Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa do Rio / Tavira Inn - Adults Only

Rua Chefe António Afonso, 39, 8800-251 Tavira, Portugal

#13 of 33 B&Bs and Inns in Tavira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train was really really loud! No where on the initial booking site did I read about a train on the.bridge right next to the accommodation. There was no facilities for making coffee/tea! There was no where to sit in the room- other than on the bed! The chairs on the balcony were heavy and not appropriate to be moved inside onto the tiled floor. Had to move the fridge as the power cord didn’t reach the power socket. A request for wine glasses was denied. The only glasses were the bathroom tumblrs. There were so many rules! Don’t touch the glass windows. Don’t drop anything onto the floor (due to noise) Only use the hot water....

    This place was in a fantastic location - so close to the bus station and the center of the town. It had a nice balcony overlooking the river (although the view was obstructed by shade cloth) The pool looked great - we didn’t use it only because the weather was coolish. The owner was exuberant and enthusiastic- was developing a restaurant next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very conveniently located by the river and is a short walk to the town, restaurants, ferry to Tavira Island. Sebastian was a wonderful host and takes great pride in his property. The pool very very clean as were the rooms. The artwork displayed around the hotel is an added bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels weren’t changed after first 4 nights as promised. Shower had hot water but wash basin did not.

    Warm welcome from owner. Unusual, attractive house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been an added touch to have a kettle and wine glasses in the room

    Position was awesome. Welcome was great, had terrific information about the town and area. Property was unique with personal styling by the owner, shame we couldn’t stay longer!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues from us - Sebastio was available to help if we needed it and things like extra cushions / pillows or extra toiletries were available for guests. People looking to book should understand there’s no breakfast and there is a 5 min walk into town. Neither of which were a problem for though!!

    A comfortable bed with blackout curtains on the balcony door, good sized bathroom and nice terrace to sit in watching the world. Slept beautifully with no interruptions (room is well soundproofed since there is a train line nearby - but trains only pass about once an hour, not that we could hear!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very nice house located by the river. Close to everything; town center, stores, restaurants, fast and easy to get out on the main road. My room was styled in a vintage/shabby chic style, fantastic. The whole building follows the vintage style and decorations with roman potts, old iron relics on the wall, the genuin colors of duck green on furniture and decorations, it was amazing. I loved it all. The pool area is secluded and calm with birds singing and you are surrounded with ivy on huge walls. A very nice place to sit and enjoy after a busy day. On top of it all, the owner is a friendly and very nice man to deal with, I enjoyed his company whenever we ran into each other. I will return to the Tavira Inn in a not so long future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I would have liked better was a kettle in the room to make a coffee in the morning. However there was a very pleasant restaurant/cafe right beside the Inn and the coffee and food there was great.

    Very attractive and unique property. Very clean and well maintained. The beds were super comfortable and the pool and garden area were stunning. The owner Sebastiene was very friendly and pleasant. His artwork thoughout the property is charming and well done. The property is conveniently located by the river and a 3 minute walk to the centre of the safe and pretty town. Tavira is clean, lovely and authentic and the beach and small towns around were great to take day trips to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super close to town. There is going to be a restaurant there soon. The rooftop pool was super cool and Sebastiao was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and things to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point which is probably very subjective - for us it was a shame the terrace was nearly completely covered with a sun shade - we’d have liked the option of being in full sun and having an unobstructed ire of the river. But understand that without it, it probably heats up the room unbearably in peak summer and is less private

    Nice view of the river. Short stroll in to town. Quiet and peaceful. Pretty pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard. Room was a bit dark (not much Sunlight) it is without breakfast, would be good if the accomodation provided some plates and cuttlery so that you can make your own.

    Nice swimmingpool and relax area with sunbeds :) small typical Portugese accomodation with only a few guests. Fridge in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No net on door & windows to keep mosqitos out. I was awake and bitten the first night and had to buy spray next day...

    Very friendly owner Sebastiao. Nice swimmingpool. Very clean everywhere and a comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Art filled and well appointed with lots of attention to detail. Nice deck overlooking the river. Easy short walk into the center of Tavira. Very helpful and friendly owner who totally understands customer service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a duvet rather than blankets but just a personal preferwnce

    The location waa v good. Pool area v relaxing. Very good cafe next door for breakfast. Host v attentive and gave us recommendations for restaurants. Fab artwork.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is amazing. Beautiful colors, art, flowers, very original. Right in the centre of town. The owner Sebastiao was very friendly. He gave us some very good advice where to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the means to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room would have been a great addition

    Friendly enthusiastic owner. Interesting artistic decor. Lovely pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect

    Very interesting architecture, lovely artwork in the rooms, owner on hand to ensure his guests had an interesting stay, minutes to old town centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving this lovely place.

    Tavira Inn is just beautiful. It sits right on the river just 5 minutes from the darling seaside town where a lovely variety of restaurants abound. The inn was likely the cleanest and fresh smelling places we have stayed during our Portugal trip. The proprietor, Sebastian helps in any way he can, answering questions and engaging in fun conversations, We were not bothered at all by the trains. Frankly could barely notice when in our room! And they are only the shorter commuter trains! Gone by in 3 seconds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located under and adjacent to a rail bridge lucky trains were infrequent so not really a problem. The room was clean with a comfy bed,it had limited facilities no kettle or tea/coffee. The shower was very small and the shower curtain was inadequate making it impossible to keep floor dry which is difficult when the towels are only replaced every 3 days.

    Sabastaio's place was a short walk into town ,the room was comfortable with a nice balcony. The decor was bright, edgy and interesting . Sabastaio was friendly some basic written tourist information would have been useful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I missed was a breakfast - but as the town center is just a few minutes away it's not a real problem

    It's such a creative and inspiring place and wonderful to relax at the pool (if you don't mind the train 1x/hour) I've received an upgrade for the room so I had a nice little balcony for my own. The owner is very helpful, quite direct but a really nice guy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sebastian was a wonderful host and his lodging is a beautiful, personal collection of art and furniture. We enjoyed our stay in close proximity to a very delightful town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit tired but everything worked ok.

    Amazing quirky hotel. Sebastian the owner, was amazing. So helpful & with a great pride in his hotel. The art work & ambience of the place was excellent The room was spotless & the sheets on the bed the best we’ve ever had!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    A little oasis 5 minutes away from the lovely bars and restaurants of Tavira town. Quiet room, balcony with beautiful views over the river, tranquil pool and surrounding, sunbathing area. Convivial host, Sebastian, adds a special touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of breakfast

    The location was cool (5 min by walk from the center of Tavira). The host Sebastiao is very sympathic and friendly. The room was very clean and confortable. And if you want to chill out, you can do it in the swimmingpool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were welcomed by the owner Sebastiao who showed us to our room and gave us some useful information regarding the inn and Tavira itself. If you like an individual property that has quirky but good quality decoration you will love this place. It is only a few minutes walk along a footpath (either side) of the river to the town centre where there are loads of bars and restaurants to chose from and a further few minutes walk to the ferry to the fantastic island beach. The upstairs salt water pool area is great with a good mixture of sun & shade available. Yes the railway runs right next to the property but the trains only run every hour or so and not late at night. If you are sitting on your river view balcony having a drink when a train goes past the next train is a good reminder of how long you have been there and maybe its time to go for dinner!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great stay at Tavira Inn and we can warmly recommend it! Sebastian, the owner, is very friendly. He has designed the rooms himself, in a very cool and welcoming way! It's very easy to park the car just outside the casa and all the restaurants are only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great value for money compared to other accommodation we stayed at on our 10 day trip in Portugal. The property is quite old with small rooms and bathrooms. No service (cleaning etc) or breakfast is included and the cost doesn't reflect this. Noisy trainline nearby.

    Great location and very friendly host. Very charming building with lovely plants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the rail line but only served to emphasise the peace and tranquility of the place at all other times and was not a major concern or nuisance. Actually added to the overall character of the property.

    Excellent welcome and hospitality from Sebastiao. Lovely swimming pool. A pleasure to be able to share Sebastiao's home for a few days. Excellent base from which to explore Tavira. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town.Will definitely be trying to return soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind and friendly owner, nice room with a river view, comfortable bed which is difficult to find, within 5min walk to the downtown, calm area, good internet, pool. Recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The owner and host Sebastiao is very friendly and helpful, he is there if you need anything, but lets you get on and enjoy your holiday. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the river and pool (worth the extra cost). I will mention the trains, only to say that they were not a problem for us. A very relaxing place to stay, as is Tavira with its cobbled streets to stroll down, and a wide choice of restaurants to choose from for a delicious meal and glass of wine. Very laid back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It was only very small things that could have improved our stay, and we had a nice discussion about these with Sebastião. We understand from the booking that there was not breakfast etc. which was fine and we were expecting this. There is a snack bar next door (but we didn't use this) and as mentioned in my recommendations below, you can get coffee/pastries and breakfast in town or from the supermarket. However, coffee/tea facilities would have been preferred and when I requested wine glasses I was told we were only able to use the small water glasses in our rooms. There are two small water glasses provided, which were ok and we made do, but for the quality and price of the rooms I would expect small things like this to be provided when requested. There is a fridge for drinks and wines, so some expectation must be that guests will have a drink in their rooms. My partner also found the bed hard, but for me it wasn't that much of a problem as I prefer a firmer mattress but I did notice other guests had mentioned this when booking, so it is worth pointing out. These are really the only 'issues' we had. I am being a little picky as I think, being a genuinely caring host, Sebastião would prefer honest feedback for things we think could have upped the score in the future. We both loved Tavira and I would definitely visit again. Sebastião has a wonderful home and guesthouse here and only a small minor improvements would make this 10/10.

    A little background: Tavira is a wonderful place, being in an area of natural protection (Ria Formosa) this small town has been kept well hidden from the overbearing high rise apartment blocks that you can find in other towns and cities around the Mediterranean/further up the Atlantic coast on the Algarve. It has a charming feel, with lots of original features such as the Castle, town centre and abundance of beautiful churches. We enjoyed 'getting lost' around the winding medieval streets and whitewashed buildings and the nightly entertainment in the town hall square or over the bridge which gave a real sense of community. I would recommend hiring a bike for a day or two to explore the Ria Formosa and surrounding small fishing villages, such as Cabanas and St. Luzia. Or take a short boat trip for around 20 Euros, you can get one lasting around 1hr30. We felt this was enough time to enjoy being on the water! Sequa Tours was a good choice for us. Now on to our stay in the Casa Do Rio! Sebastião was really friendly and allowed us to get to our room earlier than we had agreed (around 1100 instead of 1200 and the normal check in is after 1500), which after a long morning travelling was really nice. He went out of his way to ensure that this was available for us, getting up early so that our room was ready. When we arrived, he gave us a tour of the accommodation pointing out the necessary 'do's and don'ts'. I personally loved the original artwork, which was scattered around the communal areas and in our room. He gave us some really good recommendations for eating out in the local area on our first days, and was always smiling and interested to hear what we had been up to when we got back from day trips around the area or from the beach. The pool was amazing, we made sure to have a dip every day. Maybe saltwater pools aren't to everyone's liking, but we found it fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The train took some getting used to as very loud although not that often and not during the night. As we arrived late a bottle of water in the fridge would have been very welcome. As there is no restaurant at the property, a kettle with tea and coffee would have been good.

    The salt water pool and the easy walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    This place is outstanding! Very cozy rooms, beautifully built house. It is clearly built with passion. Lovely plants and flowers around the house which make the experience overall cozy. Amazing salt water pool that we used every day. On a few minute walking distance to the town centre. Sebastiao is a very warm and open host. He even took us on a motorbike ride to show us the lovely nature and flamingo's of Rio De Formosa. Would love to come here again! Thanks for everything Sebastiao!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hospitality of the owner was exceptional. He was very knowledgable. The pool was fantastic. The colours and design of the rooms was unique and most relaxing. It was very quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights and were told towels and bed linen only get changed every 4 nights. Initially that was fine however after a couple of showers (swimming in sea and in the outdoor sea water pool) we did require fresh towels. Changes in towels are required more frequently.

    Good location to get to key sights. Pool and outdoor space was excellent. The room was modest and brightly decorated. Sebastiao the owner very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Tavira is a beautiful little town,superb atmosphere,and fair priced restaurants and bars. We even had a drink at the old man local bar,and had to pay 1,40euro for 2 beers and sat down with the locals to wave and smile to passengers. It is very nice that everybody speaks english very well,but i think that counts for more regions in portugal. The host,mr sebastiao is a really nice and warm person,i think he is a true burgundian. Our room was beautiful,with great taste decorated,and attention to detail. we recommend this place for stay in tavira.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area was an excellent relaxing spot. Room was big and cool, and although we didnt have a private balcony there was seating outside on terrace and by pool. Sebastio was an excellent host and the inn is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. Would thoroughly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    Na

    The owner was delightful and made us feel very welcome. He gave us great suggestions about the town and our future travels. The town is very relaxed and clam but has lots to look at and great restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, the passion and friendliness of Sebastian. The pool was a great bonus for those who don't do hotels. If going to tavira this is a must. Sebastian will welcome you with his desire to please.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mosquitos !!!!

    Great location, lovely relaxing pool area, good air con, Very accomodating host. nice walk into town by river. Very impressed with Tavira and eastern algarve, many places to visit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Towels could maybe changed a bit more frequently and a kettle would of been handy - we were prepared for this so took our own travel-kettle. We told Sebastiou about the towels and he gave us new ones without any question - a nice touch.

    Comfortable bed and a quiet peaceful balcony overlooking a large ivy clad wall and garden. The separate bathroom/toilet was spacious and clean. The swimming pool and surrounding area were very good. Sebastiou is the perfect host.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a very friendly welcome from the owner, Sebastiou. Nice sense of humour and a fount of local knowledge. It's a five minute walk to the old town and its restaurants, plus the cafes are good for breakfast. An old fashioned hotel with old fashioned courtesy - a lot better than the faceless hotel chains of today.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good to have a hand towel as well as two bath towels. A kettle would also have been a good addition.

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable with lovely bedding. Great to have a little fridge and also a balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The property was well situated, only 3 mins walk from the centre of Tavira which is a truly beautiful town to explore. Our room was very comfortable with lots of character, spotlessly clean with a balcony overlooking the river. The owner, Sebastao, was extremely helpful, welcoming and informative about the region. We would definitely return if in Tavira again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was disappointing but that is just your luck. It didn't keep us in. There were a lot of stairs in the property.

    It was very quiet and relaxing and we met some other guests from other countries. Sebastian was very helpful if we needed anything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike

    The inn is so central to the main area of Tavira you really don't need a car unless you intend to explore the rest of the Algarve. Restaurants are plentiful on both sides of the river and being right next to the railway line didn't intrude as it had stopped by the time we got home after dinner. Casa Simao and Nikita restaurants on either side of the river are very good and worth a visit. Sebastiao is a very good host and is able to give advice on things and places to visit if your a first time visitor to Tavira.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to make tea. Don't mind providing our own tea bags etc.

    Excellent value for money. The owner speaks excellent English and is a good source of information. Very near bus station for travelling in and short walk to loads of places to eat. The trains finish early and are not very often so no problem.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the rustic charm of the Tavira Inn. The owner Sebastiao was always friendly and helpful throughout our holiday. The Inn is within easy walking distance of Tavira city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Sebastiao is a wonderful host and makes you feel very welcome.He has a great sense of humour and nothing is too much trouble for him. Amazing art on the walls by Sebastiao. Tavira Inn is a fanastic place to stay and you don't want to leave. The bed and pillows were wonderful. Best nights sleep we had in the 2 months we spent in Portugal.Thank you Sebastiao.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower stall was very small. more shelves in the bathroom would have been useful, and a kettle would have come in handy

    The owner was lovely. The room was very pleasant, the furnishings throughout very artistic. Very clean, comfortable, good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The trains overhead were a bit of a surprise BUT they do not run at night so were not a problem

    Beautifully designed place lovely room and bathroom. great pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - 2
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have been great just to have a kettle in the room along with the fridge to be able to make a cup of tea - a British thing! Would recommend taking a travel kettle.

    Lovely terrace with pool overlooking the river and beautiful railway bridge (we liked the sound of the occasional train)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well....the pool could have been a tiny bit warmer...but it was October! Nothing to dislike really

    A hotel and a host with lots of character! Good location. Pleasant short walk into town. Great place to stay. Sebastio was charming and very helpful. Gave us lots of advice on where to visit and make the most of our short stay in Tavira. Trains not an issue. Apparently I slept through three without stirring one morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid more for room with balcony but would imagine that some of the lower rooms would suffer from lack of light. Would not recommend for the elderly as no lift and stairs fairly steep. Shower cubicle very compact and very old skool.

    River frontage and pretty tranquil despite railway line over river on adjacent bridge but not a problem. Sufficiently out of town centre for calmness but close enough for easy access on riverside walk which is only 5 mins. Sebastio the owner is super helpful and very welcoming. Property has loads of character with unique and tasteful decor. Much of the art was painted by the owner.Decent wi-fi on site.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have appreciated a kettle.

    This is a charming pension. The room we had was small but adequate. The best thing was the pool area which was peaceful and a good place to relax and catch up with emails. The host Sebastiao was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely guesthouse, Sebastio was charming and helpful and was there to meet us for our late check in. Our room was beautifully decorated and a good size. The fridge and hairdryer were useful. Loved the salt water pool to relax by in the warm afternoons. Good value for money and a short walk to the town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very hard

    Sebastian was very friendly and informative Place was very clean and tidy in a quiet and sacluded location yet still close to centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are no tea and coffee making facilties, so take a travel kettle.

    A very nice place to stay for a few days. Exellent friendly host and very clean. Nice and private with a lovely pool. The nearby metal train bridge although noisy for 5 seconds on the hour, did not disturb us and added character.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing stay at the Casa do Rio! We were more than welcomed by Sebastio who explained us everything we had to know about Tavira and its surroundings. The room was fresh, charming and comfortable. The pool was really a must.Highly recommended if you want to discover the region!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling to find anything amiss. Two keys perhaps?

    Small, quiet place beautifully set up. Just at the edge of town, easy to walk in but not in the busy mid. Perfect for a short stay. Privat balcony and small fridge was added bonus

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hair dryer would have been handy.

    Great swimming pool and outdoor area. Good parking virtually on site. Sebastian was friendly and most helpful. Clean good sized room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, train not an issue.

    Lovely place, lots of spirit, nice art, beautifully maintained. Swimming pool is a dream, Sebastino very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host Sebastiao is fantastic only too helpful. Great saltwater pool. Rooms are spotlessly clean and the whole place has a really warming seductive atmosphere. Thanks Sebastiao !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have been a nice touch. As we had a late flight would have been nice to have a communial toilet or washroom to use. But this is being really picky as we managed fine.

    The location was perfect for what we needed. The pool was something we were particularly looking for so that was great. Sebastio the host was fab! We were able to check in early, and use the pool for our whole last day as we had a late flight which was brill.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -No bath cloths. -Could not use pool since we didn't bring our own towels and owner prohibited using room towels. We had been on the road for four weeks and did not want to lug around beach towels. -Owner nitpicked over turning off A/C when we left the room, even if we were just sitting around the pool. -Dangerous parking area, i.e. necessary to back car into slot to avoid backing out onto high speed roadway. -No coffee available.

    Wonderful pool area, very relaxing. Ten minute walk to downtown.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great swimming pool, fantastic staff, nice room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not great

    Beautiful pool, good location, owner very helpful and friendly. Tavira is a beautiful town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent host.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have benefited from more natural light

    Superb swimmimg pool terrace Lovely gardens and artistic rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was our 2nd visit, but not our last, says it all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle

    Pool clean but weather not warm enough to make good use of it Same reason a/c not used

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Artistic hotel. Nice owner. Salt water pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Confort Double Room - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely cosy place to stay, it was quiet and the bed was comfy. It is more homely than most Algarve hotels but it’s personal and quirky.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could be warm before arrive, humidity was high and not gone before day after.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains were a bit noisy but ok with earplugs

    Very friendly host. Lovely art.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: