Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quinta de Santo Antonio

Quinta De Santo António - Adorigo, 5120-011 Tabuaço, Portugal

#4 of 9 hotels in Tabuaço

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 484 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Perfection in Douro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would not change anything and hope to visit again.

    We absolutely loved our stay here, Carlos and his wife are extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. We had dinner there one night and the food was delicious and we were served lovely wine and port, the breakfast was just as good and we enjoyed having our coffee overlooking the valley. Our room was perfect, very clean and tidy with a comfortable bed, and our view was just amazing. The view from the pool area is too beautiful for words and we loved exploring the vineyard. This is the perfect way to experience Douro!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the lobby/eating area, 15minutes by car to the closest restaurant/store, small rooms without refrigerator, bad WiFi, only 3 sun beds and plenty of people at the pool area, out of hot water in the evening.

    Nice view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great view and great dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    It was our second visit at this place: A nice host, a great surrounding. The dinner was about 8 other people with great talks for hours was amazing. Thank you for hosting us!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Superb view and hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were sad leaving such a beautiful place - Wifi can be a bit finicky...

    Incredible view above the Douro valley and river... Grounds are beautiful. This was our favorite place out of everywhere we've stayed in Portugal. The location is superb, the owners, Carlos and Magdalena, made us feel part of the family. the food was delicious, the service was outstanding, and don’t forget to taste the 40 year Port.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Remarkable inn on the top of a hill with a gorgeous view of the Duoro valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection was weak. It is a long way to any restaurant. (Booking.com should really bold the fact that one needs to let the inn know ahead of time if one wants a dinner).

    Beautiful view of the Douro river valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at Quinta design Santo Antonio's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly on the small side and it was not easy to find.

    Breakfast and dinner were delicious. The owner was an extremely good host. The location was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful - could easily have spent a week and spend more time wandering local villages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 2 GPS units and neither took us to right location - other guests had the same trouble. Don't trust your GPS which will probably take you up off the highway too early and up to a small village (which is incorrect) - use directions to find the Quinta on the map and it is much easier. Travel along Douro river road until you get to the yellow bridge, turn right just before bridge and then after a couple of km look for another right up a narrow cobbled driveway - it's narrow and steep but that is the correct way.

    A wonderful regional location overlooking the Douro Valley based in the middle of a fantastic vineyard. Excellent facilities and wonderful/helpful host. Dine with the host for at least 1 night - great food and company.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    A must destination; excellent views an superb accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Spectacular location, wonderful accommodation and very pleasant host. Easy setting to meet other guests. It is well worth the drive up the hill. We would go back anytime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Could hardly be bettered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is extraordinary, the beds comfortable, and the hotel overall is friendly and well run. Carlos, the owner, sets the mood - he wants guests to enjoy themselves. The communal meals excellent - and great fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Amazing and breath taking view of Douro river valley !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The driving up was scary but with help from many back seat drivers we made it safely!

    Very friendly, welcoming and accommodating host Carlos ! We arrived late for dinner and yet were given a fabulous dinner by the host! Very nice and clean bedroom, Beautiful dining room. Quite a unique modern architecture designed resort on a very high and steep hill with beautiful garden of roses, lavenders and wild flowers and the vast surrounding field of vines. We fell in love with the place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent views, quiet property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do NOT take the route that Google Maps will try to recommended - wait for the Quinta do Santo Antonio sign on N323 and a grey cobble-stoned road. Because it's a steep, narrow climb, we would not recommend this property if you are not a reasonably confident driver. Dinner must be requested in advance or you will need to take a trip to Pinhao.

    Lovely property with an excellent view. Carlos was an enthusiastic host and has built ample common space into the property, inviting the guests to interact outside of their rooms. The bed was comfortable. If you arrive and cant find anyone (it is quiet during the day), check the houses to the left of the villa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views and a nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a nice room with one double bed, one single one for our 3yo and a baby cot. The room was quite comfortable. The property has an amazing view and we took a little walk in the vineyards the morning of our stay which was beautiful. We appreciated that we could have dinner at the property while our smaller child slept and the bigger one got a big bowl of soup.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.5
    Just what you want a Douro valley quinta to be: quiet with great view, but close to other stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A temporary dog was noisy.

    Wonderful property---I sat outside and looked at the view, read my book, and so on. We strolled the farm, looking at the hills and river and olive trees. Nice bed--not a two-twins-pushed-together. I care about that. Great host. Skilled at keeping multi-language group enjoying each other, without being conspicuous about it. Made group dinners and breakfasts a delightful experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    The view is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way to the guesthouse is not simple even after googlemaps sent us at first to a more difficult path...dinner is needed to be reserved in advance and no vegetarian options :/

    The view is amazing! And carlos is a very kind and interesting person, it was great meeting him

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay - view is gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi connection, be careful with the road to property (google maps suggesting wrong one - better check with host in advance)

    Gorgeous view, spacious rooms, very relaxed atmosphere, amazing host, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Modern architectural setting scaling over a majestic,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern architectural setting scaling over a majestic, panorama of the Douro Valley. A personal touch of the owners, Carlos and Madeleina, made us feel part of the family. For a special treat, order the home made dinner, and don’t forget to taste the 40 year Port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Simply fantastic on every field!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say anything negative about this accommodation

    Delicious breakfasts, great that you can have dinner at the spot if wanted. Carlos, the owner, makes always time tot give you more information about the neighbourhood or for a pleasant talk. The fact that you have breakfast and dinner on one big table, together with the other guests, gives also a very nice surplus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Two nights was too brief.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host Carlos and his wife could not have been more gracious and accomodating to special requests. We were made to feel like old friends within moments of arrival. Most enjoyable were dinners at the great table with other guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    The hosts were very friendly, the view was wonderful, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small, the dinner was not available.

    The hosts were very friendly, the view was wonderful, we liked promenade a lot, the breakfast was delicious, a parking place was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    It was such a beautiful escape from the city.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was such a beautiful escape from the city. The property is high up in the hills of the Duoro Valley, with gorgeous views of the river and lots of vineyards to explore. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Ours had a view of the river. The staff is really friendly and helpful in providing recommendations for things to do and restaurants in the area. Communal breakfast is lovely. You definitely need a car if you're planning on leaving the property at all. The closest town is about a 10 minute drive, and there are several restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    A magnificent property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this place is great, except that it can be a little hard to find. Best to get there well before dark to ensure you get there, as you will be rewarded for your efforts by the view, the hospitality and the comfort. Dinner at the quinta needs to be reserved in advance. It is simple but excellent and a great option if you want a night in after touring all day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    An excellent quinta
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drive to the estate is not for the fainthearted

    Carlos was a really helpful host and the estate was gorgeous. Good breakfast, excellent views and plenty of common space to spend time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Great place for both: romantic weekend or fun with host and the rest of the crowd, your choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed and friendly host with whom we had lot of fun and laughter. Excellent wine we enjoyed under the stary night sky at the terrace looking over the valley of river Douro.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all, even the winding road up to his B&B

    Our hosts Carlos and his wife Madelaine were wonderful! Meals with them booked ahead were scrumptious, breakfast very good with lots of choices. View and outdoor space spectacular. We loved our stay. Carlos knowledgeable about area and what to see and do.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    This was my favorite place out of everywhere I've stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was amazing!

    This was my favorite place out of everywhere I've stayed in Portugal. The location is gorgeous, the room was large and comfortable, the food was delicious, the service was outstanding, and the port was tasty. I am so sad I didn't have more than one night there. I'm already planning to come back with friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative I perceived won't bother everyone but the drive up to the property is long and windy on a one lane road. A bit challenging.

    The property is amazing! It could be the best all around property I have ever stayed at. The view is something you have to see for yourself. The rooms were comfortable, the food was good and Carlos was an excellent host. After dinner we played pool downstairs and then enjoyed some wine watching the stars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice owner. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both GPS systems I had couldn't find the location. First, it can't find the address of the property. Second, according to my Booking.com confirmation the GPS coordinates were wrong. The owner of the property said that Booking.com had the GPS coordinates wrong even though he submitted the proper coordinates. It was very frustrating to try to find this property with GPS. It got me close but had me down on the road by the river. This property is on top of the mountain so you have to drive up them mountain a bit to get there. There is pretty good signage on the road once you get close to the location. I was able to find it after help from some locals, but very frustrating trying to find it with GPS.

    It has a beautiful view of the Duoro Valley from the top of the mountain. The outdoor pool is a nice feature as well. It has an amusing large window in the shower (with blinds) that faces the bed if you want to watch your travel companion take a shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The host & his wife do everything possible to create a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host & his wife do everything possible to create a wonderful, welcoming holiday. The view of the Douro Valley is spectacular throughout the property, with many private spots to enjoy it outside. Well worth staying for the lovely dinner (but you have to request it in advance). Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer - highly recommended!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Amazing views from this beautiful Quinta overlooking the stunning Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. Only thing, be prepared for a very narrow, winding road up to the Quinta. Be sure to come off the main drag & not over the mountains, lots more narrow, winding roads. Having said that, this area is stunning & the views the same.

    The evening meals were home cooked & delicious, a small extra payment (incl unlimited wines) but well worth it. The views were to die for, very high up with the Douro River below, stunning. The owner, Carlos, was very friendly & helpful giving us ideas of where to go & what to see. This place is so beautiful in a beautiful part of the world. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    We would recommend this accommodation to others keeping in mind you share the dining table with othe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provide tea and coffee making facilities for guests at other times besides breakfast and dinner e.g. Afternoon tea time;snacks should be readily available for guests.

    Carlos was a friendly host who happily catered for our requests and gave us tips on local sightseeing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have little 'coffee station' in the room. Or a flask with coffee at the recepion. Remember it is little far away to the shops so if you need something, for e.g. pastry(for aftrernoon coffee ;) its good to buy it before. It woul be nice to heve this option there. Short menu with snaks to buy it.

    One of the most beautiful places on earth. Such a pitty we booked just two days. I love travel, do not like stay in one place...but I could make an exception. What I can say: breathtaking view, few(not just one) cozy places outside to hide with book, sat down with coffee. Refreshing swimming pool. We went for walk along Quinta, see how actually greaps teast like...different than in a supermarket ;) Better, sweeter. One evening we went for nice homemade dinner with vine from "Douro" and porto. By the long table was 5 more lovely couples...after everyone went downstairs to play cards, you can also play pool, watch TV . There is no chance to get bored. Everything is on very high standard. Little paradise. Aaaaa don't trust GPS. What I mean, gps will show you wrong Quinta, like someone mention before: from roud 222 turn right to Tabuaco and second right to Quinta de St.Antonio...you will see roud sign anyway. We will go back there for shure!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night at this Quinta was not long enough! Location was perfect and overlooked the valley. Wonderful pool and facilities, including multiple sitting areas - both inside and out. Room was spacious but unfortunately didn't overlook the valley (although most did). We opted to have dinner at the Quinta, and Carlos was very accommodating with this as we had not pre-arranged. Dinner included wine and a glass of delicious port. For €25 each we didn't think this was too badly priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay with beautiful shaded spots to sit in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay with beautiful shaded spots to sit in the garden and a very clean swimming pool. Excellent breakfast and evening meal. Lovely hosts. To find it, don't go via Adorigo. From Pinhão with the railway station on your RHS continue and bear right over the bridge towards Vila Real. At T-junction turn right again towards Vila Real and continue a few kilometres until traffic lights where you turn left towards Tabuaço. After a short time, a bit hidden on a right hand bend there is a turn on your right signposted to the Quinta. Continue up the steep, narrow, winding road (bearing right to Quinta - not left to Adorigo) until you reach the Quinta.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Perfect Place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Quinta is such a beautiful place. Carlos and his wife are amazing hosts and we really enjoyed our time there. It was very clean and peaceful. A perfect place to relax. The Dinner at the big table was really nice and it was good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Nowhere better for panoramic views of the Douro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like - except the slightly steap drive up to the hotel - but totally worth it for the views!

    I can't imagine there is a hotel in a better location for panoramic views of the Douro. If you're looking to stay in the region get into the hills to stay on this family run quinta with nice modern facilities, a friendly welcome and a lovely pool. We also enjoyed dinner with at the hotel one night - Carlos was an excellent host and his wife cooked a very tastey meal. Together they could not do more to accommodate their guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carlos and his wife are fantastic. They were very helpful. Dinner and wine were perfect. Great place to stay and relax. Great view and very silent. Thanks for all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Can be tricky to get there, but it is a paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Get ready for perilous journey up their driveway. Also, DO NOT TRUST GPS directions. Make sure you know the route off of N222 and N323 before you head out.

    A fabulous view. Not the most spacious room. Family-style dinners are a blast. Prepared by wife/owner. A very international crowd.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like here...

    Unparalleled views from the property over the Douro valley. Great food (from breakfast to traditional home cooked dinner with a property produced 1975 port) and extremely accommodating, enthusiastic and helpful host, taking obvious pride in his heritage and personal care of guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing view and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the guest house, but be sure you follow the nice cobble stoned road up to the quinta as your GPS might lead you to a nasty gravel road.

    The view from the Quinta is way more amazing than it looks on the photos. Carlos has great knowledge about the port wine production and is at your service when you need him.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    the location /panoramic views were the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you don't stay here for your Room, rooms are small, but comfortable, you stay here for the experience of being in this incredible spot high above the Douro valley and river.. the views are fantastic, and the grounds are beautiful.

    the location /panoramic views were the best... Carlos, the host was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful second home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Spectacular 180 degree river valley and vineyard views from our room, dining room and the pool terrace. Great breakfasts and beautiful dinner with wine. Carlos was a perfect host with a great sense of humour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful views and relaxing ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful views and relaxing ambiance. Ate lovely home cooked meals ( especially the duck rice) whilst staying at Carlos' Quinta and sampled his fantastic port. I now realise that I do like good port! '

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Amazing time in Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last 10 minutes of driving was a little difficult up a narrow cobblestone road. Hopefully no one else is coming at the same time. View is worth it once you get up though!

    The view is amazing and Carlos had excellent recommendations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location if staying in the Douro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing location with superb views of the Douro Valley. Carlos our host was wonderful, extremely helpful with tips and making arrangements for us in the local area, and we really enjoyed the ambience of the place, an excellent couple of days. Casper and Sebastian the dogs were good company too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.3
    Not a Quinta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we arrived sunday at 2pm with no one at reception. cleaning staff let us in. waited 2 plus hours at the pool that was too dirty to swim in for the owner to arrive without acess to food or drink. owner then said we needed to go back in to town for a meal. the gps will not identify directions as there is a single private drive up about 2kms long so getting there may be complicated. this should be called a b&b as the quinta is not operational, no tastings, no tours available and no meal or beverage services provided other than the week night supper option and the daily breakfast. the rooms are also not insulated so sleeping later than when the breakfast service starts is not possible. very dissapointing stay overall.

    awesome view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Best Quinta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything...

    The property was beautiful with amazing views of the river and terraced vineyards. The owner Carlos was a good host and very friendly. The dinners are a must. The buffet breakfeasts were great. We spent the weekend on this property and found it so relaxing after sightseeing in Porto. We agree with all the good reviews of this property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small, but there were lots of common areas, both inside and outside to sit and relax, so it wasn't a big issue.

    Quinta de Santo Antonio was almost perfect! The view was amazing, bed comfortable, property lovely and quiet. Carlos is a great host who made sure all our needs were met. We emailed ahead to let him know of some dietary restrictions, and he made sure we had great bread and muffins to eat at breakfast, and that the supper we had there was okay for us as well. And his 1985 tawny has ruined me for all other Ports! A great experience, all in all!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was exceptional. A large vineyard with incredible views of the Douro. The common meal with Carlos, the host, and couples from five countries was a lesson on port wine and the Douro area that was worth the price alone. The facilities were good. Large room, great shower, etc. The most relaxing and enjoyable stop on a two week trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit difficult to find the right way to the quinta, but once you are on the right way it is ok to drive.

    Very nice and warm welcome. We had a perfect time relaxing, drinking some good wine and just enjoying the beautiful view and the silence. Great dinner in a perfect atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    A paradise in Douro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The way to the hotel is not so obvious. This could be improved with more detailed information on how to get there.

    The host family is lovely and the entire hotel is just beautiful. We had a lovely dinner and breakfast together with all the other guests. There is pool billard table in the basement and a wonderful living room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Favourite place in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our favourite place in Portugal. Amazing location, incredible views, delightful hosts. The bed was very comfortable too. Unfortunately we were both quite sick, but it was a great place to be sick, as you don't need to leave the property to enjoy the Douro Valley, this is simply the best view you can get.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Try to get room #2 - it has views both up and down the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Try to get room #2 - it has views both up and down the river. The views were I thought better than those from the advertised miradouros. Excellent home-style evening meal. Fantastic host. Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    The host was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was wonderful! The view was amazing and the location is great! We recommend to eat dinner at the hotel, wine is included in the price. The host showed us the vinegary and even gave us a taste of 100 years old port!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Spectacular! We were sad to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was difficult to find even with GPS. We would have liked a place get a coffee and snack during the day. You have to leave the property for dinner unless you want a pricy meal each night. Wifi was iffy.

    The view was spectacular. The room was spacious and clean. Carlos was easy to talk to and helpful in planning a river tour or wine tasting. We really enjoyed relaxing, walking, and taking in the beautiful grounds. The surrounding towns were fun to visit if you are up for the driving. Dinner was expensive but it was a 3 course meal with wine and port included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Amazing views from this quiet, comfortable Quinta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quiet remote location, great view. Friendliness of staff. Carlos is extremely attentive and social. Recommendations and suggestions on things to do were great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    The views from the hotel were gorgeous as you overlook the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and dated which wasn't a big deal as we weren't in the hotel for long. The hotel was hard to find - don't follow the Google directions as it has the hotel entrance marked are a different location.

    The views from the hotel were gorgeous as you overlook the river. Carlos was a nice host who was generous with his recommendations and port. The location of the hotel is convenient to the vineyards.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    The Only Way to Experience the Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything was perfect.

    Everything about the property was amazing. The room was comfortable with a great view, the owner was incredibly warm, made us a late dinner when we arrived after everyone else had gone to sleep, and give us great vineyard recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    Brilliant views- great host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that none of my two quesrions I sent through prior to arrival were responded too- including having dinner prepared by mine host.

    The host and his enthusiasm make the place. Carlos gives great personal advice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    What a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Breathtaking is insufficient to describe the location and views (driving up the mountain to reach the property takes your breath away and then, once you get there, the beauty takes your breath in a different way). The facilities are very comfortable and tasteful. The room, while small is perfectly appointed w/ modern amenities. The pool and outdoor areas take full advantage of the views. The food and wine were excellent. The host, Carlos, is charming, warm, helpful, informative and completely gracious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Would recommend to a friend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You absolutely NEED a car in this area - nothing walking distance - very few taxi.

    Awesome hosts! Very helpful - very friendly. Amazing property with fantastic view on the Douro river. Facility offers a lot a rest/lounge areas.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Amazing location, staff and atmosphere. Will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly host, nice atmosphere. Dinner in the evening was 25 euros and included soup, main course and a dessert. It was accompanied by wines and water and even a 1985 homemade porto to finish the meal. View from the room was fantastic, with view on the swimming pool and the douro valley.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Very recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. The food could be better (fresh juice in the morning, more variation on buffet). Dinner pricey compared to what was offered.

    Location great, nice owner, wifi in room, aircon

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Divine view and location overlooking the beautiful Douro River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very happy with all this accommodation offered at a ery reasonable price

    The location was stunning. the eggs for breakfast were to die for, the pool and pool table, and the quirky features

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.6
    amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tv was not working and mobile network is bad which can be good to relax even more

    amazing location nice staff and very good food amazing landscape and relaxing place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    An incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please pay attention to the directions, if you arrive to the village go down and continue 4 more km and then exit at the light

    The view, the view, the charming hosts, the food, the wine and the porto

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    IT REALLY WAS AN EXCELLENT STAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a complaint, it is the admission of my own mistake. I should have known better. I left the bedroom window open to allow the wonderful fresh air and the dawn chorus in, but also let in the flies. One particular fly bites and it dined out on me quite indulgently, took weeks for the bites to disappear!! I should have stuck to the adequate aircon!!

    Everything, wonderful welcome, wonderfully amusing host, stunning location, excellent food, dinner and breakfast (recommend the pumpkin jam!), extremely comfortable bed. It was a simply wonderful experience, will return just to be amused by the owner, Carlos and staff. They were excellent and delightful. Carlos the fount of all local knowledge, is perfectly happy to recommend other places for lunch/dinner, but their dinners are really good and the farm wine excellent. Stayed two nights, should have stayed longer and explored more.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.6
    Great location with a superb panorama view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinners were offered, which was convenient. However they are a bit pricy compared for the area.

    The great quiet location, with a fantastic view over the Douro valley. The fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Relaxation in Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was so so, actually better to try the restaurants around the area. Pool was much smaller than the photos portray, although we didn't care, was great to swim

    Beautiful views, building was lovely, great atmosphere - all the guests seem to be enjoying themselves. Carlos was an excellent host.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place and somewhere we would like to revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views over the river with helpful and friendly hosts.Enjoyed the communal dining.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing views, great friendly staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi is a bit patchy, coverage is not everywhere great.

    Amazing views, great friendly staf. Awesome location and great food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location up high looking down o the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful location up high looking down o the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Muted street noise at night.

    Garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place with spectacular view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a gem! The location with the wonderful view on the Douro is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Beyond expectations. Carlos and his wife were fabulous hosts helpful and entertaining
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Fantastic views. Best host possible. Quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: