Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sao Joao De Deus 4 stars

Largo São João de Deus, 1, 7350-200 Elvas, Portugal

#10 of 26 hotels in Elvas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1257 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Leaving!

    We stayed in a hotel a little way out of Elvas. and we enjoyed our stay. We wanted to actually stay in Elvas and have the opportunity to explore the city at our leisure. We were not disappointed. The staff were excellent. Spoke excellent English and were very kind and encouraging when we attempted to use the little Portuguese we picked up. Breakfast? Fantastic! And so varied - spoilt for choice most of the time. The restaurant was not open in the evening. We were slightly dismayed when we were told this, and that there were restaurants nearby. We need not have worried. There were 5 within 30 seconds to a minute of a leisurely stroll, serving excellent food and drink. We spent a week and did not get to see all of the sights, so, we have to go back, and to this same hotel. We make no apologies for the length of this review and could say a lot more - the friendliness of the people, the sights etc ... etc ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheerless staff particularly at breakfast. . Coffee machine switched off 20 minutes before end of stated breakfast time and food not replenished after coach parties have left. Inadequate toiletries for 2 people

    Nice historical building in a good location. Good size bedroom and bed. Free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are lots of people with lots of dogs.... and with lots of dogs you get lots of..... mind where you tread.

    The history of the area and military museum. ... absolutely stunning location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant other than breakfast. No bar Mon and Tues. Reception staff were at best uninterested, apart from the youngest member. Could not see out of window for overgrown vegetation Bathroom taps were fitted round the wrong way Toilet flushed red hot water Reported this and two days later were just the same.

    Position. Historic building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not any restaurant or bar facilities at the hotel and there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Interesting 17C building, on the edge of the walled part of the city and a 10 minute walk to the central square where there were a number of cafes. Room was comfortable and the staff helpful. Good parking beside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    We stayed for only one night on our way from Santander to Algarve and found the staff very welcoming and informative and giving us the information of what to see and where to eat in the town. Very large room with modern bathroom which was surprising given the age of the hotel. Real olde worlde Portuguese.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful 17th century convent is a lovely place to stay in Elvas. The enclosed courtyard at Hotel Sao Joao De Deus has well established orange trees and is a pleasant place to sit. The staff member who checked us in was very personable, going out of his way to be helpful. Our room was at the top of the hotel and had a lovely terrace with views over the courtyard to the castle fortifications and beyond. It was very comfortable, clean and spacious. We recommend Hotel Sao Joao De Deus with its easy walk to all attractions in Elvas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor maintained house. Restaurant closed. Did not provide glutenfree bread, and they didn´t replyed to my request about it. Ordered a glas of white wine which they didn´t have!!! Dirty terassfurniture. The minibar had two small bottle of water.

    Beautiful house and terass/garden. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Interior View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the top floor, room 309. Several blocks of rooms have been cleverly built in the huge space below the roof. The only problem is that there were no windows that you could open that didn’t face the outside sitting area (which is, BTW, pretty comfy). These windows were one-way glass but it was a little weird seeing people in the sitting area even if they couldn’t see you. If fresh air is important for you, you might want to put in a special request.

    The hotel is set in a charming old convent that makes up a part of the city walls, one of the most interesting buildings in Elvas! The garden is lovely and the communal areas are often furnished with antiques and interesting implements of the past. The staff was friendly and/or professional. The location is excellent, only a short walk to the most of the historic points of interest except for the Forte de Nossa Senhora da Graca which was unfortunately closed for renovation when we were there. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the room was spacious. Heating worked well. Good secure parking without extra charge. The buffet breakfast was good, maybe lacking a bit in fresh fruit. The dining area was charming and you had the option of taking your breakfast outside in the patio, weather permitting. The restaurant wasn’t open in the evening but we can highly recommend the Restaurante Adega Regional in the Rua de Joao Casqueiro, a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Good food, big portions, friendly staff. The steak was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hotel that appears "unloved": friendly staff, great potential - it could be a great hotel with some additional touches, training and thoughts.

    Great location inside the city walls.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low season, few clients and we stayed in a room,that has nothing to do with the brochure photos. Only 1 bedside table. When we arrived, cold February night, the window was open!!! In the morning the water for the shower was cold. Breakfast not for a 4 star standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing we didn't like.

    last stayed here 5 years ago, seems to have had a makeover since then everywhere was clean and tidy and smelled really nice. room was a good size, big bed, nice bathroom, heating worked ok, all nice and clean. breakfast was good, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, healthy options as well, tea and coffee. good free parking. a nice stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Interior View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an interior room without window to the outside, but we also got a very good price deal.

    We loved the classic and tasteful decoration, the croissant and pain au chocolat of the breakfast, the rooftop with a view, a garden and a pool, and the staff was very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We can't think of anything we didn't like.

    This hotel is a real find! It is a beautiful building, an old convent set into the city walls, and is quite amazing - full of character, quirky nooks and crannies, hidden terraces, antique furniture, etc. Our room was spacious and very well appointed - large comfortable bed, separate lounge area, and big bathroom with Jacuzzi bath. We were there in December, and the aircon in the room was efficient and warm, plus an extra heater had also been supplied. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The location couldn't be better, being right next to the historic areas of the town. One hundred percent recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst thing about the hotel is the thinner-than-paper-thin walls. I could understand my neighbor's phone conversation next door - especially his call at 1:30am. It was as if we were in the same room. (I'm a frequent traveler so I always have earplugs but even they didn't help this time.) I heard his every cough, sigh, snort, and other noises with his partner -- thank goodness it seemed to be a "quiet" evening for them. I could also hear all the people in the hall as they arrived. If you stay here, ask for a room with no one next to you. I avoided the included breakfast as all reviews said it was less than good.

    Hotel is a fantastic location, just inside the old city walls -- an easy walk to all sites, restaurants and shops. Parking is very difficult inside the old city walls so it's great to have onsite parking. It's a quirky place as an historic building, with rooms scattered around the space -- mine was one of 2 rooms up a half flight of stairs after the elevator. My room also had a large terrace overlooking the Alentejo country side and hotel pools. Would have been nice to have a glass of wine or a coffee -- but there wasn't any available service when I checked in, nor before I left to go find dinner. Also, it went down to zero degrees that night but the room was cozy-warm from central heat! A luxury in Portugal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. WiFi not good in room, very weak signal and could not connect. Had to go out of room into the hall way and use internet. 2. Difficult to regulate AC, was always warm in the room. 3. Bar and restaurant were both closed, so had to leave hotel whenever you wanted to have dinner. 4. I had a ground floor room, #102, and it was very noisy from the room above, people moving chairs around, etc. At 4 a.m. also group of people sitting out front of my room, talking loudly (Chinese group) and I had to tell them to be quiet, but then unable to get back to sleep.

    Check-in staff was excellent, very helpful. Breakfast was wonderul, big buffet with eggs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn't open on the day we stayed.

    The hotel was an oasis from the very hot weather. It is a characterfull old hotel with a lovely mature courtyard with plenty of trees for shade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Outstanding hotel: good sized, clean, comfortable, air-conditioned rooms; secure parking (motorcycles in the central courtyard); very helpful, English-speaking staff; good breakfast; and ideal for exploring the town. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Interior View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was really nice--no complaints!

    The rooms are huge with comfortable beds. The bathroom is big, beautiful and very clean. The parking is on site and very convenient. Breakfast was good with lots of options. Interesting history about the site!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one plug in room near refrigerator. Need more for electronics. No wifi in room; had to go to lobby to use - there it was very fast.

    Beautiful, large room. Good breakfast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage. Elevator. Secure parking, refrigerator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel largely because of the pool but when we turned up were told that it was closed. This was not advertised on the website and was a real disappointment, especially as temperatures were still in the low 30's. The reception staff apologised but just said that the owner had contacted them and told them to close the pool.

    Lovely hotel in beautiful old building which appears to be built into the old town walls. Huge, comfy bed, spacious bathroom. We had our own private terrace, which was lovely. Everything spotlessly clean. Fantastic breakfast which could be taken in one of several dining rooms or outside on the patio. Check- in was efficient and easy (if a little frosty). Free onsite parking was available. Also have a large outside patio area which would be lovely to sit out in under the shade of the trees. Unfortunately, we only had one night here, so didn't really have the time to sit about, but it would be a very nice area to relax in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark.

    Hotel is a former military hospital with a pousada-like classical atmosphere. Our room was very quiet with a balcony overlooking fortifications and the interior garden of the complex. Our room was large and quiet because it was on the rear side. Maybe rooms on the front side could suffer from traffic noise. Breakfast was good. Ample on site parking facilities. Receptionists were very helpful and helped us bring our suitcases to our room 😀 as the elevator did not reach our floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in the bedroom was not good for nighttime reading, but not a deal breaker

    ideal as a one night stopover, an interesting building with great views over the country, a good breakfast and plenty of hot water. Our second stay and will use it again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool and surround old and in need of repair. Tiled floors in two of the rooms were old and damaged. Car damaged in the parking area and no CCTV examined as requested.

    Breakfast was very good. Position on the fortified wall is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the rooms downstairs (bad smell)

    Balcony with amazing view, very large garden with very nice places to sit in the shade, swimming pool, close to the centre with very good restaurants. We enjoyed our stay very much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The4 breakfast could have been better.

    We were travelling to Madrid from the Algarve and this was the perfect half way stop over. The hotel is located in the old centre of Elvas and has safe parking. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was not available contrary to what we were informed by booking.com. Front desk personnel was not friendly at check in. Terrible experience at a 4 star property. It should be down rated to 2 star.

    Location and views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like apart from the fact that the hotel for some reason did not serve evening meals which we thought was an opportunity missed. Also there was a lobby bar which never seemed to be open. What could have been nicer than sitting in the lovely courtyard surrounded by lemon and orange trees and other beautiful plants with a nice cold drink in front of you. I am sure if we had asked for drinks we could have been served them.

    The hotel is very old but this is what you would expect in Elvas. The staff were friendly and we liked the fact the car park had a barrier so vehicles were parked safely and we could park our motorcycle in the courtyard. We had a huge room and although our booking form said balcony/terrace it was so hot in Elvas that we would not have ventured out there anyway! We loved the air conditioning which was a must at that time. The bathroom was large and we had a corner bath. I was excited to see it was a whirlpool type but sadly it did not work. There was a huge choice at breakfast which was taken in several rooms with lovely featured vaulted ceilings. Some visitors took their breakfast outside and ate in the courtyard. The gardens are beautiful and it has a very nice swimming pool. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Interior View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room window opened on an internal corridor....I wouldn't have chosen this hotel if I knew.

    It was clean, with a parking, close to the town center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Interior View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative, loved the place.

    Fabulous old convent, 400 years old. Beautiful room off a sitting room which was like having our own sitting room ensuite. There was an eclipse mix of furnishings, old antique pieces mixed with some Art Deco and combined with excellent taste. This was our favourite accommodation in our two week trip around Portugal. It is conveniently located near Marvao and Castelo de Vide and there are the ruins of an ancient Roman city nearby. Definitely worth staying here for a few days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing all good

    Location, room large, staff excellent breakfast very good as was the bar. Elvas is a top place to visit far from the typical overcrowded tourist joint. The local restaurants were some of the best we have had on our extended trip and great value. The pink gin at the hotel bar was just unbelievable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address and GPS coordinates are wrong in the booking site, as it will guide you to the village about 15 km away. As noted, the Hotel is located in Elvas.

    Localised on the city wall. Rather calm, despite that it accommodates a large number of guests. It is an old convent, so staying there is like a historical experience itself.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet breakfast was a low point.

    Wonderful historical property. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and large with separate sitting room and very large bathroom. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was almost non-existent even though it was advertised as being in rooms it was not available. I found a brief connection in a corner of the reception area.

    The room was spacious. Parking was available right at the hotel. Location was good for sightseeing. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    One of the best hotels I have stayed at. Superb location in the old walled town of Elvas. Very friendly, welcoming staff. Excellent room and bathroom. Possibly the best ever secure parking for my motorbike in the walled garden under the orange trees!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff offhand and unhelpful. We arrived to check in before 2pm, to be told simply to come back later! No one smiled or asked if we had enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was really poor, with tinned fruit, dreadful coffee, and no staff to be seen, to clear away dishes, replenish food etc. Our previous hotel in Lisbon had brilliant staff, who could not have been more helpful and friendly. A really poor experience, which I put down simply to non-existent or appalling management.

    Super location. Wonderful surroundings. Well maintained hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air condition (cold). Because the boss was allegedly too cheap to turn it on. So the room was boiling. Had to sleep with window opened with mosquitoes coming in. There were no fans available to solve the issue.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Avoid rooms 337 and 209, the bathrooms were designed by someone would never have to use them! It was a squeeze between the bidet and sink and shaving had to be carried out at an angle rather than in front of the centre of the sink. The bathroom is narrow and tapering, you could hit your knuckles on the wall when drying after a shower! A refrigerator in the room but nowhere for it to be plugged in. Hotel inspector obviously did not stay in 337 or 209!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of a lift - we stayed on the second floor, so there was quite a few steps. The smell of the rooms - both the rooms (340 and 337) had a damp smell, but considering the age of the property and the time of year we stayed, I felt it was to be expected. We solved the problem by keeping our windows open. The bathroom in room 337 was a bit tricky to move around - the toilet, bidet and bath were a bit hard to access because of the narrow passage from the basin and the basin top. Small option of TV channels - mainly spanish channels, with no subtitles. Very few other international options.

    The king sized bed. The jacuzzi in our bathroom (bedroom 340) and the size of the room (over 30 m2). Very central location. Private parking area, with no extra cost. Good air conditioning. The old fort feel about the whole hotel. The many varandas and the big patio with lemon and orange trees for shade, all with seating. The 2 outdoor swimming pools, on the first floor level, surrounded by grass, with trees and bolt holes with views. The swimming pools were not in use when I stayed, but looked inviting for the summer months. A good breakfast with a varied selection: fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, fresh bread, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, homemade cake, croissants, fruit juices (packet). Quaint restaurant area, with 3 different areas, plenty of seating places and options in terms of privacy and level of sunshine in each room. The fridge in the bedroom. The reception staff were really nice - I had booked 2 double rooms and ended up, at the last minute, only needing a double and a single room, and they accomodated my needs and changed the rooms (and the price) accordingly. Excellent wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet on the floor

    Great location and nice large room. Great value for money. Very comfy bed. Excellent breakfast. Well recommended and would certainly stay there again if visiting Elvas.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs were not very good and the sausages were terrible for being in pork country.

    The room with terrific terrace and great bed and furnishings. Nice grounds and excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a 17th century military hospital originally run by a religious order - it is placed within the old city walls. Not a pousada but the next best thing. Actually, the city wall is now the garden wall offering great views of the surroundings from a walk running along its top. It is certainly the best choice if you want to spend some time exploring Elvas and the region - large rooms, comfortable beds, great bathroom with a jacuzzi, large parking right next to the hotel, nice breakfast - all of which is offered in a building almost 400 years old (but adopted to the needs of a modern traveller!). If you come by car - you can't park in front of the hotel so pass by the entrance, drive into the tunel, turn right as you exit the tunel, drive into the hotel parking, and then you can get inside through a side entrance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just the room size if i wanted to be picky. There really isn't anything to complain about.

    Staff was really sympathetic and helpful, room was small but comfortable and cozy. Overall very clean and likable. Breakfast was our normal Portuguese breakfast with a good variety.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not exactly what we expected from a 4 star hotel. Lack of power outlets to charge mobiles and tablets etc. We mentioned this at check-out and were told we could have asked for an extension lead. Would I really want to add to the load of the single socket which I discovered behind the fridge with one spare slot in a 3-way adaptor? Very noisy rooms, we could hear everything from adjacent bathroom, talking, coughing, sneezing etc. The same in the bedroom, mobile phones ringing and the subsequent conversation could be heard word for word.

    Ideal for visiting Elvas old town. The public areas were well appointed. Nearby restaurant, Girassol, in Rua de Evora, street opposite hotel entrance, served great homecooked meals with a well priced tourist menu.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A compressor was running off and on outside throughout the night. It bothered my husband who is a light sleeper, but it didnt bother me at all.

    Great location. Walk to center city. and restaurants. Helpful staff. Free parking available!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions! When you type in the address provided you will never get there......

    A great hotel with lots of character. Within the walls of an old city one does not expect a large court yard and a garden with swimming pool (and view!). The staff is very helpful. There is also plenty of private parking space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited service - no restaurant or bar food/snacks. Very small unwelcoming bar. Just a b&b really.

    Fabulous building and location. Comfortable bed, great bathroom, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of restaurant for evening meal, however there are a number of restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Location for exploring the town on foot or the surrounding areas. Night reception man very knowledgeable regarding the town and its history. Swimming pool area and views from this over the town. Excellent secure parking for the motorcycles in a courtyard that was secured at night. Good breakfast selection. Large characterful room with a large bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fault from my view as it is within the old fortified city where there are many restaurants, but some might find the lack of a restaurant for dinner a problem.

    This hotel has a great atmosphere of serenity, so much so that within half an hour of arrival we managed to book a second night. From the shady courtyard to the pool and garden area everything was very clean and well maintained. Inside magnificent furniture and lots of old world charm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi only worked in the lobby. Not sure what the problem was.

    Beautiful hotel, an old building thoughtfully converted and preserved .... just amazing. Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was very nice. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key cards were temperamental. The bar service was poor and one of the staff members was very unfriendly. The daytime reception gentleman was wonderful. Very informative and helpful.

    The breakfast was adequate although the fruit was not cut fresh. The coffee seemed instant. But unsure

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At least one of the 4 stars has fallen. Our room was small, though with a terrace. Many of the other rooms had no view at all. Fridge did not work. Pool dirty (and "temporary" closed).

    Breakfast all right, but not a 4 star breakfast. Good and relatively big bed. Well situated place in Elvas.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed disinterested. No help with luggage

    Amazing historic building. Fantastic views. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good size rooms. Excellent position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacks momentum. It is lacking in vitality

    Location Wonderful position and gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed.

    Large room. Breakfast included. Good wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fire alarm fired during the night ... again

    Old convent, large room, walking through the building, garden, location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The historic atmosphere of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent. Within a short walk of all historic points of interest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The while place was beautiful. The staff were extra friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building very vice

    Bed comfortable clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rug to cover broken tiles on the floor of the room.

    Large room and bathroom. Building and garden in general, location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is nice, but we got a room which locates in the middle of the hall without fan in the toilet and cable of tv doesn’t work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention really.

    The room had an incredible view and was very comfortable. The hotel is well-located and in a quiet area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice all along

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place and under the olive and orange trees out the back

    Absolutely beautiful place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t one thing that we did not like

    The hotel was amazing and the location simply could not have been better for us. We loved it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Interior View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Intrusive church bells (not well tuned). Hotel difficult to find.

    Pleasant staff, working very hard. Wine list good, food ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Interior View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel and surroundings

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a huge disappointment.

    The swimming pool although the water quality was not great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hotel with history, many room and corridors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel says barton open to midnight but was shut. Couldnt Get any drinks either.

    The balcony and pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming, cozy, good taste everywhere. Beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: