Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sol e Mar 4 stars

Rua Bernardino de Sousa, Albufeira City Centre, 8200-146 Albufeira, Portugal

#48 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1165 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Rooms average but the views and location are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More a basic 3 star when it comes to the very basic rooms and only one power point in the room worked. The pool is indoors and closes at 5:30pm but the beach is right in front so not a major issue. The beds arent particularly comfortable but the views make up for it all.

    The views from the balcony were spectacular and the value was great because I booked on the morning of checking in and got a massove discount. Breakfast was pretty good. Nice variety and tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    fab location, very basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the aircon was awful, not a lot of plug sockets! in the evening it felt like an old fashioned church, however the surrendering areas are nice and busy

    fab location, very basic hotel..... staff are fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Good but I wouldn't return in a hurry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in Room 416 so at about 7am each day all you could hear was chairs scraping from the restaurant above who were getting ready for breakfast. The bar was also directly under our window so was quite noisy with people chatting until late. I reccomend packing ear plugs for a good night sleep.

    The location was perfect. Right within walking distance to everything you would need. The rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard. The views were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Amazing location but needs urgent updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old and tired and some of the staff can come across quite surly but not all. It is very tired but I know it is being refurbished this year.

    The location can't be beaten. The view from the balcony is spectacular. You can pick your sunbed and be down and sitting on it within 5 minutes. It's so close to the old town but far enough away not to be bothered by noise. The terrace is great for a bit of comfy seating and people watching. The hotel is clean but there were some insect issues but I believe this was because of the proximity to the beach. I would definitely stay there again but only after the refurbishment that is due this year.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Nice location but Old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 313 has a terrible smell in the bathroom Building in Need of renovation Usually only 1 person at reception No daily water bottle Weak shower over small bath VERY Slow wifi No complimentary beach chairs No shampoo bottles just paper sachets Hard bed soft pillow Tiny indoor pool Lots of little flies in room and hotel

    Location in old town and room views were great. Breakfast was ok. Room size good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Best view in Albufeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. For a 3-4 stars hotel it was really good.

    Perfect location - in front of the beach and in the heart of old town; Good breakfast with sea view; Easy access to the beach; Live piano music in the evenings; Nice staff; etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outdoor swimming pool but we knew this

    Breakfast and dinner - there was plenty of choice and variety at both meals. Location is great for the beach and shopping. Site seeing was accessible as the bus stop was near. Staff were helpful, polite and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated and basic. The fourth floor was underneath the restaurant and so had a lot of noise from the ‘scraping of chairs’ and trolleys running back and forth around the meal times

    Wonderful location. All rooms have sea views. All staff are friendly and smiling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the hotel looked very tired and in need of a refurbishment. We were on the 6th floor and as the lift only goes to the 5th floor, we had to carry our cases to our room (no concierge).

    The location is fantastic. The room was a good size, though very dated. Staff kept the hotel very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Shelves in bathroom were in silly position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shelves in bathroom were in silly position...couldn't access top of tap on sink to open plug and hit head on shelf when taking bath!! The headrest on bed had a ridiculous dado rail across making sitting up in bed very uncomfortable Rest of hotel was good..food was excellent Pianist in evening was very enjoyable and barman there made the best coffee in Portugal It is a shame that it gets taken over by very rowdy Hen & stag dos very very noisy during day time when they were in beach cafe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location food poor but good value for a mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds very hard, balcony floor dirty, food not great we were half board at dinner limited choice and food left out in hot containers so if you came to dinner later it was dry or cold. Some of the waiters were rude and unfriendly in the restaurant

    The location is perfect all rooms look out onto the sea. Lovely beach , bar on the ground floor you can sit and watch the sun set.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location but never in that hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was full of stags & Hens The kitchen extacters came into the bathroom through the vents stinking the room out The beds were like sleeping on a brick The breakfast & evening meal were cold. Paid half board & ended up eating out Never slept so bad in my life

    Location is spot on

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Location and top views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet and breakfast very basic. Would expect a bit more for the hotel rating.

    Top location, great views and a staff that goes out of the way to make your visit a pleasant one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Love it. Love it love it. Put a few extra pillows in room and adjust the breakfast slightly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bacon at breakfast needs to be crispy. They need to source a different sausage supplier. Normally a chorizo type sausage is not served for breakfast. The beans were quite hard. The cooked breakfast on a whole is left in eaten or not taken. It gets dryer the more people leave it so as you come in later it’s less appealing.

    The only reason I have slightly marked the hotel down is the beds are quite uncomfortable and the breakfast could do with a revamp. The hotel is in a fab location. The staff are helpful and attentive. It’s really clean. The place is so close to the beach and old town. The view is spectacular. Rooms cleaned every day. It’s a great place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, can’t beat location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t say suitable family hols only because quite a noisey place due to location attracts a lot of groups, birthdays etc .. I say that the noise never bothered me but probably would have if I’d had children traveling with me

    Location it’s perfect, can’t beat the views and the bar, cocktails and restaurant are great x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Very close to the main area. Mostly older people staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms a little small. Balcony a little small also. Single beds quite small. No running water at 11:30am on one of the days in the room.

    Sea view. 5 minutes walk to the main square where all the shops /pubs/ restaurants are. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice ,helped by the nice weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in the rooms are horrendous and be warned that the lock for the safe in the room is 12€ and is not refundable it is not a deposit so take it home with you and when I asked if I could have my money back I was greeted with a very nasty NO . The man on reception was very helpful when we wanted advice on where to eat told us not to eat at any local Chinese he wouldn’t recommend them. I give this hotel a 7.5 out of 10 .

    The hotel is very clean , rooms dated but clean view from the rooms is fantastic . If you like a hotel with a young vibe this is not for you about 75% of customers were over at least 70 . If you like a quiet hotel this is for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great for wheelchair users..The breakfast could do with being improved (mind you we didn't starve)

    The Hotel is right on the beach with stunning views from the rooms..The hotel is very central for shopping, restaurants and the main square..We loved the horseshoe bar and pianist in the evening..This is our 3rd time staying in the Hotel..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Loved this location in the old town, nice sun deck & bar looking out to sea, nice place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crepes & fried eggs were cold

    Rooms were quite spacious all with balcony. Bit tired but clean and had everything we needed. Plenty of choice on breakfast buffet, cooked or continental breakfast available. Nice coffee. Stays open until 10.30am. Staff were helpful. Nice view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    excellent apart from the smokers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    did not like the smokers being allowed to smoke on the balcony at the lounge as it stops non smokers from sitting there looking at the fantastic view and getting lovely fresh sea air.

    staff very helpful and location very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    More than happy to return and will do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Unfortunately had to return early to UK due to death of my wife's father. Outstanding support and assistance received from both Sol e Mar Hotel (Particularly the lady called Bereta) and Booking.com. No question of using both parties again, just a mere certainty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Just loved the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 4th floor which was directly under the dining room we were woke up every morning with scraping chairs and tables for the 3 hrs of breakfast then noise back evening meal times it really was arendas, but we would definitely go back but definitely not on the 4 th floor

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, basic rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast wasn't great. No tea coffee in the rooms. No hairdryer or iron in room. Shampoo was terrible. I would return but only if the price was right. The summer prices seem crazy and not good value.

    The hotel is in the best location, on the beach and in the town. It was very clean and the staff were very friendly, albeit the reception staff were a bit slow to get anything done. The bar is easily the best of the public areas, and could be the reason i return to hotel sol e mar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Food is terrible in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and dinner was terrible. It was real cheap food. We ended up buying our breakie and dinner everyday because the food was not up to standard for a 4 star hotel. We got no use from our half board package.

    I loved the location. You could not ask for better. Right on the beach, right in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    The property is in a prime location, just at the top of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a prime location, just at the top of the square. All rooms are sea view and located directly on the beach. Breakfast is plentiful and had a good choice, evening meal not a lot of choice but we always found something to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    With this Hotel it's about it's location and VFM (Value For Money).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Tea Service in the room.

    It's location was the Prime reason for myself and Maxine staying there for a third time now, on the beach- in a location giving quick access to Resturants / Bars and some quite good shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Will return to this hotel everytime I’m in Albufeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pets allowed😩

    I have stayed in this hotel many times and recommend it to everyone! The location is amazing...balconies facing the sea in each room fabulous...the bar is beautifully retro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a bad smelling bathroom. It looked like somethong had been wrapped around the pipe but obviously didn't work. We've not had that before in any other room.

    Lounge area. Friendly staff. A bottle of bubbly was supplied in the room when we returned which was a nice birthday treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    The weather was poor and my grandson got sick b
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike at the hotel

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Especially as my grandson took sick while we were there and they got us an appointment with the doctor immediately. This is my fourth booking with the Sol-e-Mar and I would definitely recommend it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.0
    As it currently stands certainly won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately the Hotel Sole e Mar is getting by on its location only. The hotel as a whole is very dated, tired and in need of a complete overhaul. Certain staff were welcoming. The breakfast isn't great - in fact appalling - hot breakfast is cold and drab. The servers are absolutely appalling too - unfriendly and looked as if they wanted to be elsewhere. They also repeatedly would come round and try to take plates from you although you hadn't finished what you were eating. Although I have stayed several times over the years this overall experience unfortunately has turned me off returning. As said a complete overhaul on site of the hotel and certain members of staff is required badly, to match the fantastic location and views before it sinks completely.

    As always the location and the sea view room. The Hotel did a nice touch of having a bottle of champagne in our room on arrival for my partners birthday which was very appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely relaxing stay in the Sol E Mar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We went the week of the Beast from the East icy weather at home. It was quite rainy in Albufeira however temps were 15-16 degrees and ....much warmer than at home. I guess i'm not keen on the entertainer man. However the older people think it is just lovely. I think the music style is quite old fashioned. This doesn't stop me going back for the tranquility and purity of staying on the beach.

    The location is this hotel is its advantage over everywhere else...location, location, location. The front of the hotel is in the heart of the old town and the back of the hotel is directly over the beach. The room was clean and fresh, with a full sea view, The beds were fine, bedding and towels all white and clean. However the view is breathtaking. The hotel is right on the beach. I stayed up late one night to watch the high tide...it was spectacular. TV worked fine and there were some English channels. Although not the biggest buffet, there were always a few choices including fish, meat and salad and we always enjoyed our meal each evening. Staff were helpful and courteous. Wine at dinner is a reasonable price. The hotel is also fine with you taking a mini kettle. The hotel is looking forward to a refurb later this year. Whether this happens or not, we will continue to return. Most of the people there are regular returners.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    very relaxing holiday due to comfortable, friendly hotel and beautiful weather in february.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfasts could have been significantly improved with the addition of fresh orange juice (we saw so many oranges growing in the area) and fresh coffee. Despite this there was plenty of choice at breakfast and evening meal.

    brilliant location right on the beach and in the old town. All rooms have balcony and sea view. We had 7 days of sunshine in February. Shuttle taxi to and from the airport was excellent - 70 euros return from airport arrivals to hotel front door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing. And fun. Liked spending time on balcony listening to waves lapping on the shore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the way you can't check in till 3 of oclock. And not enough English TV channels plenty of German and Dutch though.

    Love the location, very central in old town. and the beach is on your doorstep litterry. Plus all rooms have Seaview balcony. Highly recommend this property stayed 6 times in total always good. Gets very expensive in summer months like other hotels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    We returned from Albufeira on 18/02/18.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We returned from Albufeira on 18/02/18. We loved our stay in Sol e Mar. The hotel is placed right on the beach and all the rooms have a see view, which is breathtaking. We could see dolphins from our balcony on few occasions. The location right in the middle of Algarve allowed us to explore all the towns and beaches on the coast within our 9 days stay. All the staff were very nice and helpful and we had a special connection with Christina in the reception, who was always smiling, approachable, informative and eager to help us with our questions or requests. Overall excellent holidays stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, february weather was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming home.

    This hotel had a few complaints re 4star status and dated appearance, we had no problem with the furnishings etc, all part of the portuguese charm. Always someone will give negative feedback but for the price, room cleanliness and overall friendliness of staff the hotel is perfect. Location to die for and dolphins seen twice from our balcony,perfection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    The hotel needs some updating but would be happy to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was new but very hard Only one electrical socket in the room - luckily we had an extension lead!

    Room was nice with a fantastic view and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, good friendly place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location, arrived late at night , the hotel left us a salad/ water in the room, which wasn't expected. Added bonus fridge in the room which would be great in hotter weather. Food on the whole was good value always something to eat even for a fussy eater. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent mini break ...blondie
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating very old fashion deco beds very hard uncomfortable sleep

    Location and views fantastic friendly staff especially ground floor bar staff Colin was a top guy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    tired in corridors, small lifts.

    Proximity to The beach and the main square, clean and retro in the public areas. Bright airy renovated room, friendly staff,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Great value beach hotel in centre of Albufeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some small things - unusual layout with reception on top floor, and cooked food at breakfast not being hot enough.

    Great location in centre of town and right on the beach. Spacious sea view rooms . Good breakfast and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    5.8
    Needs Refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell in bathroom. Reported to reception -- she would send a plumber . No change - Room was big and airy but smell put us off. Breakfast was chaotic. Could not understand why staff did not organise it better. Hotel is not 4* and needs refurbishment. No parking. Stated parking was 200mts up street but was never available.

    View from room and from lounge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    everything was excellent we had the rooms we requested and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there wasn't anything that we didn't like about this hotel

    everything was excellent we had the rooms we requested and a complimentary bottle of bubbly for the newlyweds, and the flowers we asked them to get for us as a surprise. when our return taxi didn't turn up the lady on reception was excellent and sorted everything out for us. we cannot thank her enough and will definitely be returning in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    my friends and i really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Sol E Mar and will definitly return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    car parking was a bit hit and miss..

    Great location, Hotel is spotless and very friendly staff! close to numerous Bars and Restaurants.. would highly recommend..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Short stay but we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit dated. No parking on site which must be terrible in the summer when it is busy.

    Location is fantastic. Rooms clean with great seaviews. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Amazing will be back!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is at the top of the old town and can be very hilly and loads of steps but there are ways around so just be careful when booking it.

    The property was nice in a great location, close to the shops and on top of the old town. Located on the beach you can walk out the lift onto the beach it was amazing. Clean but the style is dated but reservations are starting soon. Friendly staff great food lovely place to be will be going back at the end of the year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful Sunrise couldn’t have been in a better location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been better. Only had one evening meal Would have eaten in more .if it Had been a bit more appetizing.

    All I can say is the location is the best

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable holiday with great sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is comfortable and friendly but is looking tired,could do with refurbishment which I understand is going to happen at the end of 2018.

    Great location,sea views from every balcony. Limited food choices but what was served was very good. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful in fact all of the staff were great. Rooms were cleaned daily with clean towels if required.Albufeira is quite hilly, and therefore not recommended for people with limited mobility unless you want a hotel based holiday .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent position and views, good choice at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms were comfortable but a little tired and could do with a make over. Didn't feel it was 4 star.

    Excellent position and views, good choice at breakfast. Staff very helpful. We stayed over Christmas and our stay included a very generous and delicious 5 course, christmas dinner for free !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic loved every minute of it. Great hotel and would not think of staying anywhere else if we r
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived there was a bottle of water left in the room but would have liked to have the facilities to enable us to make a cup of tea or coffee or a drinks vending machine in Reception. Had to walk to the local supermarket to buy a bottle of water.

    Friendly staff, excellent location and the fantastic views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Location, a fantastic New Years Eve gala dinner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard, no tea/coffee facilities in room, poor toiletries since 4star hotel

    Location, a fantastic New Years Eve gala dinner and excellent entertainment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Beds comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast needs some attention. Kettle in the room would be nice.

    Beds comfy. Most of the staff pleasant. Service slow. Perfect location. No criossants. Breakfast just ok. Would go back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    This hotel has the best location in Albufeira - we had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The rooms do not have tea and coffee facilities - we took our own.

    We had a wonderful time at this hotel; friendly helpful staff, everywhere spotless; the round bar was ideal for socialising, also live piano. Good 'free' wifi. Lots to do in walking distance - also great bus service. Buffet breakfast was excellent - choices of hot and cold - fresh baked breads, croissants, biscuits and cakes - wide selection of fruit and yoghurts - much more than enough. Evening dinner price was on par with other restaurants with more choices. The room was spacious and comfortable - kept immaculate thanks to Graciana? We also had NEW beds. Spacious balcony with all rooms looking over the beach with the sound of the sea. Aah . . excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    lovely short winter break before xmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing really

    Third visit to this great hotel in december lovely sea view, quirky bar area good breakfast close to old town nice walk to beach and marina.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyable, but couldn’t wait to get home to a clean bath and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I realise the hotel is very old and needs updating especially the bedrooms and bathrooms the main corridors are in need of refurbishment and the cleanliness of the bathrooms is a joke.,. Serious attention needs to be paid to that!!! This is my third visit in 6 years and nothing has changed I thinki it is called sitting on your laurels—- I will not be returning, such a shame.

    situation of the hotel and the majority of staff are very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel on the beach close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was only one gripe which was there was a machine for water for breakfast but it gets covered over for dinner which I understand the hotel requires to make money so water has to be paid for at dinner for half board. One member of staff lets call him "Tony" was not the friendliest at breakfast and dinner which you will notice if he is there..!! other than that all staff were very friendly.

    Hotel is in a fantastic position right on the beach with access to this via a lift to the ground floor, there is a lovely walk to the end of the beach which for winter sun was beautiful. The sunrise was spectacular from the balcony which every room has a sea view that gets sun all day from sunrise to sunset. The views from the balcony are spectacular and I recommend getting up early to watch the sunrise, because the hotel is built into the side of the cliff the reception bar and eating area are up 5 floors high giving an amazing view. Rooms have a beach hut vibe going on with them and very clean. There is a small shop if you take a left from the hotel (1 minute walk) called 7 which will have all the essentials required such as water and a few beers wine and spirits if required. Transfer to the hotel is about 45 minutes and expensive in a taxi, uber was €42 per journey and you can get a transfer from other companies pre book for €30 per journey for two people. The main square is a short walk from the hotel down steps if fit and healthy and if not take the lift to the beach front and walk from there and back which would be my top tip. Stayed half board which was great with a wide selection of breakfast items and the evening menu changed every evening, any more than a few days it can become very repetitive so I would recommend going to some of the lovely eateries on the square if bored of the food in the hotel. There are no drinks included in half board, you can order drinks and pay at the end of the meal or charge it to the room. There is a indoor pool located on the ground floor beside the snack bar but no gym facilities. Overall a really nice pace with clean rooms and lovely people, I would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    An ideally situated hotel for a short break or holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of choice of TV channels - only had 7 options in different languages. Tried the evening buffet meal but was very disappointed. Unlike breakfast the food options were tasteless and mostly out of the packet - chef involvement was obviously minimal.

    Size of room was good and sea-view magnificent. Evening bar with piano player was very nice. Reception Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was much better than expected - very tasty and lots of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack kettle

    Excellent location, just in front of the golden beach, and bars & restaurants are on ground floor, and surround by shops. The best location you can ever find in Albufeira. Staff are friendly. The hotel cleaner works whole day long, can clean your room anytime. The downside is they don’t provide kettle, you need bring one if you are tea lover. By the way, bring English black tea with you, their tea tastes differently.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    One of the best experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Sol -e-Mar is clearly one of the best hotels in Albufeira and definately should be the first choice for anyone coming to the city. It is right next to the beach and the sea and you get the amazing sea view from your bedroom.You can take take the lift to the ground floor which opens straight to the beach. On the other side of the property is the old town.You just have to come out of the hotel lobby and hop down the 5 stairs and you will be in the Old town of the city where all the eateries and shops are. When you return to the hotel restaurant in the evening you will find some amazing live music playing which just adds to the experience. The morning complimentary buffet breakfast is also good and you get good variety if you are a non-vegetarian.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay other than no tea making facilities and lack of TV Channel choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No kettle or tea and coffee making facilities. Had to spend money on going out to buy cups of tea throughout my stay which turned out to be quite expensive when on a budget. Only BBC1 and Sky News available on TV for English only speaking guests

    Great central location and superb seafront view. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    This is my second visit and I will stay again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely hotel and is situated right in the heart of old Albufeira. You can drive to the entrance, drop off your luggage as you check in and there is lots of free parking about 300 metres away. The receptionist Ilda is so helpful and welcoming, the rooms are very clean and spacious and the staff are very friendly and discreetly helpful. The buffet breakfast is superb with lots of choices for every taste. I'm looking forward to staying again next year!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location, very good value for money. Though the rooms & hotel in general are starting to l
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being English, the bacon & sausages at breakfast weren't the best. Also with millions of oranges available the fruit juice at breakfast was a concentrate ??

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.4
    Dissapointed
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal cold, wine was corked and tasted foul, Breakfast cold with eggs like rubber. Bathroom taps loose.

    Sea views, Receptionest very pleasant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent inexpensive holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really everything was fine

    The rooms are clean and the staff are very nice we have stayed here many times and intend to in the future the only downside is the beds aren't doubles but two twins pushed together other than that it is a great hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    We would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better. It wasn't hot, soon went cold. However, there was plenty of choice.

    The view from the balcony was brilliant. It's great that every room faces the sea do you don't have to worry about having a room facing inland or facing a wall!, The round bar was really nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Great place for winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms a bit tired, no double beds, bathrooms a bit tired, I understand hotel is getting a refurbish next year

    Views were stunning from rooms and restaurant, location brilliant, staff in the beach restaurant so friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent beach walking week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Soundproof from other room and corridor could be better.

    Good hard beds for us. Safe ( extra cost ) is the best we seen in a hotel. Breakfast good but best if you are early. Big room with balcony to the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I was booking hotel a have asked about cake for my partner because he had birthday, but i haven't got any response. Same with shuttle...

    Sea view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Enjoyed my stay as did the rest of the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the hotel. Have stayed there previous

    Friendly staff. Clean hotel. Beautiful view. All rooms have sea view. Ideal position. Food basic but ok. Hotel ideally placed for bars and other restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The view from the hotel was stunning. The old Town of Albufeira is right on the doorstep with a wide range of restaurants and cafes convenient for all tastes. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be more interesting, to my opinion, with more vegetable options and good espresso machine.

    This is a very good hotel right on the beach and at the same time in the heart of old town of Albufeira. Close to everything. Although the hotel is outdated, it is charming, having its own soul. The sea (actually, the ocean) is seen and heard :) everywhere from the hotel windows. The room is very big with a huge terrace with stunning sea view. The staff is very nice, always ready to help. It was nice to stay there!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic visit to Albufeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel near the old section of the town in one side and on the beach in the other is excellent. Breakfast is very generous (even though it started a little late for us.) The workers were accommodating. Unfortunately the 'no smoking' policy is relative and the pushing religion with bibles in the room is strong.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Great older hotel with lots of British, if you are looking for your compatriots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've been staying on the most upper floor (6th) where there are not balconies but roof terraces. I loved the sun from all sides, but privacy was a bit hard to find that way. Parking is not available by the hotel - you have to find yourself a spot nearby. In mid-november it was okay.... but I wouldn't expect that in the higher seasons.

    The viewing of the balcony was just out to the sea, it was awesome! Great personnel! They provided me a electricity adapter since I have left mine at home, very uncomplicated & helpful! I liked their breakfast a lot - if you are into salty english breakfast, they have it all. Overall there were lots of older english couples, it seems to be a very british hotel, if you don't mind that fact. I didn't care that much, since I stayed for only two nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    Great location. Would not return unless renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very dated and in need of renovation. My bath was stained permanently and had rust marks. Hole in plastic table outside. Fridge was falling apart

    Hotel is perfectly located and has stunning views.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was happy with all aspects of my holiday

    The hotel was right on the beach and very close to the old town with all the bars and restaurants. We have stayed in the Sol e Mar 8 times and we are looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay in this hotel and while it is quite old fashioned and basic, the location makes up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms need a revamp and the beds are uncomfortable. Parking is non-existent.

    This hotel is in a fab location. Beautiful Beach Views and beside all restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Sol e Mar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: