Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature 4 stars

Rua de S. Félix, 1125, 4570-345 Póvoa de Varzim, Portugal

#9 of 38 hotels in Póvoa de Varzim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 587 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    A quiet and comfortable hotel with incredible views of the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perched high on a hillside, Sao Felix Hotel provided an outstanding view of the surrounding area and coastline. The hotel is located in a quiet setting away from the hustle and bustle of the city but it was reasonable driving distance for day trips to the historic cities of Braga and Guimaraes. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts offered a good range of hot and cold selections in a lovely dining room with outstanding views. Free parking was available at the hotel and our room was clean and well equipped with comfortable beds, a balcony, good Wifi, a big screen TV, closets for storage, a great walk-in shower and a small fridge. We had a lovely three night stay and enjoyed the peace and tranquility at Sao Felix Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You need a car to get there, but as far as I know hotel can propose shuttle to the airport.

    I love this place! View amazing, bed comfortable, breakfast very good and tasty (eggs, vegetables, fruits, cheese, sausages, ham, bean, tasty bread etc), staff really friendly Big parking, 2 outside pool with great view (unfortunately it was cold outside and we didn't try it) Very calm and nice place, ocean view from the balcony (but ocean is +- 10 min drive) Porto +- 20 min drive Near few supermarkets (Lidl and local) Near pretty good fish restaurant: Restaurante A Cabana -> I recommend it a lot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    What a fabulous experience, especially in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was a little difficult to access and not very clearly signed from the road (we over shot it and came back to it) It was also a little bit tight for space. The check in process was not very hospitable, the gentleman looked at his watch (we were 20 mins early) and sighed and then checked us in.

    The facilities were top notch. The staff were so friendly and went above and beyond with their hospitality. The restaurant served us the most amazing meal in the evening and nothing was too much trouble. The view from the top of the mount was stunning. The lounge area at restaurant level was comfortable and very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful view, and peaceful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent! Beautiful view, rooms with balcony are lovely, staff is amazing, and they keep serving you on the bar many hours past the closing time (24h).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Lovely location, romantic sunsets, good value and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic hillside location with panoramic views all round, just a short drive to the coast and several towns, great pool - even in October - and marvellous sunsets, good breakfast included. Great value (late October) for a quality 4 star Hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    a nice quiet resting place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was a long way down the road on cobbled roads and so a bit bumpy not as near to the coast as we thought but they did have a shuttle bus into town which we took

    it was a really nice quiet place for a few days and would recommend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Stunning view and super friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is amazing. The only problem I had was with the wi-fi that was not very good, but I can't really complain because all the other services have been impeccable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful, restful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning was not very effective and dining room was very hot. Shuttle not always available so needed an expensive taxi for onward travel - no public transport available.

    Swimming area was lovely. Hotel very clean. Enjoyed eating breakfast outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent staff but remote - perfect for relaxation, less so for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Remote location - nothing to do in the vicinity; to get to nearest town (where there isn't much going on anyway) you need to take the shuttle at an extra cost. Getting to Porto itself can take up to an hour by public transport. Games room could do with some board games

    - Excellent staff, went out of their way to accommodate large family with extra beds in rooms - Restaurant has one of the best hotel views I have ever seen - Delicious food, especially the 3-course dinner. Free sparkling wine at breakfast was a nice touch - Very clean and scenic surroundings All in all, my family had a lovely time here and we would love to come back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were impressed from the moment we walked in - the views were absolutely amazing. Excellent service from staff, particularly in restaurant- the Head Waiter was extremely attentive. Reception staff were curtious and helpful. Food in restaurant was good as was breakfast. Our bedroom had fabulous views over the village below and across the city to the sea. This was the best hotel we stayed in during our tour of Portugal - we would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Far away yet near
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool area needs a bit of refurbishing, especially the washrooms

    The views are superb and the common areas inside the property have plenty of space but are very cosy and appealing The location appears to be and feels distant, in the hills, thus you breed the good air and feel the quiet, but the connections to many nearby towns, beaches and other places worth a visit are very easy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have access to water without having to buy it. Some water fountains or coolers where you could fill up during the day would have been handy. Also as we were with teenage boys, who are constantly hungry, somewhere to buy snacks would have been good. That a/c wasn't very effective but you didn't really need as you could open the balcony doors and let in the cool mountain breeze.

    The views were spectacular and we enjoyed the pool area which had plenty of sunbeds, although the weather wasn't great. We ate twice in the restaurant and thought the food was excellent value and the service was impeccable. Overall I would describe it as extremely comfortable and peaceful and the unique setting makes it a special place. I would recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Clean modern functional rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too much isolated. The mosquitoes in the room. Not really sea view as the sea is miles away.

    Clean modern functional rooms. The evening menu for € 23.- was good. Splendid view from the dining room on to the country side.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, nice, peaceful place with splendid relaxing country and seaside views. Brilliant staff who considered our special wish with a great way. Thousand thanks for that!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcoming was not great and my cousin asked for some sort of surprises in the room (since it was our wedding night) but they didn't do anything, didn't even mention it. Also, when we got there we saw some advertised prices that were much cheaper than what we had paid for the night, but it might have been just bad luck.

    We chose this hotel because it was a short ride away from our wedding venue. We stayed for one night only. Breakfast was quite nice, mostly continental, but with soya milk and fresh pastries. We forgot our tooth paste, and the reception sold us one in 2 min.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Warm hearted supporting manager Pedro in exquisite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay in this state of the art charming hotel; warm hearted welcoming manager; refined food, great service, perfect cleanliness ( real must-do/must-see if you travel with your own car) Dining room breathes a true Zen, relaxing but homie atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NONE

    THE STAFF( ESPECIALLY THE OLDER MAN AT THE FRONT DESK) IS SPECIAL MENTION , HE SHOWED US INTO THE ROOMS, WAS VERY FRIENDLY , PERFECT ! THE BREAKFAST WAS GOOD,THE ROOMS CLEAN AND GOOD BEDS , NICE SHOWER , GOOD POOL; 20 MIN FROM THE AIRPORT; ON THE WAY , THERE IS A OUTLET CENTER , GOOD FOR SHOPPING

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Best view in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the hotel is wonderfull. The pool is nice, the hotel rooms have new bathrooms and the reception lady was very nice to us. My wife and I and our 2 sons stayed there one night when walking on the Camino to Santiago. The hotel is placed on a beatiful spot easy reachable on camino feed😀. We will come back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Gorgeous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional hotel - location, staff, restaurant - beyond expectations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location. Nice pool and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t working in the room so there were a few uncomfortable nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful location, great view, excellent dinner, outstanding service, wonderful breakfast. Nice room with view of the city and ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable .... lived up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff throughout the hotel were marvellous and worked to make sure that our stay was the best. I would recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room for 3 people. Extra bed was a sofa bed andwas the room was too small for 3.

    Nice view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was overall alright. Quiet and with great views. Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room views were amazing !! And wish I could go back to enjoy the pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    My favorite place for a romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say.

    The rooms are cosy, the view is amazing and the food really good. Staff is very nice too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Great place, comfy beds, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, comfy beds, excellent breakfast. Clean bathroom. Good value for money. Great view over the sea! I guess all rooms are ocean sided!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Overlooking the hills near Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible WiFi

    Very clean rooms Nice pool side overviewing the hills. Very good breakfast (incl champagne)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    I'll be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Excelent staff Wonderful place Quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Swimming pool, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bathrobes looked dirty. Wifi didn't work at all.

    Swimming pool, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice calm place to Relax in São Felix.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Great View. Great Staff. Modern room. Fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous views. Rooms very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.8
    Peace, quiet & a hint of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited recreation facilities in low season when not warm enough to use pool

    The view; the quality of the food; the peacefulness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Hotel took care of us and fullfilled our wishes with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel took care of us and fullfilled our wishes with a grateful way!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Dramatic hilltop location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing views from our balcony.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great dinner. Marvellous views from the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.3
    Quiet, Renovated rooms, view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit too hard.

    Quiet, Renovated rooms, view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to tell.

    It was a wonderful stay and quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Well recommended to all my friends any family.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Hotel in a ovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and air conditioning were not up to the standards of a 4 star hotel.

    Location. The rooms were quiet and spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    10
    as above - you will see us again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fantastic, the view was awesome definitely coming back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.1
    Pleasant friendly staff, easy to find hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower outlet requires to be able to cope with water inflow. Room temperature was a degree or so less than comfortable.

    Pleasant friendly staff, easy to find hotel in good location.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.6
    Good position but not good in fog
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms very tired and old, breakfast not good no fresh fruit other than melon. Ham etc left in the open for flies from 6 30 til 10 am.Internet very slow

    Good position but not good in fog

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.9
    Very comfortable and tranquil lovely staff location a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us tea making facility would have made our stay perfect

    Very comfortable and tranquil lovely staff location a little remote but shuttle service good

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, and amazing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It would have been better if the hotel supplied free water bottles in each room, plus tea/coffee making facilities. We had to pay for every bottle of water we used, and none were complimentary.

    Friendly staff, and amazing food. The chef asked what we would like to eat, and catered to our needs, with delicious food... Beautiful location, peaceful. Amazing views all round.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    The main receptionist noted that this was a special occasion...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The main receptionist noted that this was a special occasion for us ( our 30th Wedding anniversary ) and went out of her way to make our stay perfect.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    location, food (service), pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms need reno (feel dated), and lots of small attention to details

    location, food (service), pool

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    A really good hotel with friendly staff, ate in the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing, all very good

    A really good hotel with friendly staff, ate in the hotel using set menu and a la carts with no complaints

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Perfectly peaceful, beautiful location, amazing food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfectly peaceful, beautiful location, amazing food, surprisingly cheap drinks

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    la gentillesse du personnel , la situation de l'hôtel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rien

    la gentillesse du personnel , la situation de l'hôtel

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    everthing about the place is great no complaints at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everthing about the place is great no complaints at all

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.2
    confort fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    confort fabulous views

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    7.1
    The pool was a massive hit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great for a short stay but need to drive to go anywhere. Pricey but very nice food.

    The pool was a massive hit.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: