Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SANA Rex Hotel 3 stars

Rua Castilho, 169, Avenidas Novas, 1070-051 Lisbon, Portugal

#253 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1501 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found food remains, possibly from a previous guest in a container under the bed. There was a 2 inch hole in the bed sheets. The night staff member was rude and unprofessional, making derogatory comments and assumptions about guests personal matters. Large preauthorisation payment was taken from my account prior to my stay in addition to the full price of the hotel taken the day I checked in, then had to wait 5 days to receive pre authorisation payment back in my account

    The location was good, with a nice view of the local park. Majority of staff were friendly and helpful. Easy to book and check in was quick and simple

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 600m from the metro station, BUT it is on a hill and with the luggages it was very hard. We stayed 2 nights. First night everything was ok and the breakfast very good. On the second morning it seemed that we were in a different movie. The entire hotel (11 levels) didn't have wather and the food was sour. We washed with the complimentary water. The problem was of the hotel and not of the municipality. We payed 85 euros per night for a single room. This is not value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable stay. Good location, staff friendly, room very clean, great view from balcony. I would stay again if ever in Lisbon, and would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was right next to the door and it was very uncomfortable to enter. My room was next to the elevator and it was noisy. Also, there is only one elevator which does not cover the hotel needs. Had to always wait for it.

    The location of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small elevator, tight hallways and steps required for the meal place make it impossible for wheelchair accessibility - not that it was my case, just something I noticed! Soundproofing between rooms should be improved - bathroom flushes, water running and doors closing were loud and disturbing.

    Large room, very comfortable bed and pristine cleaning. Older style decor, the same from the photos, so it was expected. Very clean bathroom, with a bath and bide. Large towels available. Mini-bar in the room, new A/C unit, cable TV available and great wi-fi connection. Great breakfast selection!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little bit old, the room where I stay was really small, I and my wife had some difficulty walking around the room. Alson you can the furniture in the room is a little bit old. It's crazy how in my room I could just find one power supply and it was near the desk.

    They had the best internet ever, I was download videos at 10mbs/s. Also, the location is very good. Good staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Elevator very small. Room small and smelled badly of damp, cause found above window, massive damp on the wall all over.

    Staff is friendly and helpful if not very forward-coming. Breakfast was good, even if you had to play detective to find all the options, took me three days... Nearest metro station only "5 minutes" walk away, but didn't see anyone walk the uphill back that fast, it's hard-going...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t drain and a piece inside was broken Room a little small Hotel was far from everything Internet had bad signal at the rooms

    Breakfasts were very good Lobby was nice The bed was very good Working people were nice too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered 3 single rooms all off them smell bad we can’t stayed in the room The change as only 2 rooms We can’t cancel & it wase very late so we can’t do nothing In the morning we fill sick from the smell

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms at the front side suffers from noise coming from the street meanly from people/staff chatting at 4 am. When other guests enter or leave their rooms the doors can be quite loud when they close. It’s a small thing but it would be handy if extra hangers (behind the doors) can be made available inside the room where you can hang e.g., a jacket.

    Excellent breakfast! Beds are comfortable! Friendly staffs! Reasonable prices!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the room I was given . The arrangement Of the room was very strange also the bed obstructed the door which is fire exist . The room looked over roof and services ducts.

    I stay in this hotel few times and the location and the Atmosphere of hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the room I was given . Not suitable to be Room in hotel. Strange room arrangement due to size and shape of the room

    I stayed in hotel few timo and always like the room and the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not sound proof and I couldn’t sleep the first night because of the noises made by a group of students staying at the hotel; starting at 1:30 a.m. and lasting for more than half an hour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall it was very good but a couple of minor quibbles; the stopper in the bidet did not seem to work properly so the water drained away quickly. The buffet breakfast could've been even better if toast was added!

    Really good location near metro stop, near a beautiful park and only a 15 minute walk to the city centre (a very picturesque walk down the Avenida de Liberdade). I thought the soap and shower gel dispensers were an excellent environmentally friendly touch. The bed was very comfortable and you can control the room temperature with a remote control. I was able to leave my luggage at the hotel before I checked in, as it was early morning and I was leaving Lisbon on a day trip and didn't want to take my luggage with me - the reception staff were very accommodating to this request

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There weren't free water in the room. Rooms are not big but. The sound isolation is not best side of this hotel.

    Staff is very polite and helpful. Room was always clean and have safe, clima apparat, even telephon in a bathroom. Breakfast was really good. The hotel is close to center of Lisbon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were lumpy. The lift was small. The walk up to the hotel from the metro was tiring because it was steep and we had not been advised of that!We

    Breakfast was very good- choice and presentation of food excellent apart from croissants which were dry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception service - had to wait a long time sometimes and other times no-one available. Taxi service booked to airport more expensive than expected but very good - book your own if you want to save money.

    Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast included. Location good for conference at University and public transport to tourist centre of Lisbon very quick and efficient, but would prefer to stay closer to the historical centre as a tourist.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room had a pillar in the middle which obstructed part of the natural daylight and was a bit tight around the bed to pull the travel bag around so we left it by the entrance door - for one night stay it was perfectly adequate and this has not spoiled our stay; - The lift is tiny but we were not in a hurry so we were happy to wait to use it.

    - Cleanliness of the rooms - immaculate and fresh; - The soap dispensers in the bathroom - a great greener option; - The breakfast was delicious and varied in a very cosy restaurant with rustic décor; - The location - with Parque Eduardo VII at your doorstep and within walking distance to endless attractions and great places; - The staff: José at check-in and another gentleman at check-out I didn't get the name - they were very attentive, helpful and with made us feel welcome in a way that felt very authentic. Having stayed in numerous hotels in Lisbon, this one really impressed us - it might be a 3* hotel but its service is 5* - personalised and warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room is very dated. Some of the Internal decor need up dated as soon as possible In order to compete with new look budget hotel. Around centre of city.

    Nice friendly period hotel with very experience and Friendly staff invert good location iin Lisbon

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in an area far from restaurants and shops. WiFi is intermittent. Bed was hard. Water boarding without the water. Toilet in bathroom cramped. No kettle. Public transport some distance away 900 metres according to Google maps.

    Staff were pleasant. Room was large. Quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was rather cold inside the hotel. While this may not be a problem in summer, during winter, it can be uncomfortable

    The hotel is fine. Location is good, although quite a steep walk from the metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was ok. There is a room for improvement

    The staff were extremely helpful. When booking, we informed them whether we can check in early due to our travels. We arrived early in the morning and they allowed us to check in. Truly helpful staff and I am glad we stayed there :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasent hotel! Good location, good breakfast, very nice staff. You can walk to the downtown, it took less than 20 min. Metro station is 5 min walk from the hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong tip when making the check-in (the restaurant Valenciana was in fact closed not open.. and when you walk in heavy rain its not funny).. On the very early check-out I asked: "is it possible to have a coffee before the taxi arrive to take me to the airport?" Answer: "if the machine is off no!!??" And that was it.. no movement even to try to see if the machine was on!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Breakfast room and breakfast itself was excellent. Staff - very friendly. Very good location, view over the park was wonderful (there was Christmas Market in the park).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First room allocated wasn't great, but the hotel moved us to a much better room facing the park. Breakfast choice not so good at weekends. Orange juice was really only orange drink.

    Friendly hotel in a pleasant area of Lisbon. Rooms facing the park are good, other rooms not so good. Varied buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is so poor, you have a very small buffet with no choice and it is the same every day and it is payed extra for that! Pillows are very soft and not comfortable. The room is very small and also the toilet, enough for travellers who don't spend time there but just use it to sleep. Also who has a problem with traffic noise would not find it a nice place for sleep because the position of the hotel is above the main street and you hear cars all the night.

    We liked the comfortable beds and the cleaneliness of the room. Also it is very near the metro station and the Avenida street from which you can easily reach the city center. Stuff is quite ok and helpfull but they speak very poor english but as we realized no one in Portugal speaks it. The location is the biggest plus of the hotel. Take a room with a balcony we highly recommend the view. The bar is also nice, a bit high prices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains at all

    We were treated with kindness the staff is extraordinary Mr. Carlos at front desk very nice man, mr. João Grande who took care of our luggage a gentleman. We certainly will be back, god willing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant Coffee was not good Adjacent rooms were loud

    Comfortable bed and very clean rooms Friendly staff Nice view from balcony Wifi working at all times Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We requested a room overlooking the park and never received it. One day the room was not cleaned until we arrive - late in the afternoon and we had to request it be cleaned.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Park View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the wc

    The bad was very good. After having 12-14000 steps during the day I was very tired but in the morning I woke up with full of energy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Both good and bad - The hotel is a ten minute uphill walk from the Marquis de Pombal metro station.

    The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, as was the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Park View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds were a bit hard and no coffee making machine in the room

    the breakfast was very good all the staff were friendly,it's about a 20 min walk into centre but metro is excellent very safe and clean.if you have children there is a lovely park in front of the hotel with 2snack bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception could do with some manners, customer service courses, ability to smile and be friendly. No food in the evening, breakfast was limited. Rooms were not clean(hair in the bedding, stains on the furniture and bad smell from drains in bathroom)the whole place could be updated. It was all a little "fawlty towers" which was a shame.

    Good location, near to metro and pretty park. The door man was so kind, helpful and a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable, although I guess that's more a 4* than a 5* range. In what regards the breakfast, one couldn't even find butter, the fruit quality was not good, the eggs tasted odd, only 4 types of infusion/tea, and the squezzed orange juice you had to pay as an extra...not very 5*, right? Now...in what regards the reception counter personnel, it was very inefficient, although polite talking to them was like to preach in a desert, they are incredibly slow and inefficient. In what regards the restaurant concierge the indications it gave us were really bad...the information we received was that for our room both restaurant and buffet were included in roomservice but at the end, after we ordered the person came by and told us that we had to pay...Odd!!! We decided to stay at the restaurant, the food was good and the waiter very good.

    The sauna and the steam bath, the pool, the beach, the room I liked, however it was overrated, in my opinion, because it was more a 4* kind of room...and hotel. At the restaurant, the food was good and the waiter very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room too small, surrealistic placement of the toilet in the bathroom ( against the wall) breakfast in a dark cave, with frozen bread, industrial orange juice, eggs in powder, bitter coffee

    the location near Parque Eduardo VII

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service at bar as Batman seemed to be cooking and serving meals. The meals were simple but nicely served by him.

    Porter at hotel EXCELLENT. A very friendly and helpful person. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge was the only member of staff that used any manners he was also very helpful other members of staff never said good morning of please and even thank you when we bourght a drink from the bar discussing manners .

    The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was small and the bathroom very small but adequate for the four nights that we were there.cl

    The location, opposite a lovely public park. Near to public transport, tour buses pick up at the hotel and a nice, downhill stroll to the main shopping area and the River Tagus. The double or triple glazing was very good making the room quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough double bedrooms. We had two single beds which were not mechanically joined.

    Location very good even though there is a strenuous walk from the Metro

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hallways were too small. The bthroom and doors needed a major renovation. Breakfast wasn't as good as other hotels.

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit small, especially the washroom. It is really small washroom.

    The bed was nice. The view was nice. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very inconvenient payment policy, full pre-pay on arrival + amount of one day stay are getting blocked in a couple days before arrival and not used as payment for staying. And this policy is not completely highlighted in description. Be aware that event it says most of suits have a view on park, to be honest it's like 50:50. Other 50% have view on the backyard which is far from being pretty. Very small room and bathroom.

    Quite clean. Common place to get with public transport. Even though breakfast dishes are the same day-to-day, they are fresh and tasty. Wi-Fi worked fine all days of staying.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was amazing with balconies overlooking a large treed park. Every evening there was a cool breeze off the ocean. The breakfast was delicious and filling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only one elevator available for the guests and in the rush time the waiting time was really long.

    Really nice stay and very friendly staff. The location is amazing and view from the balcony was stunning. Very nice breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel staff could have been friendlier and more helpful. Unfortunately, our luggage did not arrive to Lisbon with us so we had to wait for it. While waiting, we needed to call the airport and asked the front desk staff to help us. The man working the desk seemed annoyed when we asked if he could call the airport for us (as we do not speak Portuguese), and he tried 1 time and told us there was nothing we could do and we could try the computer. The other staff did not seem too friendly either. If the staff were a little nicer I would give the hotel full stars.

    The hotel was was nice and the location was not terrible. It is just a short 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station. If you prefer Taxis, there is a Taxi line right outside of the hotel. The bellhop, Big John, is amazing. He is so friendly and helpful. He pretty much made the stay wonderful. The breakfast is also decent. The coffee machine is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the toilet next to a wall made it a bit uncomfortable but bearable.

    The breakfast was very generous with all kinds of bread, cheeses and cold cuts to choose from as well as eggs and fruit. The hotel was very clean and you can smell it and the staff was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was the second stay in this hotel, previously we had a better room. Obviously there are several types of rooms available.

    excellent location, good breakfast, nice people, near public transport and shopping mall and restaurants, quiet area, large park in front of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet throughout the hotel rather shabby. Needs replacing.

    The location is good, about a 20 minute brisk walk in to the centre. Nice comfortable room, if a little small, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it other than to sleep. The bed linen was changed every two days and the towels daily. The bathroom too, was small but you don't need to spend a lot of time in there neither! We spent ten days at the Sana Rex, as the days went on the weather became quite hot and the air con was a Godsend at night. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Overall we had a lovely stay, the staff were very friendly and efficient and we would definitely stay with them again when in Lisbon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a little on the small side. Breakfast was a little underwhelming.

    Conveniently located for all sight-seeing. Taxis are cheap. Food in Lisbon excellent. The Jacaranda trees in the area were in full blossom (May) which delighted the eye as well as the nose!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location of the Room. The description told something about a view over Lissabon and close gardens in thé area. Our view was a dirty backyard.... Think this Could have been more clear in the description...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get the room temperature to go as low as we'd like for sleeping.

    The view overlooking the Eduardo Parque and Tagus River was lovely!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was unimaginative and repetitive , and the orange juice almost entirely water. Quite horrible. Also popular items - wholemeal bread or rolls for example - ran out early and were not replaced. Waiting to be served with a drink late evening could take a while.

    Situated opposite Parque Eduardo VII - pleasant enough for walking but some way from City Centre and at least half a mile from a metro stop, so quite a lot of walking necessary to get anywhere unless using a taxi. WiFi coverage was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Whenever I travel, and I do it a lot, first thing I ask in the hotel is an iron. I was very disappointed to hear that they don't have an iron (never happened to me before). The staff informed me that I should use their laundry services which is fine, BUT the lady who takes care of that went home already (it was only 5pm!) and will be back in the morning. Plus, they are not sure if she can take it as she has other work to do, so for express service I'll have to pay +50% of the total price for the service. When I saw the prices I was in shock! €12 for a silk dress + 50% = €18!!! I can simply buy a new dress. This is ridiculous. We paid much less in Maldives! So I said what should I do? No iron, no lady? They told me that I can go to the shopping centre (15 mins away) that has a laundry service. This was totally useless!!! 2. The worst pastry I've ever tried for the breakfast. Not fresh at all! 3. Very bad heavy air in the room. Opening windows or using air condition doesn't help. 4. The location is not bad, but to get to the hotel from metro, you'll have to "climb" as most of the the road in Lisbon are like that. Lisbon is the perfect destination, I fell in love with this city, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to hop on and of buses, and taxi rank outside so easy to get a taxi down into town, although you can walk it quite easily but coming back is up hill so after a long day a bit hard! Breakfast very good buffet style with good choice. Did miss not having tea/coffee making facilities in room but room service quick when ordered. Would stay there again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit small but it was okay for a 4-day stay. It would have been nice to have a restaurant in the hotel to get dinner as it was raining every day and we had to go out in the rain to have dinner.

    The staff was extremely polite and friendly, especially Jorge (apologies if this is not the proper spelling), who took great care of our luggage and gave us nice tips for our stay in Lisbon. The hotel was in a pretty good location, everything was easily accessible by public transport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine and nothing not to like

    Everything was fine. We had a problem with our shower not working with hot water but we were moved as soon as there was availability to another room in fact upgraded to a suite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little small , but I am a big guy so make of that what you want

    Very basic room and breakfast but was fine for what we needed, but it was a great little hotel friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked 3 rooms. All 3 of them had a service facilities roof view. One room was extremely small. The facilities are in poor condition and require maintenance (leaky faucet, bathroom door that gets stuck, etc).

    Excellent location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On airport flight path, though not to noisy.. Average standard breakfast.. On a slight hill..

    Value for money, accommodated a group.. Friendly & helpful staff.. Check out time was 12md.. Near a nice park which had nice views of the city, also near a shopping mail.. Metro stations are within walking distance and easy access to airport..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just seen money has been taken from my credit card although we paid with another credit card from our company in full when we arrived.

    The wi-fi was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of noise with doors closing but nothing that would distress me. Small lift. Narrow hallways. These issues wouldn't stop me from staying there

    I liked this hotel. The room was on the small side but I had a massive balcony with excellent views over lisbon. The staff were very friendly. We loved Mr. Joao Grande. So helpfully and cheery. A great asset to any hotel. I hope to go back in the future. Breakfast was very nice. We also ate at the bar which was very nice. I was very pleased with my stay there. Spotless clean comfy cosy bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 308 next to the lift. Very thin walls, it felt like people were talking inside the room whilst they were waiting for the lift.

    Excellent breakfast with lots of variety. Excellent location in comparison to public transportation. Staff were helpful and couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very cramped. The door did not open completely to no hit the bed. The bed was almost wall to wall (head to toe) and it was easier to climb over than to walk around. This was due to a column in the middle of the room. The bathroom was really small as well. The basin was rather large for it and made it difficult to reach the rest. The closet door was broken and did not open. The room seemed to be situated next to the main water supply. Most of the time one could hear rushing water in the room (not from the neighboring room), which could get tedious at night.

    The location is fair, close to a main traffic hub (bus, metro and so on). The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was ok for a country that does not do breakfast but the selection rather limited (everything was in one flavor, e.g., only scrambled eggs, no boiled eggs).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be a lot better.

    The staff were courteous and very helpful. Good location - near Estufa Fria and 5/7 minutes walk from metro station. There was good internet service and the lobby area was very comfortable to work in and hang out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the suite was not good enough and several lights didn't work at all. The seating in the suite is inadequate. The settee is actually a bed and unless you have extremely long legs, you cannot reach the floor! The ensuite is too small for a room classed as a suite.

    A poor breakfast. The hot food was tepid every time, the juice poor.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a bit far from the old center, but handy if you have business in that part of town.

    Friendly, comfortable environment for a solo (female) traveler. Wifi throughout, good breakfast, bar, friendly staff, comfortable bed and nice hot shower. Near the subway line for transfers to other parts of town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator is too small for its purpose. Although very good, breakfast does not provide daily variations.

    In addition to comfortable, this hotel Sana network is very well-located for peacefulness for relaxing and walking away from the living areas. In front of Marques de Pombal Park, lies a few hundred meters from a large shopping center, good restaurants (including the Brazilian Fogo de Chão), the starting point of the sightseeing buses and subway stations.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could improve a little and include national products like butter and jam packs. Pillows were a bit flat and bathroom needs a restyling urgently. A bit expensive for the amenities.

    Location is amazing. Right in the center of Lisbon near Marquês. The hotel is very nice and the staff is always available to help. PressReader app is just incredible. At this hotel, they let you read a wide selection of national and international newspapers and magazines for free. A big big plus!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Park View (3 or 4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed is too old and lacks comfort. The flooring seem faded and worn out. New flat screens with functional remote can make a big difference and a smile from the receptionist can be welcoming

    The location is excellent with lots of greenery and low noise level.Also the Bell boy Mr Grande was very helpful, friendly and down to earth.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bar food is simple, but could do much better, my Bolognaise pasta was very simple, but eatable, there are good restaurants near by.

    - Great Location, a beautiful park near by, Taxis and food close by. - Room service always available and good attendance. - Great view from the room. - Transport (Metro and Bus) is also close. Taxi always available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small and fittings dated, carpets worn and stained. Unable to open door fully due to door stop which was dangerous, bathroom cramped, door could not be closed

    Location wise the property was ideal located opposite Parc Eduardo and ideal for city tour bus

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was close enough to good access to Lisbon but the killer was the steep climb back up to the hotel from Marques de Pombal Square, where the metro was. Also no room service and staff were uniformly not friendly.

    The room and bathroom were good and comfortable. Breakfasts were included and quite good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room safe difficult to open. No real orange juice at breakfast.

    Balcony overlooking the park with views of the city and river. Comfortable and quiet room. Good breakfast included in the price. Good wifi and work desk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too small but it didn't bother me too much. I just slept there. Most of the time I was out so...

    Everything was ok, it's clean hotel,needs little update but still ok... I would go there again. It's a good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse SANA Rex Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: