Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Solar do Castelo 4 stars

Rua das Cozinhas 2 (ao Castelo), Santa Maria Maior, 1100-181 Lisbon, Portugal

#47 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor hitch is that though it is next to the beautiful castle, there are peacocks on the grounds and they can be noisy. That aside, this place is the best.

    This is an amazing accommodation and location. Breakfasts are fantastic, the room and bathroom are extremely well appointed. Staff are great and always there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great for our group but might not be for others as the road in and out is quite steep and cobblestone. Often times taxis cannot drop you at the hotel entrance due to the crowds of people entering the castle or road blocks. It was quiet except for the peacocks as it was mating season. They were beautiful to look at and came right into the hotel courtyard. The staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that the bed could have been a little softer. But after many years traveling in Europe so many places seem to have hard beds!!!

    Thoroughly enjoyed staying. Loved the little Portuguese tarts available all day. Loved The honour bar. A quiet piece of paradise in a busy city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small and crowded - we couldn't pass each other. Perhaps a much smaller side table/chair would help. We would have enjoyed having breakfast each morning, but the cost seemed extraordinarily high.

    The property is beautiful beyond belief. The location is very special. Our last day of a very busy vacation was spent in the courtyard reading, with the fountain providing soothing music. Perfect. I loved the peacocks - one actually lead us to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much furniture in small room- hardly any room for our case. Wardrobe doors do not open wide enough to give easy access to interior. Not enough space in bathroom for toiletries. Only mirror in bathroom

    Lovely garden and breakfast/lounge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wonderful location, very pretty and relaxing hotel in the Alfama district of Lisbon. It was a pleasure to return to after each busy day of walking and sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solar do Castelo is located within the walls of Lisbon’s historic castle. It is mostly an old building constructed on the site of the castle’s original kitchen. Our room very comfortable, clean with a view to the inner walls of the castle. The welcome bottle of champagne was much appreciated. The breakfast area was a nice place to relax with a nice view of the courtyard where peacocks and peahens pose. The smorgasbord breakfast included juice, cereal, fresh fruits, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses as well as bacon, eggs and sausages. A great start to each day! All of the staff were friendly and helpful. It is only a short walk to Alfama, Graca and Baixa areas. Solar do Castelo Hotel is excellent accommodation that is both stylish and relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Group
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I was on a leisure trip, I still had some work I needed to do and the poor WiFi was a bit of a problem for me. Despite booking a double bed, the room was made up with a pair of twins on our arrival. Granted, I should have had the good sense to ask for it to be remade when we arrived, but was quite tired after a long day of travel. One or two of the staff were rather patronising when I asked for help with one or two things, but most were very nice. The room, which was lovely in every other way, was a bit tight for two people travelling with reasonably sized luggage (ie, a cabin sized bag each).

    The inn itself is extremely comfortable. The room we had was beautifully decorated, clean, and characterful. The architecture of the building is most intriguing with lots of levels and passages, and a museum in the cellar, where guests can view displays of artifacts unearthed during restorations. The neighbourhood next to Sao Jorge Castle is fascinating to wander through.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a challenge for taxi drivers to find. Look out for the email from the hotel with directions before you go. It's hilly so you need to be fit

    The character of the hotel and it's location right by the castle. The breakfast buffet, all day Nespresso facilities in the lounge and the honesty bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. You have to go down to lounge area or room service will bring it to you.

    Lovely pleasant hotel very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were attentive but unobtrusive ,the whole experience was relaxing and the buffet breakfast was delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this boutique hotel which is under stated decadence ! we will be back. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    we stayed at Solar de Castello on our 25th wedding anniversary, and loved it! What a wonderful place, with wild peacocks waking you up in the morning, pleasant staff and a wonderful breakfast. Really a treat, and one we will repeat for our 50th anniversary!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the entrance, high ceiling and beautifully renovated old castle building impressed me. The dining/breakfast lounge is fitted with cozy antique sofa and coffee table, which was relaxing and I ilked it. The hotel is located in the old city site on top of the hill which added special experience, as I walked down the hill in the morning to get to town, bus station in fornt of the castle gate, or famous tram #28, through the old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    super helpful staff everywhere in the hotel. Free coffee, tea and some snacks always available for the guests staying gives us a homey feeling. The design and vibe in the hotel is really relaxing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restricted driving area and difficult to get to. Pleasant but nothing special and quite pricey for what you get.

    Interesting hotel in the middle of the old town, next to the castle, excellent for walking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like the two single beds pushed together. One queen or king bed would be better. Inadequate lighting in our room at night. Dim bulbs. But we didn't spend that much time in our room.

    The location is great, especially if you learn to use the elevators, taxis and buses. Walking everywhere can involve a lot of hills. It is out of the hustle and bustle, but close to things. We really like the public spaces - lobby/dining room and outdoor courtyard. The ambience is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looked a little tired.

    The calm, like an oasis from the city bustle, especially the courtyard. The historic surroundings and beautiful design of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not very powerful and , despite shower curtain floor got wet. No view from rooms at the back.

    Lovely staff, good location but up a steep hill, you need to be fit! Lovely atmospheric area to explore and easy to get into the main part of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drain in tub not working. Not fixed during my stay. If you have mobility issues, (sciatica acting up after a week on horseback) this is not the place for you.

    Charming property. Very quiet in spite of location adjacent to Castle which is main tourist site. Lovely courtyard for midday lounging.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked more advance information on the level of cab accessibility to the hotel, which is at the top of a hill and reached only through very narrow (flatten yourself in a quaint doorway if a car does try to get through) street. I would have utilized their arrangements for a driver from the airport if I had known that not all cabs are allowed to drive to the hotel. Follow their advice or be prepared to haul your luggage uphill over the cobblestones.

    The reception staff were always willing to go out of their way to make me comfortable, or to make sure the internet worked, or to let me have access to the room even if it was after checkout time, for example. Online warnings about noisy peacocks were unnecessary; I heard them only during daylight hours, and then rarely. The room was always clean, and lots of towels, big ones, were provided. They also smelt better and were softer than at more expensive hotels. Breakfast was a serve-yourself buffet that was very good. The staff can recommend places to see, eat, and they hand out the best map of the area around the castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt for the price the rooms were on the small side. However, I would still consider staying again when in Lisbon. I would just ask more questions. Also, because of the time of our arrival, 1700, the castle was very busy and the taxi would not drive us to the hotel, it dropped us at the gate. I called and an offer was not made to pick us up in the courtesy vehicle. I was told it was a short walk, but it is straight up hill!

    Staff was great, location was perfect! They made great recommendations for dinners and places to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive.

    The proximity to the castle (next door). Free coffee and orange juice all day and complimentary champagne. The architecture and location in the historic district were awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interesting location - it is right at the top by the castle so a long walk down and back up. Hotel very quiet and calm, absolutely spotless. Maybe not so appropriate for a solo traveller - had a romantic atmosphere so I felt a bit on my own!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had trouble finding the hotel when we arrived, the taxi was unable to leave us outside as there was a problem with the road leading up to it. Once we found our bearings we were fine

    The hotel was so comfortable, relaxing and quiet, nice and private. The staff were helpful and friendly, nice place for a romantic break away! Breakfast was served late each day which made it more relaxed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all taxi can take you up to the hotel's front door. You get drop off at the castle entrance. Then it's 2-3 minutes walk. Hotel is situated behind the castle.

    We enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. Still gave it full marks despite the taxi issue we had to get there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some idea of the difficulty of getting a taxi to go there would have been very helpful. You cannot walk up to this hotel. Some indication that transfers can be organised from the hotel would have made our trip start much better.

    Breakfast was lovely and the lounge area very pleasant. The outside courtyard was made almost useless by the pigeons.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced small rooms- our room for one night was expensive and was located on the bottom floor and therefore was dimly lit. Additionally, the tub had some damage and the repairs done on it were poorly patched. For a hotel that charges so much you think the rooms would be pristine.

    Great Location, Nice Breakfast, Quiet at Night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing!

    This darling, historic small hotel, beautifully furnished, is located right outside the palace walls in the Alfama district. We loved the neighborhood and the shops were filled with fabulous pottery which even my husband loved seeing. Fascinating area, and we loved the 360 degree views of Lisbon from inside the castle walls...the city is all white and shiny, and litter-free.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little too carby for me, but while ditching the diet the breads, cheeses etc were delicious! My boyfriend loved all the pastel de nata every morning though.

    We loved the location right near the Castelo and walking through the lovely little streets. The room was comfortable and the staff really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little bit small and under the roof so noisy when it is windy, polite but unfriendly staff

    Right next to the castle, very nice and clean hotel, very charming room, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our window rattled at the slightest breeze and we would have liked the extra light and extractor fan in the bathroom to work all the time when we needed it.

    We loved the decor, the attention to detail and the way we were made to feel most welcome and at home. There are so many bonuses! Tea & coffee and treats the whole day, champagne and Port in the room, the tuk-tuk service, the peacocks, just too many to mention!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spectacular location, very friendly and helpful staff , tastefully decorated rooms that were not the least bit corporate and high quality breakfast on a sunny courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Solar do Castelo was a wonderful hotel right outside Castle George. The facilities were outstanding. Our room was large and comfortable with plenty of light. The breakfast room and patio where you could enjoy breakfast were beautiful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel is very convenient for exploring Lisbon. An added bonus was the beautiful peacocks around the castle even though they could be noisy at times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything

    A beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. It's a bit hilly but that wasn't a problem for us. The hotel is right next to the castle - you can see into the grounds - and the castle peacocks came to visit in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and the honour/serve yourself system for the bar in the evening suited us down to the ground. There are plenty of restaurants around and about, and it's centrally located to visit Lisbon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything excellent.

    Excellent hospitality. Beautiful traditional environment in an historical place. Beautiful breakfast and complimentary refreshments and Portuguese pastries and cakes during the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were a little too hard.

    Breakfast was lovely, scrambled eggs, a selection of tea and coffee and good range of breads. Afternoon tea, coffee and cake, served in the main room with lovely big couches to sit on. Hotel was beautifully and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if they warned you on the website that the place is hard to get to. Many taxi drivers don't know where it is, and many won't go up there for fear of getting stuck. We figured it out but not without great difficulty. It's lucky we got to Lisbon early. Also, there should be someone on staff to help carry heavy suitcases to the second and third floor. Dragging them up the stairs is very difficult.

    The Ambiance was fabulous. The screeching peacocks were amusing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Very friendly, helpful staff, located right next to the castle, very quiet neighborhood once all the tourists head back down the hill, and the unique design of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked mushrooms as part of the cooked items at breakfast.

    Particularly liked the room which had a view over the rooftops and down to the river. Choice and quality of breakfast items - especially the fruit salad. Being able to sit out and breakfast in the courtyard amongst the birds and peacocks. Staff were very helpful making restaurant bookings for us. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Lisbon but would recommend booking transfer from airport through the hotel as some of the taxis are unable to get up the narrow streets beyond the Castle to the door of the hotel. The hotel will provide a buggy to transport guests and luggage for the last part of the transfer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only spent one night there. Not a modern hotel, but very cozy. Located within the castle wall, the taxi is a good alternative to get there. However, going by Uber, the hotel has a transfer to get us to the point from which Uber car can not pass. In April, the air conditioner was already set for summer. As it was cold, the staff get a heater that easily solved the problem. Good breakfast. Free good cakes and coffe available in the living room. We did not try the Wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a 'drains' smell coming from the bathroom, but as this was also in the street outside our room I suspect there is not much the hotel can do about this. If I had been staying for more than one night I would have requested a different room.

    The breakfast was lovely and we really appreciated the carafe of port (may have been sherry?) in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alfama Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    How about a coffee or tea facility in the room esp. for first thing in the morning?

    Great choice of bread and scones with breakfast. Setting is unique.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information on public transport i.e. Local bus that runs up and down hill every 10 minutes rather than assume everyone will arrive by taxi. Give visitors more alternatives to arrive

    Location room breakfast staff all superb

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small floor boards were protruding up so you constantly tripped could have been fixed no one mentioned the problem before offering change of room on arrival

    Locstion

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was terrific the staff, the breakfast, the room. But the pasteis de nata were exceptional and the location next to St. George castle was the best!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Lovely quiet and relaxing hotel. Excellent staff service. Loved the complimentary coffee, teas and cakes available all day and great choice at breakfast buffet. Lots of fresh bread, cakes, fruit, salmon, meats, cheeses, yogurts, scrambled egg, bacon and mini sausages and cereal. Courtyard was really lovely quiet place to sit in the sun with a drink.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toaster was hopeless - 6-8 goes to get the bread to take any colour!

    Friendly staff, lovely hotel, great selection for breakfast; really liked the availability of (free) good coffee at all hours and the honesty system for drinks. Be prepared for lots of walking up and down hills!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room cleaning was not so good, we stayed 6 days and never cleaned up under the bed. Rooms are poorly soundproofed, you can hear everything happens in the neighbour room.

    Staff and service are very good, always kind and always ready.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mansarde Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely boutique hotel in a fantastic location within the walls of the castle on top of one of Lisbon's hills. The friendly staff really looked after us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. In fact, we went to Evora and cancelled our second night to come back and stay here.

    Everything, brilliant stay. Thank you. Special thank you Andre, night manager. Always went out of his way to help.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful. There is a fresh scent when you enter through the large doors. The staff are genuinely welcoming. The room has a great acletic feel due to the decor being modern but also traditional. The outdoor spaces are stunning. We enjoyed sipping port outside each night in front of the fire pit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit hard to find!

    Coffee available any time in the common area, port in the bedroom, very helpful staff (printing boarding passes, finding a taxi, etc.). Charming area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For breakfast each day we had a variety of fresh foods available in a very comfortable and welcoming setting. Items were replenished quickly and the staff was very friendly. The location was both strategically placed and beautiful - being next to (or a part of) the castle was an unusual way to start our visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small pretty room but quite dark Too small bathroom

    Very Nice staff Very good lounge and afternoon tea Impeccable cleanliness of the room Very good location Overall a very agreeable stay , and we will recommend the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think they can improve the facilities are excellent.

    Very helpful staff, the property is in an excellent position next to the castle and easy walking distance to various restaurants. Would advise getting the private taxi the hotel offer from the hotel as normal taxis will only go a certain distance in the narrow streets and it would be a steep walk with suitcases in tow. It was our 30th wedding anniversary and they kindly put a bottle of champagne in our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the location - the remote neighborhood by the St George castle walls at the top of Alfama,-its narrow cobblestone streets, its quiet mornings, the beautiful design and architecture of the hotel with its charming courtyard..., and peacocks!. Loved our room and loved the staff who made us feel so welcome, helping us launch our first moments in Portugal celebrating our 40th anniversary. We arrived hours before our checkin time, after an overnight flight from the US and a lengthy time in the customs line via a transport the hotel arranged. Not only did they give us a friendly welcome, but expedited the room's readiness and upgraded it! It was challenging for many cabs to get to this wonderfully remote location up the narrow cobbled streets. Even that, with proper maps given to us by the hotel, became an adventure and a plus rather than a negative, late at night returning to the hotel and gazing up at the beautifully lighted castle!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in room did not close correctly

    Apart from above there was complimentary coffee and tea available and a ready supply of Portuguese tarts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable lobby area, and very friendly and helpful staff! The breakfast was very good that we ate more than we could!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast, thoughtful, helpful staff. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel was great and the service exceptional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely large bathroom and a bath for a hot soak after a busy day walking but no shelf to put all our toiletries.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was poor and slow.

    The property had vast amounts of charm and atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed, friendly and perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, fruit, coffee always svailable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional location, friendly and helpful staff, and little extras like the tea and coffee facilities and snacks in the guest lounge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Amazing staff. Very accommodating and ultra friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury, beautiful decor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alfama Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    port and champagne on arrival Amazing breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful boutique hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the patio!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat difficult to walk to hotel at top of hill

    Old town location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, very helpful staff, and excellent breakfasts!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet (worked after addtl hotspot was out outside of our room)

    Location, Service, Room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peacocks!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castelo Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is one of the worlds best small hotels. Fantastic location, beautiful spaces and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Solar do Castelo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: