Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal Orchid 4 stars

Travessa Vista da Praia, 9125-039 Caniço, Portugal

#33 of 62 hotels in Caniço

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, beautiful venue, away from major bustle, probably best in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Land View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast choices very good, but why do hotels with a large number of UK guests never get the cooked breakfast right? To be fair I'm not a fan of most hotel cooked b'fasts!

    Room clean and comfortably large, furniture and bed super. Food good quality but clearly mass catering (all self serve). Facilities (potential) good, but this was February and weather restricted use of outside! Free bus to Funchal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Madeira small island but very varied nature. Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only coffee for breakfast could be better.

    Very comfortable room with balcony and ocean view :) Varied, good breakfast. Helpful staff at reception. Ladder to the ocean from the terrace of the Hotel. Possibility swimming! Amazing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent wind down, great views, good restuarants near by, amazing country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You are right on the ocean edge, great sea views. A lot of services at the hotel such as rental cars for the day or bus return transfers into Fuschal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Overall the accommodation was more an adequate, however, it has lost its 5 star appeal?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Waiter table meals and evening meals not available? Items offered on room spec were not available? Microwave, oven and very poor non-stick pans etc. TV and programs poor? no music? condition of furnishings poor. Very worn? Parasols old fashion, not air vented at top, several were blown away and one could have caused major injury? Not good. Need to change them and quick. Some people still try and secure their right to a sun bed with a blue towel? they do this before breakfast? I thought this was an outdated habit? obviously not??? We booked a packed lunch to leave paying for that day but it did not arrive?

    The Royal Orchid has lost its 5 star appeal?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money. Very relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi coverage. This was only available in the reception area.

    Very quiet & relaxing. Always able to get a sun bed. Within walking distance of local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Quiet and amazing place to relax and stay whilst exploring the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved our stay in the hotel. Studio apartment with the ocean view was very spacious and the bedroom was separate. Everything was clean. We liked the fact that we had an access into adjacent Roca Mar hotel facilities - restaurant, sunbathing areas, pool, access to the ocean. Breakfast was very delicious, food varied a bit each day which made it more interesting. Staff was kind and helpful. Extra surprise - when we returned from the day trip on my 50th birthday, champagne bottle on ice awaited us in the room!!! We will definitely return there!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel, but use elevators at your own risk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Land View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got stuck in the elevator twice in one day, which for me is unbelievable. The dinner buffet for 25€ per person is over priced in my opinion.

    We liked the kitchen but it lacks some of the basic equipment. On the arrival, there was not even basic stuff to clean the dishes. I liked the Atalaia dive center, the stuff there is really nice and dives were excellently guided.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on bed ,

    Concierge , when our flight was cancelled my wife phoned hotel to try and get accomidation the concierge was sympathetic and caring ,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    6.7
    Very friendly staff, providing very useful information at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The windows open to an uphill main road, so there is gay and night very high and noisy traffic. One double bed is a convertible, and if you use it you loose the table for eating.

    Very friendly staff, providing very useful information at the arrival. Very good location with closed parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a great time to stay at your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked much to swim in the atlantic ocean, but also the jacuzzi and the indoor and outdoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    New years eve and no fire works.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New years eve and no fire works..!?!? Realt bad

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    most enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like paying to print off boarding card

    Room very comfortable view excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.5
    Nice hotel, lovely island
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sister facilities were under restoration

    Excellent size room Great helpful staff Standard breakfast Nice location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    8.8
    Great views from the room (provided you have ocean-side...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor Wi-Fi signal in the room, Would not recommend a la carte dinner menu - it's very likely they will forget about your order while being too focus on providing service for open buffet (which is not worth to spend 21 eur/per person)

    Great views from the room (provided you have ocean-side room), Size of the room (enough place for 3 people), Location just at the oceanfront, Tasty breakfasts, Close to the airport Some shops and restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    3.8
    The view was the only impressive thing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff need to pay more attention to the guests when they are at the reception desk .Staff at reception make you wait while they carry on with whatever they are doing ... No communication all they need to say was I'll be with you in a minute ... At one stage stood at the counter in front of the young receptionist felt like 5 min then I walked away and she didn't even blink an eye .!!

    The view was the only impressive thing ..

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    5.4
    The bathroom was bright, huge and very clean !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were terribly uncomfortable, I could feel the springs ++.The decor in the rooms are very, very tired looking ! Meat from buffet was quite dry and cost 21.00€ ! The morning we left, we were confronted by a large cockroach in the elevator !! The coffee maker in the room had used coffee grounds in it from previous guests.

    The bathroom was bright, huge and very clean !! The staff were very nice and welcoming and they delivered a continental box breakfast to our room the night before we left as we had a very early flight . The meals from the menu were delicious. We enjoyed the Happy Hour in the bar was great and the bartender nice to chat with.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were extremely helpful. We were a family of three generations and were upgraded to a suite of two apartments with huge rooms, kitchen facilities, enormous balconies and sea views. We loved the pools, the gym and the free exercise classes.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.0
    Nice seaview from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionists - when I gave her my credit card, she took it and immediately went with it to the other room, without asking for the permission! You have to use stairs to go to the lift, nobody ask if you need a help to carry your luggage. Everything in the room was clean, but old. Breakfasts - no vegetables, no fresh fruits (only mix of fresh and canned fruits in syropy sauce)

    Nice seaview from the balcony Big apparatment

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    magnificient view from balcon, nice, helpfull employees,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    magnificient view from balcon, nice, helpfull employees, great place for sightseeing Madera. Near about hotel is one of the best restaurant on Madera- Villa Ventura. Care of the quest - I needed gluten free breakfast - they did it especially for me:)

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    6.3
    Good breakfast, nice staff, hotel shuttle to funchal (not on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot water a few nights and mornings, lots of noise from the gym in the evening and from the cleaning staff early in the morning (the room i had was right next to the laundry room and other staff rooms); although the room was advertised as with sea view it was really facing a wall (80%); noise from the fridge as it was in the same room as the bed; wi-fi only in the reception, no cell phone signal at all in the room

    Good breakfast, nice staff, hotel shuttle to funchal (not on sundays and only one vehicle per a time frame), nice location / view from some of the rooms and the outdoor pool, good gym facilities

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    8.3
    Staff was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was really good. Swimming pool and gym was in good standard. Food was excellent. I will recommend this hotel future.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.2
    Nice room and facilities, especially nice gym.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was below average and the coffee machine made a horrible swill.

    Nice room and facilities, especially nice gym.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Staff, area, ease, gym facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, area, ease, gym facilities

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    5.8
    Location is great, seaside access etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I think the property as a whole needs an update. last update must have been 1990!

    Location is great, seaside access etc...

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    lovely place

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    Island tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Island tour.Levada walk. Catamaran trip.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    7.5
    Location, helpfull staff, cleanness, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old furniture. Not the best value for that money.

    Location, helpfull staff, cleanness, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    All.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Wi-Fi in the room

    All.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    4.6
    The awesome sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was not worth the stated original price. The 72% discount , is just a catch to lure the people to the hotel..

    The awesome sea view

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: