Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sesimbra Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Praça da Califórnia, 2970-773 Sesimbra, Portugal

#1 of 5 hotels in Sesimbra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2285 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Hard to fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although somehow hard to love: the style is bland, impersonal, international. But it is comfortable, efficient, clean. Our deluxe double on the top floor was very spacious, bed comfortable, bathroom good (although no walk-in shower), fridge and coffee machine supplied (although only one coffee pod!). There was plenty of choice for breakfast. There is free parking in the hotel's dedicated space in the underground car park. The main reason to choose it is the excellent location. If you want to be on the seafront at Sesimbra this is the place to stay: a stone's throw from the beautiful beach and with lovely views out to sea.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location by the beach, with a section of the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was a little dirty in places (e.g. light switches) and you could tell it had been refurbished on a budget.

    Great location by the beach, with a section of the beach reserved for hotel guests. Large, good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location, big rooms, nice terrace
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities in room- pool had an issue with pigeons therefore wasn’t in use for some time. Suggest it is covered. Staff very inflexible- check in was on the dot (not a minute before)

    Great location, big rooms, nice terrace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast was ok but quality of food should be improved.

    very quiete and spacious room. very good quality of sleep, comfortable bed. hotel is situated in front of the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel but with room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some reception staff not helpful and information re hotel services not always accurate. Some ineffiencies in running of hotel. No access to an iron... told it was forbidden in room.

    Great central location. Good facilities , good breakfast buffet. Wonderful sea view from room balcony. Very pleasant and helpful dining room staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was ok but nothing special.

    Great location, very friendly staff, nice drinks and food. Spacious rooms and very nice view from the balcony. Pool area vas really good, but the best thing was the beach!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Sesimbra and the hotel in particular were just what we wanted after a busy few days in Lisbon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was really all good. The only thing that I'd suggest for improvement is to have more variety in the breakfast offering and to have a second coffee machine available.

    The rooms we had were perfect (a double and a junior suite). Great views, and very comfortabale, well appointed rooms. The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Modern and we had a loungeroom as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Loved it!

    Modern and we had a loungeroom as well. The view both back and front was amazing! The bathroom had a bath and was clean and modern. The position of the hotel was great as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    View of rooms,location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water was very cold,some of the places in hotel needs to be restored,our room was 804 and WiFi connection was very bad,menu for dinner and lunch was very limited.

    View of rooms,location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel rack in the shower should be moved. It's right at head level in a place you have to walk. Something should be put on the roof of the north building to stop the seagulls from landing there. The feathers always fly straight into the pool which got a bit nasty and probably sucks for the cleaners.

    We were fortunate to have the top floor suite which was really nice. There were 2 balconies with views to the east and west. The main balcony connects the bedroom to the living room and was a great place to relax or have drinks. The king bed and down pillows were extremely comfortable. The design was minimalist and very clean. I received a nice surprise gift for my birthday. The hotel was modern and had great facilities throughout, with awesome staff members. The beach is right downstairs and had sunbeds and umbrellas provided free to guests. It was truly a 4* stay, with many 5* features/views/staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Glorious and relaxing two days on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was fine but there could have been a little more selection and there should have been another coffee maker.

    Room was very comfortable and spacious as was the bathroom. Views of the ocean were beautiful. Pool area was also very nice. Hotel has direct access to the beach and boardwalk. It was a 5 minute walk on the boardwalk straight to the city centre. Perfect!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    A good luxury beachside experience close to Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large well furnished room with a covered balcony with commanding views over the beach. Good parking, infinity pool and a well catered for breakfast. Good location on the beach promenade.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    the hotel is at the beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the beach itself is nice, but there were no toilets there. the size of the pool area and the spa will probably be to small in high season (we stayed there in May so it was ok).

    the hotel is at the beach front. the food at breakfast and dinner was good. good beds and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, spectacular seaside view, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very moderate for a 4 star hotel and the hotel itself (in our humble opinion) overpriced.

    Great location, spectacular seaside view, clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    For an overnight stop its a lovely place to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very big and a little impersonal, there were business events going on making it seem very busy. Not a negative, just an observation.

    We only stayed one night, but parking under hotel was easy and free. The spa is connected and worth calling for a booking, I got an appointment within 30 mins of calling. Room was a good size with sea view, bed was large and comfortable, breakfast was good, although they didn't offer any gluten free bread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel & the decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we weren't told the restaurant wasn't open that night when we checked in. We went down to the restaurant at 7.45pm, only to find it wasn't open. We then had to look for an alternative & found the other 4* hotel was open for evening meals.

    The location of the hotel & the decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Room was spacious, very nice view and beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was getting work done but they did not let us know in advance, also the spa was disappointing as the massage was useless.

    Room was spacious, very nice view and beach!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice location offering the best of beach living and close enough to Lisbon to enjoy city visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast is a bit of a disappointment and particularly for vegetarians. Better breakfast options for vegetarians and non vegetarians would make this hotel a very special place indeed. Also, would have liked if the coffee that was left in the room when we arrived had been replaced but we only got it the first day so the coffee maker was redundant for the rest of our stay.

    The bedrooms are very good size and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. Our room had a balcony overlooking the beach which was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and infinity pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steam room wasn't great and the breakfast has room for improvement

    Spacious room, sea views, comfortable bed. The location is perfect and easy access to the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have room service I have called 4 times for the reception and no one answered. Then I called using my own phone and they did pic up. It seems that the phone from the room was not working and apparently no one cared about that. The tv was stoping and going out of signal every one hour, at least, and one of the times, during more than 20 minutes. Well, given the fact that I have paid more than 100€ to stay here, I expect to have some minimum standards, and problems with the tv and room service (which you pay extra 10€ for), are not acceptable in these cases.

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    For a 4 stars Hotel there are several detaills that need urgent attention...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant service was lazy. Dinner Food at the restaurant was poor (buffet only available) and some of the hot dishes were cold

    The rooms are very good and nice. The requested Sea view was very poor and full of buildings in between the balcony and the sea...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Pleasant, calm and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pleasant at this time of year, when it is quiet and calm. I expect in peak season its very busy, and a bit noiser!! But friendly helpful staff and a lovely place to stay right above the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Nice, clean and a good value for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel with Spa on its name, the spa area was to small. The interior “pool” was just like a tank inside a vault (no outside view). The exterior pool was empty...

    The room was huge with proper sea view balcony. Everything was clean and the smell was awesome. The design of the hotel is great majorly when you are descending from the elevator. Nice breakfast and nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, a spacious modern room with a fabulous...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not to our expectations because of limited choise and it was absolutely the same during all our 5 nights stay. The spa area is very small and gets overcrowded. No proper place to sit and relax after a sauna. The floor in the pool area was extremely slippery if you use the footwear provided by the hotel which could be extremely dangerous. Only proper rubber slippers to be used. They did not unfreeze the security amount from my credit card until one week after we paid and left the property.

    Excellent location, a spacious modern room with a fabulous ocean view, comfortable bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Luxurious cruiseship like hotel with views over the beautiful beach and spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception (apart from a young woman in training) were not welcoming or friendly. However they did allow me to leave my luggage on early arrival. Indoor swimming area small for the number of guests and open 10-8pm. Lack of English at spa centre made it difficult to book a massage.

    Staff at breakfast very friendly and amenable. Wide variety of options at buffet style breakfast. Looking out onto a cascade of water - lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    We were there only one night .Would have liked longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    To find the hotel would suggest a few signs in various streets as some other hotels managed to do. Parking in the building seemed a little complicated .

    Not like Andre's note at breakfast we had fresh orange juice and a good variety of other fare. Scrambled eggs were excellent .Would have liked sausages but maybe they are served on another day. However as a bonus also had Quail's ( or codronise ?) eggs. Room including beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant Winter break. Have stayed in Sesimbra before but would definately go back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers in the spa needed mantainance. One was closed, one was falling apart, the third was ok.

    We like Sesimbra and this hotel is in a good location with easy parking. As our visit was in the Winter the swimming pool was not very enticing. We used the simple spa facilities and the view from the balcony is amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    a pleasant hideaway to freshen up my cloudy head of city life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing I liked less I guess was the difficulty I had finding the lights... and to turn of the ventilator or regulate the temperature in the room... was really cold the 2nd night and I couldn't do much about it...

    EXCELLENT breakfast to start the day with. Many 5* hotels should be jealous! Great spacious room with sea view, loved it the internet also really worked well :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    Near the sea, space in the rooms, balcony with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels smelled a little old, 2 of the 3 showers in the spa area broken, tiny pool in the spa area, a second also rather tiny and unheated swimming pool on the 6th floor with many missing tiles, very dark in the breakfast room, everything looks a little worn out, receptionists could be friendlier. In a nutshell: rather overpriced for mediocre quality, even in the winter

    Near the sea, space in the rooms, balcony with sea view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay in a nice village close to the beach. Looking for spa, try other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    With Spa in the name of the hotel, I was expecting more! The spa was crowded and with only two chairs to seat and rest between sessions. The sauna was small and some shower equipment wasn't working. The indoor swimming pool was very small and there is no jacuzzi. Since I was visiting during the winter, the outdoor swimming pool was out of the question. If you looking for spa, try other options.

    The room was big, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was nice but there are limitations in the options due to the low amount of food for to many people. The location is nice and close to the beach with several typical restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent getaway weekend stay, but not a true spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The relaxation indoor pool is too small for such a big hotel (it's more a big bathtub). Two of the spa showers where broken. Not really a "spa" hotel. The lights on the room's balcony are automatic and turn off only after 22 or 23pm.

    The view, the staff, the breakfast. The hotel is very quiet this time of the year (January). The suite was very comfortable and private. The sauna was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    We love Sesimbra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    However the suite we booked had a kind of semi seaview (see picture attached) Breakfast was modest: no fresh vegetables. Coffee was not really good

    We love Sesimbra! We like the hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    4.6
    Booked a junior suite sea facing, end up to see the sea on an opening between buildings on an empty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee of extremely low quality. Standard items. No regional touch.

    Prompt action in replenishing what was missing, but when asked for! Fresh orange juice. Nice freshly baked bread.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Typical local cake (farinha torrada) for breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical local cake (farinha torrada) for breakfast, excellent position near downtown, excellent sea sightseeing from the room, excellent spa and massages, I will go back for sure!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    great views, great accomodation, comfort, spacious,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hairdrier gets too hot too fast...but they offer you a hairdrier in seconds from reception!!!

    great views, great accomodation, comfort, spacious, decoration and very very friendly and professional staff! Would love to repeat, for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful views and a nice outdoor pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't clean and not arranged nice like in their photos. We found hair on pillows and the bed wasn't well arranged. Also the sinks were without silks as you can see in my photos. At the reception at check out we were asked to pay some drinks from the bar which we didn't ordered, but there was an supervisor and modified that, without apologizing. The indoor pool is not cute at all and you must pay 4 Eur to rent a cap if you want to use it.

    Beautiful hotel with a nice pool outside and nice view from the rooms. The TV in the room is big, good and slim. You can put a USB stick and watch a movie from it or from a smart phone (screen mirroring). The rooms are big and the bathroom are very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything. The fact that the hotel was in two section meant we had to go down in the lift - walk to another lift & go up. Not really a problem but slightly annoying.

    Very comfortable in an excellent location. Good parking & wifi. Comfortable big room with seaview balcony. What more could you want!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Modern luxurious beach -front property only 40 minutes from Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very like to dislike about this hotel. However I would recommend better sign-posting. The town has a one way system that's initially quite confusing and hotel signs are only obvious when you are almost at the hotel.

    The hotel is all you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Beautifully decorated and furnished, modern yet tasteful. Excellent facilities and overlooking a wide Sandy beach. Staff were excellent, very professional and friendly. The breakfast was very good, and included a wide range of hot and cold buffet items, a good selection of juices - and bubbly! The hotel is secluded, yet only 5 minutes walk to the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    No car needed at this property~whole town very walkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ALL GOOD

    No car needed at this property~whole town very walkable & a beautiful beach right in front with a wonderful boardwalk & good restaurants with really fresh fish & crabs. Great elevator straight to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly laid out so spend lots of time in lifts and corridors. Not good for the less able. Very little staff to help Serious need of redecorating .restaurant not attractive and breakfast basic. Catering for groups and little attention to individuals.

    Location on the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel, communication in the spa could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The communication in the spa is terrible. They messed up our reservation which actually kinda ruined the trip for me. Not entirely since the hotel was nice and the location is great but one of the highlights of the trip was for us to relax and get a massage after. They were nice but I specifically reserved a couples massage and they ended up only reserving it for one. TWICE. I was pretty upset about it to say the least. Although other than that, everything else was really good.

    big rooms, good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great location and despite supper on our first night would definately stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    DIsappointing supper in the hotel on our first night , poor choice and dull food. But breakfast was much better and the Cava was appreciated!!

    Very large room and bathroom, great sea view. Resturants were just minutes away. Spa was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better options/guidance on return trip to Lisbon.

    Peaceful holiday in a quite fishing village. Local restaurant options with fresh fish were very good and lots of variety. Perhaps need to offer some guidance on where to dine with good value. Wonderful views and beautiful beaches. Lovely and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Superb.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This place is fantastic. Beautiful setting overlooking the sea, extra large rooms, great bathroom. We couldn't fault this place. Superb !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were at first in a room with a very unpleasant smell (humidity?). The staff came to check but could not do anything about it, the hotel was fully booked so we had to stay one night in this room. We could exchange the room the day after and we did not have any problem after. We received a bottle of wine as a compensation for the first room, which was nice from the hotel.

    The view is really nice. Sleeping and being awoken by the noice of the ocean is a very relaxing experience. The beds are confortable, the staff is friendly, a nice big and clean sand beach is just outside the hotel. It is a "no stress" hotel, everything is done to relax and enjoy the stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place for holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price could be a bit lower in low season...

    It was really nice place where I would love to stay more days! Great staff, very helpful and location is right on the beach. View from our room was great. Pool was cold but I have at least nice pictures. To the beach it took about 3 minutes with elevator and a few steps. To the restaurants it was very near.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Sesimbra Hotel and Spa was located beside a beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have enjoyed some evening entertainment in hotel bar or nearby location. Unfortunately there isn't nightlife in Sesimbra in September.

    Sesimbra Hotel and Spa was located beside a beautiful beach. I really liked the sea view. Room was also really clean and cozy. It was nice to have a Spa visiting opportunity and the pool on 6th floor was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    To repeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heated swimming pool would be great because the temperature was a no-go!

    Great location - very close to the beach. 5* staff - friendly and helpful. The room was perfect with a fantastic view. Loved the breakfast - simple but tasteful. Oh, and free parking in Sesimbra is an excellent extra.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a double/twin room because there was no option to select just double, and because it was a busy weekend and got a twin room (with joint beds). It was fine, but it would have been better if they could guarantee the double bed.

    The location is perfect and the room was great with an amazing view to the sea. It has direct access to the beach, restaurants, bars and newsagent by the door, infinity pool and a SPA. Breakfast was also good and very complete.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfy bed, amazing view, nice swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, amazing view, nice swimming pool. Good breakfast. Despite being August, all the common areas were very quiet and peaceful. Even though the hotel was probably full.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing and poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredible state of disrepair, hotel must have looked amazing when new (you can tell it was built to a very high spec) but sadly it is looking quite tired - broken furniture and tiles, room key holder that controls power/lights very temperamental (receptionist had to give us 3 separate key cards and said this is usual), broken appliances even in the breakfast area, the list could go on. Very poor cleaning standards and we hated having to use the shower, it was disgusting! Breakfast was very average, and staff incredibly unhelpful (though your mileage may vary). Far too expensive for what it is - would be worth the price we paid if it'd been kept clean and looked after, and staff weren't so dismissive.

    Very good location, near the old town, several restaurants and right in front of the beach. Amazing views from the room balcony on the 9th floor and also from the glass lifts. Free underground parking (even if a bit hard to find and get to).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    beautiful hotel very relaxing holiday and beach very near hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The bathroom had a bath with shower which did not suit us but on asking at reception there are only 2 rooms in the hotel with only shower and have to be booked well in advance.

    breakfast was very good with fresh fruit every morning , choice between cold meats , cheese and hot breakfast. Bread very good variety , fruit juices tea & coffee. You could eat out or stay inside and staff were excellent . Rooms were beautiful large rooms with a big balcony , and many areas in the hotel to sit and read beautifully decorated, staff very helpful, and seats on the beach were free when you stayed in the hotel. it was almost relaxing holiday and I will be returning there again next year.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is a 2-minute mall from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is repetitive, we stayed on bb basis, but had dinner once and it was a total disappointment - too pricey for the selection of dishes.

    The hotel is a 2-minute mall from the beach. The beach is great, the waters are clear, the only downside is the beach is divided into several areas depending on whether your using the tents provided, your own umbrellas or not, and the umbrella area is tiny and can get crowded by 10 am in the summer. The rooms are spacious and clean, there's a great view on the bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    The entry decoration was stunning and the overall design of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balconies are a bit scary. The spa was not fully functional, some of the options were not available or not functioning properly. The next door bar uses exagerated volume until late in the night some of the evenings.

    The entry decoration was stunning and the overall design of the whole interiors is really nice. The room is beautiful, spacious and comfy, the access to the beach is very good. The fitness is very functional and the spa is nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking smell in our room, still the same food/small variety of food for breakfast.

    Big room, nice oceanview,near the beach,nice small fish village with amazing seafood and wine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location and good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in took loads of time and a room was only given after 3.30pm. There were more people waiting for rooms as well. We didn't had the possibility for a late check out, so we used the changing rooms available at the hotel. The elevators are very small and the staff use it as well. The breakfast is ok and it was always the same (coffee from machines, continental breakfast and English breakfast - without mushrooms and salty baked beans).

    The location is perfect and the car parking is a plus!!! The room sea view is amazing and completely worthy!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Hooray for Sesimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more attention to the balcony would be preferable.

    Check-in was excellent and the staff made a superb effort to ensure all aspect of our stay were wonderful. Breakfast was particularly good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    The room has an amazing size, and it is quite well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed wasn´t really confortable. The Hotel is offered as a Spa, but the installations that you can use as free are not very nice at all. The Spa is located in a kind of cellar with a pool, sauna and showers that do not invite you to stay. We did not try the rest of the instalations. I would recommend this hotel for its location and because the rooms and the personal worth it; but I wouldn´t chose it as a Spa.

    The room has an amazing size, and it is quite well decorated. It also has a huge terrace with views quite beautiful too. The attention in the reception was excellent. Most of the stuff was really helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was great and the views from the hotel room of the beach were marvelous! Super relaxing which is excellent what was needed! The hotel is also great in terms of maintenance and how it looks which is always important for me when I stay somewhere!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    The suite was very roomy, amazing bathroom and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel faces onto an ugly building. Coffee at breakfast was very poor. Would like the option of fresh coffee. Swimming pool smaller than photos and in shade for a lot of the day so needs heating. Suites should have a nespresso machine in room or similar to bring up to spec.

    The suite was very roomy, amazing bathroom and comfy bed. Slept very well. Views from hotel are beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.7
    You are just paying for the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a joke. Worse than most of the hostels I have stayed before. Really less variety. Tin fruits, the cheapest sausages and cheese, bad coffee, warm food not warm. The two days we stayed there, not a single dish was changed. I think I will get crazy if I have to eat that kind of breakfast for a whole week. I cannot imagine they serve this kind of breakfest also during high season when people are paying more than 300 per night. Well, apparently, I am not the first one complaining about not able to have a kettle in the room. I just read some reviews on the way back mention the same problem. In our case, we need it to make milk for our daughter. I mean a little girl needs her food. The hotel staff shows no interest of helping us, just keep on repeating you cannot have it in your room. This is the first hotel we stayed which has no possiblity of getting a kettle for us. They told us to go to the bar which opens only till 1am. So if my daughter needs milk between 1am and 7 am. There is zero chance. Luckily luckily, she was pretty tired and slept through. I personally think, as a hotel in this standard, you dont need to have it as standard facility in the room, but at least upon request. The stuff should at least get better trained about how to communicate with the guests when you have to give a reject answer.

    The location is just awesome. Right at the beach. The beach is really beautiful and not crowded at this time of the year. Many nice restaurants close by. To have the free parking is really a plus. I didnt see some many public parking in the city. The bed was comfortable. The room was really big. The sea view in the room is just unbeatable, as well as the view at the restaurant. Having breakfest on the terrasse is just great. I think you are paying mainly for the view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    You can have breakfast (good and varied choice) on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not dependent on the hotel, the wind can be quite strong on the beaches and then it's better to walk rather than to sunbathe.

    You can have breakfast (good and varied choice) on the terrace overlooking the ocean. The view from the room and being able to fall asleep with the sound of the waves. Comfy sofa and bed in the suite which has a well organised space. Good choice of tv channels. Don't miss a tour of the arrabida park and cabo espichel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window cleaning needs a little more care and the parking can be a little cumbersome.

    The location is spectacular and the rooms are nice, spacious and with a magical view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Top room with seaview
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little tricky to find the parking procedures. (Hotel lobby on another street and elevated from the garage entrance) Once there it was good though (garage).

    Very good location just above the beach with a magnificent view of the sea. Huge room and bed plus balcony (we got a top floor room). Very good breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Found some real nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Great place to relax by the beach and pool! BUT Confusing to hang around and poor staff management!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not very easy to arrive by car, should have plates on the way. Not clear if we can enter the subterranean park or not, before check-in (yes you can, and should. There is a door that leads you to the reception, then). There must be more plaques to tell the way to things. Its very confusing to walk inside the hotel because it's huge. Also, there was lack of staff at some points of the trip (pool bar - only one person; breakfast - just 2 persons).. This is a 4 star hotel and this should not happen! Poor staff management!!

    The staff was super friendly! The room had stunning views and was super comfortable and we just hear the sound of the waves before sleeping!!! It's very close to the beach and the village shops and restaurants. The pool is superb too!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast, excellent views, large and spacious rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and hotel entrance were very poorly indicated (you must go through a public parking with confusing indications to reach the hotel entrance). Wifi issues when we arrived at the property.

    Good breakfast, excellent views, large and spacious rooms and beds.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Big rooms, splendid designed baths, balcony with a view on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing - it offered so much and was so surprisingly inexpensive

    Big rooms, splendid designed baths, balcony with a view on the beach/sea, a pool to relax, an interesting architecture, luxurious interior design, attentive and very friendly staff- we enjoyed the calm and the style!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    We had an overall very positive stay.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were separate beds and not a double bed as was 'promised'. A light on the balcony switched on in the middle of the night. The luminosity woke me up and there was no interruptor for the light.

    We had an overall very positive stay. beautiful sea view. Room with extra facilities for mobility challenges of my husband. We were given room to safely store my husbands scoot- mobile.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    9.6
    Cultural exposure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great; we were completely immersed in the culture of the region as opposed to something very commercialised and overwhelmed by tourists (this does mean very few people didn't speak much English so you will have to brush up on the basic Portugese in some cases which I try doing when travelling abroad anyway),the coast was absolutely beautiful, the hotel had a lot of services to offer. In case the distance of the hotel from central Lisbon seems daunting, the distance from the airport to the hotel a and the hotel to the city centre is only 40-50 minutes each way and although it can cost around 37 euros by Uber it can costs 1.80-3.60 euros by bus. The bus takes no longer than the taxi, is timely, and an 8 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    The ocean view is marvelous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very poorly signalized. We couldn't find the hotel entrance from the garage and so many other guests. It's like a maze. Stairs and stairs, parking floors, then when we made it (along with other guests) the front desk attendant said it was very easy (Easy for those who knows well the place because there is no indications!). Not even the breakfast restaurant had signs... we followed the sounds of silverware and plates! Everything is very confusing and they really need to put more signs.

    The ocean view is marvelous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.3
    A Spa week-end in Sesimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the spa was booked when we arrived service very bad and often spa closed lack of staff at the spa the pool was cold spa installation poor shower and lights broken

    location restaurant staff nice bar with a great café nice spa massages

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic service, fantastic views in a slightly worn hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things at the hotel seems to be somewhat worn, and that it shows now that the hotel is starting to go for years, by inter alia the loss detach from the walls. But this does not matter, and overshadowed completely by the magnificent great service.

    An excellent service, far above what one might expect. Our luggage was unfortunately not sent on the same flight as us, to Lisbon Airport, and was left at Oslo Airport Gardermoen to day. We had on arrival Lisbon AirPort get us to the hotel, where staff stood and did everything they could to get our luggage until the hotel, this despite the fact that we had only booked for one night. Excellent Service !!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location right in front of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was very slow

    Great location right in front of the beach. Big comfy room. Although I didnt use the Spa (so I cant really give my opinion about it) the spa area in the hotel is nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is ok, be careful instant coffe is included in the regular breakfast. If you prefere having regular coffe it is only available on a extra charge!

    Good location, friendly staff, nice room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stay for vacation, not business.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - As a business traveler, there was no iron available (neither in room or hotel).

    - Large and very comfortable bed. - Balcony with an ocean view. - Very friendly staff at dinner.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: