Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Senhora da Guia Cascais Boutique Hotel 5 stars

Estrada do Guincho, 2750-642 Cascais, Portugal

#17 of 34 hotels in Cascais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 529 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Not 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked and i payed for a sea view room and all i got was a garden, for me its just a five stars hotel because of the location, poor spa , poor pool

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Worth staying for a vacation break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found nothing to complain about.

    Without exception, 'ALL' staff at the hotel were so very helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble at all, we extended our stay by an extra night and will positively stay at this hotel again. The breakfast buffet was great, pool side food also very good, we did not have an evening meal / dinner at the hotel but were told by other guests that the food choice, quality and price were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking a little disorganised but that appears due to the layout of the hotel.

    Stayed at the Senhora da Guia on a short four day break to Cascais driving up from the Algarve. This small boutique hotel sits in its own grounds overlooking the sea. Not 5⭐️ in opulence but this is more than made up for in the total ambience of the place, its surroundings and the staf which adds up to a wonderful experience. All the Staff from Reception to the Maids were most helpful and friendly especially Francisco in the Terazzo Restaurant who enjoyed our humour and he is very conscious of and attentive to the training of the students on work experience in the hotel. We enjoyed the many conversations with them and encouraged them to practise their languages on us. The food in both the Pool Bar and Terazzo Restaurant are excellent with the choice of fish and meat dishes for dinner served to the highest standard with beautiful presentation and exquisite taste. Desserts also good with an excellent choice of wines. Spoke to the Chef to express our delight and appreciation of his culinary skills. A Chocolate cake and Prosecco was organised byTeresa on receiving my reservation as a Birthday surprise for one of our party. Our bedrooms were spotless with very comfortable beds. Nothing appeared to be a bother to the staff at this hotel which in my eyes makes it 5⭐️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, there was quite a smell emanting from the bathroom one evening, we ran the faucets on the bidet and toilet and the odor disappeared, so we figure there is some issue with their septic tank etc. The bathroom fixtures are not well thought through, the drench shower runs first and one can hardly reach the knobs for the hand-held-shower without getting wet. There should be a mirror for drivers at the entrance/exit as it is a sharp turn into the driveway from the highway. Not the cheapest place to stay.

    Good location to get around from, comfortable beds, rooms nicely appointed, very good breakfast variety, friendly and helpful staff, gym is great, property is quiet and well-kept, small forested area next to it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was on the main road and very close to it so there was a lot of road noise round the pool which was a shame I hadn’t realised that when booking. The bed was very firm but when asked the staff added additional toppers.

    The restaurant was lovely and the he room very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    A relaxing, stylish hotel with a nice free spa but too expensive and a little remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is quite a walk from anywhere. Taxi prices to and from Cascais varied between 7.5 and 5 euros which is quite pricey considering how cheap public transport is in Portugal. If you don't want to eat at the hotel or the restaurant over the road (both expensive choices) you'll have factor the walk/taxi fare in. The hotel is very nice but the attention to detail isn't here to rate 5 stars. The food and drinks cost far too much. Extortionate in some cases with no justification. The pool area can be noisy because of the road but that didn't bother us too much.

    The room was perfect but could have done with a little maintenance. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The spa is great and free to use. The grounds are fine and well kept. The breakfast was very nice and the lounge and dining rooms were stylish and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    The room was lovely, with a very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was above the bar and staff need to consider the level of music being played and heard from guests who may still be sleeping

    The room was lovely, with a very comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay but needs a bit of update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was creating bad smell, luckily we didn’t need it. No separate shower. The cappuccino at breakfast was out of the machine and not good. Very noisy doors- impossible to close quietly.

    Overall ambiance, view from the restaurant, location- close to cluster of restaurants. Small but nice spa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Perfect-perfect place to enjoy every moment of your time spent here!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only little thing is that there was a smell in our room most of the time, some cleaning products or the toilet. The staff tried to eliminate it, but it did not work on long terms. Really nothing else!

    Long list, where to start? :) This part of Cascais is a very well developed, clean and organised one. The ocean is about 2 minutes by walk, the view from any parts of the hotel is obviously beautiful. And if you would not like the excellent restaurant in the hotel, about 2 minutes by walk you can get to one of the best places in the whole city! The garden and the areas around the hotel are taken care of beautifully. Unfortunately we could not enjoy the pool as the weather was bad, but it just looked great. The staff was just excellent, always helpful and always nice. Really can't say anything bad about them. On the day of the arrival we asked for an early check-in, what was granted for free, and also asked for a breakfast, what they served in a nice way. The restaurant is incredible! It has some very comfortable couches to crash on after a meal. The furniture is very nice and whole experience is relaxing. The room was spacious with a nice entry area, and a balcony to the garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Great place to relax and perfect starting point for discovering Lisbon and its region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some small details of the bathroom (door did not close perfectly, water insulation of the bathtub, fixing of towel hanger). It was not a huge problem but bathroom quality was under the perfect quality of the room. Noisy heating.

    Excellent breakfast, nice people, good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed with food and service for a 5* hotel, little interaction with staff as it appeared they were under staffed, no sign of a manager for the 2 days we stayed had to set up my own breakfast table in the morning.

    Beautiful looking property adjacent to pine forrest

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Location and the fact that it’s a small boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are terrible wich afects your sleep. It’s a shame this hotel does not invest in sleeping confort.

    Location and the fact that it’s a small boutique hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Amazing 9 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located a good walk from centre and very little around with exception of great fish restaurant across the road but taxis are cheap

    Breakfast amazing lots of fresh fruit and staff always to facilitate your special needs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    We were made to feel very much at home and the food was of an excellent standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lovely property, set in beautiful grounds. A fabulous breakfast, comfortable room and very thoughtful and considerate care by all the staff. We would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    A handsome hotel in lovely landscaped gardens with a great pool, but not as tranquil as we'd hoped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't quite as tranquil as we imagined from the photographs since the pool is next to the ocean (lovely) but also the coastal road on which traffic travels at speed. For me this wasn't great, but no-one seemed bothered; you can't actually see this room because of the lovely landscaping. Rooms are set-back from the road, so you'd think that it would be peaceful in the room, but we were twice woken early (before 8am) by chainsaws or lawn-mowing. We had booked a room with a garden view (admittedly just a standard double) but we were disappointed to find that we weren't on the garden side, but at the back overlooking a car park. There were seats on a small patio outside some French doors, but who wants to sit there as everyone walks to their cars? I don't think this room should be given the description of 'garden view'. I wish I had complained because it is misleading and I think that room rate should have reflected the less appealing outlook. We had chosen this hotel and booked on the basis of the photographs of the garden and the fact that we thought it would be tranquil. A lot of reviews raved about the breakfast, but though there was a lot of choice I thought the quality could have been better. There were three types of juice for example, but no fresh orange juice and I wasn't sure if the juice was more of a squash than a juice. Though there was a barista coffee machine, it was a massive effort to get staff to make it, they kept pointing to the Thermos coffee that were put out for self-service, which was truly awful - lukewarm and stewed tasting. The breakfast room is overheated in the morning sun and the terrace outside (with beautiful views of the ocean) is cooler and lovely, but when it was busy you could wait to get a table there.

    Idyllic garden surroundings and great location to explore the very picturesque coast. We didn't have a car, but took taxis to visit places and that worked very well. Hotel reception areas are very handsome and the pool/ poolside is super with lots of umbrellas and a helpful pool attendant. Poolside bar is convenient for lunch and the food is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Splendid hotel with professional staff and beautiful pool area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost nothing, the shower in our room didn't work properly, but it is a minor.

    We really loved our 2 nights stay at the Senhora hotel. Staff is service-minded and professional. Room and facilities was clean, hotel was cosy with nice decorations, a living room and restaurant with nice view overlooking the pool area. Nice and big room, comfy bathroom and bed. Nice breakfast. Excellent location between Cascais and Guincho beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous all round!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to go home.

    Fabulous room overlooking the sea. Such a lovely location. Wonderful staff and superb food. The pool area is lovely with lots of sun beds for all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Lovely breakfast and views, so easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The were some flies by the pool

    Lovely breakfast and views, so easy to get to. Great restaurant across the street. Room was clean and airy with a lovely little terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfectly romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets need replacing all over the hotel. They are very worn and black. It also needs repainting in some areas to ensure it's painting it's 5* qualities. Neither of these affected our stay though.

    Everything was great! We received an upgrade as a surprise. We were given a free bottle of champagne and strawberries covered in chocolate. Bed was super comfy. Bath was amazingly huge. Loves the Molton Brown soap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Genteel old school hotel with superlative staff in a personal setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really other than the lack of vegetarian choice for meals. The only other thing that lets the place down is the shabby carpeting that is marked and worn through in our room.

    We simply loved the staff. Courteous and kind, always on hand. Breakfast was good, not the largest buffet but all excellent. One issue is the lack of végétarien choices for dinner. This is an issue all over Portugal though. Our room has an enormous balcony overlooking the sea that was a free upgrade. Loved the gardens and the pool area. A very genteel old school hotel with personal service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely - exelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neal is laweyr and I am self employed - sales

    It was our engagement in Europe and I ask for nice view from our room . And they read the request and have done it as I ask . Plus they where so nice to get in our room champagne and chocolate covertl strawberries . Very nice staff and pleasant settings .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a lovely location with good food and a dedicated staff. Needs some upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms tired. Scruffy painting. Loose bathroom fixtures. Some black mould around the bath sealing Carpets need cleaning generally. Dangerous broken steps to the upper terrace -exactly the same as in Feb this year. Expensive.

    Excellent staff. Excellent food - both at dinner and at breakfast Liked the covered dining areas . Nice pool. Easy to get to the hotel.Beautiful sea views. Big rooms - like the personal terrace/balcony very much. In room drinks making facilities very underwhelming - especially at the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Hotel with great potential but a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room not totally spotless and a bit tired, plenty of potential but, for the price, not up to standard. Rather bossy pool staff. Cascais is bigger than we imagined - casinos and high rise hotels around a pretty historic centre.

    Traditional design of the buildings, location by the sea and 10 mins by car outside Cascais. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    Not 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nice 3-4* hotel. It has rooms, a pool, a spa and a restaurant, everything you would expect from a hotel. For me, to be 5* (and be worth the money charged compared to other options) the hotel should do more. There is nothing here that is "special" and there seems to be no attempt to achieve this (no complimentary water, food, services, amenities). You are very much taken to your (very average) room and left alone. I found this odd for a 5*, in my experience, they usually aim to exceed expectations, not do the very minimum to meet them. Admittedly, we are clearly not the target demographic of the Hotel. We are mid-twenties, and would I guess, be a good 40 years younger than the majority of other guests, this is reflected in amenities and atmosphere and as such was not the hotel we were expecting. The location is not ideal, you can't really walk to anything, so will require a taxi (E5-7 into Cascais) or a car to get around. On the plus side, the staff were helpful when needed, the breakfast was nice and varied compared to others in the area. The pool and spa are also nicely set-out with plenty of room. If you are looking for a relaxed hotel with a pool, a spa and a nice breakfast and you have a car. This place is perfect. If you are looking for anything special this is not for you. I would also not recommend to young couples.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Successful booking exceeded expectations
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well appointed tastefully modernised property attentive staff and just far enough out of town to give a relaxing time. Good pool facilities and associated pool bar eating area Well worth the visit

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely relaxing and intimate hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few smaller and lower cost options for lunch would be good, we don't need three large meals a day. The proximity of the pool to the main road (other side of the hedge) is a shame, it was a bit off putting on arrival but we quickly got used to it.

    Lovely small hotel, cluster of attractive two storey buildings around main building in well kept grounds. Nice decor, well maintained, gorgeous lounge and dining area, shaded pool bar and restaurant. No problems getting sun loungers. Room appeared a bit narrow at first but was actually a generous size with lovely bathroom and windows on three sides. Good aircon. Really good soundproofing, we were set back from the road and as soon as we closed the window, we couldn't hear a sound. We arrived very early for check in but reception staff were very welcoming and obliging and we were shown straight to our room. Breakfast was delicious every day, loads of choices, top quality food, we looked forward to this every morning, and could linger as long as we wanted over a coffee. Only problem was that next hotel on our trip fell well short of the standard set here. We ate in the restaurant one evening, prices at the higher end but the food was delicious, one of the best meals we had over ten days. At lunch, generous portions at the pool bar meant that I could share a club sandwich and fries with my daughter (just as well as it cost €14 - a few lower cost options for kids would be welcome). This hotel is well out of town, about 45 minutes' walk along a footpath on a main road, but we knew this when booking. There is a cycle lane the while way too. We took a taxi in and out of Cascais (usually about €5 - €6 each way) most evenings. Hotel happy to arrange taxis and and we never waited more than about five minutes. We walked in one day, taking our time and stopping at Casa de Guia, a lovely house and gardens with boutigue shops, cafes and restaurants that is easily missed but a nice place to stop. We walked on as far as Boca do Inferno on the coast road. This is a major tourist attraction but I'm not really sure why. It is a mildly interesting coastal feature where the Atlantic has cut into the limestone cliffs to form a sea arch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice and quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was rather small, especially the placement of the toilet.

    Good service, friendly and helpful staff, nice location. Not crowded thanks to the limited number of room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel has everything a family with young kids needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Powerful smell of sulphur in one of our rooms. Unfortunately the hotel was full and we could not switch rooms till the next night. I think we should have been compensated for the inconvenience. If they had done that, I would have rated the hotel very highly as the property is nice, bathrooms are modern and clean and food is good. Smell was so bad we all moved in to one room but paid for two.

    Good breakfast and lunch. Nice pool. A really nice place to relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed in Cascais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were unresponsive to several emails prior to arrival. Paid for a sea view and we got a view of the car park. Not impressed. When we were leaving we let them know that the bathtub/shower wasn't draining and both of the front desk employees responded by giggling. We won't suggest this property to others.

    Location is the best part of this property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Good place for short holiday near Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a busy car way between the hotel and the cliff; you can hear the cars when staying at the pool. The hotel is at the 4 **** level, not 5.

    The room was nice, big , quiet and clean with nice view. The staff was nice and helpful. And there was a nice restaurant at the place with fresh fish and other seafood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Expensive but worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great although I expected a little more diversity being a 5start hotel. Rooms were amazing with an incredible view of the ocean. Staff was very friendly, when I told them I was going to propose to my girlfriend that day, they arranged a very romantic welcome on the room, with flowers, champagne and strawberries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Superb service / Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here for 3 nights for my boyfriend's birthday. We had a beautiful room with great views over the garden and ocean. Staff was incredibly kind and truly provided service with a smile. I have arranged some treats in advance massage and dinner requirements and it has all gone very smoothly and as per my request discreetly. Breakfast was just amazing endless options very fresh beautiful food 11 out of 10. Dinner has been also very delicious and presented to high standard. Overall food and staff makes the experience very enjoyable and if we come back to Cascais I would be very happy to stay here again. Thank you for the great experience :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, tranquil, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only possible drawback is that for those travelling without a car, Cascais centre is a bit of a walk (40 minutes) or short taxi journeys (€7)

    The hotel is luxurious and well-appointed. The pool area is incredibly pleasant and the breakfast is excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    3.3
    Disaster! I booked this hotel especially for the heated spar pool it was freezing cold for 10 days!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold spar pool! I booked this hotel especially for the heated spar pool, I was convalescencing! The hotel promised a discount, but they did not give any compensation! I am furious I was paying for 13 nights full price and no spar pool! Hotel is isolated miles from anywhere!

    Breakfast was good, staff were polite!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    The staff were excellent, they went above and beyond...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking is allowed in the conservatory area, which made it uncomfortable for us whilst eating dinner and breakfast in the same room.

    The staff were excellent, they went above and beyond expectations. Food was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.0
    For our wedding anniversary arrival there was sparkling wine and fresh strawberries, a good start
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bathroom was in need of some attention, the bidet was cracked, and the grouting around the bath / shower was a little mouldy.

    The staff were helpful, welcoming and attentive . Exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Relaxing by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv should have more channels available.

    Excellent breakfast, staff is super nice and the location is very good. The spa and inside pool facilities are excellent, the outside pool looks good but the weather wasn't good enough to give it a try :) Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to relax.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Welcoming personnel, great hospitality service at breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not working in my room.

    Welcoming personnel, great hospitality service at breakfast and dinner. Excellent quality. Superb environment and ambient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Little Paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Great value and exceeded expectations.

    The staff were great, the bed was lovely. The food in the restaurant was superb and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was nice. A warm welcome very nice staff. Lovely room. Great breakfast with beautiful view. A very nice and homely atmosphere. We are looking forward to a new visit in the near future.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    A wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expencive services.

    The hotel is beautifully decorated. Beautiful garden. The friendly and helpful staff. Nice pool and lovely balcony. The room was quiet. Awesome bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.5
    Beautiful, friendly hotel within a convenient distance to Lisboa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only drawback to this beautiful hotel was that we could not stay longer.

    Extremely nice, friendly and helpful staff at the front desk and in the restaurant! Beautiful hotel with nice, parklike garden and pool area. Large, comfortable rooms, mostly with nice views. Spa and indoor pool very tastefully designed. Really great restaurant for dinner!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    A real get-away relax from busy city life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are very happy to stay with this hotel. Nelson from the hotel restaurant made the meals there pleasant and worthwhile. He was extremely kind and helpful recommending food and drinks. :) Front desk was also kind and professional to provide advice on local tours and visits....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    The hotel design, the big rooms and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far from life and located just on a main road, meaning that the sea view is surrounded by traffic noise. our room was a bit out of freshness due to old days, but nothing terrible.

    The hotel design, the big rooms and comfort. the room had a smart tv which enhanced the photo viewing on a big screen and the warm atmosphere of the room. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast had a large variety that we could enjoy facing the sea view on the open terrace . the staff is helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    6.3
    Ticks the boxes in terms of facilities but a far cry from 5 star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast, poor location, steep charge for the use of the hotel bikes was a bit rich seeing as the place was in the middle of nowhere. We had pre booked the hotel 6 months in advance and due to unforeseen circumstances we needed to cancel the trip - when we requested this 8 weeks in advance the Staff would not facilitate the cancellation of the room despite the fact the rest of the venue was booked for a wedding - very uncomfortable in a boutique hotel for the other guests....

    Nice spa, nice grounds, soulless hotel - The best thing is the restaurant directly across the road! the hotel had a wedding the weekend we were there which was not ideal. Sitting around the pool watching strangers getting married in the gardens is very odd... Also the restaurant and bar were exceptionally dead. While the hotel had all the required facilities on paper it did not have the feeling of a 5 star establishment - Poorly run and missing the polished service that should go with the ratings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice but NOT a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely NOT a 5 star. Room dark, zero Wifi in the room. Spa average. Breakfast good but not excellent, bad coffee. There are better price/value options.

    Huge bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked my table to be cleared when I had finished my breakfast. And more spa staff would have been good.

    Room was very spacious, bed and pillows were comfortable. Wifi worked brilliantly in my room. Had read that the road noise meant it wasn't very relaxing by the pool, but this is not true although you can hear the traffic it is not intrusive at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Lovely hideaway by the sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything

    Excellent food in restaurant, beautifully served by friendly staff. Pool is lovely, Room comfortable and just right. The location is also splendid.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Still great but needs to gear up.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and a little run down. The pool needs more TLC and breakfast could be a little better. Overall good, but not as good as before sorry to say.

    I have been to this hotel before, and it is still very good. I will go again for sure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful room and exceptional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not quite as varied as others we had on this trip, although all good quality food and a lovely view to eat it.

    Wonderful room and exceptional staff. Gorgeous pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things such as clean Towels often not available and had to ask, water fountain in gym not filled up. Would be great if waiter service was provided poolside. I would have spent more money! Need an ice machine in building 3

    Location is great, lovely friendly staff, great rooms!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.5
    A 10 Day stay in Cascais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool required cleaning every afternoon, there were too many flies which came from the bushes.Required spraying. There were not enough sunbeds. Existing ones had dirty covers. Not enough daily pool duty from staff. A constantly dripping pool shower. Some of pool/Resteraunt staff could be more friendly towards guests.I don't believe dogs should be allowed in a 5 star Hotel.

    Breakfast was very good, the professional & helpful reception staff,the rooms were very clean.Loved the Spa.The position of the Hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    Senhora De Guia 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At best this one is 4 star hotel. Hotel is located directly on the road, 5-7 mind drive from the city. Though closed by surrounding walls, one can still hear the road in front rooms or by the pool. From some of the sea view rooms you can hardly see any sea. Tiny 15 m swimming pool; very basic breakfast

    Clean rooms with enough space; very good personnel and management - were quick to response to our needs and fix initial failures ... Free bikes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Big, clean and well-equipped rooms;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is far from awesome, especially if you don't have a car. Walking distance to downtown Cascais is about 4 km. No good beach option nearby.

    Big, clean and well-equipped rooms; worthy a five-star establishment. Lovely view from balcony but make sure you pick the sea view option. The size, location and design of the establishment creates a familiar and tranquil atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.7
    Service and facilities not 5 star, however very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee cups in room,but machine in corridor out of order throughout our stay. Bar prices too high. Food and bar service slow and confused ! Drinks prices varied by the day. Spa out of order and no apology made.

    Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Bed wonderfully comfortable. Quality of food very good. Wedding experience excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    Charming and top quality hotel - a bit outside and isolated but great for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellence Location on coast but you need car as nothing around there (but there is a bus and you have bicicles). Excellent rooms very charming hotel , great beds and breakfast. Pool a bit windy but all top nodge. Staff friendly and efficient but could be a bit more welcoming and charming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    10
    Long weekend in Cascais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at Senhora da Guia was beyond our expectations! The breakfast was delicious and everyone was so attentive. We were celebrating a birthday and the staff really took the time to make the day special-- with special cocktails, items that weren't on the menu and even a cake! It was truly one of the best places we've ever stayed and would absolutely recommend the hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.3
    Lovely Well Located Friendly Boutique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Beautiful location overlooking the sea - Friendly, efficient, attentive, staff - Comfortable rooms - Free wifi throughout hotel - Good value - Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    10
    Fabulous Place To Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fabulous place to stay in Cascais - just outside the town. Beautiful landscaping and wonderful room with balcony. Close to everything. Great location for day trips.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    9.2
    Great price to quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was full of families that had lots of noisy kids playing around in the swimming pool area. The spa area wasnt working as expected and the water was too cold.

    Really good and friendly staff. Very good restaurant. Very good breakfast. Incredible view of our room. They treat us very good as a honeymooner.Nice style, design and decoration of our room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    6.3
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding party took over hotel for two days. We were made to feel second class citizens and in the way. Way too overpriced for what it is, did not represent value for money. Food and drink laughably expensive. Another hotel ruined by 5.45 door slamming.

    Nice large airy room. Staff friendly Parking Gym.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing place, amazing and kind staff -- and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very relaxing place, amazing and kind staff -- and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Size of the room, charm of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced

    Size of the room, charm of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Everything was just perfekt, and we are looking forward to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfekt, and we are looking forward to visit This wonderfull hotel again. Peter and Beathe Muller Denmark

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant place to stay for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a bit further out of town than I expected. Indoor pool was too small!

    Décor was good. Peaceful and attractive location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    I loved it and will be back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful hotel, relaxing atmosphere, and probably the friendliest staff I have seen in Europe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    excellent stay in a friendly family-run hotel. Made us feel extremely welcome
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was to die for - fabulous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The food was excellent, the view fantastic and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was excellent, the view fantastic and very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Never eat in restaurant inside the hotel in off-season!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never eat in restaurant inside the hotel in off-season! I've got a food poisoning!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    good hotel, quiet location, attentive staff, near the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good hotel for those who want to stay in a quiet location off the turistic centre of Cascais

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    un sejour tres plaisant - Hotel a recommander - serais rester plus longtemps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rien

    The view - the big room - the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful location, just perfect to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Peaceful location, just perfect to relax. Big and comfortable room and great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Lovely. Relaxing. Classy. Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car sounds from road below. The flies!!!

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, big room, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: