. Ok for a couple of nights max, wouldn't recomend a long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in my single room. Or rather, a window opening into a stuffy interior fire escape zone. So no fresh air at all. Very noisy corridors. Could hear people going in and out of their rooms till really late. Not enough plugs, and electrical wiring looked a bit dodgy.

    Lovely tiles in corridors. Staff really friendly and helpful. Air conditioning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    The staff was nice and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window from bathroom had a problem. It can not be closed so well.

    The staff was nice and the room was clean. Also, the bed was extremely confortable. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    It was exactly as shown on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can't pay by card, cash only. You sleep under blankets which is not unusual but not the most comfortable. TV was small and old.

    It was exactly as shown on booking. Room looked really nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Perfect only for the noisy water tank
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room 101 in which I stayed had a window that opened to an inner courtyard. Here a massive water tank 6 feet from the window started up every 15 minutes and was noisy all night. I would like to book San Joao again through booking. Com but I won't because I can't make sure I can avoid this room 101 when booking!

    nice staff, cosy room, good value. But....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    BIG bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small room, small tv, small wardrobe, small table. Street under window a bit noisy... but its Lizbon

    BIG bad. Bathroom/toilet ok. Street under window a bit noisy... but its Lizbon. Generaly - realy nice low-costs place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice and helpful staff, close to subway and main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was ok if you are searching for a place rather to stay with a group of friends-the standard is ok in comparison with a price

    Nice and helpful staff, close to subway and main attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.8
    The room was clean and you cou;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The experience with the staff was not pleasent at all. But when we left, the staff changed and it was ok. I think you can find better properties for this money. You have to walk a while to take the metro. We wont come back.

    The room was clean and you cou;d use the elevator to get to the upper rooms. But beside this, i cant find more positive things to say.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not convenient to go to the airport with big size luggage. You need to drag it on the old rock surface pathway to metro station, and the nearest station has no lift/elevator.

    Bus stop is in front of the hotel. Easy to go travel around by bus. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.0
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, very old fashioned, smelly. We were only staying 3 nights so had very little luggage, had we had a large suitcase we would have struggled to find somewhere to keep it.

    Staff helpful and spoke good english. Good lift. Bus to downtown stops outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Ideal location, friendly personnel, traditional tiles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 2 (old) large towels and no face-towels in the bathroom, broken shower-head, shower curtain instead of a plastic screen.

    Ideal location, friendly personnel, traditional tiles decoration in the rooms, large private bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    I enjoyed a very good value for money stay in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Daily towel change. Hairdryer in room.We had to borrow one from reception but we didn't really mind as the hotel was very good value for money. Bus stop right outside the door too with regular buses to the city centre which are quite cheap.

    Basic accommodation. Comfortable bed. Nice quiet area. Easy to get to. The staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are very basic but good value for the money. T.V. air conditioning and en suite bathroom make it great value for a short stay trip to Lisbon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Higher price due to location, average accomodation with wifi, problematic parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst experience is driving car in the city center and the same problem was parking issue close to the penzion. There are zones everywhere so it is necessary to park car in 24hours parking place which is ca. 300 - 400m from penzion :( Equipment of the room was average, bathroom needs a bit of renovation ;) Price was higher and moreover without breakfast.

    Penzion is easy to find, has really big sign :) It is located relatively in city center and near to accommodation is a lot of restaurants or places where you can eat / buy food. Lady at reception speaks English, gave us a map of neighbourhood and gave us advice where to park our car. Wifi is available. Breakfast is not available but next to the penzion is very nice bakery :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Value for money. Especially for short stays and business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave the room key in the reception when going anywhere. This wasn't that great of an issue for me, since I was carrying my stuff around, but I wouldn't feel safe leaving a large bag in the room without having the key.

    It's simply a great quality/price ratio. Despite the ratings I've given, it's very hard to find anything remotely decent for the same price in Lisbon - the cheapest hotels would go for double the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    For a group of travelers this place has a great price value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really to mention. The place was even better than expected.

    For a group of travelers this place has a great price value ratio. The place was clean, beds were comfortable, toilet was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. The cafe shop downstairs was great for having breakfast and fresh juice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff's attitude during check-in. We had to wait literally till 14:30 to start our check-in process(scanning passports, paying, taking keys...) There was a family group there before us, so it took some 45min altogether...

    Decent location. Nice bakery-restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was small, only big enough for two suitcases and a person at a time. The entrance ramp is very steep, not suitable enough for big suitcases.

    Very friendly staff; very clean; very comfortable beds in spacious rooms; very cheap; walking distance to metro stations in the heart of the city centre; nice neighbourhood, felt very safe; air conditioning; 24 hour reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing,Exciting,rewarding & satisfied we really enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its location

    At a great priceThis property was well located fabulous restaurants nearby with public transport on door step to central nightlife my family and i will use hotel again we loved it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty sheets and towels. We asked to change them, which was done without problem, but the new ones also had stains on it. Really not nice to sleep or bathe in stained fabrics, you need to change them.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay in Lisbon for few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you aren't lucky, parking might be a problem, or be prepared to pay extra € for parking facilities nearby.

    friendly staff, location in the 15 minute walking distance from 3 different metro stations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Location is great, not more than 10 min walk metrostation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had 1 grote handdoek,een kleine handdoek erbij was fijn geweest. Bij bidet ontbrak ook klein handdoekje en had geen beker bij wastafel.

    Location is great, not more than 10 min walk metrostation and with three stops in middle of old center. Parking possible in street in front of hotel not expensive,but absolutely fabulous is outside parking not more than 5 minutes walk 24 uur for 5,40!!!! And that in center of lissabon while travelguide recommended not to go by car into lissabon. Very very friendly staff. 24 uurs reception. After first night in 1 personsroom which was simple but fine, they gave me a two persons bedroom to be more confortable because I decided to stay extra night. Second night hotel was fully booked so do make reservation and for more nights, price is the same. Technical service came immediatly when I thought airconditioning didn't work. He tested it it worked fine. Very pleasant stay, recommend it!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Third time I've stayed, very friendly welcome as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For washing only a bar of soap (that had been used before, it had somebody's hair on it...) was provided in the shower, and one of those squirty hand wash things at the sink. Take your own soap/shampoo and you'll have no complaints as long as all that you are looking for is a place to get a good night's sleep.

    Third time I've stayed, very friendly welcome as always. A reliable place with 24 hour reception and as per previous visits there was no noise from other rooms, just a small amount from the corridor. Ten to 15 minute walk from two different Metro lines and it's not too far to walk to 'world famous' tram 28 route either.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    The room was clean and nice, not big, but fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No toiletries.

    The room was clean and nice, not big, but fair. Even though they provide only 2 towels per room, they gave us extra when asked. The room was pretty and cheerful in a way, in accordance with the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Cheap hostel with friendly staff - good for one /two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally in need of some care and modernisation. Bathroom door handle hanging off, light switch electrics to bathroom dodgy, laminate floor not in good repair, tiny rooms with little floor space

    Cheap and convenient for one night. Staff excellent at responding to emails, and very helpful in general. Used airport shuttle after stay - on time, easy to book and reasonably priced. Great openable French door windows overlooking pretty road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Summer in Lisbon
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room was very small and had no fridge.

    The room had air conditioning and bathroom (which is not so common in Lisbon, especially for that price). Hostel is located relatively close to the city center, the bus station is just outside the door and you can reach metro station within few minutes. The staff was very helpful and they work 24/7.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    On the second day of my stay i opened the door of my room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second day of my stay i opened the door of my room and found two men painting the wall, it was unpleasant surprise while front desk manager said it is a normal situation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Lisbon is a very interesting old city with lovely parks, monuments and people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had rented a car from the airport and had a hard time finding the hotel due to a poor street map, hard to read street signs on the corners of buildings and so many one way streets. I don't think a GPS would have been much help either.

    The tram stop is only about 5 blocks from the hotel. The taxi drive from the hotel to the cruise terminal was very reasonable in price and time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Good value, solid base for exploring Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing to not like!

    This is a functional, comfy-enough, clean place. The rooms are pretty no-frills, but there's nothing missing at all - definitely a good place to stay as a base for exploring Lisbon. The staff were really friendly and helped out with any request, and the reception has a sort of mini shop where you can buy water, coffee, snacks which we thought was quite handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying a euro for black and white copy is a bit pricey Like 50cents is pricey but livable with What I found weird was to give in the key every time I left the hotel and picked it up later

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Good quality for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Two Extra Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, public paid parking just 5 min away, clean room, not very big, but good enough for a family. Friendly staff, ready to help. Bus stop right in front of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Bed was comfortable and staff was friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound was a major issue. Bus stop was right outside window and could hear traffic all night. Rooms are clean but need an upgrade.

    Bed was comfortable and staff was friendly!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Good value-for-money accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room had no windows, though this might not be a real disadvantage, with attention the traffic noise. The bathroom ventilation is not solved. The air conditioner was not cleaned, I got sick.

    The staff is normal, especially Daria, who was always very nice. Anjos metro stop is a short walk away, but the road is steep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.0
    All a bit shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a shabby street-front to greet you. You enter hoping that it will get better upstairs. Nobody there seems to be Portuguese and I wonder why when so many Portuguese people are seeking work. Holes in the floor of our room - all a bit shabby in reality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location, good for short term stay, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said there is kitchen, but sorry no kitchen there, only fridge and microwave, even not knife or cup to use

    Good location, good for short term stay, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.7
    It meets your expectations, but to not walk a lot, you have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel staff can help guests to tell basic information about Lisbon. Especially reaching city center. I found my way just bc I made little research before. It will be much more better if hotel members take responsibility of that.

    It meets your expectations, but to not walk a lot, you have to little learn about bus transportation in Lisbon. Two metro stations are in 15-20 minutes walking distance. Considering Lisbon is not a flat city, it may be a problem for you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.8
    Small but adequate clean room, within walking distance to attractions but super uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in.

    When I pulled up it looked a bit dodgy, its much nicer inside. It's pretty dark outside the building at night but I felt safe walking in the area. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    not very approachable
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No basic facilities like toiletries soap and shampoo, waste bin and intercom are not provided. Taps when opened, the shower as well as the tap were running, the bath tube was not draining properly and petty things like print charges were charge at very high rate . The room floor and window seal was dusty on arrival and are not cleaned on day to day basis, breakfast facilities not available.

    Nothing, as I am a regular traveller and holiday maker

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    Near the metro, spacious room, low traffic street, clean as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture could really use an upgrade as it's old. We got placed in a handicapped room, which kinda felt weird. Spent just one short night, but not sure we'd do it again.

    Near the metro, spacious room, low traffic street, clean as well. Wi-Fi worked OK, staff kind and willing to help.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.3
    To stay with your friends, not family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was extremely small, just to sleep there. Bathroom was clean but there was mould on the walls.

    It is close to some bus stations and not too far from the tube. Rooms have air conditioning and TV.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    Was a little difficult to find the hotel but once we got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as we were only there for about 12 hours.

    Was a little difficult to find the hotel but once we got there it was only for a night & we were off early in the morning so was adequate for our needs. Can't say what was around the hotel in the way of shops of restaurants as we arrived late & left in the morning. The beds were comfy & a good size room & bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to stay for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit noisy. Some machine was making noise all night long. The covers on the beds are not the most hygenic ones.

    Beds are very comfortable, the staff is very helpful. There is vending machine in the hotel. The hotel has an elevator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.2
    2nd visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV did not work on Sunday, but a technician set another on Monday.

    Bus stop is on the hotel, within 5 steps. Bathtub is equipped. Girls at the reception are always charming and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    This is a really inexpensive hotel offering much in return...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit away from the city centre and metro stations but affordable.

    This is a really inexpensive hotel offering much in return for what you pay. I exactly recommend for budget travellers. AC, private bathroom and reception are really exciting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.5
    We had a good stay and would come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed sheets are washed with a lot of chlorine, really strong smell, not very nice.

    Rooms are comfy, fast wi-fi and helpful staff. You can borrow hairdryer from the reception. There is a vending machine with snacks and drinks in the reception hall.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Residencial Joao XXI traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: