Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solar do Morgado Oliveira

Rua Pereira Charula, n.º 16, 5340-278 Macedo de Cavaleiros, Portugal

#3 of 9 hotels in Macedo de Cavaleiros

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 55 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 6

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect!

    The host was wonderful - no questions were too much trouble. We were given a choice of the two best restaurants and a table was booked for us at the one we chose (it was excellent). The house has been lovingly restored by the owner and he delights in showing both the house and his fascinating collections to visitors. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As boas-vindas que me ofereceu o anfitrião e o tempo que me dedicou foram excepcionais. Foi um verdadeiro prazer conversar sobre todas as coisas debaixo do Sol :-). Gostei muito do conjunto arquitetural, dos jardins, do fogo aberto e do pequeno almoço delicioso. Se eu puder, vou voltar com a família. Dois dias inteiramente agradáveis – obrigada! / An exceptionally welcoming host (even for Portugal which is already outstanding) who offered me much patience, time, and conversation. It was a real pleasure talking of everything under the sun :-). I loved the architectural setting, the gardens, the open fire and the delicious breakfast. If I can, I’ll make it back again with the family. Two thoroughly enjoyable days – many thanks!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The estate is well situated in the middle of town and an excellent starting point for discovering the area of Tras-os-Montes or a serene resting point for relaxing holidays. Suite has all comfort, swimmingpool and garden as well, good local restaurant nearby. Warm welcome, nice combination of hospitality and independance given. We had a great stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very interesting place to stay, kind and generous host. Wonderful breakfast and good restaurants nearby for an evening meal. Secure parking on site and close to fantastic roads for motorbikes.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    We loved this place and would definitely recommend this to anyone. On arrival the owner/ host Luis was very helpful and helped move our luggage to the room. The room was lovely. We had a large shower area, a living room and a bed room. While we unpacked Luis placed some sun loungers by the pool ready for us. The pool is amazing. He also offered us a nice cold beer, which we really needed after a long ride from Madrid. There is secure parking. The entrance is slightly hard to find if you follow sat nav, as the road in front is very small and does not fit a car (but does bike). You go up the steps and ring the bell. The owner will then open the back gate (which you get to driving around the block). Once you have done this once, it is easy (not so easy asking for directions as not may people in this area speak English so hopefully this helps). Breakfast was amazing and served in a lovely room. The building is 17 century so lovely features every where. We liked it so much we decided to stay 1 more night! The restaurant next door is very nice too so you do not have to go far for a nice evening dinner with honest food served and friendly staff. If you are anywhere near, I would really recommend to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little paradise. Full of History.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 6

Guests also reviewed these properties: