Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rocha Brava Village Resort 4 stars

Urb. Rocha Brava, P.O. Box 1047, 8401-908 Carvoeiro, Portugal

#10 of 17 hotels in Carvoeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 765 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofas were filthy and foul smelling. Bathroom fixings were tired and rusted. Roof terrace sunloungers and brolly were broken. Bushes at entrance and patio overgrown we had to tie back them to ease access.

    Location was excellent great views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was tired and quite tatty! We needed 3 beds, one was a folding z bed but there was no floor space to put it so we had to have a 3 yr old in bed with us! Also it was a 20 mins walk to the cafe and bar/restaurant. The small pool by our apartment was grubby and had scum around edge.

    Leaving after 2 days to go to a different hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought there should milk and some little cereal for the first morning. We arrived in late and couldn’t even make a cup of tea. There should be fresh towels every day with showering and the pool going on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in and check out process was very average. All that can be expected is to receive the keys and take them back. Despite being half empty during our stay the generic letter we received a day or so before we were supposed to check out was rude and pointed in that they have a booking for our specific cottage and they need us to vacate by the check out time. Thank fully we had no intention of staying or extending our stay and the letter would have cured it. Is it convenient? Yes, did they inspire us to come back? No! Watch out for big and small spiders in the room, they seemed to start showing up from the second day onwards.

    Just about what is promised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Utility road through resort - cars are driving far too fast. It's a problem with young children given proximity of front door to road in some apartments. Suggest that you have key access to rear doors to ensure minimal access to front required.

    Location to small heated pool. Grounds are well kept Walking distance to vale de centianes beach. Staff at pool cafe were very good and nice to our children too. Food at all restaurants have improved on last year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place could have been cleaner. The boat trip that has been organized by the property did not respect the initial hours that have been communicated to us.

    The location is good, close to the village and well known beaches. Very good choice if you have kids ( older than 3 years) because of the playground, pools and kids club. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor inside the accommodation was tired looking and pretty basic. No washing up sponge, dish drainer .....and other small but irritating things. The BBQ looked unusable.

    The heated swimming pool was very nice. The accommodation was clean. Although the double bed was quite small Is was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The supermarket was small and not much choice, we could have done with a car to drive to a bigger supermarket but had a lovely coffee shop and restaurants on site.

    The apartment/villa was spacious, clean and had a lovely garden and roof terrace with sunbeds and table/chairs. The grounds and trees were kept spotless as was the pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just a bit too far from the town of Carvoeiro. Every day we had to get taxis which was annoying.

    It was a lovely resort. The pools were lovely and the apartment was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the pavements made out of tiny pebbles. My youngest son has cerebral palsy and is prone to tripping. He came home a little worse for wear as the paving makes a mess when you fall on it.

    We have just came home from Rocha Brava and it’s our first holiday where we feel we have truly relaxed. Lovely, safe location. Our older 2 boys (11 & 10) made friends with another family and enjoyed exploring between the two villas and pool and our youngest son (4) enjoyed playing in the smaller heated pool. The washing machine was also a god send...no mountains of washing to contend with at home. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to upgrade the beds at the villa and internet was bad, need to improve a lot.

    Nice resort, great escape looking the see and beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We noticed it getting very busy so would not go later than beg/end of May as don't have children

    Brilliant place to stay. Beds very comfy. Lovely local restaurant just round the corner. Very pretty well kept gardens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, it appeared only the next morning though property sent someone to repair it the same evening. The main sink tap water flow was very low. Furniture old and outdated, rooms not cosy at all, felt like old village, not like a 4 star hotel at all. Only the smaller outside swimming pool was heated but all pools close at 8 pm. The photos of rooms provided by the property was far from reality we’ve got.

    Many clean towels. Nice terrace. Enough parking slots.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on our first vist the 8th & 9th May, At reception a man was helping us to check us in, he said he needed to check with reservations, he advised he would be back in 5 mins, he left and never came back, we waited on the couch and no one asked were we okay, so 40mins later we approached the desk and a lady checked us in. We came back the following week 13th and had a perfect experience at check in

    Great resort and facilities we'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main pool very cold too cold to swim in young children but as it was May not expecting pool to be warm . The smaller pool more suitable for younger swimmers and warmer .

    Very comfortable beds , quiet at night so had a great sleep . Spacious 2 bed appartment . Lots of greenery and outdoor space . Felt very safe for the young children .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No entertainment on site at nighttime. Nothing to entertain kids in the evening. The resort is primarily focused on older people having an evening meal. We attended the kids club one morning and our kids were the only ones there.

    Good heated pool, small playground for kids, location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    *Staff on reception could have been more helpful, we had an issue with an arranged transfer (that we had organised) but said they were unable to help us resolve it. We had expected that they would act in a similar capacity (e.g. as an interpreter) to a concierge in an hotel. *The villa we booked should have had a sea view but we were disappointed to find that a tall hedge and bushes prevented us from seeing the sea unless you were over 6ft tall or on the roof terrace above. We had had a similar property 2 years ago on the same site but at a different level and that was excellent, hence the further booking,so we were all the more disappointed this time. I doubt we would go again. *Apparently if we had booked through Rocha Brava direct, we would have obtained a 10% discount as returning customers, I'm dismayed that this saving wasn't passed on to us through Booking.com as presumably your cost to them may well reflect this saving. Our original booking 2 years ago to RB was through yourselves so we are quite disappointed in you as agents.

    The site, facilities and gardens are lovely. On site restaurant excellent. Villa overall quite comfortable and spacious and well maintained. The shuttle service is good but could be more frequent. Cleaning staff, gardeners etc are delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heaters were not working properly and the hot waters as well. For summer this should not be a problem but if going with kids during end of March of early April then its usually bit cold in the night.

    The property is located at a very good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint about the properties was the bedding! Blankets which were dusty! Terrible little pillows.

    Lovely setting, beautiful gardens. Villa and apartments very comfortable. We had three apartments and a villa to accommodate a family of 18.Children ranging in age from 3 to 11 they really enjoyed the covered pool. It was very safe for them playing outside in the gardens. Excellent staff especially Patricia in reservations! We loved our visit we will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The were hard, pools were cold and coffee machine was dirty.

    Lovely views and people. The Villa was perfect for families of people wanting a quiet get away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing as such but 2 people did say the full English was a little small for the price. Some properties are a little dated and could do with a "refurb" other owners have done this so it would be nice if the rest could as you pay the same but don't know what you are getting till you book in. But they are very clean and tidy.

    We come back to this site at least once a year as we love the location we always come as such out of season so its nice a quite and swimming pools not packed/busy. Bus on site is good as you can go to town and back foc during the day. Taxis are cheap into town and back for evenings. Lovely area for walking. Would recommend Benagil beach (30 mins walk or 5 mins in car) boat trip to caves excellent from here and beach is lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- all great.

    The location is amazing - beach 10 minutes walk. Heated pools on site are clean and well maintained. Very clean property and spacious. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really old. I had the imprint shape of the bed springs in my back. I asked to switch villas for this reason and they helped us. The new villa had a more comfortable bed. I think this resort is hit or miss based on the villa you get.

    The staff were responsive and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Our villa had a lot of 'worn' elements + things that didn't work. Rising damp in the bedrooms. Need a car to go anywhere. We had a garden villa and hoped the kids would be contained but no, we couldn't let them outside the villas for fear they would go on the road. No privacy - villas all look at each other, windows face each other too. But the worst: Our sewerage overflowed 1 night. After 3 calls we got through to reception. they sent a fellow to plunge the loo, who made a mess and gave out to us for flushing our toilet paper - apparently we shouldn't do this, despite there being no signs or notes saying not too. He didn't mop up the mess. Next day we asked if a cleaner could come and mop the sewage as we had 2 toddlers + preggers mum. The receptionist said no, it would be the next day as cleaners only come to the villas every 2 days. What was I to do ? Finally, I threatened a complain on booking.com and she said 'If you like' - SO, here it is ! I had to buy disinfectant at the shop and do it myself. Unacceptable service and attitude !

    Whislt our bed was comfortable we heard others whose weren't and had to change villas. The indoor pool was the best thing about this place as it was too cold to swim outside. Outside pool area was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. The hot water ran out very fast (for 2 adults/2 kids). Stagger your showers at night/in the morning.

    The resort was in a great location. The price was very reasonable. I wish the weather would have been warmer, so we could have tried the main outdoor pool; it had a waterfall. They did have an indoor pool and outdoor pool that were both heated, but we missed that on the booking site. It is very close to the Benagil Caves tour. The resort was quiet. There was plenty of room to stretch out. Having the grocery store on site was a huge plus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No concerns, everything was lovely. Cleaners came in every two days. The people were lovely.

    We were very comfortable in our unit. Beautiful ocean views. Bus service three times a day into Carleverio, free. Many excellent and varied restaurants. Interesting day trips to neighbouring towns.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was no blackout curtains in bedroom so lighthouse glared through the curtains at night!

    Fantastic resort. Clean, excellent facilities, great location. Peaceful and fab weather too - just what we needed to escape for a few days!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was quite shabby and the bathroom tiny! But this was reflected in the price. The smoke alarm in the kitchen was badly positioned! Indoor pool far too chlorinated, such a shame one of the smaller outdoor pools couldn't be heated in low season.

    Spacious well laid out and peaceful resort with lovely gardens and proximity to the coast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in lounge dated and material on both sofa and dining chairs dirty! Curtain lining ripped and coal open empty fireplace not good for young children !

    Prettt apartments and gardens to walk aroun d. Spacious 2 bedroom apartment big lounge and quality kitchen appliances

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was not daily as advertised, very late check in (we were not given our room before 3pm after such a long journey) , no duvet but old fashioned blankets and was far from the heated pool when specifically requested to be nearby at the time of booking...also the man at reception was just not helpful and was a bit rude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The apartment could do with some updating especially in the bathroom ( shower needs fixing)

    Lovely south facing balcony with sunshine all day with sea views. Comfortable lounge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet kept dropping out but to be fair, that seems to be the case all over caverieo

    We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment. It was extremely well equiped, quiet and situated in the most glorious spot (620).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    While it was cold at night (January) there was an open fire in the property and all rooms could be heated with the air conditioning units. Wood was available to buy at the supermarket. The place is really well kept and everything is clean and tidy. The heated swimming pool was really appreciated by the kids and the proper changing room with hot showers afterwards was perfect. There is a fabulous walk along the cliffs from the property and the beach nearby is beautiful, accessed through a tunnel so the kids were delighted.(See photo - taken in January!) The kitchen is really well equipped which was great in January as not only was the restaurant at the resort closed, but most restaurants in the whole area were closed Jan 6 - Feb 6 - important to note that buses were also not running. We always found one if we needed it, but generally ate in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    less playground for kids and the washing machine is not working properly

    beautiful scenery of the beach from the appartment. close to touristic spots. room is clean even though a little bit old.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee bar and supermarket limited opening hours Heating in our apartment not very good for cold winter evenings. Could do with air con in lounge.

    Accommodation basic but very clean. Surroundings excellent and gardens very well maintained. Location good for town and beach. Nice quiet 🤫 resort. Lovely cliff top walks near by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been travelling for decades and so far this place is the worst that I have ever stayed in. To say that I was in shock is is to say nearly nothing. The whole apartment is infected with mold and the cleaners tried to remove the musty smell with a lot of chlorine - and I do mean A LOT. The place is clearly run down, cheapest furniture possible, extremely uncomfortable and dirty. Bed linens are of the worst quality I have ever seen. The sheets had a very strong chemical smell of some sort of washing powder, sleeping on them was beyond unpleasant. I think that the last renovation here was done in the 70s. Dead insects all over, someone's hair everywhere, the toilet seat is cracked, power sockets are possibly from the 70s, everything is very dated, smells badly and looks sad. The blankets were not washed for years and smelt accordingly. Covered with stains. Cheapest white goods - the water boiled in the kettle smelt with plastic, the fridge was so loud that I had to switch it off and I spent 1.5 hours cleaning the surfaces as touching them was beyond unpleasant. The beds in the bedroom smelt with mold so badly that we could not sleep there, and had to use the folding sofa-bed in the lounge room with the most uncomfortable mattresses. The lawn outside was covered with a lot of dogs' excrements and they were quite obvious. The aircons were working but getting them to switch on was a challenge. While we were sleeping the door opened and stayed opened for the whole night as the lock is hardly there. I was worried to ask for another unit as it could have been worse and I also did not want to get into a tense dialog to ruin our stay completely. But I did contact the staff and asked them for clean blankets which we did get shortly, so that was a relief. In the morning we left in a rush. Sorry, guys from the reception, I do understand that this is not your fault but I am afraid that coming back to this 4 star (!!!

    The staff was excellent and they did their best to help us. Guys, I do appreciate it indeed!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nil

    Excellent resort, good facilities, very clean apartments, nice swimming pool. Nice walk around the resort with fantastic views of the ocean. Beach within 5 minutes drive. Nice staff, very friendly and kind. Highly recommend for families with kids. Out of season nice and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartment we booked via booking.com was a bit outdated, thereforw doesn't feel super clean although it is cleaned every 2 days, feels like it could use a small renovation but we still liked the place a lot! It depends on your expectation for the price. Beds really need new matrasses, but still were (to our surprise) fine to sleep on. Fridge made noise but with kitchen closed it was fine.

    The appartement we had was on the ground floor which is advisable while traveling with small kids. The appartment was spacious, all the kitchen necessities were there. Very nice garden(s), nice terrace at our appartment, nice see view in the distance. Our kid could play in the garden next to our appartment. the pools (3!) are very nice only a bit cold when travelling in September. The main pool is very beautiful and not busy at all which was nice. We had dinner at the main restaurant at the pool and it exceeded our expectations. Also a lot of nice restaurants in close by (walking distance). The location is nice, advice to rent a car to be more flexible in traveling around but there is also a bus going to town/ beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing really. It just lacked silly things like egg cups and half pint glasses!!

    Restaurants on site and in the near neighbourhood very good. Pool area spacious so not packed in like sardines! Shuttle bus very useful as we didn't hire a car. Apartment was extremely spacious and had the bonus of a rooftop deck which we used quite a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked the villa. The layout was perfect with the bedroom away from the living room. All appliances in the kitchen worked. Decent beds. Private terrace with no overlooking so great for tanning!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing between floors not good.

    Flowers, walking around the beautiful facilities, tennis courts, quiet area. Close to cliffs for breathtaking views, walking paths along cliffs, close to beach, villages, main road 10 minutes away. Bilingual staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two mattresses in one of the rooms were so bad it has given us sore necks and backs and made it difficult to sleep. The spare mattress for our three year old daughter on a put up bed was a terrible mattress. Real shame as other than that - I would thoroughly recommend the resort.

    The villa was like a home from home and had everything we needed as a family. The staff working there were really kind and helpful too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    the accomodation is a bit expensive and the on site mini market is a bit expensive. The beds were very creaky.

    a nice quiet location with very nice views not too far from the village.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main pool a little crowded

    Just returned from a ten day trip staying in Rocha Brava, we had a lovely one bedroom appt which was very spacious, and had a huge patio area. There was a smaller pool near our appt which was quite, the larger pool was more crowded. There is a beautiful beach very close by. We found the property very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard of our villa was poor compared to other villas we have stayed in on the same site (via HPB) We had to ask for the sun loungers on our patio to be replaced as they were grubby and the lounger pads were ripped. The interior decor was very tired with some bathroom fittings hanging off walls. The hinges on some of the kitchen cabinets were also loose. The standard of cleaning was poor

    The site is in a very good location and generally is well maintained (gardens and pools) Rocha Brava has a very good restaurant on site, and is close to some other good restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments were fine but only fine. I wouldn't call it a 4 star by any stretch. The curtains and sofa were stained, the bed throws/pillows were old and faded. Our biggest complaint was that the beds were so uncomfortable (and squeaky). We had to swap rooms several times so each of us had a good night's sleep on the more comfortable bed. The mattresses could do with changing as they were pretty grim when we stripped the bed down. The lumpy pillows weren't great either. It was a shame because if the beds had been more comfortable we would have been much more prepared to let the dated state of the apartment slide. Judging by the more equipped 3 bed apartment we were given to shower in, on our last day... it definitely seems to be pot luck on what level of accommodation you end up with. We were situated in a two bedroom apartment with a garden view, on the ground floor. Unfortunately, the people staying in the block above didn't take their shoes off and so most early mornings and late evenings we had loud footsteps marching up and down the apartment. You can also hear all movement of furniture, slamming of doors etc. This is minor complaint as it's expected with these sorts of apartments, but worth mentioning. The kitchen and bathroom were very dated and could do with modernisation. The kitchen doors slammed loudly and the utensils/pots/pans etc. could do with an update. The toaster and microwave were poor and took forever to cook anything. There was no dishwasher - which would have been much more pleasant at meal times, since we were self-catering on most days. No BBQ was supplied as requested (3 times) so we had to buy one as cooking in the kitchen was cramped and unappealing. Water in shower came out brown for the first few minutes of each shower. One of the reception staff was extremely unhelpful and miserable.

    The location of the apartment was great, set within quiet, well maintained gardens and right in front of one of the smaller of the three pools. The apartment was also near to the beach and cliff top walk. We stayed there in mid September so it was very quiet, which was perfect for my elderly parents. Shops and restaurants were easy to walk to, we did, however, hire a car as we wanted to make visits to the large supermarket, beaches, nearby towns etc. A car is a must if you struggle with steep walks (although the resort does offer a shuttle service to various beaches/towns). Apartment was fairly clean and tidy (albeit very dated) and we had fresh sheets and towels every few days. There is an abundance of fabulous beaches and coastal walks within short driving distance. Most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Particularly on our very late arrival to the resort. Weather at this time of year was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not available sometime. Indoor heated pool not open in September. The water in the pool was a bit cold.

    Friendly staff. Great location. Nice facilities including an ATM, supermarket, pools, restaurants, gym, tennis courts, some appartments have a sea view. A beach at walkable distance. Free parking and very close to the other exotic locations in Algarve. 24/7 reception. Our 4 year old son had a great time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not available sometime. Indoor heated pool not open in September. The water in the pool was a bit cold.

    Friendly staff. Great location. Nice facilities including an ATM, supermarket, pools, restaurants, gym, tennis courts, some appartments have a sea view. A beach at walkable distance. Free parking and very close to the other exotic locations in Algarve. 24/7 reception. Our 4 year old son had a great time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a quiet time in the evening till morning. When you have singers at the bar they were very loud and a couple of times went into the early hours of the morning. Where I was, I could not sleep at all because of the volume. This had upset several other people as we talked over breakfast.

    Nearly everything was perfect. The staff on reception was fantastic, the cleaners and your workmen was always polite. Everyone was helpful and very nice. The rooms were really nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive on site shop, but the spar is worse. Our apartment flooded due to a burst pipe. Lots of electronics damaged, the staff moved us and where very helpful and we are waiting for them to replace the damaged items as they are insured.

    Great location a 25 minute walk to the centre but 10 minutes from the beach and stunning Coastal walk. I recommend taking walking shoes or sandals. A massive apartment with a huge sunny balcony. 3 lovely pools and friendly helpful staff. There is a lovely restaurant as you come out of the resort main entrance, turn right.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major issues. Prices a small bit expensive at the Cocktail Bar at the swimming pool.

    The facilities were excellent. Nice restaurant and bar along with a good shop nearby. Excellent swimming pool facilities. Apartments were big and spacious. Great price and value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Transport to town not frequent enough.Taxi service appalling and disorganised .Rang hotel from the beach as my husband had a swimming accident ,unknown to us he had fractured his cervical spine .We needed urgent transport to the hospital.Waiting a long time in pain

    Loved the landscaping.Gardens beautiful and wildlife surprising.A pair of owls visited our garden every night and one of them would perch on the posts in our garden for long periods at property 604.Saw hedgehogs there also,beautiful blue magpies and kestrels along the cliffs.Loved the swimming pools ...highlight was disco for the kids as our grandchildren were staying there with their parents Apartment itself was just lovely would definately want the same one if we return

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unfriendly in 'most' cases Service in cafe not great Overall only rudeness of bad service we encountered in our stay in Portugal was at the resort Air conditioning in bedrooms was non existent (fans that had no effect) so ended up sleeping on couch as too uncomfortable Tennis courts you had to pay for court & equipment Pool Towels rental fee Considerating cost of staying at resort these should be allowed for

    Villa style/size/facilities Surrounding grounds Pool area Cafe food Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools on small side however you have several beaches very close by!

    It was a perfect location for us to explore the cliff trails yet close enough to town - taxis 6 euros- to enjoy great restaurants, shopping and entertainment!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived, only one desk clerk was available at the front desk. She took a very long time to check us in and gave very detailed information even though a long line was forming behind us. We commented we were worried with those in the line and she said they could wait. I wouldn´t like to be in their shoes… To me and my wife, this showed some lack of respect for the others. If there were other desk clerks available, she could talk to us like she did (calmly and with the attention any guest deserves), but in that scenario she should have been more objective to take care of the others, too.

    The property is great. Located in a very nice and calm neighborhood, it has a small supermarket and a coffee shop at its entrance. There is also a nice restaurant with an excellent view of the swimming pool. I only used the supermarket once (and not the coffee shop, neither the restaurant - which I only visited). The restaurant costs are similar to other good restaurants in the area. The Rocha Mar restaurant (in front of the resort entrance) is not part of the resort. We had dinner there on the first night and it was reasonable. There is another restaurant in the same street, but we have not been to it. There is another supermarket (very large) about 5 km from the resort called Apolonia (they have a fantastic selection of very good wines, with good prices). On the way to Apolonia there is another supermarket (Intermarché), but we have not been to it. The resort is close to the Alfanzina lighthouse, the light of which can be seen crossing the property during the nights. We were lucky to get a room (501-B) which is on the second floor and had a great view of the property and of the sea! Our room was in fact a small house; it had a living room with a fireplace, a very nice balcony (with the view of the sea), a very good kitchen, a bathroom and a bedroom. Benagil beach is close (by car) and has trips to the caves of Benagil (EUR 20 / adult; EUR 10 / children - my son is 10 years old). The boat takes us to 20 caves and gets in most of them (it is a small boat for about 15-20 people). Carvoeiro downtown is about 15 min by car, but there are also buses from the resort that take you there (times are a little limited). I highly recommend this property and will definitely be back if I travel back to the Algarve region.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleanness could be better. No Wifi within the apartments/villages.

    Localization and tranquility. Good swimming's pools. Good for holidays with family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was a bit dated. Also the toilet by the pool always seemed to be flooded. I didn't know what I was standing in!!

    It's safe for the kids and very comfortable. The local village had plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had several issues, overall the stay was just ok. The beds were hard, our unit had a large bird nest just above the balcony door, the door shade and screen did not open and close properly for the downstairs balcony, the clothes washer did not work (waited 2 hours+ for maintenance), the unit is very outdated, and the pool closed at 6pm. Is it worth the money? No.

    The size of our unit (2 bed 1.5 bath), cold air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The maps we were provided upon check in were not very helpful, best to get one from tourist information in town.

    A beautiful ocean view from our private balcony, there were plenty of pools and shaded sun lounges available, close to a supermarket, well equipped kitchen in our apartment, beautiful walks and hikes close by, free shuttle into the centre of Carvoeiro. A short walk to the incredibly beautiful Praia de Centianes. We had a thoroughly relaxing holiday...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super market super expensive. One bathroom only. Recommended restaurant in front of the exit/entrance of the park very bad.

    The park in general. Location near to the beach. Flat screen with international channels. Shower pressure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One of the bedrooms had a slightly musty smell, but other rooms fine. Probably easy to fix

    The properties looked authentic - no plastic look or tower block. Nice Moorish look.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation looks a bit tired.... sliding doors (mosquito nets) etc needs to be replaced. There was stale water smell in the kitchen and bathroom when taps were opened.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was very uncomfortable and cheap. This is no way 4 star accomodation

    The property forgot to tell us we had breakfast included so we bought our own. A little disappointed about that

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathrooms. No bath in either; doors coming off on shower in bathroom2; nasty smell in the morning in bedroom 1's bathroom and the shower didn't drain away for ages.

    Great position lovely views handy for walks across the cliffs comfortable lounge and bedrooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The apartment was dated and tired looking and not contemporary decor as indicated it would be . The patio doors did not lock and two pieces of wood were provided to wedge the doors so they could not be opened. The bedroom patio door was the same. Our patio and patio furniture was dirty on arrival and was never swept or washed before we arrived or at any stage during our stay. The double bed was extremely uncomfortable and neither of us has one nights full sleep. We only had a distance partial sea view despite paying for this and this was disappointing.

    The resort facilities are excellent. The grounds are very well thought out and maintained to a high standard. The numerous flowers/vegetation planted throughout the resort are beautiful and it was a pleasure to be there. The swimming pools were deep and big enough for a swim. The complimentary shuttle bus service to the Carvoeiro was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall grounds kept very well.

    Bed very uncorfortable, did not get a good nights sleep! Accommodation poor, very tired & unkept, cleaning every second day poor and no towels left on second day! When I did get towels, noticed were very badly stained..... Screens in both sitting room & bedroom, kitchen were broken. Blind in kitchen also broken, oven & hob not working., the list goes on, it was very disappointing. When gave feedback was told, all booked out no alternative accommodation!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The onsite shop was very expensive

    It was lovely, quiet and really well kept. Facilities were great especially the indoor pool and tennis courts. The apartment was perfect for our family, nice and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On site dinner restaurant was excellent. Walking distance to the seaside cliff with beautiful sun set sceneries. Couple of minutes by car to the best caves and beaches in Algarve.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic, the double bed small queen size and very uncomfortable, the blanket is provided with a sheet which makes the feel unsanitary as I doubt that the blankets are washed often.

    Decent swimming pools that were not too crowded (in may 2017), the villas have character and the outside area well kept but inside are rather basic and unfortunately not clean, kids club was great for our kids (4 and 8), nice mix of guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We checked in at 9p. at night, were given keys to our sea view 2 bedroom room, and we walked into our room only to flip on the lights and find someone's shoes (2 pair) and jackets in the room. Someone was obviously occupying this room that we were given!! We quickly backed out and were given another room. The weather was horrible during our stay (not their fault obviously!), but the winds were so strong that they were slamming the shutters around like crazy; we figured out how to secure ours shut, but you could hear the other rooms' shutters slamming all night to the unoccupied rooms. Worst night sleep in a while. The bed is more like a full size instead of a queen or two twins, so beware if you like a little space form your partner.

    The location is beautiful, sea view rooms really do deliver an amazing view! Staff is helpful and kind. Indoor pool (though it's super basic and no deep end)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a room baby friendly but the hotel provide me a room in a first floor with no lift. There are a lot of rooms (flats) in a ground floor. Considering is a large hotel, the flat is 10 minutes walking to the restaurant/reception/main pool. There´s no cleaning included for 2 nights. The flat is old. A renovation would be welcomed. Shower is ok but the mattress is hard.

    Breakfast is ok. Although it is a little expensive, the restaurant is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable. Some of the property was a bit tired. The bathrooms had been upgraded recently, so they were great. There is a great atmosphere at Rocha Brava and there is a property type to suit every one

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value for money! we rented a 2 bedroom villa for 2 people and there was plenty of space for 4 people actually. one coffee shop+ 1 restaurant nearby with more than decent food, good breakfast and the beach is only 10 minutes away. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous and the beach was quite empty at the time of our visit (end of March) which was very pleasant for us: not so many tourists, weather was very sunny and the water was a bit cold but we were still able to swim. I truly recommend visiting this place outside the touristic season as it's not too crowded and it's very cheap! We traveled from Lisbon by bus until Lagoa (3 hours journey from Siete Rios) and then took a cab from Lagoa to Rocha Brava for only 7 euros so it's easy to reach as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though we were upgraded, the room was terrible. It smelled pretty musty. We called dibs on either bathroom, the one i was in had a flat level shower and the drain was clogged so bad it flooded the bathroom in minutes. The other bathroom had a tub shower with no door or curtain so that whole bathroom was flooded and we knew why it smelled moldy.. this was 404 i think. In general the place has serious potential but our stay was a bit off but the area is so good it didnt matter, felt like a beach cabin.

    we rented a 1 bedroom studio but we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bath. For a couple we didnt need that much room but it meant we wouldnt need to stay in two separate beds so we were happy about that. The location is amazing you can wrap around the back and take some beers out to the cliffs for sunset. We found it really hard to find food spots in a lot of these small village type places so it was really really amazing to have a little grocery store, and 2 restaurants right at the entry way. Theres really no reason to go far. the first night we came in our flight was delayed and put us there about midnight, the guy at the restaurant just locked up but offered to go in and make us a sandwich!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The reception staff could have been more efficient. The kitchen was only geared up for three people, but the staff rectified this when we asked. The tennis courts closed for a long lunch break.

    The gardens were kept beautifully. The swimming pools were excellent. The lady who provided the tennis courts was very friendly and helpful. The cleaners were great. The nearby restaurants provided beautiful food with friendly staff The whole resort was well looked after.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rocha Brava Village Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: