Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sao Rafael Suites - All Inclusive 5 stars

Sesmarias, 8200-613 Albufeira, Portugal

#47 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was on our last night there were tiny little flies on the walls of bedroom and in the bathroom which staff sorted problem Immediately and moved us to another room which was enormous like a big apartment The Gastro restaurant was ok but maybe don’t serve baked beans and coleslaw with pork loin and mash bit like a child’s meal choices were good for starters Didn’t really like the lemon meringue could hardly taste any lemon in it Couldn’t fault anything else

    Excellent food The Al la Carte restaurant was superb for a change Suites huge plenty of room Very clean Staff nothing too much trouble Entertainment. Was good too in the bar Lovely pools and gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got engaged while our stay in the hotel and the staff didn’t provide anything to my now fiancé to make it special. It ruined the moment because of the reaction to the staff.

    Great location and good facilities. The all inclusive was well worth it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was samey and often lukewarm however the breakfast was always good. The a la carte at the Poolside bar was a disaster.

    The rooms are very large and comfortable, we had three bathrooms in our suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged over confirmed price no reply to emails from booking.com

    Food the same most days no choice if you were a vegetarian lived on vegetable soup and pasta for a week Need more choices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be perfectly honest nothing i didnt like . second visit wont be my last. Lucky to go away to 4/5 star hotels a few times a year. This is the best !

    Foid is amazing, hot , choice and taste. Staff are wonderful. Very clean snd comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel management could and should have taken a more proactive approach to managing loud and rowdy groups. Wifi was very patchy.

    Food was to a high quality for an all inclusive resort. Large rooms that were spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing service. Even better facilities! The staff are so lovely. Was upgraded to a sea view suite, free of charge as an amazing surprise! Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not 5 star at all. Not a family hotel. Way too noisy and caters to Stag/Hen dos of drink British. Huge golfing parties of males. Terrible

    The close proximity to a beautiful beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about the place quiet relaxing hotel, lovely food and fantastic room, great location near to the most beautiful beach would highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Golfing parties taking over hotel like stag do's! Not a family hotel at all. One bar area with 50 blokes boozed up. They need another bar area. Poor evening entertainment. Food OK but not 5*. This is a 3 star hotel in my opinion. Don't go with a family.

    Great room and great outdoor pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning products are too strong Rooms were not cleaned properly The walls are thin you can hear what’s happening outside or in the other rooms which isn’t great since it’s more of a family hotel. Breakfast was very limited and boring Coffee was very bad A la carte was the worst! Food was not good at all. We were entitled two nights of a la carte but we only got one because they were fulled booked. Which is not great as we should have been told at check in that we need to book those days for limited number. But we were not told about this being an issue until we tried to book a dinner one night. After great difficulty they were able to squeeze us at 9 pm on the last night we were staying at the hotel. Spa facilities are very poor. They had mother-to-be massage on the list and the masseuse told me to wait while she calls her colleague to fill her in on the how to execute it as she was new and had never done it before. Everytime we asked her anything she would go on the phone for more than 10 minutes at a time because she’s asking someone what to do, or because she’s checking if they even provide the service like when I asked about manicure. Hotel in general looks very outdated. Needs new paint and new decor. The walls are dirty with hand print marks and god knows what. Entertainment was mediocre some of the people that were singing literally hurt our ears and we couldn’t stay in the small bar area for long. The only fun night was karaoke. I feel like in general this was not a 5 star hotel at all. I would say it was probably a 3 star hotel in quality and services. I do not believe it was good value. And would not be staying there again.

    Location Salad bar Desserts We were allowed early check in which was great as I am pregnant. Pool area seemed clean and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be better in other areas, but was excellent in reception

    Beds and pillows were very comfortable, food was good, but was not as hot as it should have been, but some guests left the lids open 😠 Staff were excellent and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fabulous suite with 2bed/2bath and large living area. Gorgeous outdoor pools and an indoor pool. Spa was lovely - had massage and facial. Food and drink was high standard. All staff very pleasant and helpful, good first aid kit when we had a little crisis. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool was ice cold and you had to pay for a swimming cap, the outdoor pool wasn’t open and the booking said by the beach but after an hour walking it wasn’t. The tv had only a few channels none British and the bar drinks were poor and seem to be watered down or full of syrup as they didn’t taste right

    the food was good but could of used more selection, rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. The shuttle bus to the old town was our savour which we used everyday without which I don’t know what we would have done. The hotel was very clean though

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it was the winter....but the buffets were so-so. The indoor spa was verrrry cold. We were staying on ground floor and there was a lot of noice from the lobby and the people who were staying on the first floor.

    Great beach nearby! clean and our room got upgraded! Lovely spacious room with sitting room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool sunloungers cheap...no Tea or. Coffee Machine Facilities in Room. No jacuzzi. Long Dark corridors. Terrace furniture small not comfy.

    Stuff friendly. Light rooms. Short walk to beach. Lots to eat. Good buffet food . suite with nice see view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife loved the holiday, the hotel was top top top I am really glad she like it, so i am looking into book with Sao Rafael Suites again soon thanks for everything and see you soon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One member of reception staff was very unhelpful Richardo Ayles. All other staff were excellent. The suite we were in was number12 and directly next to the very noisy bar. We didnt ask to be moved as the noise stopped at midnight.However it could have been problematic for some.

    The food was excellent. All inclusive drinks were very good quality. Pool area fantastic. Suite exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was the worst I've ever seen, the selection was very limited... drinks were poor selection... We asked for an omelette and was told we would have to pay extra even though we were all inclusive... I would never go back to this hotel... far too expensive for what you get and never a 5 star hotel..

    Size of the room and pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very popular with groups of golfing men. They were very loud, drank a lot and swore a lot (this was especially bothersome at dinner and around the pool). This also meant that the noise from the bar was extremely loud until 12 at night, so much so that you couldn't hear the TV even though we were on the 2nd floor. We were on a relaxing holiday, not a booze trip so it did affect us. However this is not a fault of the hotel or staff but families should be aware of this when booking.

    The food was lovely. Had a great massage in the spa. The room was lovely and spacious with a great view. Staff were wonderful. Beds were super comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Definitely not a 5*, the overall feel of the hotel is about a 3.5*, food is especially disappointing, small selection and bland, not very good protein options apart from fish, fine if you want to eat pizza and chips all week! Rooms have definitely aren't 5*, beds were comfortable but again the overall feel is of a 3.5*, I've stayed in many 5 star hotels and this definitely isn't one of them.

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, can't think of any thing positive to say. It's an all inclusive hotel that doesn't want you to have all inclusive food or drink unless you sat down in the restaurant which is not always what you want to do when you're sat by the pool.

    I liked leaving that place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The entertainment (for adults) on most days was OK, except for one night of our stay when there was a singer a la 'Amy Winehouse' who at one point complained to the guests that not enough people were clapping; to be expected when she was performing with a sour face and rolling her eyes every other second. The only other slight criticism would be the hotel could have an Adults only pool, as on occasions we wanted to relax in peace reading a good book but too many kids were being loud and splashing fellow guests jumping in and out of the pool; to be expected as they are just kids having fun but it would be nice for them to have a Kids Pool to do this freely.

    This hotel was perfect; just what we wanted for a relaxing holiday. The location, Sao Rafael, is a lovely area outside of Albufeira, but close enough to walk in/a short taxi ride away for those who want a livelier atmosphere. Choice of food was excellent at the buffet and there was always a variety of themes/selections. Staff were friendly and helpful with any request and the atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Dining Room staff under pressure to clear tables. Not enough attention to serving and refilling beverages. Pool was very cold even though the weather was in the mid 30s. Replenishing of body wash and shampoo inconsistent. A La Carte and Italian Restaurants are a huge let down. The Italian Restaurant is the outdoor bar that is used during the day to serve poolside drinks. It is ill adapted and the food appears to be pretty much the food that is on offer upstairs in the buffet. The hotel really need to consider these two "restaurants" as they definitely over promise and under deliver. There is zero atmosphere and it leaves guests feeling somewhat cheated especially having gone to the trouble of dressing up - underwhelming doesn't begin to cover it. It would be better to discontinue these options and utilise the staff upstairs in the buffet where they could be put to better use.

    Accommodation was spacious and clean, staff efficient and pleasant, buffet had good variety and food was replenished frequently. Pool area was kept clean and beach towels in plentiful supply. Plenty of sun loungers. Use of spa on departure useful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central reservation take calls for the hotel . Sometimes you may need to speak to the hotel directly as we did

    Excellent Staff friendly and courteous. Lots of variety for lunch and dinner. Another brilliant holiday

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the reception staff can be more friendly and the cleanliness of the rooms and the pools can be improved. Empty the bins around the pools more frequently.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food predictable, wifi not available throughout, entertainment terrible. Work being acarried out in peak season. Flys all over the food.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drunken golf players learing into Kids club with pints in hand , not family hotel at all , no wifi in rooms only sometimes in bars where lots of drunken golf players at 10 in morning no families in sight .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As our group was all inclusive, the only down side was the selection in the buffet. But other than that everything was superb!!

    The resort was perfect for the occasion, it accommodated for the group of 12 whom travelled. Staff extremely helpful and polite, customer service was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at the same level as other Algarve 5 star hotels. Too many golfers stuck permanently in the bar at all hours, could not get onechance to sit and have a drink with the family over four days. Food presentation good but quality average and choice poor. Not at level expected. No room in a la carte restaurant even though tried reserving on arrival for any of the four evenings.

    Staff very friendly and always helful. Hotel location close to Albufeira marina but too far to walk to town. Bus provided but own transport preferable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't very comfortable and I felt they put booking .com guests in their less desirable rooms. We were on the ground floor at the end of the main corridor so we could hear the bar etc.

    Lovely staff, great food and drink and a nice pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heaving with children (but then it was UK half term) and indoor pool area just so full. Sauna and steam in separate changing areas, so not great for a romantic time together! Lunch and dinners OK but no more (not 5*) and woefully poor seating availability bar area for evenings. Nice hotel but really not 5* sadly.

    Very good staff. Bonus of bubbly and chocolate strawberries for our silver wedding. Excellent breakfast. Easy parking. Booked a suite and had two bathrooms, living area etc. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV channels or wifi in room. No gym, we had to use another hotel and pay a small fee

    Fantastic location and staff. Perfect for families. plenty to do for kids and beach only 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is poor and only available in the reception and bars. Occasionally able to pick it up elsewhere but this could be much better.

    Staff very friendly, lovely pools, food fairly good quality for all inclusive and the a la carte restaurant was delicious. Close to the sea and small beaches.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suites are great:spacious and very confortable bed. We had All inclusive: great food and excellent selection of beverages. 10 minutes walk to the beautiful São Rafael beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food wasn't great for a 5 star and was especially was not hot enough!There were also too many groups of male golfers who were very disruptive by the 'quiet pool' and in the bar area.

    The room was lovely and comfortable. The pools were great and staff very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only one bar which was so noisy due to large groups of golfers

    Wonderful spacious rooms and ultra comfortable bed and pillows. Exceptionally clean throughout and a great array of food from morning to night

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas needed minor repairs, freshening up with paint. Pool area, chipped tiles which pose a hazard. More staff should be deployed in the pool areas to keep pool area clean and tidy. Only one choice of all inclusive cocktails, long queues at the bar, inc. one by the pool. Small selection of seafood. The restaurant where we could have one meal with our package was fully booked for the duration we were there. Staff seemed to have little or no training in first aid, no first aid box. I know from experience when my daughter cut her finger and my son cut his foot. Limited shuttle service to the beach.

    Spacious suites. Comfortable beds. Excellent seating for large groups in the dining area. Barbecue food. Activities in the pool area. Some staff were very helpful. Kids club.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wifi in the rooms would be a great addition. The building that was the old kids club should be converted into a gym. They could make the BBQ more prominent with more variation.

    Food. The pools. The large rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEWARE, Although it say all inclusive, it is only a few alcoholic drinks that is inclusive. The rest of the branded alcohol you have to pay for. When we asked for bottled water early in the morning we got told off for "not informing the staff the night before if we wanted water" Wifi only works in reception.

    The room was very spacious, well maintained and very clean. Very accessible and is near what is dubbed to be "one of the best beaches in Albufeira" - The Sao Rafael Beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot plate in restaurant (foods that were on display - often the kids dishes) could be hotter - if you went for lunch/dinner later in the day the food tended to be lukewarm. There was only "Cocktail of day" -this was restrictive and more choices were needed. We only enjoyed one "Cocktail of the day" during our stay.

    The location was excellent - enabled easy access to the beach and into the main town but was secluded enough to escape the noise and bustle of a more central location. The food was varied and well cooked; keeping both the adults and children very happy. The staff were approachable, friendly and very helpful. The Kids Club staff and activities were EXCELLENT! -My 4 year old daughter never wanted to leave!! The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds were super comfy (we loved the pillows!) The hotel provided a shuttle bus (free of charge) into the old town and to the beach which was brilliant. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We arrived early in the morning and weren't allowed to go into breakfast as we couldn't get our wrist bands until midday. When you go to an all inclusive 5 star hotel this is not what you expect, it is just petty and got the holiday off to a bad start. Our room was available from 2pm, we had a two bedroom suite, which had a small kitchen area in the room in-between the bedrooms, with a fridge (which was empty) and two hobs, However there was no kettle or any crockery or utensils, a complete waste of space. We had one bottle of water in the room and that was on the side, they hadn't even put it in the fridge. There are supposedly 3 restaurants. The main buffet, an Italian restaurant and the a la carte. The buffet is the best of the three. The Italian restaurant is the pool bar in the day. On the evening that we went they brought us the amuse bouche - they get points for trying, unfortunately it was a triangle of white cheese on toast! The rest of the meal was worst than average, my son had ordered citrus tart for dessert and even the waiter struggled to keep a straight face when he arrived with some chocolate cake with some orange segments on the side. The a la carte is worst, stick to the buffet or go out. If you want 5 star, fine dining treat yourselves and go to Vila Joya. My only other frustration was that while snacks were served between the main meal times they were in the main buffet , so if you were by the pull you had to keep going upstairs. Both the food and the snacks in the main buffet were plentiful and varied so I am perplexed as to why they couldn't deliver the same high standards in the other two restaurants when all of the food is coming from the same kitchen. They offer a bus to the beach and to the town a few times a day, unfortunately on one occasion the return bus didn't arrive, leaving a number of hot hotel guests having to walk back up a very steep hills.

    The room was spacious and clean. Pool area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Venue for night entertainment a bit small and not enough space to sit and watch the great shows.

    Food selection and quality at lunch and dinner times was great. Night entertainment was fabulous. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were incredibly incompetent and not helpful at all. Checking in took more than 25 min, while we had to wait for the senior manager to get out of the toilet. Everything was just far more difficult than it needed to be.

    It was easy to get sun loungers by the pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're there on end June 2016. Love everything! Kid's club open from 10am to 11pm! Staff amazing! Food great, pools clean and with towels. Beach 10min walking (with 3 little kids). We stayed in a family room deluxe. The best experience! We'll be back next year!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not feel like a five star resort, more like three star. Staff not very friendly except for Jon on reception, he was lovely, hotel much further from beach and town than we expected, balcony furniture very uncomfortable, shower in bathroom not good, little touches u would expect from five star definitely not here.

    Hotel very clean, all inclusive very handy.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi could be stronger in rooms more snooker tables and activities

    wide variety of choices for food. lunch was very good. Had an extremely warm gesture/surprise on my birthday; there was a cake and Champagne for me in my room. I feel very Thankful. Good entertainment every evening.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variety of dishes in the main buffet restaurant should have been greater for an all inclusive set up. We stayed 4 nights and after two days the food was very repetitive. Whilst, the rating of the hotel is high, the dishes provided were not of the same quality. Iberostar property in Playa de Palma in Majorca had much broader variety of food for HB and managed to cater for different nationalities. I have a portuguese heritage but I am English, there are many dishes that would please both cultures. They should experiment more. I would return to this property if the reports of the food improve with regards to the variety provided.

    Nice hotel. Facilities were nice, as was the location and services to the local beach and also the nearest town, Albufeira. Friendly welcoming staff, happy to help if any is needed. Towel services were good. Rooms were cleaned well.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were minimal with their approach. The all inclusive nature is very restricted. The food whilst OK is not 5 star quality. This resort compared to others is very expensive.

    The suite rooms are extra lovely but personally I don't have holidays to sit in my room. The pool area is well laid out but lacks an accessible bar or snack hut. The whole hotel is very spacious but lacks effective entertainment space and acts.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely isn’t 5 star, quite overpriced.

    Liked the pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What is there not to like beautiful place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view to the street

    Very spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu didn’t change in a la carte restaurant, meal were nice but meats were very tough.

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Italian restaurant was not very nice food. All over food was excellent but Italian was very poor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was better than imagined staff were excellent. Food was brilliant amenities were superb

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old property, bored staff, obsolete entertainment program

    Varied food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food could have had more variety. No need to put towels on beds but people did

    Location and staff were very good, excellent rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait for 2 hours for our room

    It was spacious and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Persons)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not liked

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was amazing, great choices and beautifully cooked. The staff were brilliant very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Go back to the table service Coffee rather than the Coffee machine in the morning at breakfast

    The kids club was excellent for the Kids

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is NOT a 5 star NO usable WiFi in the majority of the hotel

    Helpful staff but the fact I booked through booking.com was a disadvantage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food repetitive and cocktails poor

    Family suite was very spacious and modern

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet food always cold

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    buffet did not have a great range of foods

    The resort was fantastic, friendly staff and customer service was great. Relaxing place to unwind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv bar area noise.

    Friendly staff. Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi does not reach all rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym

    The all inclusive meals and a la Carte were very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool areas were not cleaned properly.

    Been upgraded to the rooftop room with stunning panoramic view on the sea.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff excellent all round. Very relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was horrible!!! Get a new chef please Non existent wi-fi

    Not Much

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spoke to other couples there and they paid considerably less than we did.

    Suite was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of sun loungers ... people "reserve" them with their towels ...

    Staff ; Food (better than last year)

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sao Rafael Suites - All Inclusive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: