Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solar de Sao Joao 3 stars

Rua do Solar, Apartado 774, 8200-911 Albufeira, Portugal

#355 of 419 Holiday rentals in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 191 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much in the way of facilities so not like a resort. Ok if you are just looking for simple accomodation in walking distance of holiday needs

    Clean and functinal at a economy price and goos location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO AIR CONDITIONING IN THE ROOM, THAT WAS CRIMINAL, IT WAS OVER 30DEGREES CELCIUS! YET THERE WAS A HEATER, IN CASE IT WAS'NT WARM ENOUGH! AS FOR THE VIEW FROM THE BALCONY, I'D RATHER LOOK INTO THE TOILET BOWL....... NO BED EITHER! JUST A COUCH... I WONT BE RETURNING................

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything with zero Health and Safety awareness especially when children are at risk.

    All facilitates were extremely poor, zero maintenence and a reflection of extremely poor Management.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need updating, beds although clean (linen) and comfortable were extremely squeaky. No air conditioning in the rooms (it was 38 degrees). The rooms were really outdated and could do with a re-vamp.

    The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and hardworking. The rooms and the area was spotlessly clean. The location of the hotel was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all on booking it says airport shuttle not airport shuttle and pay,big thing to pay out when you have spent big money. The beds,made into a bed and a sofa,not on,they were too hard as well. When you spend that money you expect air conditioning in this age,gave me a fan when I asked but be warned no fan in this heat. The bath was like something out of the dark age,peeling and not what you expect for that money,all told not up to standard.

    The place has enormous potential but there needs to be work done,spend a few quid and it can be a jewel,don't and it doesn't come up to scratch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning ,the apartments were prehistoric, the apartment was infested with cockroaches , no English TV channels .The beds were to hard to sleep on.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing...

    I booked studio room...It was not bed there but sofa...I asked hotel manager to change room, she asked to pay more...It was a big surprise for me...Hotels smellish and looks tired...Never ever!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cold at night could updating the bedding ie pillows time of season probably the weather but the pool was cold the view from our apartment could have been better to many trees

    It was a good holiday overall great staff very understandable centre of everything all in walking distance shops pubs clubs beach I would stay here again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic. No entertainment or play park for children. Bar food not great

    Staff go the extra mile and are very helpful. Rooms cleaned every day. Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 28 nights

    The heating was not very good. Would be cold in the very cold weather. But okay for this time of year. March/April.

    S Everything about Solar is excellent. I had a Studio and was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 15 nights

    We would have liked to have used the pool and garden facilities, but that area was dominated, every day of our stay, by some loud and foul-mouthed guests,who, I'm ashamed to say, were British. The management were aware of this problem but did nothing to solve it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff for breakfast was just awful and expensive , 8.50 euros . It was a lady who did not know at all her job. Very slow and very disorganized and didn't understand a word we were saying. We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and had breakfast twice. The first time , I asked for a piece of toast and she was not happy about my order. So the next morning, we arrived and sat for 45min before she even came to take the order. there was another couple who were having breakfast but already had there food on the table, so basically she had no one else but us, but we still waited for 45min. Awful !!!!!!!!

    The room is very big and clean. All equipements needed is available in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    uncomfortable beds that creaked .only 1 pillow each had to put itchy blanket under to compensate wasn't brought any when asked for some.. bathroom filthy ..shower would not stay on wall .door was falling apart saw cockroaches.. patio door had a flimsy bolt that was lose ..and not safe didn't feel like we could leave anything of value in room.. no light in front could not see to put key in door at night.. all in all would never stay there again. receptionist very rude and abrupt ..

    the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant beside do pool is poor very limited. Would have liked a change of sheets mid way through the stay as the weather was very hot. Also a change of towels every other day would be nice.

    Decent WiFi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No wifi in rooms or 'balcony'. You have to sit by the pool or reception to get wifi. And let me tell you, sometimes even that didn't work properly. They do have a hotspot device thing which they say will help get wifi in your rooms, it is 4€ per night and you have to keep a 50€ deposit for the same. In all fairness, with the experience with this hotel i doubt even that would work properly and also I paid a high price for this property so I really shouldn't be paying extra for wifi in my room. - it was HOT in portugal (as it was august) and there was no fan nor AC in the room. When i requested for a fan, they gave me the small table rotating fans which made so much of noice that i couldn't sleep the entire night. - There was a small box TV which was not connected so it was as good as not having a TV. - The phone was not working so every single time i had to keep walking to the reception to request for something - There were kitchen stuff like toaster etc but nothing was plugged in. Again, as good as not having them - Bathroom light was not working. I went and complained to the reception and they said someone would fix it the next day, but nobody did. - Nobody came to clean the room. - There was a huge dead cockroach lying right outside my room door. - There are MANY big fat bugs around the area. - No restaurant in the hotel so in case u reach late night, you'll have to walk out and get something for yourself. In short, I was VERY disappointed with this hotel. It single handedly spoilt my entire albufeira trip and for the price i paid, it was simply not worth it. I wouldn't recommend this place to ANYONE. And especially if you are a woman solo traveler, do yourself a favor and look somewhere else.

    - The receptionists were nice. Sometimes the lady showed a bit of an attitude but i guess i can ignore that. - The location was near the strip

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not as expected. For a self catering apartment cooking facilities were 2 small hobs and one of them barley got warm. On arrival bedding had stains on, lucky it was hot and it was not needed. TV was a tiny portable with 5 channels, didn't seem to have satellite as described. All in all it was a bit dated and could do with some money spent on modernisation.

    Pool area really nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The studio apartment was very poor, we had to rearrange the furniture as it was so strangely arranged! Not a great start! Wifi very unreliable quality and only in pool and reception. TV was a tiny old box with only 2 news channels in english, TV was placed in the corner and could only see it when moved it to dining table.. More moving!!! The staff were shockingly rude which was actually quite surprising at times. There was only 1 or 2 staff that we saw smile for the whole time. We had to pay extra for a fan when no air conditioning, when we asked about air conditioning we got a rude answer 'of course not, did you not see the listing!' - shocking! We had ants on our balcony moving into our room and when asked for help we were handed a spray to kill them ourselves instead of coming to help us. The only compliment I can give but its important, the place was clean overall. Very expensive for the accommodation and extremely poor service we received. Extremely disappointed and not a pleasant stay in any way. :(

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The ability to help of the reception staff. During hot periods you shower maybe twice and the towels are only renewed every 3 days and when you ask for new ones there is no way you can get them. The same goes for soap bar to wash hands, finished then you don't get a new one. Apparently because it is an apartment building. But the facilities are so old and the money they are getting is so huge as they don't invest in anything. The internet is only available in the reception and near the pool. At reception everybody is sitting there so it is very slow. And near the pool is linked to the office, so when the office closes the router is turned off also.

    Breakfast was always (cheese, ham, jam, buns) no variety. But the lady was very friendly and i could take it to my room. Free parking, nice pool and on walking distance from the strip.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No Air Conditioning, Front door of apartment we stayed in could do with being replaced. Hotel and apartments in general could do with modernization.

    Location was very central to all shops and restaurants, yet far enough away from the strip so that there was no issue with noise. Apartment was clean and cleaning staff called everyday. The Pool was nice and well maintained. It also has a children's pool. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place dilapidated, peeling paint, dirty balcony furniture, filthy birds toppings everywhere on balcony. Musty smell. Roasting rooms, no air con. Extra charge for everything, calling a taxi 1.50, wifi 4 e per day plus 50e deposit, 3 e per day for fan and not an inexpensive place

    no problem parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is crap, not even the taxi drivers knew it existed! The rooms did not have air conditioning either.

    Pool area was ok, but nothing too special. Location is good if you want to go to the strip but apart from that don't pay more than 30 Euros a night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking at the pool when there is children and non smokers sitting near them. The room decor and furnishings are dated but very clean.

    The hotel is clean by the hard working staff who I admire because having seen what they have to clean up after people should be ashamed leaving the mess they do. The front desk reception are lovely and helpful ladies. The ladies at the bar are also hard working and the food at the bar is worth the wait as its all fresh and tastes lovely and plenty of choice and good portions. The Pool and garden area is kept clean and the gardeners and handymen do a good job. The wifi is restricted but you are there to enjoy yourself and relax not spend your time on the Internet. Great location access to the strip and 3 x beaches all walking distance range from 15 mins to 30 mins various eateries if you walk to the end of the road coming out of hotel take left to strip with bars restaurants and two beaches and take a left go to end of road supermarket various restaurants bars take right to bottom of road to large chinese at bottom of road and other eateries and beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location but close to local amenities. Friendly staff and very helpful. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like English tv

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nos a single dime inverted in the hotel, poor service, poor accommodations.

    Location i guess

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is getting old. It seems an hotel built in '70, and never renewed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit dated .

    Nice pool area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is fine, but that's only advantage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single apartment that we had wasted very spacious and the plug hole would keep getting blocked

    The 6 sleeper bedroom apartment was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 Cockroaches in the apartment doors did´n close properly facilities need urgent improvment and remodelation no wifi in the rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hstd

    The location ideal for drinks food beavh

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs uodated v old worlde

    Clean and towels changed daily

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool ,garden,and the pool cafe

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs in the room, broken toilet,clogged bathtub, dirty towels

    Good location , amazing Pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Food was very basic.

    Brilliant location!! 5 min walk from the strip. Good facilities such as fridge, you can borrow hairdryer from reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs an update.. nothing has changed in the rooms for 30 years.. desparate for update please

    remembering the past

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    apartament very old fashion, needs to be renovated

    Good service, good located

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing hot wather in the room the first day. It took the hotel 20 minutes to fix when we told them.

    Nice staff and a nice place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor

    It is clean but the decor is very dated. It was fine for a boys on the beer kind of holiday but my Mrs wouldn't have been too happy

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms clean but very old fasioned could do with an update.... Maids reluctant to give you clean towels each day lol

    Nice and quiet.... A little walk to the beach and nightlife...

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Don't think the heating would be adequate during cold months. Fine for March/April. Lighting not very good in hallways. Not complaining, just observations.

    Comfortable,Clean.Spacious Studio. Nice pool area & sun terrace. Friendly,helpful staff. Excellent location for walking to all areas. Quiet & peaceful this time of year.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room.We think it looks tired. Just paint woodwork a lightcolour and new tiles around bath and kitchen would really brighten it up. Also clean off the paint on the window in bathroom.

    Staff very helpfull and friendly, quiet cul de sac. cleaners came every day. Nice outlook onto the pool.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff extremely rude...the Wi-Fi only worked in reception and pool area, what modern hotels don't have wi-fin in the full building. Have to pay a 100€ on arrival. The site states they accept credit card, when we arrived they would not take card.

    Location is convenient to the old town

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No welcome pack, no bottled water, no aircon, not even a fan. For€110 check in after 4pm check out at 10am thought was bad value for an18 hour stay. Don't go to this resort if on a family holiday as they cater for hen/stag dos

    Ok but not good value for money

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's old school with no air con , old keys that u have to hand in and dated but that made it quirky which we liked , the fan they rented to us was so noisy , it was die of heat or kill ur ear drums . The staff aren't the happiest , friendliest people ! But that said I'd stay again if it had air con , just for the location & pool

    Really gr8 spot not on the strip but not too far. Hotel itself is really clean but even when I'd leave the towels on floor , they stil didn't change them , I mean they wer filthy caus I'd only want them changed every few days Pool really relaxing , only had a salad & sangria so not sure what food was like , there's so many lovely cheaper places so we are out . Great price & they were able to put us up an extra night

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only draw back for some people would be that the room I stayed in didn't have Air con which didn't bother me.. But that's all I can think of in the negative.

    The people at reception are just lovely. Very welcoming and couldn't be more helpful with any enquiries. The bed was so so comfy. Location perfect for us..

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattresses' could be better

    The peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some extra blankets for this time of year!

    Very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Staff very helpful when required...Enjoyed our stay!!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the place was so run down in every respect

    location

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to the strip for good night life

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The apartment were very run down in desprate need of a revamp.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Other staff very rude Far from Old Town Beds were terrible No aircon

    Night staff Bruno was very friendly. 5 minute walk from the strip

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we had a lot of skin rash. the place is very noisy. Not for families with children.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Solar de Sao Joao traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: