Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Suite Hotel Jardins Da Ajuda 4 stars

Rua Nova Do Vale Da Ajuda, Sao Martinho, 9000-720 Funchal, Portugal

#56 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1024 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic, spacious with full kitchenette and fridge. Staff very helpful and polite. Our stay included breakfast which was the usual buffet, everything was freshly cooked, great choice of continental and full English. Location was perfect, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, free shuttle from hotel to centre of Funchal. Local bus service across the road and inexpensive, shopping centre/supermarket a 2 minute walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower didn't work very well and the pillows were a little hard and small

    The included breakfast was a good value with good food. Overall we thought the Hotel was a good value for the cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The bed was very hard, pillows lumpy and very small. Bath towels small and well worn. Air conditioning was not so good. Despite a safe being advertised, this cost an extra 2 euros per day which we didn't pay. Breakfast was adequate although the cooked breakfast which we had on two days only was stone cold. Don't think this hotel deserves its four stars.

    Overall, the hotel offered good value for money with a courtesy bus downtown four times daily. The housekeeping staff were very pleasant and brought me an extra pillow when asked. Cleanliness good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 21 nights

    Noisy motorcycles roaring up the street. Seemed they had no mufflers on them but that is not the hotel's problem at all.

    This is an excellent hotel with good value. Location, large room with good kitchenette and fridge had a large amount of space easily fitting a few wine bottles and veges in it, wonderful view from our room, quietness of room, good breakfast, good hotel staff and ambience, good bus service to centro but also an easy 3.4 or so kilometers walk to centro. Nightly entertainment was good with Jorge and Jackie and the different entertainment on Tuesday and Sunday nights was great. Very central location with good shopping mall with 70 plus stores just less than a minute walk away but never any noise or traffic congestion around. Lots of great restaurants very close by. We found the staff very helpful and always a smile. We were there for 3 weeks in March and hope we can go back for 5 or 6 weeks next winter to escape the cold winter in Canada. Thanks Suite Hotel Jardin Da Ajuda for an awesome vacation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A bit noisy and crowded at breakfast.

    The hotel was okay. A lot of old people staying in this place and the facilities were a bit "out of date", but in general ok place to stay! Pool was nice, and almost always there was no one!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having dinner in the hotel itself is quiet expensive, whereas there are lots of places to have dinner outside.

    Very spacious room with a little kitchen, the sauna and swimming pool are a big plus. The staff is always busy such that everything is tidy, nice and clean. Would definitely recommend staying here! The city centre itself is not far, but for those who are less able to walk, the hotel organises regularly shuttle busses as well. Next to the hotel there is a big shopping centre with the commercial brands open until midnight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fAult good value

    The hotel staff were very helpful and I was very impressed with our room cleanliness. The shuttle to funchal was efficient and a real benefit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast poor - hot items such as eggs were cold, everyday. Coffee machine used - could not tell if it was coffee. Limited hot selection.

    staff were friendly and helpful. Room large and comfortable. Gardens pleasant and relaxing. stay was very comfortable and enjoyable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. We didn't get the room type we had booked 2. The very small TV was positioned high up on the lounge wall in a very difficult place to watch 3. No English language programming - not even News - and poor reception 4. No quiet lounge available, away from noisy live entertainment in evening, and no TV lounge 5. No hotel information in room and no tea or coffee, despite kitchen being provided! 6. No cleaning equipment of any kind in kitchen 7. Dirty and very uncomfortable sofa 8. Poor pillows, lumpy and uncomfortable 9. No dinner menu available - had to get a ticket from reception and check food in restaurant 10. Poor unimaginative choice of food, and all lukewarm!

    Quiet rooms. Small indoor pool and spa were OK. Shuttle bus service to/from town centre very useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were waiting for our taxi to the airport after our stay, a guy who I can only assume was a manager asked me into the room and tried to blame me & my family for scratches on a dated table in the room we had in our room.. The funny thing was that we hadn't even used the table, as our son likes to climb so we had put it away! That put a proper dampener on the stay, I was not happy

    Indoor pool was lovely. Staff were great, especially Ivone & the ladies at reception (and the guys at the door), they were all very helpful and great with my 18 month old son. Courtesy bus to the centre was handy. Location was great, right next to good shopping centre & only a few mins walk from very nice restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor very dated, beds very uncomfortable and walls very thin so you can hear everything in the rooms beside! Pool attendant often missing so couldn't get towels to use. Rude manager at the end of the holiday accused us of scraping a table that we hadn't used. Shuttle bus to the centre doesn't always go at the times stated, we waited outside for a long time on several occasions. We will not return to this hotel.

    The indoor pool is nice. Breakfast had a good selection of food. Most of the staff were friendly (Jorge, Victoria, Helena and ivonne). Location was quite good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and blankets.

    Rooms were clean but we found the beds a little hard ,could do with toppers .The blankets were not clean they smell.Basically the beds experiences let the hotels down for us .Otherwise hotel has good facilities and entertainments .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the fact there was a free bus to Funchal. Great location with walking on the flat for not too fit walkers . The heated indoor huge pool was fantastic. The suite we had was very big more like an apartment. Breakfast was a avarage. Staff helpful. Cabaret on most nights. Rather dated but it was entertaining if you were just there for a short stay or a drink Sunbeds very uncomfortable, no mattresses. Beds in our suite very firm but pillows also too firm. Too firm! Bedding changed most days and the cleaners were very effficient. There is a kitchenette in the suite which was ok but the two ring cooker hob was so slow you could not make a cup of tea Luckily we took our own kettle. The grouting around around the bath tub had signs of mould. The hotel has a most fabulous sweeping staircase which leads to the restaurant. This would be a huge selling point on a luxury liner. Unfortuntely the hotel is rather dated but has a lot to offer. We would definitely go again as the location is so convenient Across the road from the hotel is a modern shopping mall with well know brand shops. Best one being a supermarket that had a self service buffet food restaurant attached. Excellent food if you do not want fine dining each night and incredibly cheap. A meal for two with two glasses of wine around. €11 . The local restaurants nearby also had excellent meals . Great cafe bars in the Mall. Booked this thfough secret deals on Booking dot com.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once it was a four star Hotel, not only for having the facilitets. Today it´s a tired Hotel. A lot of small/big details tells you that. The toilett, hair dryer, poor bed, old balcony furniture, no water/coffee machine, old undated and broken furniture in the night club. The worst was that 70 % of the staff seemed unhappy and tired.

    The zise of the room. Outsider pool, inside pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food in restaurant we had breakfast it was adequate but hot food was tepid On checking in staff not being upfront about facilities (indoor pool) closed

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Although when we booked in not honest about the facilities been closed. Location good but you do have to be physically fit lots of steep hills

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extremely disappointed to find that the indoor pool was out of action for almost our entire stay - the pool was the main reason we booked this hotel! Also angry that the courtesy bus from Funchal did not arrive one afternoon. Staff denied that this was the case. We received no apology from staff for either of the 2 incidents.

    Our flight was delayed so we were a day late arriving. Pleased that the hotel did not charge us for this missed night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During the night temperature was a bit cold and the control panel for the AC didn't worked on heat. (our fault was that we didn't complained about it to the reception)

    We enjoyed the following: 1. The staff was very helpfully and kind 2. The breakfast had everything we needed (and a good coffee, I observed someone complained about it but it's not true) 3. The room was very big (it was like 1 room apartment) 4. Lovely terrace with view towards the inside garden 5. Quite and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very pleased with everything, except that the pool was closed for TWO DAYS without any explanation during our stay (we did ask for one, but no one knew why it was closed or when it would re-open). On a rainy day with young children, and with one of the adults having run a marathon and wanting to sit in the hot tub, this was a big deal.

    Breakfast had lots of options and was good, the room itself was great for a family (kitchenette was a plus!), staff was very professional and friendly, we appreciated and took advantage of the free shuttle to the center or town, and loved relaxing in the pool/jacuzzi/sauna. Also the view from our balcony was glorious :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is looking a little tired, is now in need of some updating. kitchenette old fashioned, television program selection outdated. safe in room doesn't work (no lock facility). Despite these comments I would happily stay there again

    Very convenient location and very friendly staff, especially the concierge. Despite comments I would happily stay there again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our kitchen facilities were limited. After it took 35 minutes to boil a kettle on the rusty hob, a second rusty hob was fitted (at 9 pm!). However, a new induction hob was fitted the following day and made a big difference to us.

    We had stayed before and booked the hotel because we liked it. Given its location, the shuttle service is particularly important service for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy with everything

    Friendliness of staff and cleanliness of room and all public areas. Internet provided throughout the hotel. Very good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Rooms a bit dated. Old style television with limited channel choice for English speakers. Beds and pillows were a little hard. A pity the bar was not open during the day. Entertainment was the same most nights so a little boring. Booked for the Gala Dinner on Christmas eve and although the food was good there did not seem to be any type of dress code. Most people had made some effort but some diners were in shorts and tee shirts and flip flops!

    Good choice at breakfast. Clean Pool and good snack bar/coffee shop. Good bathroom and the room was always cleaned well. Most of the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast could be better, coffee needs to be better it was very bad, I dont drink orange juice and the other juice option was sour so ended up drinking water at breakfast as I also dont drink tea.. The rest of the hotel was good and I would recomend going their and not having breakfast in the hotel as their are lots of caffees in the area of the Hotel who give a great selection of options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The kitchen lacked some utensils, most important a frying pan and a waterboiler. We had only one cooking pan. I wonder if the guests before us had packed some of the kitchen utensils in their bags and suitcases? The rooms and corridors would benefit from renovation. Signs of worn furniture, carpets etc were obvious

    The size of the room was impressive. Beach and a big supermarket very close to the hotel, and several bus lines had stops near by. Free transport by bus shuttle to/from the city center, but only a few times a day. Excellent breakfast, and some really good restaurants not far from the hotel. Very nice view from the balcony. The hotel offer both inside and outside pools, and jacuzzi - and a beautiful garden by the pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Our room unfortunately did not get any direct sun and therefore was quite chilly. The decor in the room was quite dated and the curtains needed renewing, also windows were dirty!

    The service from staff was very good and the breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The bed mattresses very hard and room in urgent need of refurbishment cupboards and drawers needed attention and lighting. The furniture was not the most comfortable. The cooked food at breakfast was always cold.

    room size very good, gardens and public areas excellent, Christina our room service maid was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the carpet in my room. It was stained and looked permanently dirty. The cost of the evening meal, as I went B&B, was expensive, as was the new year gala dinner, at €110 I thought it was excessive. Coffee shop staff made me wait while they finished paperwork then did not seem happy to serve me.

    Courtesy bus to Funchal. Maids polite. Bar staff happy and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a bit surly. No washing up cloth or tea towel in apartment or plug for kitchen sink. Bar entertainment truly dreadful. Indoor pool and jacuzzi a bit cool for winter.

    Good for transport links. Good facilities. Good value. Good dietary requirements food at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was cold, dark and dingy despite having the air-conditioning set to try and heat the room. Lighting was very poor except in the en-suite bathroom. Carpet in the room was badly stained. Bin was not emptied daily despite the cleaner coming in to make up the beds. Room very depressing. The spa area was poorly managed with pools of water which you had to walk through in order to reach the changing areas. This despite there being only one other person using the whole area!!! Did not look very clean so did not use again in this hotel.

    The staff we encounter were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was clean, food was good and some components of the breakfast were changed on a daily basis. Good provision of hot water in the en-suite bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels were too small, safety deposit box was broken and beds a little hard (but that’s just a personal preference)

    Big rooms with kitchen area and balcony, nice pool, good variety and breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a bit hard. The access is up a steep road.

    Conveniently positioned, good breakfast, lovely gardens and pools. The Forum shopping centre is very near. Courtesy bus available and it is also close to two bus routes into Funchal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we did not like the entertainment its the same singers every year father and daughter and the same dancers it needs to be improved with a variaty of entertainment

    the room was exellent the cleaning was exellent the staff were exellant the breakfast was exellent we are dissapointed at the moment we want to go back next november to this hotel we cannot find any rooms available on booking . com

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe box key costs extra. You have to go down to front desk to ask for remote control.

    We got a suite for about 55 a night. Had a big terrace with view of pool and ocean, and kitchenette. Quiet building. ONE block away from many shops and supermarket.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and facilities were not at the level advertised. It was more of a two star. The rooms very dated. The carpets looked dirty and dated. There was only one key. You had to ask for a remote for the TV. The Jacuzzi was cold.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok and not very expensive.It was near a mall which made it convenient for food or groceries. The sauna and pools were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen did not have no Toaster & when we asked @ Reception they said they did not have any,also no dishcloth or tea towel provided & no tray provided to stand dish drainer on to catch excess water.

    We enjoyed The Happy Hour was excellent ,with drinks half price,very clean & staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't very comfortable and the shower was poor. Except for the new sofa and chair the rest of the bedroom furniture looked dated.

    Good location, free shuttle bus to Funchal. Room cleaned and towels changed every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not accurate information about taxi's price to the airport. No information about the aerobus. The bus service to the center don't run on Sundays.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was ok, but I wish they were a little more helpful. And friendlier. The jacuzzi was out of service. No coffee during breakfast - the thing you can get out of those machines is definitely not coffee. There were ants in our room, lots of them, on the floor, in our bed! The rooms are worn out, need repairing.

    We liked the breakfast, it was plain but everything was tasty. The location is really nice if you have a car - just 15 minutes to the center of Funchal. The ocean is only 10 minutes walk away. There is a grocery store just outside the hotel. The territory is nice and clean, the garden is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the jacuzzi was out of action all week and the toiletries in the room are the very worst of any hotel I have been in ever. Only minor but could and should be rectified by the manager. Also I was disappointed by the trainer who checked me in. It is our 3rd visit to the hotel and he insisted on going through his complete script when I really did not need his over officious manner.

    Good Location, excellent rooms and great breakfast buffet. But for the check in trainee, the front desk staff are great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    free city shuttle not frequent, coffee undrinkable

    very good breakfast (with bad coffee), excellent location: close to busstop, airport shuttle, supermarket, bakeries, restaurants, local bars, sea view walk; small kitchenette, fruit basket, clean, big room, new: wifi in room; nice big garden

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't clean properly during the stay, no safe locker, jacuzzi not working, not much information about the hotel facilities, fridge very noisy.

    Breakfast,staff, close to restaurants, shops

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nowhere to sit out in the evening for a quiet drink around the pool area. Breakfast was ok but almost identical every morning.

    Plenty of space around the pool area. very quiet and relaxing. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Made use of free shuttle bus into town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    our room has no windows - very dark, only dors to the balcony, balcony was 1,2m*1,2m so very tiny, view to the street, so very loud till 3am, AC not functuion, must have open balcony doors, so very noisy there, accesories very old(CRT TV etc...), there(50m) was also entrance to the shopping centre with two steel rain drains, that makes very loud noise with every entering car(1minute) - it was like living side train station

    perfect breakfast, cleand and huge pool, accesible 24/7

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average. No kettle or toaster in kitchen. Fridge broken and froze food. Sofa bed broken. My son put the mattress on floor on the second night to sleep. Was not made up for night and no bed linen. Sheets were paper thin

    Location was good. Shuttle bus into Funchal good. Staff on reception helpful when there was problem. Hotel was dated but was very clean Gardens were lovely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful, poor food choices and nothing was ever restocked. The rooms were so dated, carpet was missing in places, broken bits on walls. Rooms weren't cleaned until late and towels dropped off at around 5pm! Cockroach in room as balcony door always left open by cleaner, which was unsafe and unsanitary. Beds were so uncomfortable, rock hard. I'm pregnant and couldn't sleep at all for 2 weeks. Staff were rude.

    The swimming pool was probably the best part of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A few pieces of crockery in kitchenette.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Free shuttle coach from outside the reception.Location was perfect for supermarket and Forum. Room was spacious and cleaned every day. Breakfast was planty of choice and continually replenished. Quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The steep road approach outside the hotel. This was not the fault of the hotel, but we found walking to and from the hotel difficult and uncomfortable. It would have been nice to have lounge type chairs in the shade of the garden.A week stay was really to short

    Breakfast was plentiful, good choice. room was clean and staff were polite and respectful in attending our table. My wife is registered disabled and the staff were very attentive of her requirements and gave us a special access to the Dining room so she did not have to climb stairs. Monarch Airlines packed up during our stay and the general Manager was excellent in finding out details for from the British embassy. The service was way above the 4 star service which we have experienced in a hotel in Santa Cruz during our stay in Madeira.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room we were allocated needs modernisation, although was comfortable. Believe some rooms have already been upgraded. Hot food choice was limited at breakfast. Entertainment was limited on occasions.

    The pool area and gardens were superb and the indoor pool was a bonus. The bar was comfortable although entertainment was limited but of reasonable quality. Complimentary bus service to central Funchal was a bonus, if required.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds and pillows were rock hard. Shower was really high up and almost impossible to stand under. Entertainment was poor

    Breakfast was great. Room size was super

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee available in the restaurant after dinner Very Poor. No access to rooms from pool other than walking through reception. Decor of rooms tired, carpet very worn and faded. Grouping of floor and wall tiles in bathroom needs replacing

    Overall the food was good but not always hot enough .Covers are needed over the food to keep it warm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smoking areas should be further away from front and back entrances - smell of smoke was disgusting Pool lounges could be replaced

    Great value for money Great location Great breakfast Clean rooms Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was so helpful, it was possible to print a flight ticket at the reception! We had an early flight and staff brought breakfast to the room in last night. Hotel has a shuttle buss for free to Funchala and back. Hotel looks better than in booking.com website photos! The view wonderful, to the ocean (beach free of charge) for 20 minutes on foot! Near the hotel shopping center with a dining area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't go for evening meal. Use resturaunts instead. Takes ages to boil water on rings in rooms.

    Good size swimming pools. Helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We felt that the evening entertainment could have been a little more varied instead of the same two people performing most nights. Personally I felt that just one more different act per week as well as the alternate Dancers (very v good) and folk law nights would have made it more exciting!

    Our room was excellent in every way and refreshed every day perfectly. The breakfast was plentiful, wth a very wide choice and cooked and prepared very well. A good start to each day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I realise know there is a difference in hotel and resort. I did not like that this hotel was hosting loud disrespectful wedding guests. They took over the bar and pool and any other facility they were using at the time. I felt Management could of assisted and asked them to have some consideration. This is a bit too commercial for me. Prefer something more personal. Learnt something about myself for future travel. No resorts. Entertainment is plentiful but not my thing.

    Overall the hotel is beautiful. Pools great. facilities great. Bar.. not so much. Breakfast great and pleantiful. Easy acces to Hotel. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. Lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with balcony (3 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could interact more. Needs electric kettle in room. Hairdryer wasn't fixed properly by maintenance. Umbrella charge. Safe key charge. Having to ask for a remote control.

    The room size. Pools. Courtesy bus. Location .Happy Hour

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff especially HELENA - Witch! On reception looks like an evil Nana Miscouri. Bar staff and security staff amazing! Always helpful and polite. Hotel dated and it is obvious that the directors take the money from hotel guests but do not reinvest anything back into the hotel etc. And customer service is about the staff interacting with the hotel guests not the other way around which is a stupid mentality. Been to Madeira many times but will not stay at this hotel again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not anything that I can say about the hotel that we disliked.

    The views from our hotel room were beautiful and the hotel had a relaxed feel about it. The staff and in particular, Sonia on reception were so helpful and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food is very poor, full English breakfast is not always available, everything swimming in oil or water no fried eggs on several days and only mushrooms or tomatoes on some. The evening meal which cost 42 Euros for two was absolutely disgusting. All the food was cold despite being early in the evening, the potatoes weren't cooked, the rice lumpy and sliced turkey so dry it couldn't be eaten. This hotel really needs to look at the meals it presents to its occupants which really lets it down,

    Excellent location close to major shopping centre and restaurants. Easy access to Funchal by local bus, bus stop close to the hotel. Cleanliness of room outstanding and reception staff brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seriously needs updating. I don't think it's 4 star. The bathroom seemed fairly clean but those carpets need to be replaced with new floors. Noise levels every night from room next door kept us up. Although once reported the reception did send someone to ask them to keep it down. Long waiting times to speak to someone at reception.

    Large room and large balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only disappointment was the"cocktail" bar arrangements.

    The hotel staff were just fine - friendly and helpful. The gardens within the hotel grounds are marvellous. The outdoor pool is spacious and clean, and there is plenty of space around the pool for sun beds, etc. Drinks and snacks are readily available at the pool-side cafe. i have told the hotel management that, in my opinion, the hotel bar could be improved, although the bar staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    see above

    the hotel was nice but the décor was a little tired. The food was sameish every day so a greater variety is needed. The entertainment was poor to say the least and there was no daytime entertainment, even piped music would have been better

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Breakfast was delicious , more to choose from many options, very kindly and helpfull staff, great 3 pools (one for non-swimming), towels free, location with good transport - provided by hotel free bus. Definetely we will come back to the hotel.Anna Tom Ernest Harry:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was that the sofa and armchair in our suite were old and a bit dirty, I didn't feel comfortable sitting on them but there were other dining chairs and chairs on the balcony I sat on instead. (Their towels have seen better days too)

    The situation of the hotel, the pool, the garden view, the knowledgeable staff, the free bus to and from the centre of town. There was plenty of food choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The shuttlebus service stops too early. The last one is at 17.30 from Funchal Town to the hotel, which means you will need to spend time in town during the hotest hours of the day. A couple of more trips until around 8-9pm, when the sun is setting and it's cooler would be fantastic. The furniture was quite worn out and dated, they could do with some refurbishing. The coffee at breakfast was average, which spoiled the otherwise very good breakfast provided. *Not really a negative*, but if you expect the typical sandy or even slightly pebbly beaches - don't. The island is surrounded by volcanic rocks, most beaches have natural swimming pools plus at least 1 man-made pool, also filled with seawater. The only partially sandy beach near the hotel is Praia Formosa. The only proper sandy beach exists on the next island, Porto Santo, about 2h 15min by Ferry from Funchal Town, roundtrip cost EUR50+ . The beach type you encounter adds to the whole experience in my opinion, and adds to the character of the island so it's not a negative. Some of the beaches only charge sunbed/parasol renting (Praia Formosa cost EUR4.60 for a set of 2 sunbeds & 1 parasol. Ponta Gorda also charges entrance, but it offers toilet facilities, showers, changing rooms, it's very organised. We paid EUR16.10 for entrance for 3 adults (children under 12 were free) & a set of 2 sunbeds and 1 parasol). *Not an issue with the hotel*, but almost everywhere, as soon as you walk past a restaurant, someone at the door will try to convince you to go in, which gets quite annoying after a while.

    Fantastic location, in what they call "Hotel District"! Next to Forum Mall, with high street shops, food court, multiple ATMs in the mall. Very good breakfast. Staff knowledgeable about the area, happy to assist. Very fast WiFi. At least 2 buses going directly to Funchal Town stopped in front of the hotel with very frequent service. 3 beaches within walking distance (between 10 - 20 minutes walk) with sunbed & parason rental, cofeeshops and restaurants on the beach. Shops, coffee shops, restaurants (some with folklore or fado), tourist information, kiosks, anything you would need within 3 - 15 minutes walk from the hotel towards Funchal Town. Loads of place everywhere with food rating from good to amazing. Everywhere we ate the food was gorgeous and very reasonably priced. A shuttlebus service exists to take you to/from Funchal Town. We were expecting a standard hotel room with 2 x twin beds, an extra bed and a sofa-bed, all crammed up in a single room. We were pleasantly surprised with a two bedroom mini suite (the second bedrooom is normally a sitting room and also has a kitchenette where you could cook simple meals and a fridge). Glancing into other rooms, it seems that most of the rooms (in the wing we were staying at least) were equally spacious. Good mattresses, fantastic housekeeping! Very decent prices for food & drinks at the hotel. You are provided with fresh towels for the pool every day. Parasols are available at EUR1.50 per day (yes, 1 euro 50 cents). There is a proper swimming pool and also one for children plus an indoors heated pool, jacuzi, steam room, sauna, gym, proper spa facilities. The hotel can book a taxi to/from the airport for EUR25 each way. This is with an official Madeiran taxi, offering a fixed price, not private hire cars. A metered fare is in excess of EUR35. There is an airport service bus stopping outside the hotel, not sure about prices and frequency though as we haven't used it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    friendly well run hotel excellent value,ok to walk down into town but a bus requied to get back but very easy and bus stop close to hotel.good size pool area well maintained

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment with balcony (3 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated. Only one elevator working and very tiny. Pool hours close early.

    I had a beautiful view of the ocean from my nice balcony. The room was extremely spacious. The hotel has 2 very nice pools. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with balcony (3 adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The kitchen is poorly equipped: just a few flatware and dishes, no frying pan. Disgusting smell from the hood fan, we had to report it three times. The bathroom is good, though not ventilated. Yes, you can walk to the ocean in 5-10 min., but be ready for a steep slope that you will have to bear on the way back.

    Big number with big balcony. Very good pools (+jacuzzi +sauna...). Nice garden with bananas. Bus stops and big shopping mall across the street. The ocean is whithin walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process - not told about having to pay for safe, not told about collecting tv remote from reception. Towels - only delivered to room after 5pm. What do you do if you want to shower before then?!?! Hairdryer - useless. Beds very hard and uncomfortable. Bar - evenings had no atmosphere - music on and off, staff barely smiled. Not welcoming at all.

    It was clean. Buffet breakfast ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    One of two elevators didn't work for the whole stay (more than a week). Both outdoor and indoor pool and spa is open only from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., which makes it useless if you want to cool yourself down at the evening after a trip. Hotel dinner buffet was not a good value for money -- we used to have better meals all other days, usually cheaper. We've found two peanuts left by previous guests in the corner of our room. We did

    There is one outdoor and one indoor pool, also yacuzzi. There were very willing stuff, that helps us rent a car, print a boat ticket, find a public transport timetable... It is nice that the hotel provides a shuttlebus to the center (~3 times a day there and back); however, be aware that waiting for a long time before the departure doesn't mean you can get on the first bus as people there are quite ruthless and have no problem to come as the last one and get on as the first one. This is, of course, nothing against the hotel itself. The room had a balcony and a nice bathroom with a bath tube. Breakfast was good (though not very different from one day to another) and there is a lot of food. The city beach (with an entrance fee) was a few minutes from the hotel. Shopping center and lots of restaurants very close to hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a bit of fungi in the bathroom - not acceptable for a 4* hotel or for any hotel for that matter.

    A bit older hotel but quite comfortable and clean rooms with a smaller kitchen and a proper working fridge/freezer. Polite and smiling stuff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No very good working air- conditioning. Parking at the streets is not very easy, I recommend to reserve a parking lot at the nearby garage.

    It was nice to have a swimming pool after demanding trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with balcony (3 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room is large but the furniture is old and not very comfortable. I slept very poorly all the time. Breakfast is reasonable. I was disappointed to be asked for extra value for a 2 hours late-check out. I will not recommend this Hotel to my friends.

    I was very pleased with the friendliness of the staff. The pool and garden facilities are very well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Everything about this hotel we loved we are going there again in Nov 2017 so disappointed we cannot the find a room for next may 2018 this now is the only hotel we stay in

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Worn-off couch, although there is a small kitchen in the suite, the set of dishes is somewhat poor.

    A lot of space, helpful receptionists, pretty good choice of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Suite Hotel Jardins Da Ajuda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: