Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solar de Boaventura

Sitio do Serrão Boaventura, 9240-046 Boaventura, Portugal

#1 of 1 hotels in Boaventura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, Well Equipped Hotel with Friendly Staff. Comfortable Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public areas were a bit cold for us in December. Laundry at hotel prices. Food in restaurant at dinner rather limited.

    Beautiful hotel with comfortable room, lots of public areas to sit and relax. Quiet surroundings (except for church bells that didn't bother us through the double pane windows of our room). Flat screen TV with International channels. Comfortable beds. Good WiFi that was strong in public areas. Lots of space in room to put our things. We made it known that we didn't like to be cold when we booked and there was an electric heater in the room when we arrived. We liked the fresh cooked eggs at breakfast. We were off season and the price for quality was the best we found. We would have stayed several nights longer but needed to do a large load of laundry and didn't want to pay per piece at hotel prices. We would stay again if we came back to Madeira.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfy and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could be stronger and the breakfast richer,however its not so important.

    Comfy and nice hotel. We had lovely bedroom,very clean every day. Beautiful area (car needs) in the middle of nature.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpets were quite dirty, the linens low quality and worn-out. The church bells were a noisance, especially in the morning.

    The location is quite idyllic, in a green, fresh valley. The Solar is very picturesque and comfortable. The restaurant isn't cheap but it serves great food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Quiet stop in the green mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful, supportive and flexible. I had made a mistake within the booking which they found a great solution for within seconds! The property is very nice, all green with cosy little corners to sit. Boaventura is a quiet village in the mountains. There is not much to experience about it but the hiking trails around. Good for nature loving guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Imposing country hotel, but with shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One lady seems to do all the work, so must be very tired. She appeared abrupt and unfriendly. Restaurant is in narrow room with tables crowded together, this creates an unpleasant atmosphere.

    Room was spaceous and well appointed. Hotel set in grounds with plenty of parking. Quiet location in a small village. Near an interesting cliff top walk.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked fresh orange juice at breakfast

    Views from balcony Restaurant at the hotel Clean comfortable room Good location for exploring north coast and western half of island.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    We could change in an amazing room which was much bigger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could change in an amazing room which was much bigger than the one before. We wanted a double size bed. So they were really nice and we can recommend that nice hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful weekend getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress on the bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Beautiful decoration and garden. The room was big and even had a balcony with a nice view. The staff were nice and made us feel at home.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.2
    it is a good place to stay to explore the north coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be much better. it is very cold in the restaurant, especially in the evenings, even if the fireplace is lit.

    The atmosfere in the house. the garden.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in a friendly, beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was fairly basic and the toilet seat needs fixing but who cares, really? The hotel was good value for the price...although it was more fun to go to the local snack bar to eat and drink and meet the friendly locals, rather than in the hotel restaurant.

    The location was great, right in the center of the beautiful, quiet, small, friendly town of Boaventura, perfectly set for walks around the area and close to a bus stop that takes you up and down the northern coast...but why would you want to go too far from here? The view was good, comfortable enough beds, a sufficient heater in the room, large bedroom and bathroom (with bath), super clean, and a free breakfast. Huge communal space, with couches, computer, and even a pool table free to use.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    Away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed a little hard however that is not unique to this hotel and more of an observation on many in this part of the world. Little remote at this time of the year as it is the quiet side of the island in a remote location so choice of restaurant was very limited although the food in the hotel is good wholesome, if not very inspiring, fayre. Wi-Fi was a bit flakey

    Friendly staff Simple, unassuming and away from the crowds with a good international mix of residents. Pool table was a nice bonus

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice and quite place. Very nice staff. We arrived late at night and the reception was already closed but they took care of us and we got our room with no problem.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    a very good alternative in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was a liitle bit small for the Maderia "standards" but very nice anyhow

    very nice house, the salons and the garden are very beatiful and quiet, weel decorated the ratio quality- price is really good good idea to have also dinner, the alternatives in the area are very limited

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Recommended for those who want to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could be better (for example lack of tomatoes)

    Very peaceful and quiet place for rest. Amazing views. Very helpful staff. Rooms are clean. Highly recommend! Greetings from Poland:)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    The restaurant was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub needs to be repaired.

    The restaurant was good. The mixed fish plate for two was cooked perfectly and generous. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and peaceful, surrounded by beautiful scenery!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice little spot to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. Rooms are a little tired, for bangs when.closing but hey ho it's not important!

    It's location and the quaintness of it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from other rooms

    Common spaces

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel in rural area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in rural area. Car is a must.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very very nice hotel! There is the parking inside and the staff was very polite. The breakfast is very good as weel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful hidden hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we only found one other little restaurant in the town center

    Nice view; room was quite big and clean; very good restaurant in the house

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant, clean, modern hotel and restaurant. Cool games room. Slap bang in middle of north.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No pool. Lousy wifi.

    Modern, clean and spacious ex winery. Snooker table, old style games room. Tasty restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge, not so variable breakfast

    Nice building out- and inside, beatiful environment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    8.3
    The lady that was doing all the jobs at the hotel was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could use a heater for the winter months The breakfast was dull (no vegetables, very few choice of fruits, no eggs)

    The lady that was doing all the jobs at the hotel was really sweet. The double bed was comfortable and big There is a PC in the common area for usage by guests

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful Quinta, renovated in a very nice way without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing special

    Beautiful Quinta, renovated in a very nice way without losing charm. View on the mountain or the sea depending on your room but anyway beautiful. Nice and welcoming people. A restaurant on site that is very useful as the village is very small.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel, beautiful landscape and views, in a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel, beautiful landscape and views, in a small village. Good breakfast and excellent public spaces. Wifi not in all rooms but very good in public space a few feet away. Great place to relax or to use as a base for the north of Madeira.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    Hotel is situated in nice, quiet village surrounded by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Weather is poor in this location. It's cloudy and raining very often, although quite warm. Almost impossible to have a rest in the garden because of that. We were traveling on the island, but spending time around the hotel looks difficult. Wi-fi doesn't work.

    Hotel is situated in nice, quiet village surrounded by gorgeous nature. Many possibilities of walks along levadas in the neighborhood. Stuff is friendly and helpful. I prefer northern, more wet part of Madeira, with intensive vegetation and forests, then dry and empty south.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything. Has a great staff. Great food. I had a beautiful view from my balcony of the mountins and the ocean. Quiet and restful. Special thanks to Sophie for going the extra mile to make my stay the best I have ever had at a Bed and Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully blends rustic with modern elements in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really, wifi is not always and everywhere accessible, but otherwise fine.

    Beautifully blends rustic with modern elements in a marvellous place surrounded by mountains yet not far from the sea. Clean, interior design executed with good taste. Spacious parking place, good bar and kitchen. A little corner of paradise on the island.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms might be ready for a make-over but were well appointed, very clean with plenty of hot water.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent variety of public areas including small folk museum. Quiet & relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    10
    Great spot if youre going hiking in the surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Board heater not sufficient, an additional plug in heater is suppose to be given to guests on arrival.. but lady greeting us at night forgot and we slept comfortacomfortably in a cool room (Canadians I tell ya)

    Great spot if youre going hiking in the surrounding areas. Hotel is actually a renovated home I'm guessing. Wifi only in front office, but not a deal breaker. Fresh breakfast was good. Rooms clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    9.2
    Staff very nice to talk to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff very nice to talk to.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was patchy at best.

    Friendly staff. Clean. Cheap price. Beautiful village location. sea view. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    Nice place,friendly staff,good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice place,friendly staff,good food.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.2
    Madalena and Catia were great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Madalena and Catia were great hosts. Without the two, the Hotel would be good, with them it's just great.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    8.3
    The Ambience was very Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be a little more Varied

    The Ambience was very Nice. The staff were friendly anders helpful.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: