Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Convento dos Capuchos 4 stars

Quinta do Convento de Santo António dos Capuchos, 4950-527 Monção, Portugal

#8 of 13 hotels in Monção

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Convent Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything I didn’t like ,

    We were immediately upgraded as the hotel was only partially full, so we had a nice big room with 2 balconies ,the food was outstanding , and if we were ever close by we would choose to stay there ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Convent Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist. That all the bathroom towel fittings fell off. That Booking.com didn't transmit to the hotel my request for a double bed!

    breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Garden Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast just from 8.00, but they were quite kind and serve because of me at 7.30.

    i have been in new part of hotel (it is in a monastery) so I can not comment the old part of accomodation, and out of main tourist season, so it was peaceful and cozy. nice location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Convent Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    This wonderful hotel has a great pool, beautiful views, nice rooms and a very good breakfast. Stay in the old part of the hotel rather than the annexe if possible. The hotel is just a short stroll from town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an wedding party on the hotel and wasn't possible to sleep until the party was over. Hotel shouldn't do events at the same time they have customers on the rooms.

    Room and building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Garden Wing
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one really spoke English, so dinner was hard to order because of the translation between English and Portuguese. (We did not speak Portuguese). Was not a very good dinner after we finally received food.

    The hotel was very nice, has a nice walking trail and a good pool.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Garden Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Garden Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely garden and appreciated the early breakfast arrangement to suit our early start.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Convent Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water could have been warmer.

    Beautiful location and view from the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Convent Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a stain on the bed-cover, although the sheets were perfectly clean

    Lovely swimming-pool Peaceful location Beautifully converted building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Garden Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Garden Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff do restaurante

    Pisicina e arquitectura do edificio

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing at all!

    the beautiful building and facilities

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Garden Wing
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    exceptional property where the hotel is located . peaceful location with an outdoor pool and bamboo forest

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How is it possible in an expensive hotel it be cold inside the building? We had to wear our coats to move around inside ! Our room gets warmed only after turning on the AC 30 minutes! and this everytime we went to the room. In a hotel that says it is a charm hotel this can not happen !!

    Nice breakfast and beautiful recovery of the building

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little on the expensive side :-)

    Conveniently located near the centre of the town (5 minutes on foot), and only a short drive to Valença and Melgaço. The rooms are both spacious and clean, and the surroundings quiet. Breakfast was good, and included a variety of homemade food, from pancakes (crepes) and cakes to half a dozen different types of jam.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Fabulous place with great staff. All good!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location; old convent very weel adapted to modern hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Service is hot profissional, Special in the Finder room

    localition. Confort. Calm and quiet hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Go and eat dinner elsewhere, unfortunately we did not. Breakfast ok but will not make your day.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful surroundings

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Hotel Convento dos Capuchos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: