Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Savoy 5 stars

Rua Carvalho Araújo, Se, 9000-022 Funchal, Portugal

#30 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but same offerings every day

    Excellent hotel in ideal location close to old town and easy access from airport. Entertainment was available every evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we were not very happy with it, was the hairdryer which was really old and was not working well at all! and that in general, If I compare this Savoy to the other one in the island which is still a 5 star and a newer hotel, I believe while here prices were much higher, quality in general is better in the other new Savoy hotel. Of course this is a comparission between two 5 star Savoy hotel and their price/quality.

    We were a family of 4 adults, my parents, me and my brother. Very nice hotel, fantastic personnel, very close to city center, great outdoor pools, while the indoor one was also good. Facilities were fine! they serve dinner only till 9 or 9:30 pm as room service which was very bizzard and wired for a 5 star hotel like this one, although when I told them this, they kindly exceptionally served us as we wanted and was nice of them. Rooms had indoor small kitchen that we didn't use but if anyone wanted, was useful. A comfortable stay was the best point of this hotel beside the great view. The total hotel is like a museum that you can walk in it and enjoy all the antics they have around the halls which are amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative point was the renovation undergoing in the room attending our suite, where some heavy machines were used making an infernal noise, so that we could not use the balcony on the first day. In such a case, we think it would be preferable not to rent a room so nearby.

    Professionally run top hotel, classic style, located right on the sea within walking distance to the old part of Funchal. Most friendly staff at reception that try to be very helpful. We had a junior Suite on the 9th floor, which was a brilliant option with lots of space to move around and comfortable long chairs on the balcony with gorgeous view on the bay of Funchal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the hotel could have had better English television channels but that's not we go away for. so all was good

    we were very lucky. able to land well as it is madeira I have learnt that sometimes its difficult. weather was wall to wall sun shine so that was also a bonus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The pool man was particularly efficient and helpful, excellent, first class service from him! I know that there had been a storm,but, the manager should have acted far quicker to re plant out the flower beds!!! During the latter part of our stay piles of earth appeared and was put into the beds , but very little planting. A very poor response and the pool area looked a mess!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was that the balcony wall was too high to see over when sitting down. A glass or metal fence balcony wall would be better.

    Excellent situation and views. Easy 10 minute stroll to Funchal centre. Lovely breakfast choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no intimate area to enjoy a bit of peace outside of the rooms. The reception areas are very open plan.

    Lovely pool area Great studio apt if a bit dated but ads to the charm Stunning artwork and artefacts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The beds were comfortable and large but the duvet was too small. As a result ones sleep was disturbed readjusting the duvet. Not good considering the rest of the facilities were excellent

    The staff were extremely friendly, all spoke excellent English and were very efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a five star hotel we would have expected to have a full ala carte menu not a restricted list breakfast was very poor with cold buffet food egg and bacon and stale bread for toast.

    Staff and hotel in general were good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A shuttle bus to and from centre of funchal every so often would have been handy,as the last 200yds. is up a fairly steep hill,but plenty of taxis if needed.Shopping centre of funchal is about 1klm. away from hotel.

    Good choice at breakfast,would have preferred "proper" sausages,but apart from that,plenty of choice from hot counter,fresh pancake s,fresh fruit etc. Could eat outside by the pool area. Could"nt fault room.balcony views looking out to atlantic ,watching cruise ships coming in ,and out. Overall, fantastic holiday,bit pricey,but worth it for "special" holiday. Entertainment in bar area most nights.Staff all brilliant. Had great time .Hope to return another time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Almost everything was good. Some of the receptionists were not so knowledgeable

    Fantastic hotel, service, brekfast, spa, pool area and possibilities to swim in the sea. Great junior suite with balcony towards the sea. Very kind personel. Piano bar nice for a drink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping - the rooms were not cleaned and looked after properly (toiletries not replaced, bed linen were not clean) Breakfast - a little disappointing, mostly frozen stuff & cold cuts or pastry were not of very high quality. The live counter serving omelettes & pancakes were good though.

    The exteriors of the property were fantastic, rooms with beautiful sea view. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We believe that the Royal Savoy Hotels and Resorts should change her name and take out the Hotel part. Because in reality it is a Resort..! Every 5 star hotel we have stayed in so far offers a la carte dining on every night of the week. However the Savoy only does so on 1 or 2 days a week, so you are forced to eat out or go for the buffet on other days ....as we had to do the Friday we arrived.. Moreover the food was of mediocre quality and choice ( only steak - chicken and salmon on the Chef's grill evening....!) and overpriced ( we paid almost € 90 for two with 2 glasses of house wine). Obviously we ate out for the rest of our stay . In the evenings/early night it was sometimes noisy from some of the apartments...It seems that quite a few use the kitchenette to prepare their evening meals and thereafter have a good time... Our overall impression is that Royal Savoy is aiming to become an all inclusive resort as they for example also offered us a special food package... Obviously nothing wrong with that ,but then they should market it accordingly !

    We stayed for 4 nights on b & b at the Royal Savoy to celebrate my wife's birthday. The location is nice and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. A true asset ! Also the SPA facilities are excellent and both of us had some very good treatments.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much choice for breakfast when compared to other 5 star hotels. Dinner is pricey, much cheaper and same quality food is available outside. The AC in the room is weak.

    The chocolates, two-time room service everyday, the complimentary two night room upgrade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the employees a bit rude sometimes, not always the highest level of customer-orientation

    The great location directly at Sea side with the Swimming pool in between, the great comfort of the hotel, no children and nearly no noisy clients in the hotel, middle age of clients has been about 60, very cosy if you want to relax silently, e.g. in the Spa

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Skirtings around bedroom were dusty. Tables in Dining Area very close together (perhaps because it was too early in the season to spread outside?). But considering the huge amounts of unused lounge areas around the dining area, it seemed odd.

    Cracking deal with Booking.com otherwise would not have afforded this (junior suite with kitchenette). Fantastic views with privacy on fourth floor. Monday night Buffet Dinner including unlimited house wine is best value evening meal of the week, ate out on other evenings. Lovely outdoor pool complex. We had an evening return flight so they generously let us check out at 17.00 with no extra charge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed: needs larger wider top sheet ; mattress could be improved for comfort by addition of a topper; availability of quality feather pillows Dinner 'music' was too loud / intrusive and certainly not our style, so we ate out; lighting in restaurant needs to be improved for ease of reading at breakfast.

    General ambiance; breakfast buffet; indoor pool; snack-lunch service; good quality deep tissue massage. Good shower unit in bathroom. Availability of printed leading UK newspapers.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have more than one restaurant within the hotel, however many local restaurants nearby so this didn't matter. The rest of the hotel more than made up for this.

    Hotel immaculate. Views stunning, location excellent. Short walks to both marina and town centre. Variety of restaurants near to hotel if you don't wish to eat at hotel restuarant. Staff professional and friendly, also very helpful. Grounds of hotel lovely with large pools and no one felt on top,of each other. Would definitely come here again. Loved everything about it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No variety in breakfast.Same fare every day.Baked beans looked as if being out of date.Juices were watery and poor quality. Food that ran out was not replaced.

    Fresh fruits were good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic. There is nothing they could do better.

    We loved every thing about the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were superb.We will definitely return

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    For a normally expensive 5* hotel the booking .com price made it an outstanding bargain and the most amazing breakfast included made it superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserving of sun-beds going unchallenged, Fitness Room only just adequate for a hotel of this standard, Wifi non-operational on pool terrace and balcony

    Marvellous lagoon-style pool terrace, excellent location, very well equipped and comfortable rooms, charming staff, great entertainment

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and restaurant are a bit pricey but the rooms, food, and service are superb.

    We ended up staying here after being abandoned by Easyjet to fend for ourselves. Staff are second to non and the view is to die for..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner could have been better. Pillows not great. Evening menu limited to buffet (themed) or fixed menu. Lots of lovely restaurants within 30 min walk so not a problem for us.

    Room was good, staff too. Good location. Shower brilliant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best hotel we have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cant think of anything!

    Got upgraded to Junior suite on arrival. Staff very friendly. Very quiet. Beds very comfortable. Completely a 5 Star service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks dated

    Staff very good. Hotel pool area lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very good hotel and very friendly staff. Location excellent for both sun and Funchal town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more comfortable smoking areas outside .

    I liked everything about it , particularly the charming , friendly staff .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the pianist who played each morning at breakfast a lovely touch! The breakfast was plentiful and there was always somewhere to sit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and peacful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel on the Atlantic Ocean wth private access to the ocean - not a beach as Madeira don't really do beaches, but stunning!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanlines, old, no reception /bellboy when we reached late at night, the lobby was switched off

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smell humidity and needs renovation. Breakfast not appealing

    Pools, spa, location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool area is lovely and the service around the pool is effortless

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super nice and helpful stuff, very clean all the time, very yummy buffet, highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb resort with excellent staff and facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely hotel, hotel is great! not to fare away from the main strip. but not to close :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed of the cancellation of the Gourmet night until we arrived for it!

    Just felt very comfortable and happy in hotel, great location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Noise from works on nextdoor hotel. The phone kept ringing in the restaurant!

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Suite - Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been nice to have a bistro-type facility in the evening for light/informal meals.

    Excellent accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    far too tired and dated, as is the whole area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only had one meal when arrived. There was a special menu on which we did not want as we were tired. Offered a light meal which was OK but only just OK.

    Room was excellent. Full suite, although only booked a double room. Excellent views. Good atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite an old fashioned concept of luxury. No plugs near the bed so that you can check your email & recharge your mobile in bed. They should change the amenities every night.

    Good bed, great swimming pools & facilities, junior suite with kitchenette, very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a bit dated. It looks better inside than outside. The facade needs some renovation. The staff (door man) is a bit relaxed and won't help you to get off the car and put your luggage out unless you asked for help. The British polish and manners are gradually disappearing. Service is not at the level of 5 stars

    The complex has a very good infrastructure. We enjoyed breakfast and amenities. Booked a suite with small kitchenet. I would give the hotel a strong 4+ on a 5 scale.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Food needs to be addressed here and the staff that serve it look tired and do not smile .. tend to disappear ..It is a shame I think once the elderly clientèle it now has, pass .. this hotel will struggle big time ...They need to cater for the thirty/forty year old's with money .... This hotel needs big money to survive .. "Bit of a morgue"

    The room I was upgraded to was excellent I did pay extra 100 €uro per night and the Location was excellent ...The staff in reception very good as the doorman too

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A 5* with no a la carte menu!!! Very disappointed. Either a set menu or room service. Luckily there are very nice restaurants nearby.

    We were upgraded to a superior suite which was magnificent.It was very clean and in a convenient position.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bads experience

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Our suite was on the 9th Floor it was delightful all the staff was great nothing to much trouble

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every aspect of our stay was a very good experience.

    Quality and sophisticated hotel. Very relaxing.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: