Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Solar Dos Mascarenhas 3 stars

Rua Florbela Espanca, 125, 7160-283 Vila Viçosa, Portugal

#4 of 6 hotels in Vila Viçosa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taps and shower in bathroom need updating . The shower had a mind of its own . It would not remain in position at all .

    Brilliant staff , good buffet breakfast , near to Palace and other places of interest . Overall good value for money .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We parked on the street which was easy at the time we arrived but could have been tricky later in the day. It was not easy to find a convenient place to exercise our dogs.

    This hotel had no problem accomodating our two medium sized labradoodles and the 5 euro / dog charge is reasonable. Very good breakfast, the restaurant was not open for dinner, but we found a convenient alternative down the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the pool could be a little bigger :) the floor of the halls are a bit slippery when wearing flip flops

    It has a clean new design look mixed with the preserved antique look of the property. The room was very clean and fresh. The breakfast had a quite variety and it always had fresh alentejano bread! The staff was extremely nice, helpful and attentive! They made the stay very family and homely like. Great location, with a 5 minute walk from the center, 2 minute walk from the palace and mostly 5 to 10 minute walk from all the main points and good restaurantes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm an experienced traveller and quite critical. This was one of the best accommodations I've stayed in.

    Fantastic central and absolutely quiet located accommodation. Only one minute from the overwhelming Royal Palace. Very attentive service. I was welcomed through Karine. She is very kind and always available to help you with any question. I could choose the room by myself. A tasteful breakfast was already included, beside the information at Booking. The room price was unbeatable advantageous. I just plan to return with my family. Vila Vicosa is a beautiful historical town, spotless clean with bloom Orange trees everywhere. In my eyes on the same level as the famous old Tuscany towns. Great restaurants and very welcoming people. A real insider tip!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. We just missed an elevator for accessing our room because we went with our baby and had a stroller.

    We stayed in a suite and the hotel provided two extra beds for our kids without any extra charge, what was very kind. The room was very nice and the hotel atmosphere is great (it is an old building that was rebuilt recently). The staff is very kind and the breakfast is very good (variety and quality). Location is also great, just nearby the palace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is located on the city center but has a night club (with loud music and open doors) on the other side of the (tiny) street. Me and my husband could not sleep the entire night (from 1Am to 5AM). The hotel staff ask the club to low the music volume (which the club didn't do) but it was (and is not going to be) not enough. There must be a strong action from the hotel to pressure the municipality to take action and make the club comply with the noise and sound laws.

    location (near all the major sightseeings), breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration is weird, especially in the colour scheme. Our room was all black and white, but the common areas like the reception and the hallways had red furniture, purple couches, cyan pieces. Almost like they decorated the hotel with stuff they got in an auction. Our zebra-room was spacious and clean, but we found the blacks and whites not very comfortable. Really rough sheets on the bed. They offer private parking for 5€ a day, but parking is free on the street, so you would not need it should you find a spot.

    The hotel is well located within the village, very close to the Palácio Ducal and a short walk away from Praça da República. Many restaurants in the area. I enjoyed breakfast, it had good products. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor has lost the character of the original building Bathroom was clean but could be updated for the price you're paying

    Staff were really helpful Made a great veggie breakfast for us Location was great, just next tt he main square and castle

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with charming and helpful staff , in the centre of Vila Vicosa. Very comfortable bedroom in modern part of hotel. Breakfast was included and was very good quality. Would definately stay again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find anything I didn't like

    Everything. Excellent location, staff and breakfast. More like a boutique hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in the center, close to everything. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everything. Could not have been better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fantastic! Friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was quite dirty

    The location is very good - slightly out of the main town but with plenty around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only staying one night.

    Whilst the breakfast was amazing everything during our stay was first class...nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    It was quirky and the town was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is never anyone at the reception... difficult to find staff to help you.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A calma do local e a simpatia do pessoal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not the best I've had, it contained many of the items you would expect in a Portuguese hotel, I decided to try the scrambled egg and sausage, the sausage seemed to be some kind of hot dog from a tin can, really horrible. We were instructed how to get back into the hotel late at night as nobody would be at the desk, this was no problem except when we got to the main door there was a group of drunk kids at the door, one of which was vomiting on the steps (there is a bar/nightclub across the road)

    The location of the hotel is very good, I found it to be clean and comfortable, the wifi was reliable and easy to access (no password or login needed)

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great central location in lovely small town. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Beautiful pool. Great breakfast buffet. Interesting small museums and Ducal palace nearby.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a party going on in the evening under our room.

    The hotel was in a good position. Near the center of the town. In agood positon to visit the Royal House.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were three of us and we opted for a queen, with a cot. I got the cot. Not the most comfortable, but it was only one night.

    Location, staff, breakfast, cleanliness, were top notch. We did notice ants in the bathroom the day we left, but those buggers will find he smallest crack...which was easily plugged up.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    minor important but I don't like nickel&dime: e.g. 1€ for a small 0,2l water if the 1,5l is 0,16€ in supermarket or the 1€ fee for pool towels - rates between 70 and 100€ could include such peanuts things Breakfast limited in choices (normal in PT)

    design of main house and modern guest rooms which annex in the back (very quiet) Very nice receptionist - I don't know how it's working during high season (only 3 rooms wer occupied during our stay)

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Welcome from Careena. Fabulous design/decor/ramps instead of steps/polished concrete floors/ attention to detail/beautiful breakfast room/games room/lemon tree in court garden. Most of all the wonderful happy peaceful aosphere. An absolute gem and I can't wait to back

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent Hotel, central down town location. Very well restored old building substance in combination with perfect designed two story new structure. Well chosen contemporary interior design and furniture. Very professional, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room soundproofing can be improved

    Very good breakfast (including homemade cakes and jams) Great shower (good pressure and constant temperature) Comfortable room Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were wonderful! Safari restaurant recommendation

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location & friendly staff. We arrived very late and they came to greet us.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very nice staff. Very well located. Beautiful and clean facilities. Wonderful breakfast and Adriana is a lovely lady. I loved everything.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    facilities are absolutely amazing!!! Couldn't ask for better! The place was extremely clean and smelled lovely. Staff was super friendly!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: