Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monte Verde

Azinhaga da Casa Branca 6A, S. Martinho, Sao Martinho, 9000-110 Funchal, Portugal

#28 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Good vlaue hotel in a friendly atmosphere and a nice garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit far from the city center

    Nice backpacker hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. beautiful garden and building. Excellent value for the money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointed, was looking forward to a relaxing break but there are no grounds to sit in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No toiletries or tea/coffee facilities. Old TV set, no English channels . Pool had been drained and it was doubtful that it would be used this year. Bedroom furniture was chipped and there weren't enough hangers. No usable sockets, one behind tv and the other behind bedside cupboard. Only one in bathroom apart from shaving socket. Patched bath. Unironed linen. No air conditioning. NO gardens. Bin lorry came around 11pm! Very steep hill

    There was a good library. a computer and free wifi. Breakfast was fresh, linen was clean. The three members of staff were friendly. Balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    Rooms and hallways smelled molded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hallways smelled molded. At night when balcony doors where closed the air was super humid. anz in breakfast table and in food. Breakfast not good, we fed up in it. They did clean the rooms everyday tho, kinda. But the quality price ratio was overall ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice, basic, clean & friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated ... could improve with just some simple inexpensive changes. The double bed was very creaky. You couldn’t sit on it or roll over without it making a noise. Everytime one of us moved, we woke the other ! No kettle or tea / coffee facilities in the bedrooms. The swimming pool was empty. Not fenced off either. Otherwise it was a very pleasant stay.

    Clean Friendly Helpful Basic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Easy to get there Get there very late because of delays on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not allowed to have a bath , just quick showers Very small towels and some days one towel for the 2 of us Had to keep asking for Found dangerous the swimming pool empty but with out any sign or gate to prevent any fails Carpet on the bedroom too old and too stained The room had very poor lights had to go around to do my make up I love the environment but not at that point

    Easy to get there Get there very late because of delays on the flight and someone came to great us Thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a colony of little ants in the bathroom :)

    Very good buffet breakfast, spacious room with terrace, modern furniture, comfortable beds, fair wifi internet connection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.0
    I wouln’t say it was worth the money. I wouldn’t recommend the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were insects in my bathroom :-( Coffee on the breakfast was awful. In general, breakfast was of low quality. Really bad smell on the corridor, probably poison for insects.

    Nice view from the balcony on the ocean. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable, I would go back as it is exceptional value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would be nice if they provided a kettle and coffee/tea in the rooms. Breakfast was the same everyday but adequate. Pillows were horrible but bedding was clean and adequate. They could make the pool area a bit more attractive.

    Staff were friendly, very clean accommodation, good value for money, safe. Close to the main restaurants and facilities. Easy to get about.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    When we finally got the room we actually booked everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we arrived we recieved keys to a room that wasn't clean. After complainig we were moved to another room, which didn't have a balcony. Our booking stated clearly that we would have a balcony, so we complained again. After 1 night we were able to move to another room, which was much nicer and renovated. Not all rooms are at the same state, i think your exprience in this place can differ greatly. While we were there, the pool was out of order almost all the time.

    When we finally got the room we actually booked everything was fine. We had a nice balcony with a good viea and a room with a rennovated bathroom. The garden around the hotel is pretty. Breakfast was good enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant but basic. Needs investment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seems to be some sanitary problem - persistent smell. Breakfast is on the expensive side. Needs seperate parking facilities.

    We liked the swimming pool. Nice place to relax after a day of hiking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Beware the car hire hard sell on arrival !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at night feeling tired we were given the hard sell to hire a car for a week . You definitely do not need a car on this island for a week with the range of trips and buses and the roads are very difficult in many places. When we booked there were pictures of a pool . This was closed with a sign saying this was for maintenance . There was definitely no maintenance or repair going on and this was not mentioned on arrival . IS THIS TO SAVE MONEY?

    This is good value if on a budget and the breakfast is quite good for a continental . Some of the staff are pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Monte Verde: spacious kingly room with a romantic sea view via the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfier bed

    Luis went beyond the call of duty to make our stay pleasant. Thanks to owner for bottle of wine to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and staff also very helpful and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Neighborhood dogs barking in the morning and some times in the evening. Could be improved with tea making facilities and a basket for waste.

    Room was clean and tidy and bathroom also very good. TV channels plenty and enough in english.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant stay in a budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is advertised with a swimming pool it is there but not in use and the staff direct you to the Lido (I feel they should not advertise a pool at all).The breakfast is continental and we prefer some cooked breakfast so we only had one serving which was ok but we decided to eat breakfast out each day.

    This small hotel with 20 rooms is very basic but that is reflected in the price of the room, We found the rooms very clean. The beds were moderately comfortable although the pillows could be improved upon. Daily housekeepers attended. The hotel (guest house) is nicely situated and getting about either by foot, taxi or local bus is really easy. There are lots of nice restaurants very close by. A kettle in the room would improve things as we often found no one at the reception if we just wanted a drink hot or cold. Louis and Peter were very friendly. I do think it might have helped us if we had been given information on the local bus service especially the fact you can purchase ten trips to travel around. We often walked into Funchal and then used the bus to come back. Peter said he was going to make some improvements in the future which should help. We enjoyed our stay but if we went back to Madeira we would go to a hotel with a pool. They also had free wifi which was a plus but was slow at times. Television provided a variety of stations. Hotel is situated in a nice area. Value Sleep Quality Service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value, 5 star service, loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management have lots of plans for improvement, including updating the pool area and outside space, this would enhance the amenities. A little cool in bedrooms in evenings, but nothing an extra blanket couldn't solve.

    All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and could not have done more to make our stay any more comfortable. The hotel is excellent value for money and ideally located for local amenities. We will definitely return and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, comfortable property with good location and sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    Friendly Staff and a very clean, well-kept property. It is in close proximity to cafes, restaurants, shops, public transport and taxis. Room allocated was quite large, had en suite facility, flat-screen TV and balcony with a sea view. I couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was extremely hard. Everything feels run down, specially the pool area, looks like nobody hasn't used it in years. Breakfast was very basic, not much more than coffee,bread,cheese and ham... but something is better than nothing. Garden area looks much better in pictures than in reality.

    Spacious room. Bathroom was also big and had a really good shower. Public PC.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    4.6
    good potential wasted by negligence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. we booked a double room with a double bed but we received twin beds covered together with the same cover sheet. 2. the beds were too short for somebody taller than 1.70 m. 3. in the first evening a lot of ants came in the room. The man at the reception blame us that we are guilty for them because we let some medicinal drops on the table. Even in the next days we saw few ants in the room 4. towels was changed daily on our request but every single time we received old damaged towel, most of them holey or taken from other hotels (branded with other name) 5. in the room description they wrote "heating" but there was no heater in the room, only extra covers. 6. Bath tube was so damaged that makes you sick to step inside for a shower

    good potential, but wasted by staff neglicence

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Quaint little hotel in picturesque surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed was a bit hard Pool could have done with a spruce up, the sun loungers were very tatty could only get Wifi in communal sitting areas

    The location is excellent for nearby bars and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful Shower was really hot and powerful The whole hotel is quiet and set in pretty suroundings

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.0
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed too hard. Toilet seat broken. No plugs for bath/basin. Decor in need of updating.

    Good view. Breakfast okay. Parking availability variable. Relatively cheap.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    4.2
    Wouldn't stay there again. Cheap but not very cheerful. 😖
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep road, parking appalling -certainly couldn't/didn't want to park our nice hire car there. Bed was like concrete, pillow awful. No plug in bath, condition of bathroom and general fixtures/fittings poor. Get the impression the place is run on a shoestring and they don't act in a very professional manner-weren't particularly friendly or welcoming. Generally very run down -the swimming pool and area looked appalling. I paid in cash and they had no change so ended up paying more. No help with luggage -no lift. Breakfast -poor. Certainly wouldn't use again

    It was cheap. You got what you paid for Allowed us to leave our luggage there for the day as we had an evening flight ( although it was unsecured) Wifi in public rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    3.8
    Kept awake all night by barking dogs bad smell in bathroom and more often than not breakfast was lat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was never on time some mornings 08:50. Barking dogs all through the night.really smelly bathroom.disgusting condition of sun beds I have seen better ones at the council dump. Avoid this place at all costs

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    5.0
    Nice place. Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning around 7:00 is heard the barking of dogs. Facility must be carried out redecoration / cosmetic repair

    Nice swimming pool. Bus station very close. Very cheep. Price of the quality is right.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Off the beaten track!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Location ideal once you've located the property from the number 14 Aerobus stop. Apart from yapping dogs from neighbouring property, which is not the hotels fault, lovely quiet location. Close to all amenities and transport routes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Can't imagine there are many budget options as good in hotel section of Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast not expansive but not bad.

    Very good value for money option in Funchal, in the hotel zone. Very pleasant room with balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Location was great, a free parking is available for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanless of the room:draps déchirés, pommeau de douche rouillé..

    Location was great, a free parking is available for customers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    We are very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could benefit from some renewals and reconstruction works

    Place is clean and quiet, staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike here

    For the price this is terrific value in a great location. You won't get better for the money in Funchal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money, very clean and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room door rattled when it was breezy

    The staff were lovely and the room was very clean and great size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Decent basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows and more of them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Good cleaning service, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities and coffee for breakfast

    Good cleaning service, nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Exellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff,very helpful.I was made to feel welcome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    The very helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning and non confortable beds

    The very helpfull staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold in the rooms. The pool didn’t work.

    Good price. Lovely area. Nice garden.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    Awful English, not very tasty breakfast, cold in the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awful English, not very tasty breakfast, cold in the room during the night, no toiletries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Walking distance of several restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road is blocked at one end so difficult to find using a satnav

    Walking distance of several restaurants. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot.

    Nice view from the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    View was nice, large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was dirty

    View was nice, large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Our favourite hostel in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We really liked the house, very modern and well equiped ;) the view is just simply amazing towards the ocean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    >Sat nav lead us to a pedestrian only part of the street hotel was on

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Pretty and clean room, nice view, big balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bed :)

    Pretty and clean room, nice view, big balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Louis was fantastic, always willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea and coffee making facility in the room

    Comfy bed, good shower and great view from balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    the staff was awesome and the rooms are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had ants in the room

    the staff was awesome and the rooms are nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, beautiful view, lovely staff, great value for money, free parking on site

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    South facing balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good selection of fruit juices or cereals at brekkie times. Barking dogs from adjoining houses!!

    South facing balcony.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice and quiet spot. Plenty of lounge areas to enjoy.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice views of the garden and ocean from the landing. Nice quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaking bed

    Budget hotel, Good location, very pleasant staff, clean & polished. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    Everything was great except the welcoming of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist hospitality

    Everything was great except the welcoming of the receptionist to us.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.7
    Location, good coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfest.

    Location, good coffee

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    Good place to visit Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No room service and no new towels on Christmas day without prior notice; sometimes parking situation quite difficult

    Nice view, good location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful staff, really welcoming and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wonderful staff, really welcoming and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    Very poor breakfast choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Very poor breakfast choice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel very quiet with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and went the extra mile. Lovely hotel with a good breakfast. Very cheap as well

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    quiet room the staff friendly and helpful 10 minutes walk from the sea 5 minutes walk Restaurants nice view of the sea

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    The garden;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn't clean

    The garden;) and big rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.1
    good value for the money
    • Couple

    breakfast is decent for the money. but I won't recommend it for everyday breakfast.

    good value for the money location is quite close to Funchal city center.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    6.3
    Staff were friendly and helped us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was very hard. No Kettle or bar available, though they gave us hot water in a teapot when asked. Carpet was dirty. Shower unit was just about holding together. If we had hired a car, it looked as though it would have been difficult to find a parking place.

    Staff were friendly and helped us. The room was a good size. Public rooms had wifi and were nicely furnished. Breakfast was good value. Nice garden and good location.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    6.3
    At first was not given room requested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At first was not given room requested. .still never got a sea view. toilet was not working properly, no plugs for bath or sink. Only two pillows one was like a brick, very uncomfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    9.2
    It was a quiet location but there were many reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife found the bed the bed too hard, but it was to my liking.

    It was a quiet location but there were many reasonably priced restaurants nearby, plus supermarkets. It was also well located for local bus stops.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.9
    I liked the quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the quiet location. It's a 5 minute climb uphill from the main street, which is good exercise! Then from the main street it's about a 20 minute pleasant walk to the old town.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi fi did not extend to my room but it was okay going to the computer room which we had open access to.

    Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.5
    Good price vs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet not working in the rooms (have to sit in the lobbies); breakfast the same everyday; no cutlery, glasses, corkscrews etc. in the rooms

    Good price vs. quality (with breakfasts and sea view included); kind staff; good location

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    6.3
    Quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No breakfast before 8.30, and often the lady who made it was late. And bad tempered if you complained. Missed an electric cooker and a fridge.

    Quiet place. Big room, even for 3 persons. Good balcony with a glimpse of the see. Close to restaurants and shops.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was just right and the little pool was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower head was too small and the bed was very hard,the staff had no uniform so was difficult to tell from guests... Wifi could be put in each room and a designated smoking area needed.

    Breakfast was just right and the little pool was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    8.3
    I liked the beauty of the yard because of the flowers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The last two days wifi internet was not working.

    I liked the beauty of the yard because of the flowers and plants, silence of the hotel. The breakfast tables were very nice prepared. It was really cozy out there.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    5.8
    Clean pension in fairly quiet position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Steep walk up from main road along the coast. Bathroom in my room lacked maintenance; no bath plug and shower head hung down so difficult to have a shower.

    Clean pension in fairly quiet position. Reasonable value for money. Staff, when present, very obliging and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.0
    - valuation of previous guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - location

    - valuation of previous guests

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    8.8
    More varieties for breakfast, e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More varieties for breakfast, e.g. eggs ...

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    5.0
    The receptionist was unhelpful in the rare moments he was at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The receptionist was unhelpful in the rare moments he was at the desk. Would have preferred breakfast to start half an earlier at 8am.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    7.5
    Great view from our balcony of the sea and banana plants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was pretty poor.

    Great view from our balcony of the sea and banana plants. Location really good and great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The parking facilities. Not enough space on the street.

    Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints as such. But pool could have been cleaned.

    Great value for money. Very clean and helpful friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    Excellent value, perfect for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mothing

    Excellent value, perfect for an overnight stay

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    The staff was super nice, helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was super nice, helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    very friendly staff, good location, nice size room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Missing Wi-Fi in the rooms

    very friendly staff, good location, nice size room

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: