Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sweet Residence & Gardens - Hotel Sottomayor 3 stars

Rua Dos Lusiadas, S/N, 3080-098 Figueira da Foz, Portugal

Review score

Based on 700 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room overlooked the car park, not the pool. There was evening entertainment which seemed to be directly under our room & was very loud. As a more mature couple we don't go to bed late so this was a little annoying.

    The choice for breakfast was fantastic. The pool & surrounding area was lovely. The bed was a super king-size and was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed over New Years and rates were very high, triple normal price. Services were less than normal, for instance breakfast started at 10 AM. Understandable at New Year’s Day, but not what I wanted. Staff did offer to arrange something special for me.

    Big rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We thought we had cooking facilities in our room, but we didn't have any thing - not even a coffee maker in the room. That was a bit disappointing for us as a family with children.

    The breakfast was good value for money. It would be better if they changed it up a bit more each day, but overall it was very good. Everyone found something they liked!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing is old and the water coming out of the sinks, toilets and shower was yellow. We had to allow the water to run for at least one hour before it normalized. We were placed in room 20 & 21 at the other end of the hotel. Wifi never worked for us. Room 21 had a musty smell and is very dated.

    The spacious rooms, friendly staff, pool with bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no shops and restaurants nearby. The hotel needs renovation.

    The hotel is in a quiet and peaceful location.The room was large and well furnished with a view of the pool.Good value for money. There is a large free parking .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived it was "late lunch time", but the bar couldn't serve us any food, which was disappointing as it was mentioned on the website. Besides, the room service menu is quite limited and overpriced (our baby fell asleep early so we couldn't go out).

    The room was great and the staff is very friendly and helpful, they even set up a cot for our baby (which we didn't ask for, but it was very welcome!). The swimming pool was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated bathroom.

    We stayed in the suit, which waa very spacious and even had a small extra room. The view towards the swimming pool was great. The bed was good, but the bathroom is a little outdated. The swimming pool is amazing and there are lots of sunbeds, both in the sun and the shade. The breakfast buffet is cheap, but nothing special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly. The hotel is nice and the pool is comfortable. They let us stay at the pool after we checked out, which was lovely. It is close to the beach (5 min walk).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet access was having some issues since the magic portal was not redirecting the devices connected to the login page. Even though the staff was kind on trying to provide us with internet access but the solution was temporary since we had the same problem after returning to the hotel.

    The bed was just superbly comfy and the breakfast was awesome as well. The swimming was also amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi Fi was unacceptable, just was able to connect to phone, not laptop.

    I didn't have breakfast but the room was big and I liked the mini bar area to put my snacks and perishables.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smells funny, like sewer. Over night, the pool bar is a "posh" restaurant which we wanted to tried but after 10 minutes waiting on the table, the waitress never brought us the menu so we left. They only had 2 tables that night so the restaurant wasn't busy. Really bad service.

    Location is good, about 5 min from the main street. The size of the room is good and the pool bar is actually really good and cheap. Parking facilities good but busy sometimes. Nice swimming pool with sun beds available all the time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is close to the beach (a 5-minute walk) but the city centre is much further (a 15-minute walk). Furthermore, you need to get to the pool early if you want a sunbed.

    We loved the swimming pool. The room was spacious and clean. There is a private parking lot (but it can be crowded). The breakfast is really comprehensive (including scrambled eggs and bacon) for only 6 euros p.p.p.d. It is close to the beach (5-minute walk). They have some additional facilities such as a pool table and table tennis. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, we felt the springs of the mattress in your back after a night sleep. It took ages before the water in the shower was lukewarm, not even hot.

    The room was spacious and had a nice view over the pool. The staff was friendly and willing to help. Lot of variety in the breakfast buffet, fresh bread, different meats and cheeses.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mostly ok

    may not be my type of hotel and it was raining all day so no pool mostly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low Balcony fence is not safe for small children without supervision

    Spacious room with kitchenette

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice oil area and bar near the 🏊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection was not 100% reliable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in restaurant

    Pool area and room were lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much to do in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Easy walk to the beach and good restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, except iron service. You can't iron yourself, you have to pay for the service.

    Location and price/quality ratio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing special

    nice location just behind a castle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work, at least in the room.

    Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 12 years old)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room corridors look like a hospital ward.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, close to beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar ran out of beers

    Lots to do.table tennis volleyball. Etc

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff during the breakfast were rude and careless.

    Everything expect the breakfast staff. The cleanliness, the quality of the "brunch" and the comfort were great!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Could have more options for dinner as tradicional as Figueira da Foz/Portugal food rather than Indian food.

    Staff and structure facilities for families.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was not very well designed, and the bathroom got easily flooded with water going into the bedroom. We complained and asked to have it cleaned, when back everything was perfectly dry and clean again, and staff was friendly.

    We only stayed one night without breakfast. It was a nice stay and staff was friendly.The bedroom was big and the bed was very confortable. Our room had view to the garden and pool as I asked to have if possible. Nice welcome gift with fruit and chocolate cake. We were told we could use the pool the whole day after check-out. We asked for late check-out and they happily let us stay until 2pm. Very good impression.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff wasn't super nice. Breakfast not included. Really weak WiFi. The pool was really cold.

    The location is not bad, you just have to walk a bit to the beach. It has a pool.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bed was hard and not comfortable at all. The hardness of the matress was not even.

    Good location and parking. infrastructure ok but for groups.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Group

    The bed was very big and comfy. The breakfast was a very nice spread. Very well accommodated for our group of friends.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing except the restaurant was unavailable

    The space of the apartment, thelocation and the strange palace next door.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool and service from staff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    The location was very good, 5 min walk to the beach. Comfy beds and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was just a very pleasant, straightforward hotel

    It was great value and very pleasant, with lovely quiet air conditioning and a nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee in the room.

    In general we really liked of everything. We liked the cleanliness, swimming pool, location, food, wonderful city to relax.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The air conditioning did not work

    Staff were friendly and very helpful

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: