Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Terra Nostra Garden Hotel 4 stars

Rua Padre José Jacinto Botelho, 9675-061 Furnas, Portugal

#2 of 24 hotels in Furnas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1091 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a little bit expensive and the menu wasn’t very diverse. The local dish wasn’t for the feint hearted. - pigs ears, Trotters, etc...

    The gardens were fantastic. As a hotel guest you have 24 hour access to the whole grounds... Enjoy! The room was were lovely and a complimentary bottle of water was a nice touch. Live music was beautiful, Breakfast was the best we’ve experienced and the service was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot of negatives for this hotel. We found that the free hotel breakfasts on the island all had the same types of food, regardless of what hotel you stayed at. This was one of the better ones, but we would have preferred some other options as well (ex: one hotel had a waffle maker, another had a great juice bar).

    Overall, this is a great hotel. Our favorite perk was that as a guest, you get access to the pools and garden after hours (when there are less tourists around). The staff was outstanding and made us feel so welcomed. I love the art deco feel of the hotel. The massages were awesome, too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Robes for the mineral pools surprisingly shabby. Definitely overpriced. Expensive dining options, even the cafe. Wait staff in the cafe shockingly uninformed for the classiness of the place.

    Beautiful rooms, excellent front desk staff, having the thermal pools and the garden grounds right there for use at any time is a huge draw of staying there. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A magical place. I loved the Art Deco styling, room decor and cleanliness. The hooded robes were a bonus. Staff is friendly. One of the most unique experiences I have had. The park is amazing and the thermal pools were a delight. Next time I will stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything.

    A gorgeous modern hotel. Amazing facilities, 24 hour access to the terra nostra gardens and the thermal pools so you can have them to yourself after closing time. The village also was really pretty, the nicest we saw on the island, and had everything you needed. The pharmacy didn't open whilst we were there though. The restaurant at the hotel was rather stuffy but good for an occasion. There are lots of restaurants in the local facility though if you don't fancy it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    We spent only one night here. I wish it had been more... We received a free upgrade upon arrival which was a nice start. Our room was spotless with wonderful view of the garden. As a hotel guest we had the privilege to visit the Garden and the hot pool out of regular opening hours. Strolling in the garden and having a bath in the hot pool without the crowds is unbeatable. We shared a cozido for dinner in the Hotel restaurant. The waiter explained all pieces as he placed them on the plate in front of us. One portion was plentiful enough to feed both of us. Actually we couldn't eat it all. The chocolate sphere is extremely delicious. Do not miss it if you eat here. Breakfast is incredible with several cold choices from the buffet and hot dishes to order a'la carte. Every staff members are doing excellent job. They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and satisfied. We enjoyed every single moment spent in this paradise. I can hardly wait to return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large room, good view of the garden. Breakfast with huge choice of food. Free access to excellent botanical gardens and the thermal pool.....fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dining room, both breakfast and dinner service was slow. Lounge staff somewhat surly.

    Excellent front desk staff. Quiet and spacious luxury room with excellent view from the balcony. New spa robes daily. Breakfast was good. Gardens, walking trails and outdoor spa were exceptional and the upkeep of the grounds extraordinary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even though we had a junior suite there was just not enough room for our clothing. Not much of a night entertainment provided.

    The breakfast menu was somewhat limited but sufficient. There could have been more dinner choices, although the one provided were excellent. The setting of the hotel was just amazing. The proximity of the park and thermal pool, which are just breathtaking, added to the overall exceptionality of this place. The separate pool bathrobes, towels and slippers are a great idea. Free parking was much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't able to control thermostat from our room - had to contact front desk to change room temperature.

    Clean facility. Friendly dining room staff. Lovely location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertise as having a gym but this was not accessible, and I'd been really looking forward to using one! Little things that are usually available when you're staying in an expensive hotel like hair conditioner, tea/coffee they didn't have (and I'd pre-emptively chucked my toiletries because this was my last stop).

    Staff friendly - and they let me check in early. Quite a nice breakfast. Great location and the park is fantastic for a visit. Prices in the bar are not too expensive. Clean and comfortable. They leave the hot pools open at night for guests, which is nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow at times in restaurant some times laguage communication was a barrier.

    Lovely place, gorgeous gardens even in the rain. Best raspberry smoothies and speciality cocktails in lounge - beautiful settings - very kind staff (who helped my son play an Easter April fools day prank on my dad w humor :)!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautifully maintained from the botanical gardens to the thermal pool. Staff was friendly and helpful. Towels and robes were provided so that guests could enjoy the thermal bath and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfortable, clean room with comfortable beds and a great balcony. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and tried the local stew cooked underground in volcanic heat. The thermal pool looked great although we didn't actually go in ourselves.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so nice to be able to swim in the hot springs pool every night after a day of sightseeing. The staff in every area of the hotel were incredible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The entire hotel and location is wonderful. We decided to stay an extra night and they made the whole process so easy. Our waiter, Paul was so good and such fun to chat with.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Hot springs and beautiful garden. Especially at night the hot springs is for hotel guests only. We had the whole hot springs to ourselves! Excellent breakfast! Staff are really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel in the most amazing surrounding. We enjoyed a great garden and geothermal pool view from our hotel room. The Terra Nostra Garden and the pool can be accessed by the hotel guests anytime. The breakfast was great and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel was OK. Difficult to find good restaurant in the village.

    Good breakfast and dinner. Local Cozido (food stoved in vulcanic hot ground) is unpalatable. Fantastic morning ritual to swim in the vulcanic pool and bath before breakfast. Beautiful huge garden/park. A pity that no opportunity exists to make coffee in the room. Surrounding restaurants are much cheaper but not always good. We had good food at Banhos Ferreos. reasonably at Tony's and very bad at Vale das Furnas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Extra Bed ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No teapot in the room. Food in the restaurant is overpriced and not tasty. Meat was too salty, it looks like it's a common policy for Bensaude hotels )

    Excellent location, super hospitable and helpful staff, nice indoor pool with hammam and sauna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed was split in half making it uncomfortable. Parking lot is small, cars block others from leaving. Television reception was bad. No top flat sheet on bed, only a comforter.

    Employees were friendly, helpful and courteous. Breakfast was very good. The garden is beautiful/peaceful. Hooded robes to use when going to the thermal pool. Valentine's Day rose,champagne/candy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff always courteous friendly and helpful; the garden even in late January very green and many blossoms esp. camellias, plus fern walks, cyad garden, etc etc went through it every day and found something new; outside pool fed by hot springs and especially the outdoor hot-spring fed jacuzzis; fish on the menu was outstanding; well stocked bar; and the art deco decor throughout was tasteful, unusual, very elegant and very comfortable...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is truly delicious, but it could be really nice to add some vegan options like soya milk and yoghurt :) Some warm meal like oatmeal or buckweat could be great, too.

    It was my second time here, and I can say for sure that I'd love to come back here again! Location is perfect - in the amazing Terra Nostra Park with hot springs where you can bathe day and night. It's a paradise. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms, swimming pool, breakfast - everything's great. You can't imagine a better place for a good relaxing vacation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect during our 4 days staywith all family: From our rooms, to the restaurant, both pools , jacuzzi and the park. The personnel was just exceptionnal, a real service. The breakfast was always a special moment with a large choice of local products and fresh fruits. The park is so nice and very usefull for jogging and external swim pool with 39°C temperature is just awesome! Hotel offered a bottle of champagne in our room for my wife birthday, it was nice and unexpected!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift were down for maintenance too often.

    The park is beautiful! The opportunity to access the thermal lagoon at night is unique. To be able to go for a warm bath under the stars ...was magical.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleople coming from a walk or exercise and jumping in the thermal pool without showering first

    Lovely place could be heaven on earth, but it is getting crowded

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden view
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tiny things leave some space for improvement - however they were not really bothersome. Hotel bar seems nice, but also expensive, we didn't use it, so I can't ell if that's true.

    Grand Dame of the Azorean Hotels. Lovely staff. Pleasant atmosphere. Wonderful unique outdoor natural thermal pool (Bring old bathing suits as the natural thermal water dyes them) which we used every morning and evening. Unique massive park to walk or jog with beautiful views and many rare plants (come in winter or spring for camellias galore). Exceptional fern collection. Internet reception was very good. Comfy and large bed (so important!) Beautiful breakfast room and again, lovely staff for breakfast as well as for dinner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the property is beautiful, with gardens, fish, swans, ducks and wonderful trails to walk along with, of course, hot springs to swim in. The restaurant was good, but slow. The staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate in any way they could.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a pleasure to stay surrounded for such a beautiful nature and allowed to visit terra rostra park and thermal baths at any time you wish. The spaces are really comfortable and with a very good taste of art deco. All the staff very polite! It was a short stay but every minute worth it. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility in room.

    Loved the gardens and thermal baths. Breakfast was fantastic and the breakfast room was beautiful. The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Extra Bed ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    an art-deco gem, memorable and magical, in the stunning setting of the botanical garden and with the vast thermal pool under the monkey-puzzle trees a c-- really one-of-a-kind, the ambience of the 30s with state-of-the-art facilities. breakfast is fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant still below my expectations, since it's still too expensive for what it offers in terms of freshness and innovation.

    Very decent sized bedrooms, good sized internal swimming pool, outstanding access to the outside botanical garden and thermal water swimming pools. Going second year in a row.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More variation for dinner. Furnas is a tiny place and dinner options are scarce and very basic.

    Access to the hot water pool 24/7. Gorgeous garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to keep the breakfast trays refilled as they emptied quickly but weren't immediately replaced. All else fantastic.

    Beautiful hotel in lush gardens with the benefit of the thermal bath and the indoor spa facilities. Excellent restaurant. This hotel made the holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Not something very important, but the menu was the same one without any changes through all days of staying.

    Terra Nostra is a heaven in paradise. The hotel is very well deigned with a perfect harmony between the classic part and the new one. The restaurant is very good with high quality food and great diversity. the room was super comfortable and very well maintained. A nice balcony with an evergreen scenery, where you can meditate and relax. The stuff was friendly and helpful, always there to assist and to give helpful tips. No doubt that the jewel in the crown in the amazing botanical garden and the thermal water pool open 24/7 for the guests. The location of the hotel is a wining one. You can go hiking to path trails nearby or rent a car from the hotel to more remote areas in the beautiful island of Sao Miguel. The bar is located outside the garden with an amazing view. Our visit to the island and the stay in Terra Nostra is not less than unforgettable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems with the sink Breakfast was a disaster no sausages at9am asked for condiments and ketchup arrived after finishing breakfast Not shown how to operate shower door etc Not impressed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In house laundry is quite expensive...

    We were only going to stay one night as a side trip from Ribeirrra Grande. The Hotel was so nice we decided to stay another night. Going to the hot springs at midnight is an absolute wonderful experience. The Spa was amazing for our couples massage. We did not want to leave to come back to our beach house in Riberra Grande!!! Thank You Terra Nostra for a breathtaking weekend!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to put your bar of soap - a soap dish would have been handy.

    The room was stylish and a very good size. We had a terrace too which was lovely to sit in - chairs could have been more comfy though. The bed was comfy and large and everything spotlessly clean. Towels were changed daily even if you did hang then up. Breakfast was very good but woe betide you if you appeared before 8am - the staff member setting it up would tick you off. The staff on the front desk couldn't do more for you either before you arrived or during your stay - some of the most helpful staff at a hotel I've ever come across.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They upgraded us to a garden view room and it was beautiful. As it was my birthday on the arrival, they surprised with a bottle of champagne. The staff couldn't have been more warm and friendly. Hotel is charming and beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym leaves a little bit to be desired - no weights etc. Also, the breakfast is delicious, but I don't feel that the hotel should try to upsell eggs benedict / pancakes when guests are paying over 200 euro per night. Either include it in the cost, or don't offer it for an extra 5 euro. Tea and coffee facilities would also be a nice addition to the rooms.

    Lovely hotel located within walking distance of all that Furnas has to offer. Peaceful, well furnished, clean, comfortable. The gardens are astounding, and a brilliant facility to have access to, especially at night and in the early morning. Indoor pool facilities are lovely, and the spa & massage services are excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some facilities were the whole time out of order (e.g. steam bath) the sauna was very small the lights were in the spa area were broken the water was too cold

    it comes a very nice garden and thermal bath with the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to fault this lovely hotel¬! Not cheap but worth every euro.

    Fantastic comfy bed, choice of 4 pillows, thermal swimming pool and beautiful botanic garden. Great choice of breakfast and dinner menus (portions are generous). Everything was exceptional. Highly recommened!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terra Nostra Garden Hotel was our first introduction to the Azores, and a fantastic way to start off our honeymoon! The hotel is really special, with the amazing gardens available to guests at all times. We spent our first day here walking through the gardens and taking advantage of the unbelievable thermal baths. The dark bathrobes and towels provided for this purpose were very welcome. Our room was spotlessly clean, extremely spacious and comfortable. We had treated ourselves to a deluxe room, but did not expect it to be so large. The couch, seating area, large bathroom with bath and walk in shower were much appreciated after our long days exploring the islands, as was the complimentary water in the room. All staff we interacted with were very helpful, and friendly. The location couldn't be faulted, we used the hotel as a great base for exploring a large part of the island, as well as spending time in the garden, which in itself would be enough to bring me back! We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening, where we received excellent service and enjoyed delicious food. Overall, this hotel is luxurious while still being comfortable and welcoming, and I would go back tomorrow if I could!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ate at the hotel restaurant two nights of our trip- we wanted to try their famous pot-au-feu for dinner but were told we couldn't order it. It seems that you may have to let them know 24 hours in advance if you want to try the chozido. This is pretty typical for restaurants around town as well.

    The hotel and the surrounding properties are gorgeous! Personally, I think booking the hotel is worth it just for the access you get to the Botanical Garden and the geothermal pools. (You have free 24/7 access! We considered staying at the Furnas Boutique Hotel but decided that the access to the park made this hotel more worth it. We were very happy with our choice.) The rooms are also a nice size with balconies that overlook the park and very comfortable beds. The breakfast is top notch with an assortment of local meats, cheeses, breads, yogurt, fruit, and eggs. You can also order omelettes- we did one morning, and they were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our third time in Furnas and second stay at Terra Nostra and certainly will not be the last. To put things in perspective, to get to Furnas it takes us 6 hours to drive to the airport in Toronto, then the 5 hours flight to Ponta Delgada, renting a car and driving to Furnas - all in all about one day of travel. It's not easy to get here (for us), but the place has magic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price would reflect the quality, if the hotel would be located in a major city in Europe. Charging 9 euro for a beer is not ok, even if the beer is an amazing craft brew, which it admittedly was.

    Amazing place to recharge. Great launchpad for hikes all over the island. Excellent helpful staff. The garden is stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some cigarette smoke got through the vents at night. (Told the front desk.)

    Location next to Botanical garden and nearby hot springs fantastic. Very courteous and helpful staff throughout the property. The room was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the posh main restaurant was mediocre. We did like the bar food served outdoors...great sirloin steak sandwich and excellent chicken salad. We would not eat in the main restaurant again.

    We loved the staff, especially Paula at the front desk. We relished the hot spring tubs and the 24 hour access for guests. The gardens are exquisite, the entire property immaculate and the entire experience awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner in the room did not get cold enough. And even thought they have the thermal pool, it would be nice to have a regular outdoor pool for those really hot days!

    We were happy when we arrived to our room and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us compliments of the hotel. We were celebrating our honeymoon. Breakfast was good but the freshly squeezed orange juice was so good!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and steam room weren't heated when we went to use them. Prices very high for the region.

    Lovely gardens, thermal springs are superb. Room was clean and comfortable. Very quiet and super comfy beds. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good. Massage excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We spent four nights in this hotel that was built in the 193ies and completely renovated in 2013. It is amazing that hotels like this do still exist, and seem to be doing well. The hotel was fully booked and the restaurant packed with tourist guests and locals, every single evening. At least a dozen highly attentive waiters were constantly running around in their restaurant. But why? One reason might be the location at one of the most spectacular thermal pools in Europe. Moreover: our room was in perfect shape, well maintained and equipped with all the traveler’s needs. The staff of the hotel were all efficient and helpful. The Restaurant was excellent, and we did like their local specialties. Also, we were positively surprised about the picnic we ordered one day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to dislike about this place!

    The hotel is spotless, the staff very friendly and impeccably dressed and mannered - and the hotel owns the spectacular Terra Nostra Garden and thermal pools, which are free to enter during public opening hours, and outside of those hours, are exclusively for the use of hotel guests. It is an absolutely magical place. The best hotel and hotel environment I have ever stayed in - and that's saying something, I spend in excess of 50 nights a year in hotels. :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit repetitive, but the service st breakfast was excellent. I would've liked to have some comfy lounge chairs somewhere in the sun .

    Loved the garden, the view. We started off in a room without a balcony but felt like it was airless and disappointing, so we paid for an upgrade to bigger, balcony room. For us it was worth it. Staff very nice and genuine, friendly smiles and good rapour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved it all!

    The best hotel we have ever stayed at. The rooms were lovely and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the garden. The food/drink and terrace were all fabulous and breakfast was a delight. The unique highlight however is the 24 hour access to the gardens/geothermal pools. We indulged in a midnight swim every evening and it was just magical. The location was great too - cental Furnas within walking distance to all the key sights, including the crater lake, caldeiras and cozido cooking. A memorable stay and would recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early cutoff for dinner but that's our fault for not checking first

    Perfect location for the gardens and thermal pool. Thoroughly recommend a walk around the gardens following a meal in the restaurant (in our case it followed breakfast). Bathrobes, flip-flops and towels provided so taking a deep in the thermal pool is a must. We had dinner in the piano bar (we missed the cutoff for the restaurant) and it was great, the staff were very friendly and suggested a great wine. We had a great room on the terrace which was soaked in sun in the morning. The staff were very accommodating and they let us leave our car in the car park for the day, after we had checked out, so we could walk around Lagoa Furnas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting to outdoor hot tubs at night could be improved, was difficult to find and navigate safely.

    Wonderful, relaxing hotel, excellent facilities, including indoor pool and sauna, outdoor mineral pool and hot tubs and magnificent gardens. Restaurant was lovely with an excellent breakfast buffet with attentive staff. Perfect place for a luxury retreat and relaxation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose to eat dinner elsewhere; we were keen to try Cozina - the local dish cooked underground but were surprised that it was x2 the price of the local restaurant - Tony's. We ate there and it was very good.

    We were attracted by access to the Terra Nostra Garden and hot pool - and not disappointed. Room & Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge to hire a bicycle. Service at busy dinner time can be quite confusing and slow.

    Magnificent park, magnificent thermal pool. Nice ,cosy indoor pool. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked well in advance and the hotel knew we were a family of three, but when we arrived the room was only made up for two. They did not have any other rooms available as they were fully booked so it was a little cramped with three beds in a double room. I think if they had not made this mistake, we would have been given a bigger triple room and our stay would have been perfect.

    Staff were superb, and the breakfast was excellent and plentiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely updated hotel that is part of a botanical park. A a hotel guest, you have free, unlimited access to the park, including a giant geothermal pool. Food is way above average for a hotel. Excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a single thing!

    Breakfast was delicious, varied fresh food in plentiful supply. Rooms spacious, beds v comfortable and good temperature. Loved the botanical gardens, thermal pool a wonderful daily experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a wonderful stay, our room was comfortable, staff friendly, great and fresh breakfast... we had a wonderful stay. The real highlight was coming back from a day out to relax in the beautiful thermal pool amongst the trees and mountains, or going in first thing before breakfast - so peaceful and really among nature. We also ate in both the hotel restaurant and bar and service and were excellent. Completely would recommend this hotel and hope to go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose Terra Nostra because it is ranked number one on Sao Miguel on TripAdvisor. We stayed at two other hotels on the island, which were both substantially cheaper and much nicer, in terms of quality of rooms, comfort of beds, facilities available, location, food options, service, etc. (better on every front). The hotel is dated, quality of rooms varies widely and value for money, particularly compared to other options on the island, is poor. As this was the first hotel we stayed in during our trip, and we're used to paying London prices, we didn't appreciate the poor value until moving on to our next location on the island. We stayed two nights, in a private balcony room facing the gardens. The first room we were in smelled of mildew, was extremely humid and muggy and the aircon wasn't working. We asked for a new room, but were not moved until the next day (we were told the hotel was fully booked the first night, which was not true -- there were available rooms on booking.com and directly through the hotel's own website). Also, the restaurant is pricey compared to other options on the island, and the food is hit and miss. Wine was delicious, albeit, still pricey compared to everywhere else we dined on the island. Service was also hit and miss. This is a shame, because everyone else we encountered during our 8-day stay on Sao Miguel were extremely warm, friendly and helpful.

    After hours access to the park and the hot springs was a nice perk -- albeit, not worth staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very cold in the restaurant during breakfast, we could not eat comfortable, we had to finish quicker. Staff tends to be way too formal, I understand that this a luxury hotel, but sometimes does not seem natural, rather overacting, a more informal/friendly approach would work better. Dinner at the restaurant is overrated. We both ordered a medium/rare steak and it was very much well-done, over-done.

    One of the best hotels I have ever been to. The surroundings, the unique outdoor thermal lake/pool within the beautiful botanical gardens of the hotel are really unmatched. Absolutely relaxing athmosphere. Great boutique hotel, nice interior, contemporary design meets history in a very tasty way. Awesome experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Truly amazing garden. A destination in itself. You can walk around there for a long time getting lost and getting delighted by all the different corners. Bathing in the hot springs under the stars is unforgettable. And the staff were all lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food and drinks on site were terrific, but quite pricy. It would have been nice to have been provided with information on local restaurants etc as well (perhaps in a book with various menus?).

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. The staff at the front lobby were particularly helpful. Wonderful meal in the dining room, and best cocktails ever in the bar. The gardens are stunning and we LOVED the natural hot springs....especially at night, so calm and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The restaurant should change fish at least every two days. We were there 11 days and the menu never changed. This island has the best selection of fresh fish in the world. Also, many offers had shrimp--everyone knows the shrimp are frozen on the islands and almost everywhere else in Portugal. Why serve shrimp? Fresh octopus salad and fresh cuttlefish stew would be great to add to the menu, yet they were absent. So many fresh fish are available easily from the fish market. They should serve them. The chef should eschew frozen food of any kind in a restaurant of this caliber hotel. Servers were exceptionally nice to us; what can they do about frozen food? Also absent were fresh tuna and fresh swordfish; both are abundant in their waters (even though, given their exceptional quality, many fly straight to Japan.) Other restaurants can easily get these gamefish; so should Terra Nostra.

    beautiful gardens. very good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I didn't get any good night of sleep in two nights, bed and pillow were stiff, corridor was noisy in the morning. The price of hotel was not expensive but extra services such as food and drinks at bar are exaggerated.

    Great location with privileged access to the natural heated pool in the park. The hotel looks good, service is good (even gave me pair of slippers on request so I could go to the pool).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only ate one dinner in the restaurant, and were disappointed by the exceptionally slow service.

    The setting is spectacular. Our room was on the terrace, with the botanical gardens as our view. We used the hot pool every day of the week and loved it. Also appreciated the grey robes, towels and flip flops for use at the pool. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great, especially the local foods, such as jams, sweetbread and Sao Jorge cheese. Yum!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the restaurant was not very good. After staying at other hotels on the island and the mainland the food at the breakfast buffet was not very good nor was the dinner. Although most of the service people were nice, a few were a bit grumpy.

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minibar prices.

    Friendly and helpful reception, restaurant and cleaning staff. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent (I particularly recommend the bolos levedos, similar to but better than English muffins), as were the burgers we ordered from room service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having been to many hotels this proved value for money given the setting, my partner would have liked the indoor pool a degree or two warmer but I suggest he swims with more vigorously!!!

    Beautiful location with the botanical garden and thermal spring/ pool. Breakfast was good value and extremely high quality produce. Staff were very amenable and friendly. The thermal pool is available to guests 24hrs, (bathrobes and towels specially supplied) and provided us with an amazing night skies and shooting stars.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. Superb staff in every part of the hotel....Bar, restaurant, reception, cleaning. The restaurant food was fine dining standards with a superb chef using local ingredients and very original. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Possibly the best I have stayed in. Well done all the staff for making our stay so memorable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food cooked by hot spring was a little disappointing - the only disappointing food in the hotel

    Very comfortable bed - top class facilities and decor. Superb Staff and amazing cocktails!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your steam room was out of order.

    Absolutely wonderful! The food, drinks, room, facilities and the overall atmosphere including the incredible gardens and pools.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Terra Nostra Garden Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: