Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Suites Alba Resort & Spa 5 stars

Praia de Albandeira, Cx. Postal 377 X, 8400-403 Carvoeiro, Portugal

#2 of 17 hotels in Carvoeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice resort, near beautiful and quiet beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight but the hotel could not provide a breakfast bag for us, although we already paid for the breakfast. For a 5 star hotel, breakfast box should be provided on request.

    Location is ideal for a break, near quiet beaches with nice walk along the cliff Swimming pool is nice Resort is not big so good for erlaxing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Totally spoilt in one of the most beautiful parts of the Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved just about everything apart from the 'chicken run' driving down to the resort (room for only one car with low walls on either side - once you're in there's no going back). But we kind of knew it would be like that.

    This is a beautiful resort in a stunning, peaceful part of the Algarve. It is a wee bit remote, but we felt that was a price worth paying for the location. Staff were wonderfully welcoming and helpful, the villas were very comfortable, the pool area and the restaurant were excellent. A car is probably essential to make the most of what is available, especially if you do not want to pay for top-class dining in the resort restaurant every night. We had a thoroughly restful time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall we really enjoyed and would recommend and certainly would return to stay in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long winding narrow road to the hotel can be hazardous. We were disappointed at the amount of noise that travelled up from the weddings in the evening - music could be loud - there were 4 weddings during the course of our stay.

    Beautiful location. Very well managed accommodation - high attention to detail. Delicious breakfast every morning with wide choices. Well placed for visiting a variety of towns and villages. Beautiful pool area which was spacious and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Not exactly 5 start but still very very good:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Negative moments: a) The biggest disadvantage of the hotel is restaurant/catering in general. For dinner we had very short selection of food (maybe they change it every two weeks, who knows) so we took dinner twice and then we opted for room service where surprisingly selection is wider and also more interesting. So we ordered food in the room from different menu. Also the food in restaurant is average and very expensive. Prices are OK for 5 star hotel but not OK for it's quality. Also the wine list - they had big discounts on wines but we understood that the issue is with wine storage - the corks of bottles are completely dry... The wine was not ruined by that but it was very close, and we had pieces of cork in decanter anyway. b) Breakfast is not at all at the level of 5 star hotel - short selection, average quality of fruits, bad coffee. c) Towels in rooms and SPA are worn-off and should be changed with fresh and better quality. So to sum up: only thing we did not like was restaurant and breakfast. We have been travelling around the world a lot to compare with other places and this thing they must improve for sure. Otherwise it was a great experience and we will come back someday because of beaches and villas - we will just eat outside of the hotel:)

    Positive moments: a) Extremely nice rooms. We had half of the villa with 2 bedrooms. They are amazing and I have to say - the rooms are the biggest asset of this hotel and they are really really great!!! b) Nice and welcoming staff. c) Very good location - remote, no noise around = just perfect for holidays. Also few nice and not crowded beaches can be reached on coastline in just 5-10 minutes. d) Clean and nice pools. e) Library.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast, pools and beach were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff in restaurant and bar were very happy to have long conversations themselves while you were waiting. And then service was slow. Very slow.

    Breakfast, pools and beach were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Short relaxing stay ruined by check in experience. Spa facilities and staff very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was due to check in at 3 pm and arrived early to have lunch in the restaurant. At 3pm I went to check in and found that my suite was still being cleaned. There were several other families waiting too. Although I am disabled and have a doctor’s letter saying I should wait no more than 20 minutes, I was still waiting at 4pm and had to insist that I had access to the suite in order to lie down and rest. The maids finally left after 4.30 pm - totally unacceptable in a hotel of this standard. I will not be staying here again

    Spa facilities and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front of house staff were at first welcoming but then having messaged them prior to let them know time of our arrival and they responded with prioritising the room to be available it still wasn't ready by 3pm and I had to ask 3 times to find out when the room was ready as we were only there for one night. Following this their attitude changed and to be honest it wasn't very professional and that is a big let down considering it's a 5* resort. The room should be ready by 3pm and the staff could have been more apologetic. They didn't seem to be bothered. Wanted to cycle but the roads and cliffs are slightly dangerous to do this on.

    The staff at the restaurant were friendly, smiley and professional. Attentive as well. Pool clean and amazing view Rooms spacious and clean Beach close by beautiful and scenic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    A piece of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location near beach, stunning scenery, villas and grounds were immaculate. The breakfast buffet had all you needed. Quiet and peaceful. Reception staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing picturesque place, great cuisine, nice spa, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the place is the narrowest in the world not really comfortable to get there in a rented car.

    Amazing picturesque place, great cuisine, nice spa, spacious clean villas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfect accomodation to enjoy the Algarve in style and peacefulness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our way to Alentejo we decide to have a stop of two days in Algarve and we made the choise for Suite Alba Resort to see Marinha beach and Benagil , walking by the coast and Looking for a place that is not so crowded. We really enjoyed the place and the villa was really styled but cosy and comfortable. The resort beach is nice to see but the ocean was too cold in june and the waves to strong for swimmimg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful place with an amazing restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    5 euros for a 1.5 litres plastic bottle of still water at the bar is too expensive.

    First of all the Restaurant: it is amazing. The chef is fantastic, and all the staff did a wonderful job. They provide dinners characterised by elaborate preparations and presentations of aesthetically balanced meals of several contrasting flavours. We needed a gluten free menu, and the chef simply customized the courses modifying them and sometimes reinventing them with an amazing result. The Resort is like a flower in a natural park: a wonderful location. The apartments were large and comfortable. The Resort was clean throughout and the staff very friendly and helpful. We never heard a sound from neighbouring rooms. The place is quiet, on the sea and close to some of the most famous cave and beaches of the world. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The SPA is nice and the treatments deserve a try. We will definitely book again in the future!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    3.3
    stay somewhere else. avoid this dirty place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything. there are better properties to stay in the algarve

    terrible service. it feels like youre bothering the staff. the room was disgusting and dirty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Every need taking care of in stunning location with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a bit hard. Access to the hotel via a single track road. Some maintanance issues in the villa, door of the second bedroom could not close and small fire damage on the floor nearby the fireplace. Not a good hotel for Homer Simpson, because there are no donuts for breakfast🙁

    Villa is spacious, quiet and luxurious. Food in restaurant is exquisit, good wine list. Breathtaking views of the coast and cliffs. Nice walking trails to various beaches and view points. Staff at reception very helpfull. Surrounding gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Free access to good spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Nice territory, picturesque ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant could have been better, reminds *3-4 stars of Turkey :( I guess

    Very picturesque territory, cosy and comfortable apartments. Pleasant and peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, we'll come back very soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very warm welcome at the hotel. We were taken for a drive with explanations around the property with an electric car before getting to our very nice suite villa. The place is very pleasant and clean, as well as extremely well located for people who want to drive around Algarve. We were only two adults, but the place is certainly extremely pleasant for families with children as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful and relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, peaceful and away from things. Size of the apartment was excellent for a family with 2 kids. Plenty of space. We liked the indoor pool in the spa and the playground too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe is faulty. Doesn't work, that annoyed me. The cleaning ladies came in at around 5pm and I'm like come in but they probably didn't understand what I was saying so they left lol. Was weird. Stupid too.. 5pm though. What a weird time. Oh and quick suggestion, staff please smile a bit more. You guys need to look a bit more welcoming at check in.

    The fact that the hotel was just 200m or so by the beach was glorious. We loved it. Woke up and watched the sunrise..walked all the way to Bengal caves from here. Was intense and amazing. 55min walk but simply the most gorgeous. I forgot my passport but the lady at the reception kept it safe for me

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Winter break in the Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was minimally equiped. Very small pools for 5☆ establishment and only the tiny Spa indoor one heated.. Main pool drained.

    Proximity to breathtaking coastal walks and beaches. Lovely gardens and spacious apartment.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing beautiful resort, friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service wasn’t that great. They didn’t make the beds properly or clean the place properly when we were out which was disappointing.

    I loved how helpful the staff were, very friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Extraordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I stayed 4 night only. So beautiful wanted to stay way longer,

    Excellent location. Helpful staff. Lovely premises. Relaxing spa. Amazing few just a few steps down the garden.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Winter is not the best time to benefit from beautiful swimming pools and poolside ocean views.

    Restaurant service and wine lust were excellent. Accommodation was cosy and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    beautiful property with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are basically little townhouses! I was a solo traveller and had a living room, dining room/kitchen/balcony, two bedrooms and nice big bathroom! The facility is steps away from the best views! The staff is very hospitality oriented and friendly. I had breakfast, lunch and dinner here and the food is excellent with many vegetarian options!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent property with nice vistas of the Atlantic Ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more coffee and tea bags in the rooms would make it a more convenient.

    The property is very well laid out and you can walk to the limestone caves nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    What pure delight to be here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What pure delight to be here! We were one going to stay one night and extended to 3. The view, accommodation, food and feeling is of the highest quality!!! Thank you Alba Suites!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    I could not recommened this resort any more everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not recommened this resort any more everything was simply amazing. The only downside we we arrived 45 minutes before breakfast was due to finish and unfortunetly only got fruit and yoghurt as the hot breakfast was already gone and not being stocked up. stunning resort and excellent service from staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Luxury accommodation near to stunning coastal scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little isolated, and access is via a single track road.

    Spaciousness of accommodation, beautiful landscaped grounds, onsite facilities, walking distance to beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach nearby is nice for adults but gets deep very quickly and waves are quite heavy so not for weak swimmers or children.

    Staff and accommodation was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Room service at no extra cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu never changed. Lack of English tv stations compared to number of German, French or Italian. Pillows were too lumpy.

    Room service at no extra cost

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    The private beach near the resort is beautiful, we had been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were only gotten cleaned late in the afternoon, and we ran out of towels for 2 days. The dinner in the resautant is very expensive and awful, so we only had dinner in the resort for one night.

    The private beach near the resort is beautiful, we had been there a few times when we were there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa with Partial Sea View (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Service whilst eating was slow as they seemed to be under staffed. There was only a very small bar so nowhere to relax before or after a meal.

    The Villa was very good as was the daily cleaning. The location was very good for what we wanted a relaxing holiday. The standard of the food availble in the restaurant in the evening was first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place, close to a quiet beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some restaurant staff had no ability to multitask or operate efficiently. When getting coffee in the morning, sometimes it came right away; one time it took 20 minutes. When ordering beers from the bar during the day, the process was slow; trying to pay was a whole other task. Everyone was friendly. Some staff were good or perfectly fine. The inconsistency in restaurant service was really the only negative about the place.

    Stayed in the two bedroom suite with sea views. Beautiful scenery and very nice garden. Two nice outdoor pools to choose from. The rooms and property are kept very clean. The beach, which is small but never too crowded, is a two minute walk from the property. Overall, a great experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent! Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No emergency shops, none that i could locate any way, within walking distance as I didn't have a car. Needed to purchase new flip flops as mine broke on my 1st day :-(

    Loved the gourmet restaurant - that was the unexpected surprise of the trip. Originally booked as they had a wine cellar, spa and the location. The reception staff were excellent and went above an beyond to help me when I had an issue with my pre booked transfer. Would highly recommend to all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable rooms, ideal for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service was not 5*****, felt like solid 4****. At peak hours, difficult to get a table for breakfast and very limited egg or other options. Other examples include running out of icecreams for a few days, selling coke from 2ltr supermarket bottles, unbranded water.

    Very comfortable rooms, ideal for families. Excellent location over the beach. Great kids club (Marta was a success with our kids!).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Still ok, although overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced, might have been a 5 Star resort in the past, but not anymore. We have seen better places at much lower prices during our trip through Portugal. The only unbeatable argument is the location, which is very unique indeed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Left with great memories.
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were at my daughter wedding it was a very nice day all good food excellent. Staff very polite and helpful and drinks reasonably priced.Pool area good for adults and children would recommend but need a car if you want to go out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Great spot, convenient for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is two notches down from a 5***** resort. Understaffed. Restaurant becomes overcrowded at breakfast time.

    Excellent location over the cliffs, near the beach. Suites with two bedrooms are ideal for large families, despite having only one bath. Infinity pool is gorgeous, but small. Very good kids club!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    A secret paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa with Partial Sea View (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is very hard to find the property and navigate the general area. If you have a Garmin GPS, don't trust it, use your phone gps from booking.com's link to location. It's the only way we found it.

    The spa was lovely. The morning breakfast was amazing! The beach was like a private beach! The property is like a paradise!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous location and hotel but road is dangerous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa with Partial Sea View (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic security issue: Last part of the trip is on a beautiful but dangerous little road leading to the hotel - 2-way traffic on such a tiny road is pretty scary, as some people drive way too fast and you only see them pop up in front of you at the very last fraction of a second

    Everything was great apart from this

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful and beautiful, feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Mattress. Both, me and my husband we haven't slept well any night, the bed was just too hard. I also asked the staff if they could bring me a normal pillow, but they only have the thick foam ones. We ended up having 8 pillows on our bed, but none of them was anyway comfortable. - First evening we were too tired to eat anywhere out, so we got the hotel buffet and it was quite mediocre, apart from the bill that came up to 90eu with just a bottle of water and two glasses of wine. After that we only ate out, but if I had to stay in the hotel and had no car, it'd be very hard to look forward to those meals every evening. - Looks like the cleaning service workers are very distracted. Every day there was something funny happening, like apparently the cleaner really liked when the toiletry stuff is by the sink, so every time she would take soaps and shower gels out of shower or bidet and put them back to the sink. You and up having to wet all the bathroom getting out of shower to bring it back :) - The not funny thing happened when one day the cleaner left the door to our room opened after the cleaning. When we got back in the evening were very surprised to see that. Fortunately, the place feels quite secure, so all our things were at their place, that's not enough for an excuse though.

    Our room/apartment was very spacious and the sea view in the living room window gorgeous. The place in itself is very calm and very well kept. 2 min away by foot you get to a tiny beautiful sea lagoon, surrounded by cliffs. One of the evening we managed to have a picnic there, just two of us. The hotel staff even found immediately a basket where we could put our wine and food. We went there by car, so it was perfect for us to drive somewhere nice to have dinner, since there are quite a lot of places to go within a 20min drive. Also one of the most beautiful places in area, the beach La Marinha is very close, the sea is very enjoyable, although the hotel beach is totally perfect also. At the checkout we got a 10% off our 1 buffet dinner and 2 nights for the price of 1 for next visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Secluded retreat in the middle of the busy Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa with Sea View (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of an ironing board and iron in the suite was bothersome as it forced us to pay quite high prices to have the laundry service press our clothes. While we would probably have used to the service to some extent anyway, it would have been nice to be able to do some quick pressing on hand wash only items. The furniture in the suite was comfortable but lacked much style in that it looked like something out of an american living room.

    Suite was spacious and comfortable, except for the beds which were quite hard. While slightly hard to find only because of its beautiful isolated clifftop location, the location is spectacular and gets better as you get to know the area and find you are within an easy half hour drive of many great dining options, activities and shopping. Just staying on the property is also a definite option as the facilities and onsite dining are very nice. The morning breakfast is a great spread served with a great view. Overall a wonderful stay in an enchanting area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Lovely location mixed staff no iron
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing facilities at all. If you wanted to get anything ironed had to send to laundry and pay for same! Only wanted to sort out top after being packed. Told it was fire safety. Have stayed in many 5 star locations including 1 only a few miles away and this was not an issue. Bizarre

    Location by the beach stunning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location from which to walk and explore the cliffs and beaches of the Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was away from towns/cities but very close to the ocean which provided for great walks with outstanding oceanviews and access to beaches. Even though location was away from towns/cities they were only a few minutes away by car and there were numerous restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    A beautiful weekend at the Atlantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the hotel could have done a better job as far as the direction from the main road. GPS was not very helpful. Other than that there is nothing to complain about.

    The rooms were very clean and quite large. The Spa and the infinity pool were amazing. The landscaping was spotless. The proximity to the beach is ideal. The staff was very friendly and very helpful in finding a perfect restaurant for a nice dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    few days of bliss and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    just few minor things: a little complimentary bottle of water on arrival would have been nice. it would be nice if the spa closed a little later

    We loved how it never felt crowded despite the place being full. I didn't realize when i was booking the room that we would get the whole apartment - it was amazing, beautiful, well decorated, spacious, everything you could wish for. The aera around offers breathtaking views and a lot of attractions. We loved to come back after a busy day to the silence and calmness of this place and to use the relaxing spa facilities. Highly recommended if you're looking to relax and unwind

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Loved staying at the Suites Alba resort & spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of anything :-)

    Really big rooms with all the facilities of an appartment but the comforts of a hotel. The location is perfect for everyone who seeks a quiet and calm getaway. A rental car is highly recommanded to explore the nearby villages and have a great lunch or dinner in one of the many great restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    very secluded resort with everything we needed right there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very secluded resort with everything we needed right there. The breakfast was perfect and had everything we could imagine. The staff was very accomodating

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Hi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My wife and i were there in march and the weather was nice but the apartment was very cold inside...like we have to ask for another blanket so we could sleep...That was my only complaint....the rest all good....maybe i can say too that the restaurant a bit too expensive for what they offer!

    Hi! The resort it is very nice, next to the cliff and away from the crowd., good place to have it as a base to move to other locations like Falesia beach or Lagos.Next to the hotel a nice beach and the surround is stunning!, Marinha beach is only 1 km and you can walk all the way to there following the cliff!.Breakfast is very good! very clean too the resort!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Recommendation to Everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and quality of accommodation. A truly great venue.

    Wonderful location on the cliff edge over looking the Atlantic with access to a small private beach cove. Excellent quality accommodation. Great food and very friendly, helpful staff. Spa was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect luxury hide-away at an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The access road is small and tricky when having opposing traffic

    Alba Resort has nice spacious villas and is located perfectly right in the middle of one of the most beautiful stretches of "Falésias" coast in the Algarve. The restaurant is excellent and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    6.5
    Overpaid - a place like this as to focus on details.. which does not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, overpaid. But the major problem was the exterior air conditioning equipment that is fixed in the interior part of the balcony! So, let us imagine a sunny winter day in Portugal, with a "sea view" from the suite - 20 degrees. And you would like to have a winter sunbath in the balcony as a relaxing tipping point. So, forget about that.. the flow of air running out from the AirCond equipment just keeps everything freezing, impossible to stay outside.

    The localization is indeed a gem

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Ecxeeded our expectations! Great value for money, in winter period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hammam wasn't warm enough and it hardly produced any steam.

    The restaurant was fabulous! Not only the quality of the food itself and how it was prepared, but also the table hosts. Outstanding!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    Amazing property spa not so great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa wasn't great, the indoor pool was small and had the waterfalls running non-stop so it was really noisy (not relaxing) and the hot tub was cold! Then the sauna and steam room are around a corner so it felt a little awkward to get to them and they were just OK. Also the spa and pool close at 7pm!!! Way too early.

    The location was amazing the room was warm and cozy when we arrived. The outdoor pool looked amazing but we were there in the winter so didn't use.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was made out of 2 separate beds. I understand that it gives more flexibility to the property but makes it uncomfortable for a couple.

    Everything. Location, suites, staff, food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    The killer location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Balcony - New Year Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit isolated if you want to eat out. Certainly very expensive restaurant if you eat in. The spa facilities may get clogged by eager customers.

    The killer location. This is one of the most beautiful places in South Portugal. Big comfy rooms. Great bathrooms with ceiling windows. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The prices of the restaurant could be a little bit lower. Local wines that cost Euros 8 at the Supermarket are sold at Euros 23. Kids menu could be a bit cheaper. But the food is great.

    It is a very calm area, close to wonderful views of the ocean and also do several attractions to visit. Rooms are nice and staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing stay - hotel did not live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Balcony - New Year Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a refresh, indoor pool closed, no coffee provided for in-room use after first day without charge, no irons available, room charge too high compared to other comparible hotels in the area

    Restaurant staff - Victor, Nelson and Felipe, were brilliant!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    nice breakfast and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cookware was a little bit old and there was no oven. In winter, the outdoor swimming pool was too cold to use it. The location is far from the centre(15min by car), so it was quite burdensome to go out.

    nice breakfast and view. The staff was very nice and kind. The bed was very comfortable and the property was spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.8
    Off the beaten track
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Overall the service level was inconsistent. On one day we had to request the cleaners return to clean the floor. The balcony and stairs were never cleaned during our 6 night stay. The internet was down for 24hrs but we were not informed - though it affected the TV. It was up to individual suites to discover and contact reception. Breakfast service could be poor - had to wait 25 mins for the breakfast buffet (bacon) to be replenished one day and individual orders were always very slow to arrive. Still given a high score as we had a good time. More attention to detail and this could be a 5 star resort.

    Location and seclusion near the coast. Lovely spacious suite. Warning - this can be a very difficult place to find (esp at night) sat- nav coordinates are essential.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.1
    Short Spa break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot water supplied to make tea in the mornings was little more than luke warm. The requirement to wear swim caps in pool and jalousie seemed excessive.

    Solitude. Spacious suite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    First time in Algarve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Getting there by car is a bit tricky, with very narrow winding road. Seeing the resort at the end of that road is definitely a relief.

    Everything - spacious suite, picture perfect coast, excellent food, attentive service. It's a great place to relax for few days and and a good base for exploring Algarve. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    6.3
    location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa with Partial Sea View (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Inner swimming pool is poorly managed (once a week they boost the chemicals in the pool to the point that in following days when you enter the room your eyes hurts even before entering the water) - Day 2 a teddy bear disapeard from the appartment... it was on a bed when we left, it was not here any more when we came back. Was not possible to find it again - Parent's room was strongly smelling moisture (ie not humidty from the sea, but really moisture)

    location is great. restaurant is ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.8
    diner was very nice and very good quality .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bar and the breakfast/restaurant area. not very warm in the suites .

    diner was very nice and very good quality . The suites are beautiful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.3
    Rooms are run down, We had a room that you could not lock...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are run down, We had a room that you could not lock from the inside, A sink that did not work. Fridge door did not close. These are small things but for a 5 star hotel are no acceptable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent stay and highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Villa (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lunch and dinner menu were quite restrictive.

    I enjoyed our stay as the staff were very helpful, villas were of high standard, and the breakfast really made the day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Chill out and relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback is that this place is hard to find, and not sure why an iron and ironing board are not included?

    Very relaxing and comfortable. The suites were big and had all we needed. The staff were extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. This is a great place if you just want to relax by the pool, unwind and chill out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Amazing Wedding Venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food options in the restaurant was all a la carte in the evening - would have liked snack options

    The staff where amazing, I had my wedding here and I couldn't fault them

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely superb place to stay, amazing location and really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very noisy bathroom door!

    Absolutely superb place to stay, amazing location and really nice staff. Great breakfast choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sad to leave

    Everything - spacious suite, fully equipped kitchen, picturesque beach nearby, breakfast, helpful staff, great spa experience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ... maybe could do with a little shop on complex ?

    Everything about the stay was perfect , pools and spa were perfect and breakfast was superb

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful beach!
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful beach! Food is excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better.

    The hotel was perfect. Loved the pool and the view to the ocean. The staff was helpful. I would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Amazing walks along the short
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offered a discount on spa services but then had no one available to provide any while we were there

    Amazing walks along the short

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing venue, very large villas, great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation, helpful staff, wonderfull food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic accommodation, helpful staff, wonderfull food... absolutely amazing holiday!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    We had an amazing stay at Suites alba, everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing stay at Suites alba, everything was amazing from the food to the staff! Our room was lovely, we can’t wait to come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Suites Alba Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: