Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carvi Beach Hotel 3 stars

Alameda Dr. Armando Soares Ribeiro Praia D. Ana, 8600-500 Lagos, Portugal

#29 of 51 hotels in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2124 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    The location of this hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking this hotel we thought all the rooms had a terrace with a nice view. Even though my reservation said garden view, I thought it would still be great. Our room was on the ground floor behind the staff's office. There were only a few rooms on our side of the floor and we were the only one that didn't get a view. We walked out on our terrace and were really let down. We walked out to a terrace that only has a view of a large wall, the dumpsters, and a set of stairs that can take you up to the rooftop restaurant, but it seems they keep that door locked. There is hardly any insulation so we could hear everything day and night that went on in our hallway. Our door would not close easily unless you slammed it, which going back to the thin walls and lack of noise reduction made me feel bad for our neighbors every time we had to leave the room.

    The location of this hotel is amazing. You are steps away from a beautiful beach, which is not something you get staying in the old town area. The rooftop pool is very nice. The rooftop restaurant has some great dinner options. The free breakfast is a plus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Birthday celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only things we could possibly fault were the lack of clothes storage in the room and also lack of bins which are small points.

    The staff, the choice of breakfast, comfortable beds, cleanliness of the hotel and rooms, the location so close to the beach, the general attitude of everyone we dealt with, the restaurant and quality of food, proximity to Lagos town and car parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location at an even more amazing price point -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location at an even more amazing price point - everything that we needed, and the staff was super helpful in tending to all of our extra needs like booking tours and suggesting places

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.5
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only hotel I have ever stayed in that had no information leaflets/booklets on activities/places to visit in the area. Just a minor thing, but there was no iron.

    Stunning location by the beautiful Praia d. Ana beach. Short walk to Lagos old town and the lighthouse at Ponta da Piedade. Nice breakfast. Stayed in a junior suite with a beautiful view and was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice room and staff but disappointing facilities and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smelly, photos make hotel appear way better than reality. The pool is very small. The breakfast was using cheapest ingredients possible e.g. croissants were stale, tinned fruit, cheap cheese and terrible meats.. the juice was a luminous orange and tasted like it was full of sugar. Would have been better to have a very simple brekkie with high quality products. For >100€ a night expected more!

    Excellent location next to the sea and easy reach if Lagos. Nice rooftop restaurant for drinks in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    We will not be staying here again and will not recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has amazing photos online, but is in actuality has a budget hotel feel. We stayed one night and checked out early. The restaurant staff at breakfast was very inattentive and the food was mediocre.

    The room was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very standard. Be sure to upgrade and book a sea view room otherwise you will be facing a brick wall! Wardrobes and bathroom could do with an update.

    Bed extra comfy. Perfect location next to the beach. Idillic views. Some very friendly staff. All in all an enjoyable stay :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Right on the beach and the best beach to swim. Room is very clean and comfortable to stay. Breakfast was great as well. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    The pool was really nice, ass well as the nearby beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt that the rooms were very 'simple' for the price we paid. Besides the overpriced room there was a bad smell in the bathroom. The town was a fair walk away. The hotel was ok we just felt we paid to much

    The pool was really nice, ass well as the nearby beach. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoysble
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensure room not on lower ground floor which can be cheaper. Rooms tiny and claustrophobic and no private balcony. Room also bit noisy as near front of hotel and parking for beach close by

    Breakfast lovely. Receptionists very helpful when problem. Pool area on smaller side so could be hard to get a lilo in.peak time. But beach really close and lovely though 94 steps down! Old town area also about 15-20 mins walk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Completely magical place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to not like here, it's so beautiful.

    Everything. The location is absolutely perfect, right next to the bus stop to get into town, a supermarket, 2 minute walk to the beach. It's perfect. The rooms are gorgeous, the beds are incredibly comfy. If I was to come back to Lagos, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Resort amazing, hotel staff brilliant and beach beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was in a junior suite but air conditioning did not manage to get through to room area (could not sleep at all) Mechanism for air conditioner to keep on (only stayed on for 10 mins at a time) not sufficient when no air in room Coffee and seating area, never open in the two days we stayed, had to sit on a step to wait for taxis instead of a nice chair to sit on (not sure why never opened)!! Hotel required taxis to marina and at night was difficult to get taxis back due to long lengthy queues at 1 Taxi rank available

    Junior Suite was a fab size and bed really comfy Staff very helpful and accommodating Fabulous views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Great value for 3 star, so close to beach, great rooftop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink didn't drain properly and hot water took about 5 min to come through the shower head

    Great value for 3 star, so close to beach, great rooftop great roof top pool staff are great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Over all very good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all very good experience. Room was large and very clean. Air conditioning took a bit longer to get the room cool. Maybe because the sun exposure is so strong or maybe the unit could be better. However if left on a long time it cools it down nicely. The proximity to town and beautiful beach a plus. Negatives were the so so breakfast. Plenty of food but quality not great. Also please get some American movies to watch. CNN was about all they had. Glad I had my IPad to watch some TV before bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Spacious suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We spent one week in the hotel and the breakfast was every day same. It is little bit boring day by day, The Bar on the street front was open, only one time during a week.....

    Spacious suite. Nice Ocean's view. Comfort bed. Big terase.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Lagos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved Carvi Beach!!!!!! The location is the best!!!!! Bus into Lagos if you wish, beach access, beautiful views. Loved the beach loved Lagos

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little on the small side.

    Beds were very comfortable and clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Liked the fridge and safe in the room at no extra cost. Great location too. I would definetly go back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    It doesn't delivers what the room rate suggests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price tag is a 5 star but the hotel is actually a 3 star at max. The food at the hotel's rest is very basic as the breakfast. You cannot even charge it towards your room's bill. No amenities at all (something you do expect paying the rate charged). You even have to rent towels if you need. The parking can be a bit challenging but we were aware of it, and it's not as bad as it looks. The pool is very isolated and the sun beds again are not quite up to the standard of the room rate. Overall something has to be adjusted. Either you lower the night rate or improve the offered services.

    The hotel is very close to the beach, which makes is very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is really cheap, the juices are made with powder and water when in Portugal it's full of fresh oranges. Everyday, they served the same exact thing. The cakes were not homemade. Same things you get in a really bad motel in the USA. Then, the swimming pool had to be open at 9 am but everyday, the man was cleaning it till 10:30 so no swim beore that time. Umbrellas and long chairs were almost all broken. There was a old paper tissue which stayed in the shower at the poil for 9 days. No plug in the bathroom to plug your hair dlatener not even anywhere close to a mirror!!!! We had to pay 2 euros per day to rent a swimming pool towel!!! But no credit card payment available at reception!!!!

    We like the cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a better view from the room as we had none whatsoever.

    Rooms were very spacious. Lots of wardrobe space. Large patio area. Loved the roof top breakfast area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the afternoon the pool could get a bit busy

    The roof top pool was lovely. Room was clean and had good AirCon. The food at the restaurant was spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Extremely friendly staff in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Extremely friendly staff in the restaurant Excellent restaurant meals Location (10m nice walk to center) Breakfast Clean rooms Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    - proximity to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - proximity to the beach - staff were friendly - clean and comfortable - wifi worked perfectly - AC worked very good - about 10 min walk from center/restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    I had a very comfortable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small fridge in the room I would also have like tea and coffee making facilities

    A very good choice for breakfast. The soon was very clean and the bed very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    If the the beach hotel charges for the beach towels it is already a signal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No typical extras: slippers, tea/coffee machine, beach towel, adequate shampoo. The most narrow bed I have ever had in hotels. Uncomfortable pillows. The staff at the reception is not professional both at the desk and via emails suggesting wrongly and incorrectly to ruin all you plans.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Amazing the staff fell over themselves to help you, Luca’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!!

    Amazing the staff fell over themselves to help you, Luca’s roof top restaurant is fantastic, I just can’t praise the staff enough from Antonio the manager to Nelson , Susana, Telom, Andrea and Joao were all part of the waiting on team . Pedro on reception was so helpful, the whole team were fantastic x x

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    2.5
    There were stains on the sheet of the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were stains on the sheet of the bed. Bathrooms are too small and shower is a really old one. Staff was not friendly at all. The only good thing about hotel is its location to the beach. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Does not worth giving this much money to this place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent 1 week in Carvi Beach Hotel . I can't recommend it enough. Staff was very nice a d always ready to help. Hotel itself was clean . Great location , 2 minutes walk to the beach . I will be back for sure !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Amazing Location and Views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs renovation of a few out of dated areas in the hotel like bathrooms, corridors, entrance and facade.

    When we arrived to Carvis hotel nothing was surprising because the facade, corridors and reception is slightly out-of-day but once you get inside the room everything changes. It has got very luxury modern rooms as the photos shown. However the gem here is their bar and kitchen on the top floor with a swimming pool where you can fuse with blue ocean. We have been eating lots of times in their kitchen and it is high tasty and good quality food. All staff have being amazingly kind, humble and on top of that very professional. Located in walking distance to centre 10-15min. Free big parking outside to leave your care safe. The other best part is that Dona Ana beach is at base of the hotel (2min) and it has been the best beach after we visited almost all Algarve beaches.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    We didn't want to spend too much time in the room - so this was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When having our room cleaned each day, it would have been great if it was a bit more thorough than making the bed and replacing towels e.g replace the sticky glasses we had used, and wipe the bathroom sink area. We stayed there during the last week of July - which prices would indicate is peak, but the pool bar was never open. This was only an issue of you wanted, as we did many times, a drink by the pool because the restaurant would close at certain times. But in the end we just broke the rule of 'no outside' food or drink by the pool so that we didn't have to get on the lift and go five floors down, only to find the other bar to be closed too!

    The location was Great as we liked being right on top of the beach, and didn't mind the 10 minute walk into town. The view from the restaurant was amazing - and was a pleasure having breakfast there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is right at the beach and the view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washrooms were too small. We stayed on the ground floor and the view was of the parking lot which was not fun.

    The hotel is right at the beach and the view from the restaurant/bar is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included. Great location close to the city. And the beach was next to the hotel which was great! Room did not had a great view, so we were a little disappointed about that. But overall it was a good hotel with great view from the rooftop. Fado show was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Liked the beach nearby and people/staff (especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Issues with cleanliness (smell in bathroom, untidy towels), rooms look better on pictures than they really are, an old under construction building on the side close by, parking during the daytime quite impossible, lobby and corridors etc kind of old and outfashioned.

    Liked the beach nearby and people/staff (especially Carlos in reception). City center was close enough to walk, the view from the rooftop restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    So close to the most beautiful beach in Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so unfriendly. When trying to figure out whether or not to rent a towel for the day, they seemed to purposefully not share their knowledge in order to pressure us to rent a towel. The attitude was very "figure it out yourself." Also, the room smelled very musty. Do not expect any bells or whistles.

    So close to the most beautiful beach in Lagos. The convenience was the only major plus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Great views over the bay from the roof top
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather isolated and need to walk into town for restaurant and bar options.

    Comfortable rooms with balconies. Great views over the bay from the roof top pool or the restaurant. Nice selection fruits, breads, meats and cheeses for breakfast. Short walk to a nice beach Praia Dona Ana at the end of the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    2.5
    If you want to feel like you wasted your money and no one is considerate or kind to you, stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything was HORRIBLE. I paid an insane amount of money to be put in a basement room, with no Tv channels, no working wifi, the staff were NOT kind at front desk to us, no working air conditioning, and it was in a sketchy neighbourhood. When we told the front desk woman we didn’t get wifi (we are not from the country and can’t access data) she responded we didn’t PAY for the wifi, it was complimentary and there was nothing she could do about it not reaching our room. When we asked for blankets I was told to come up and get them. The basement had a total of 5 rooms and no light. I paid 250$ Canadian to feel like I wasn’t welcome. I’ve had much better experience at hostels. Don’t waste your money.

    The only positive was the staff at the rooftop restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Beach bumming in Lagos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area wasn't regularly cleaned of food so seagulls gathered there. There were issues with the Internet that the staff denied until others complained.

    The location next to the beach was quite unbeatable. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Parking is available right outside, but shared with the public so can be hard to find a spot depending on the time of day. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay . The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea available in the room . They don’t provide bottles of water.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location, over looking Santa Maria Bay. Easy walk to town, takes about 30 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable stay in a pretty town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Really good location. Couple of minutes walk to the beautiful beach. Town was around 10 min walk. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day which was great. We had a large balcony on the side of the hotel. Breakfast was fine- plenty of options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from Lagos centre. Phoned reception about issue with patio door not locking properly on first day and it never got fixed.

    Great location for beach, restaurant was excellent and hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    The Perfect Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were placed on a main floor with a lot of noise but even so, it was more than bearable.

    The location is unbeatable- right off two of Lagos' best beaches. The rooftop restaurant was surprisingly great and the rooms are big and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Deceiving photos and claims on Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos show a partial sea view for the rooms where you literally need to get to the balcony and go to the edge of the hand trails and turn your head around to see a view. Otherwise, I paid premium for a room that has dirt view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and 2 minutes from beach..The location is the key factor for this Hotel. Ambiance and facilities is average.. If you are keen for location, its a hotel to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Rooms were clean, bed was big and comfortable, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean, bed was big and comfortable, lovely restaurant upstairs, great buffet breakfast. Amazing views from the hotel and super close to a nice beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    It is very close to the beach, very confortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has stairs at the entrance which make you life not easy when you have heavy suitcases.

    It is very close to the beach, very confortable and the restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    You have to rent beach towels, staff was approachable but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to rent beach towels, staff was approachable but not overly nice, breakfast was good, close to beach and a few restaurants, no good views in any rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.3
    Rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is a ripp off. Totally overpriced. I booked a room in the highest category (EUR 140 single room) because of the advertised "sea view" but got a room ground floor overlooking nothing but the parking lot (see photo). That is fraud. Also the location is not good. Close to a beach but otherwise in an abandoned, trashy part of town. Internet weak and breakfast/coffee of the cheapest quality. In the gym everything was broken and almost all weights were missing. I highly recommend to book a different Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    booked the hotel for 2 night, very close to the beach and 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the hotel is an old abandonated hotel which ruins all the holidays feeling, rooms are very simple. For the price I've paid I could have definitely find a better deal.

    booked the hotel for 2 night, very close to the beach and 15 min walking to the center. The restaurant has tasty food and the breakfast as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Beach Stay - Very Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would loved to have had coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast proved a little disappointing - powdered scrambled eggs not so nice.

    Great stay - Friendly staff!!! 15 minute walk along the cliffs to the Old Town, which we did at least a couple of times a day. Free parking out front. Rooftop hotel - amazing views for breakfast, an afternoon drink or dinner at night, although over the 3-night stay we only had one meal in which was great. Staff friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything. The rooms are so nice and it felt like home. Stuff was really nice, the rooftop restaurant/bar has the best view. I stayed in 5* before, this one is 3* and was much more nicer. Loved it. Would recommend to everyone. Also probably the best location, beach just next to it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Overall good value and a lovely beach 100m away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor storage facilities in the bedroom.No draws or shelves. Why is the fridge in the bedroom at the bedside.Every time it stops or starts it wakes people up. The other bedside cabinet contains the safe. Again limited storage. Put the fridge in the lounge,and the safe in the wardrobe ( sorted )

    The location and staff of the hotel where excellant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Fair for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is simple and a bit boring if you stay for a longer period of time. Coffee is really bad and no fresh orange juice (in Portugal?). Limited choice of bread spreads. The facilities of the hotel as the pool are to small for the size of the hotel. Only a few loungers available and a small pool. We ex

    The hotel was clean and has a good location which is near all the nice beaches. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for the best beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was slightly underwhelming. If you're looking to use the pool, be aware that chairs seem to get reserved and left only with a towel for long periods of time.

    Perfect location for the best beaches. Easy to walk downtown and quiet enough to not feel like some of the rowdier areas of downtown Lagos.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Breakfest was awesome with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was extremely slow but worked in common areas.

    Breakfest was awesome with great views. Fantastic location with an amazing beach steps away. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT HOTEL! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Awesome breakfast! We travel a lot and I can tell that this is by far the best breakfast hotel we’ve been to. Rooms are spotless clean, comfortable bed and great ambiance! The food in their restaurant were fantastic!! Plus it’s pne minute walk to the beautifuk beach!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel near nice beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be more spacious.We had a family room with two bathrooms and balkony. There are no family rooms with view in the sea.

    Nice Hotel really near to the beach. Good View on the roof top bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    I loved the balcony with a view of the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    I loved the balcony with a view of the harbor. Pay extra for this you won't be disappointed. The breakfast was good. Parking was easy in May. But I think parking would be tricky in the summer. Loved doing the Gorropu Gorge hike.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no ironing board with the iron, and every time i plugged it in it kept tripping the electrics which caused us a huge problem when getting ready for a wedding

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Walkable to the point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About a 20-30 minute walk toward the main city from this location. Of course the Camilo beach was very close by so if you are headed to Lagos for just a Beach get away, this hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    With a better room and breakfast this would have been a fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not taste good. No designated parking and car got towed. Put us on ground floor and had a view of a wall along with everyone walking on the street being able to look into our room. Building next door are in really poor conditioned —abandoned and dilapidated.

    Location to beach and roof top bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Do not choose this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived at 1am at the hotel, and even though I have called them around 4pm to confirm that we will be coming after midnight because of a late flight, I received a phone call at 12:45 am asking me if I will be arriving at the hotel. Fair enough, that is the policy. However, when we came to check in, there was no greeting and welcoming, just your passports and the guy said: Can you pay now? Very rude from his side as we were very tired after the trip and the payment should be settled upon check out. If they have a different policy, they should explain kindly. They gave us a very small room with no view at all, with hair in the sink near the glasses, and twin beds, even though I have said in remarks that me and my boyfriend are celebrating our anniversary, and when we wanted to change the room they made us pay 25 euros more per night, even though we already paid 100 per night. For a 3 star hotel is not worth it. We just had a partial view of the ocean. Additionally, the room had no safe, no fridge, AC not working properly... When I asked the lady at the reception for a fridge, she said we don't have them in the rooms, however I can see if we have any spare one and you will have to pay 10 euros per day. Really? For a fridge in hot summer days? Staff were not really helpful and also breakfast was bad except for the different fruits selections they had. When we wanted to order coffee from the coffee machine, they told us we must pay cash and cannot charge to the room because apparently is a different company that runs the bar. The locations is very good as you have a beach just 2 minutes walk, however I would not recommend this hotel because of my bad experience. There are 2 more hotels just next to this one with pool and a tennis court, so I would suggest to go with an alternative.

    Comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Location - room was newly renovated and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a room for 4 adults - the second bedroom was a closet with two beds that were sized for little children. I believe they waited to see if we'd complain. We did and they gave a us much better room. I believe all the rooms have a patio; both we visited looked out onto the wall of the next building. I remember the website showing very nice balconies overlooking the water. I guess there are a few of those but not the one we had. Our bathrooms were quite small and there are no drawers for clothing; our second sleeping area did have it's own bathroom and a very large closet but no hangers and it's floor wasn't finished or painted. We didn't use it.

    Location - room was newly renovated and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great location to walk around beach in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location to walk around beach in the morning. Easy to play on the beach. Great breakfast. Next time, if I visit lagos I hope to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice location on the seaside, cliff walk is 5 minutes away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee machines serves disgusting Nescafe-like drink for breakfast, good coffee available at bar. Have mixed fillings about staff on reception desk, they are polite and helpful but failed to call a taxi for a specified time.

    Nice location on the seaside, cliff walk is 5 minutes away. Nearby beach is awesome. Excellent roof top restaurant with brilliant staff. Nice buffet breakfast except coffee. Room is good and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is incredible and the free breakfast was a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on a ground floor suite, it smelt very strongly of cleaning solution and the wifi didn't work

    The location is incredible and the free breakfast was a nice added touch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Mediocre. Room was ok but overall no atmosphere in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon entering the building, I felt it was dated looking. For the money paid, I thought it would be nicer. There was a hole in our ceiling. A bit of wallpaper was coming off the wall. The door to the bathroom kept getting jammed. At one stage, I was stuck in there until my partner came to my aid. I informed the hotel staff of this. They said the doors were new and they were having problems with them. She also said someone would be up to fix it. When I next entered the room, the door wasn't fixed. Once the shampoo and shower gel were used up, the staff never replaced them in the bathroom. This happened on more than one occasion. The centre of Lagos is a ten/fifteen minute walk away and is very hilly. Whilst it was fine for us, others may prefer a more central location.

    The restaurant had amazing views for breakfast in the morning. There is free car parking outside. The hotel is right beside the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Actually, I liked everything (rarely happens).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast food was warn, not hot enough, and the same selection each day. But it was delicious anyway.

    Actually, I liked everything (rarely happens). Location was perfect, next to perfect beach, many parking space in front, quiet outside. Rooms were white, clean, spacious. Restaurant had a view to the ocean, nice terrace. Helpful staff, also offered to order some tours, if needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Basic rooms for high prices. Nothing special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic rooms High price Very average customer service Many rooms have parking area view Area is deserted and ugly, except for the beach Double beds are just single beds

    Location is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Big hotel with nice facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't real think of the hotel as "filled with atmosphere" or "family run". For the two days we were there this wasn't a problem. Lagos itself was very touristic and not our cup of tea, so we were very happy to be a little bit outside town. Town was a 20 minute walk.

    Somewhat bigger hotel of the kind that you find in a packet holiday as well. Rooftop swimming pool and breakfast on the rooftop were very nice to have though. It is located very near the beautiful dona Ana beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Cannot get much better value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes the sheets had pieces of dust/hair on them.

    Excellent location right next to the beach. Staff was well-informed on what to do in Lagos and provided good recommendations for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful Oasis Just Outside of City Center!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing. Was a great vacation spot!

    Everything! Location (don't follow Google- very walkable from bus and train station), food, pool, rooftop, proximity to beach, service, beds, showers, etc...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Tickety boo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi a bit slow.

    Everything. Location and room both excellent. Bonus was Alfredo and the restaurant staff. Golden Bream the nicest we have had in Algarve. Overall a top notch stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Best Stay in Lagos Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in one of the best beaches in Lagos so the room view is amazing! The hotel has a nice pool area, and gym. The breakfast is great, with daily fresh fruits, cakes and bread. The staff deserves a 10, always very polite, friendly and helpful. My next stay in Lagos will certainly be here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Great location, walkable to town, cliffs, beach or just stay at the hotel and enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driver hired for us did not speak much English so it was a quiet ride. I neglected to request this, so it's not Hotels fault, just wanting to make you aware to ask the guests if there are special needs here.

    Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Assisted us in getting a driver to take us to your next location. Dining room was excellent! Our group had a couple dinners and breakfasts on Luca's Rooftop, all of which were flavorful and well presented and many options for all palates to choose from. Seafood was all perfectly cooked and fresh. The Staff was wonderful, pleasant and very hard working! We were celebrating a birthday while there, and they acknowledged it without us saying anything- now that is attention to detail! General Manager also noticed me struggling to take the shell/head off my shrimp and appeared with a plate of "cleaned" shrimp to ease my experience! WOW!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Everything, best location of anywhere I have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, best location of anywhere I have stayed. Room size perfect, we had a budget room, breakfast had a wow factor every morning. Relaxed but very attentive customer service, excellent. We had a perfect time there.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carvi Beach Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: