Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sao Jose 3 stars

Rua Da Alegria, 172, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-034 Porto, Portugal

#124 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2804 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Good cost-benefit choice at Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattres was too hard and breakfast there are no fresh fruits. There was no parking lot.

    The staff was really helpfull for some directions of the city Bedroom and bathroom overall were spacious and quiet. The location was walking distance to the main spots of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Worst Booking.com experience ever..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel, very small room, the baf was so squeaky, that I would wake up at night from one side to another. Only bathroom was OK. The price/performance was really low... wouldn’t recommend.

    Great location, easy to arrive, easy connection to Metro, easy to reach the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and too old.

    Location. In the street there was a vegan restaurant, a laundromat and a motorbike hire store all of which made my stay more convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, very central - decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While comfortable, the decor and interiors could be improved/renovated.

    The hotel is located a two minute walk from Rua Catarina - a shopping hub with paid parking facilities next door. it is around a 15-20 minute walk from the Ribeira with many sites within a 5-10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the room was a little dim. No sound isolation, awakened by some clients walking and talking in the hallway late at night and very early in the morning. Maybe they should remind the clients to keep their voice down. I suggest using earplugs.

    The hotel was old but very clean. Near the Bolhao station (where you can take the subway directly to the airport) and the Sao Bento train station. You can walk to everywhere, the center, Luis I Bridge, Douro river, etc..breakfast was all the same every day but good enough for a 3 star hotel. Beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    It was comfortable. It was easy to walk to the city centre and there were many local shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was fantastic. It was easy to walk to the city centre and there were many local cafes around. When I moved to another accommodation to join my friends, we kept returning to the area to eat and shop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location & good staff but hotel needs an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dark and very old brown furniture.Car park very difficult to get in especially if you have a low sports car which we had,going in &out we bottomed out & have done some damage having paid 15 euros for the privilege ,no roadside parking available

    Location and staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was more of a Continental. Nothing substantial. Would have appreciated some eggs and ham. Something of that sort.

    The room was nice and clean well appointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there were eggs, omelet for breakfast :) and a kettle a room to have evening hot tea after Porto rains :)

    Close to main points in Porto, friendly staff. It was so nice receptionist let me to check in 2 hours before after my late night flight. Many thanks to her!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Solid 3 start hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was terrible. It could definitely use either a new mattress or at least a pillow topper.

    The room was spacious, everything was clean and true to the pictures posted, breakfast was a decent continental affair, the staff was friendly. Pretty central location — close to the pedestrian shopping center and a little bit farther from the river than I anticipated, but easily walkable if you don't mind hills. Lots of great restaurants around. Good for a couple nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Like a home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee- too weak!

    Nice breakfast, very helpful staff, great location, well-priced, good restaurants nearby, shopping very close, all attractions within easy walking distance, bus station 10 minute walk, Murco do Porto restaurant very good value on Rua Alegria

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lumpiest pillow I have ever slept on including the horse hair era. No fridge or kettle in room.

    Very good location. Refurbished room with excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent position but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first glance the inside of the hotel initially looked disappointing as it is a little shabby and is undergoing a renovation. However, the delux rooms do have what is advertised but fixtures are older. Remember that double beds are small (1.5m) so you are better off going for a twin room (2x 1.3m) and they have a lot more space for cases. Delux room are the only ones with baths. Although we were generally comfortable, the sheets on the beds were too small and tended to come untucked during the night and the bathrooms needed a much more thorough cleaning as there was mould in the grouting around the bath. There is a bar downstairs but no toilet facilities at present so tou have to up to your room. The hotel caters for coach holidays and so there are times when reception is very busy so give yourself time for checkouts.

    Overall we had a wonderful stay at the hotel as it is in an excellent position for many of the historic and cultural sites. Within minutes of walking, you can get to independent restaurants as well as 2 modern shopping malls, one with an excellent food hall so it is good for those on a budget as well as those who can afford to splash out. The staff are very helpful but not all speak fluent English. The reception can book you onto a wide variety of trips and excursions which will pick up and drop off right outside the hotel. They will also organise taxis and transfers to airports etc. Breakfast is continental style but there is a good selection. The breakfast hall gets busy between 8:30-9am so it is best to go early or later. The local area has excellent shopping and there is a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it very much but a little bit too far from the river .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strange noise during the night not too sure what it was , the lift ? As we were quite near to it. Or even the metro ???

    Pleasant and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Well located hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Real twin beds on upper floor would have been better.

    Helpful staff. We wanted a high floor for quietness and twin beds. As this was not available, the staff were happy to put a twin mattress on the floor beside the double bed. This worked well. Very good location, able to walk to everything, nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.6
    I should have done more research before booking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior was uninviting, the entry was dirty with dead plants in the lobby, the room was dark with at least 3 lamps not working, the bathroom was dirty with threadbare towels, and they charged 4-star prices for what should have been a 1-star or no-star hotel. And, it appeared they were doing some badly needed renovations that started at 7:30 in the morning.

    We didn’t like much about this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Good and affordable place to stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our initial room was not ready as expected, also, cleaners missed washing the shower head holder. Found some mold on it.

    Friendly staff, good continental breakfast and easy and accessible hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, now part of the good memories of Porto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lighting in the room was a bit dim.

    We picked this hotel as it seemed like value for money and was located strategically between Campahna Station, the old town and had a Metro station very near by. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were quiet, clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast great and plentiful. Coffee coud be improved, however that was easily solved by making the first stop a coffee shop up the road for a "Duplo com pasteis" to get in to the swing of the day and a "planning session". An easy eat out option was St Catarina's food court just 20 m (60 ft) down the hill across the road. Many eateries down St Catherine Ave near Batalha. We had a great time and would re book in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Like a home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great, staff were very helpful, shuttle service was a taxi, but the driver was good and on time! The location is within easy walking distance of the main attractions! Good restaurants nearby!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough things in bathroom,shampoo,lotio,haircup

    Good breakfast Bathroom clean but needs little renovation Comfortable bed and room Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    The location is really central, and once you are there you...
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting something nice and classic. I found something old and which was not reaching the 2018 standards. Unfortunately the first night, the city were changing the asphalt on the street and all the building was shacking all night long...

    The location is really central, and once you are there you can reach the main points walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    A bit disappointed given some of the reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given an inferior room than the one booked. Moved when complained. Plumbing work going on but not informed and only found out when a brown sludge came out of the shower and basin. The decor and furniture is aged and the bed creaked and groaned with every turn. They advertise an airport shuttle but don't actually have one. They did arrange a taxi.

    Good location, reasonable continental breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Tranquil stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had bad time sleeping, bed was hard and it take a little to get cozy sleeping there (back problems here, so this is very personal opinion). I would not suggest it for young people, unless they look for cheap stay. We took a room for two, with wardrobe not very big (even though we didn't need too much)

    Close to the subway station. The staff was friendly and breakfast was simple but good and tasty. Good place for disconnection from every-day devices (only two plugs in the room)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is perfect, the rooms are large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was booked this hotel, because it declared that has a parking available. When I went, the staffs said me that they never have parking and they don`t help me. I was with minibus and was not easy to cross the street in searching of public parking. Finally, there was the big and empty parking very close to the hotel, so I think the staff could be reserved places there or tell to their visitors about that.

    The location is perfect, the rooms are large and clean. The breakfast is average.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    As expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No "free toiletries" as advertised. Basic breakfast only. Poor wifi in the room, however a better cover in the lobby.

    Good location, close to metro and public transport, however you can reach the center by foot. Quiet room (although window looking to the street). Friendly staff. Good choice of TV channels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location in the centre, fine to stay for 2 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking. The room was old, bathroom was not very clean. The view from the window was also not very interesting. Overally, the room interior was too old

    Location was good. Some staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a room with a balcony ,but did not have one. They advertised toiletries, but all that was there were towels and soap dispensers. We felt that as the in a hotel towels are a standard part of the service toiletry would have described it better.

    Bed was fine Staff were pleasant and helpful. Location was very good with easy access to the metro, buses and shopping. There was a lift which is very important for the elderly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard and the room smelt smoky.

    Great location as it was walking distance to all the city highlights and close to the Metro. Clean room and was serviced daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money and not comfortable at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels best time was 30 years ago. Too expensive, we had much better hotels for less money. Bath room old and overused, beds and cushions are very hard, you get pain in the morning after a night. Renovation going on, noisy, parking occupied.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Central, but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some renovations going on, so lots of banging / drilling noises during the day. It would have been helpful to have been warned.

    We had a lovely room - very spacious, but quite dark. The check in was good and the room was ready several hours ahead of time. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Location close to Metro and not far away from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky bed in our room. Breakfast with very limited choice, nothing warm to eat served during breakfast.

    Location close to Metro and not far away from city center. Perfect to visit the city. Fruits for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of fresh paint. I got a headache at some point.

    Great location! Fabulous rooms, freshly renovated! I paid around 40 euro and did not expect to have such a nice and cozy room. The breakfast was very good. I stayed in various hotels in Porto and so far this was my best pick. It was a good deal!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Very nice. The hotel was spotless. The staff were friendly and not "in your face".
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facility in the room would have been nice. More choice of cold cuts and cheese for breakfast.

    Very close to Metro and city centre. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Would definitely come again and hopefully see the fig liqueur process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely staff, very helpful and informative with everything. Bed was super comfortable with plenty of length. Breakfast superb with a lovely touch of homemade chocolate cake. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    24 hour reception with smiling staff and the proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The insulation between the rooms is not great, we could hear the couple next door talking until 23, luckily they decided to go to bed before midnight.

    24 hour reception with smiling staff and the proximity to main shopping street and Sao Bento was perfect. The style resembles the Spanish hotels in Malaga, quite spacious and feels like 80s. The bathroom was very clean and large with a bath. The bed was comfortable, if you are taller than 185 it could be a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    * great location - close to tourist attractions, metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    * breakfast - it wasn't bad in overall but it was very simplistic, there was little to choose from. And it was the same everyday

    * great location - close to tourist attractions, metro station, shopping mall and Bolhão Market * very polite and helpful staff * room was quite comfortable and much bigger than we expected

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    Hotel staff very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel clearly advertised 24 hour reception but we had to wait a long time to be let in one night with no buzzer, etc. It also clearly advertises light meals were available 24 hours a day but when we asked about this at 3am we were told in no uncertain terms that no food was available. Loud drilling and lots of phones ringing also disturbed our sleep.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is well located near restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed that the breakfast was ‘first come first served’. On the first day we went around 9:30 and we thought we came too late as there weren’t much food left. Next day we went earlier but the same thing happened I asked the attendant if she could bring cakes, as there was none left, and she said that unfortunately they had finished, this was around 8:30 and many other guests came after this. I am no fan of food waste but at the same time I would expect them to provide enough food for their guests.

    Hotel is well located near restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    Ok stay with some unpleasant surprises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Started with the beds, I requested a double bed and got a twin bed that can’t be put together. That was not good at all to a couple. The bed mattress was comfortable though. The parking lot, gosh, that one is tight! If I were warned about that, I would never put my car in there. It takes so much work doing the manoeuvres inside the parking lot that you can’t take the car out every time you want. The rooms have terrible sound isolation; I can hear everything from the neighbours to the hallways. Breakfast, which was simple, could be included. I do not recommend paying. There are some bakeries around that you can have a better breakfast.

    The location is indeed good, walking distance of some amenities and touristic attractions. Old but good, well-maintained property. Everything works in the room, that had a good area and a good bathroom. The breakfast was good but not included in the room value thought.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel+ good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been cleaner. One of the electric switches did not work. The window did not entirely close. I.e. The client before me had defintiely forced the handle and the cleaning staff had not noticed.

    Location and helpfull staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    A good, low-priced hotel for a weekend in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small and the electricity failed twice (due to the Christmas lights we were told).

    Cheap, good location for the main tourist areas, and only €1.99 via metro to the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    Good Location , staff good , but we would not stay there again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the beds were to hard , did not sleep well at all , also the bedding was not up to standard , no tea making facilities , and the bath was a bit tatty/dirty and we did not use it .

    Good location , staff very helpful , very good breakfast .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.1
    Well located. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and definitely needs some upgrade. The bathroom was not well cleaned. The floor and the shower head were dirty. From our genius benefits we requested for an early check-in. Although we got an email that this is due to room availability during the check in, we had never waited again at other hotels that we visited. So we left our luggages with others behind the reception desk and wander around for one and a half hour. Fortunately, the hotel is so close to places where you can eat, or if you want you can just walk to the central market.

    Close to the city center and everything you want to see by walking distance. Really close to bus and metro station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value for money-staff kindness to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff approach before our arrival since they were giving wrong replies in our emails and the blond lady at the reception who was trying to be kind but actually we were feeling that we interrupt her!

    The location and the beds comfort

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unfortunate the day we arrived a mains water burst outside the hotel which meant no hot water but this was out of their control .

    The staff were very helpful and friendly . A comfortable stay .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for two days, problems with the pipes. No indoor parking because on works, but one pretty close at a shopping center. No hot dishes at breakfast.

    Location, Staff super kind, cleaness, price very competitive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    One of my best trips fabt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travled here with my dad for his surprise birthday,the staff were excellent very friendly and helpful, the location was fantastic will definitely be returning to this hotel they made it a perfect stay. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Hotel staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too hard.

    Hotel staff was very friendly. Distance to all attractive places was short. Breakfast was good. Hotel parking was a bit tight but deasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    The reception lady was speaking English very well and was very helpful. The room was clean but could
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception lady was speaking English very well and was very helpful. The room was clean but could use some refurbishment as well as the bathroom. Beds were clean but extremely hard. Breakfast was fair but could use some vegies and fruit, eggs would be nice. Paid parking was nearby. Very good location for exploring the city. 5 min walk from the main market and other atractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for one night stopover and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little tired, needs upgrading.

    Very convenient and economic stop over. The room was a little small and dark but for one night it’s not a problem. Very close to shopping area and artistic quarter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location which close to shopping malls and metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noise when other guests next door talked loudly in their rooms and cars passed by on the streets

    Great location which close to shopping malls and metro station and helpful receptionists :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Shower had good pressure, staff was friendly, enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a hole in the wall, the room seems to be in need of renovation, the tv was from 1990.

    Shower had good pressure, staff was friendly, enough facilities for a good stay, the location is well located near the bus terminal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel despite dated appearance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated appearance outside & in. Uncomfortable bed. Breakfast buffet not very good.

    Clean,friendly, good location for shops & not far from Douro waterfront.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Normal hotel with super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not very clean really, with hairs on the floor; the bathroom was too small.

    The location is brilliant, you will never find better in Porto, staff in the reception is very helpful and friendly; breakfast was normal for us. you can easily remove your luggage with elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    The Breakfast was very good, everything was fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view. Was very poor. The noise. We could hear everything, even the guy on the next room getting sick.

    The Breakfast was very good, everything was fresh. Typical continental breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was nice and clean though the bed was very hard!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was nice and clean though the bed was very hard! I spent more time exploring the city than in the room so it was ok. The location was nice and it was easy to get around & the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff were freindly, and our stay was enjoyable, we will stay again next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the bathroom, it was small and very old and outdated, needs to be renovated and updated

    Breakfast was really good, we all enjoyed it very much, a very good selection The bedroom was also comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    It is a very old hotel, but for the price we paid I don't believe we could have expected more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator broke down with us in it. We were stuck in it for about 15 minutes. Communication from staff was not great (shouting up stairs), but mostly disappointed that they did no follow up after to check we were ok. On exiting lift, with engineer standing on top of the lift to manually release the doors, there were no employees present to help us climb up and out. I would have at least expected a knock on the door to say "sorry", or a note from the manager.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    the bed was super stiff, and made noises everythime you turn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was super stiff, and made noises everythime you turn, I would literlly wake up in the middle of the night cause of the loud sound. Room was ok, although bathroom was old and not nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Porto 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the corner with a pretty busy junction below- but this was only a problem at rush hour.

    I liked area in terms of the facilities and location close but not too close to everything. Would of preferred a double bed but that's a minor point. The staff were all fantastic and helpful, the breakfast was great and it was super clean. We used Uber quite a lot (first time for us) and would highly recommend though not sure how much cheaper it actually is than registered cabs. It's a very affordable interesting and exciting unassuming city with l lots of history. I would highly recommend Porto Walkers for a free excellent guided tour of the city. Thank you for a great stay. Marie and family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Beds were very comfortable, air conditioning really worked,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was a bit old. Cards to open the rooms got inactivated now and then

    Beds were very comfortable, air conditioning really worked, the triple room had three proper beds and enough space for three people, and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel, great location and friendly staff at cheap price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not everyone at the reception speaks English that well, but they make up for it by being very nice people. Scary balcony.

    Location superb. Super friendly staff. Ac unit works great! And all of that for a very decent price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Popped into Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very stroppy. Ive stayed here before because of the underground car park and each time they have tried to add money onto the bill for strange reasons. Will find somewhere else next time.

    Location and underground carpark

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    A convenient hotel for Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were rock hard, so the night's sleep wasn't as good as we had hoped.

    It was an easy walk down to the river. The man at reception recommended good restaurants and also sorted out a half day trip with port tasting, which was excellent. The city has a good bus service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    An ok hotel if you want to go cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable and very noisy each time one turned around... The pillows were very old and lumpy

    It was conveniently located close to the metro and within walking distance from the Luis I bridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    The stuff was very friendly and changed the room due to too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was very narrow and generally very noisy by every movement.

    The stuff was very friendly and changed the room due to too small double bed.The location was very central, close to Bolhao metro station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    3.8
    Sadly, not as good a visit as my first one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (111) was dingy and had not been cleaned properly. The TV was old and hard to use. The room looked out on a wall and a fire escape. The bathroom was a disgrace. It was old and tired and the shower was awful - was in desperate need of a refurb. Having had a lovely stay a few days before in a beautiful room (210) with a fabulous bathroom, I was terribly disappointed and would not have chosen to return had this been the first room that I stayed in. Shame.

    The location is good and the staff generally friendly. This was my second visit in a week and I rated the first one with a 9. Unfortunately, I was not able to do the same with this visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem and I parked a couple of blocks away at a cost of about £12 a day

    Lovely spacious room with beautiful bathroom and excellent TV. Slept very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    2.9
    DURTY , UNCONFORTABLE BED
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not comfortable at all. The toilets wall was very dirty and I have a pictures to show. The vision from the bedroom was incredible bad . The television was from 1960 and the hairdryer very very old. The breakfast for 7.50 euro was terrible and not enough choices . I am very disappointed especially because I have book my hotel trusting BOOKING.COM

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Everything was reasonably good except for intentional charge for the product which we had not used.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Strange enough but we were asked to pay for a bottle of water from the bar which we had not taken on 20 June, as if taken at about 10.0 p.m. This puts a black spot on the administrative issues.

    I liked my stay in Porto , in general, thus, I liked the comfort offered which was very good for the money paid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.3
    Not bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little scruffy in the bathroom

    Breakfast was very basic, but fresh, and generally ok. The hotel put me in a mediocre twin room for the first night, even though I hd booked a double. They moved me to a double for the second night, which was much nicer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location but watch the beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds & pillows need attention. The owners should sleep in the beds to figure out that they need to do something. I sleep anywhere cars, busses, trains, not planes ( oddly) so not fussy! But the beds -waking up through the night to find a better position & it took me awhile when waking - 10 minutes - to get myself back to normal. So while not catastrophic was not the norm!

    The location was great. The staff are what make this place special. Well done to everyone! We needed copies made for future bookings & the service was great. Loved that we could walk to so many places & a late night stroll for these seniors was stress free & fun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were awful. As hard as board and very lumpy pillows. Poor sound proofing as our room was right by the lift.

    Breakfast was good. Location excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Not Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast. Not great and the breakfast room is rather bleak I am afraid.

    We had booked a Superior Double which was very comfortable. The hotel could perhaps do with some updating. Resting on it's laurels a bit we feel. The check in staff were very good, but after that staff were a little uninterested. The hotel served a purpose for us, was clean, spacious and the location wasn't too bad. Air conditioner worked well - which was good as it is a noisy location during the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Pleasant stay in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and shower not very clean. This could've been better. Property is also a little loud.

    Lovely little coffee shop near by and easy to get to metro and city centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Sao Jose traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: