Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Solar Dos Lilases 3 stars

Rua De Santo António Nº8, 7490-236 Mora, Portugal

#1 of 1 hotels in Mora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't highlight anything specific. We stayed one night, everything was alright. Breakfast was very basic. Not much to do in a village.

    Nice view from the room over the village. Great restaurant in the hotel and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't want to be there during high season, as could get quite noisy. Breakfast was nothing special and the coffee tasted like instant coffee. Internet only worked in the loggia, not in the room.

    Lovely old house. We stayed in the main building and had a great view from the room's loggia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is just amazing. The house of late 19th century, that was renovated with respect to authentic style and details. We arrived late, after midnight and received a very warm welcome. The owner is a very pleasant and kind gentlemen, who shared some history about the building and also told some stories about it and the neighborhood. We had a pleasure to receive an upgraded room and it was fantastic - high ceilings, paintings and authentic furniture. The room has a condition with heating. The breakfast is very nice with a great view to the valley from a dining room. We want to thank the host for this wonderful experience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housed in a beautiful old townhouse, this hotel has been converted into a comfortable boutique style hotel. Great facilities while retaining many features of the grand old house. Owned and managed by a family, for whom nothing is too much trouble to ensure a comfortable stay. As a solo, vegetarian traveller, I was genuinely impressed by the effort of the owners and their lovely chef to present me with an excellent and filling dinner. The owner opened a bottle of wine, perfectly chosen by him, and only charged me for what I drank from it. A very comfortable night was followed by a tasty continental breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel and the charming village of Mora.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Solar Dos Lilases restaurant was closed when we were there (middle of the week, end of May) for the chef's holiday. We walked to a restaurant in the town which was not good quality and was overpriced. The second day we ate a huge late lunch in Evora and had snacks on our balcony for dinner. I hope when we return Hotel Solar Dos Lilases' restaurant is open.

    We loved our room! We were at the end of a month in Portugal and wanted a quiet place to relax. The room was beautiful with very high ceilings, wood floors, TV, fridge, good lighting for reading in bed, even a chandelier over the bed! AC was good. Our balcony's panoramic view over the town and surrounding farming area was serene. We could sit on the balcony on a sofa, or at a table and chairs with a glass of wine and just enjoy, read a book, chat... It was especially nice in the early morning and at dusk. The bath was large and very clean with a window for ventilation. Shower was great! In between the bedroom and bath was an area with a good sized closet. Breakfast was set up in the magnificent dining room. Would have liked to have fresh OJ, but there was plenty to eat and the freshest bread we'd had at any breakfast recently. Owner was very friendly and helpful. We had a few interesting conversations during our short stay. It's easy enough to drive to Estemoz or Evora to see the sights there. We drove from Hotel Solar Dos Lilases to LIS airport to catch our flight. Easy drive. Better than staying in the crowded areas near Lisbon... and a better price too!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very close to anything.

    Very nice proprietor. Helpful, knowledgeable, intelligent, speaks English well. The hotel id a former mansion, residence. The common area ceilings are beautiful and the chandeliers are gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed everything even the price ..it was great value and an evening to remember.

    The food was delicious and traditional. Our host was welcoming, very hospitable and full of interesting information and conversation. The views from the dining room very relaxing and our room was beautifully presented. The hotel restoration has been done thoughtfully and with sensitivity.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition

    The owners run the hotel. They are very nice and doing their best to assist. Rooms are big and comfortable. Missing amenities. In the big rooms (suites) the air condition unit is in-suffficient in hot days. The food is exellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property had been restored in a very sympathetic way.The owner was charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building with plenty of charm. Great views over the landscape.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    barulho do ar condicionado

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of central heating. The bed was very unconfortable.

    The house.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpected palace! Perfect host. Immaculate property. Needs to be seen to appreciate fully. Perfect for bird watchers too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful views to the village from the balcony (I got a room on the last floor). Very helpful host with excellent humor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charme do hotel. Calor humano.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There's no much fruit and fried eggs or bacon choices at breakfast. The bathroom may need some minor repair work.

    - Very welcoming staff. Amazing restaurant food.Nice place to rest and relax. Confortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Group

    the food (dinner & breakfast), the staff, the willingness to help us; we did a enduro tour and the motorcycles could be parked in a small conference room. We didn't even ask for it! someone forgot his reading glasses and the staff did their best to tell us and offered to send it. The hotel is beautiful with old grandeur but also up-to-date rooms and bathrooms. just a very pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are very friendly and spoke very good English. The room was very clean and great value. One of the owners gave us a few ideas of things to do in the area and very helpfully drew us a map of places to go and visit.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Less than a two hour drive from Lisbon brings you to Mora and the Hotel dos Liláses. The hotel is a quirky old building, lovingly restored by its owners, Jaime and his family. Painted ceilings, four poster beds, it has it all. Mora is well situated to enjoy the rolling plains of the Alentejo, and, of course, its amazing food and wines. Give the hotel restaurant a try, it serves real Alentejo fare and good local wines at reasonable prices. The view is also very nice. Be sure to book your table, especially on weekends and holidays. Jaime and his family are a great source of information on anything and everything about Mora and the surrounding areas.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower

    Very quiet Dinner excellent Very individual style Shower could be better Lovely views

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loveliest hosts, great garden and view, excellent restaurant. Couldn't have been happier there.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Hotel as a whole and view from my room

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Hotel Solar Dos Lilases traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: