Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cliff Bay - PortoBay 5 stars

Estrada Monumental, 147, Sao Martinho, 9004-532 Funchal, Portugal

#4 of 73 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 494 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was what it said on the tin, a very good hotel with first class accommodation and excellent food, the staff could not do enough for us, will will return next year.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Good 6 nights stay st the cliff bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was shocked to hear that a complimentary mineral water was just complimentary for one night which is very strange for a 5 stars hotel , food around the pool is reasonably priced but 6 euros for water is something the Hotel has to review

    The location of the hotel , good breakfast choices and excellent Michelin star dining experience , the rooms are comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect & relaxed place to spend your Holiday in a luxerious way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is not much we did not like.

    Cliff Bay is a wonderful and well located Hotel in Funchal. All elements avialable for a beautiful & relaxing stay. The view from the pool and various restaurant are magnificant. The restaurantGallo D'or is worth the 2M*'s ; excellent food & perfect service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    Okay,but not what I would expect from my experience of 5 star hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs tasted as if made with powdered egg except the boiled and fried eggs which were TASTELESS!! Rediculous DRESS CODE !! The English Breakfast was toally BLAND !! Lack of Late check out even by half an hour - again rediculous. House Keeping - a huge dissapointment. Frankly cant be bothered enumerating more easily correctable problems.

    The staffs attempts to please.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing view and excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Better value for money trying the restaurants in the area which are great.

    The location of the hotel is excellent - the sea view rooms are absolutely amazing, we enjoyed the evening soft live music from the restaurant garden while watching the sea. Rooms are large and clean, services are very good. Bed is huge (we however had a superior room, so not sure how the standard ones compare to this one). Plenty of restaurants to choose from in walking distance Breakfast very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Reception lets this great hotel down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew we had to check in after 2pm and were given drink voucher until our room was ready. However, they could not find our case which they had taken off us. It took 45 minutes of phoning down to reception and eventually my husband went down. They told him they did not have case and were very rude. He asked to go into luggage room and he saw case straight away and brought it out himself. No apology from staff. Very disappointed by front of house team

    Beautiful room. Upgraded to an executive suite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    An ideal place for an unforgettable stay in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We spend 8 wonderful days at the cliff bay hotel. the superior room was amazing and very spacious with a breathtaking sea view. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and families who want to spend unforgettable moments in Madeira.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel, one of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical of a 5 star but very over priced for food and drinks. We are a family of six but you don’t expect to pay €300 for a buffet meal. Sort from that, faultless.

    Fantastic hotel, stunning views, great food, spa and pools.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice stay unfortunately marred by an incompetent personnel at the front desk. Made mistakes on taxi transfer date on the way from the airport. I was also charged twice on the way back, and the hotel would not credit my visa card for the 30 Euros inappropriately charged. No answer to several emails. Very petty attitude from this kind of luxury facility. Bad attitude. Do, therefore, not recommend.

    Beautiful property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Very calm and tranquil amazing food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing not to like

    The rooms were large and spacious with sea/harbour view. The hotel was always pristine, staff very friendly and obliging. Facilities were amazing. The hotel had an atmosphere of calm and efficiency

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A Beautiful and Tranquil Way to Enjoy Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The evening buffet was expensive.

    The Cliff Bay lives up to its name and has a beautiful view of Funchal Harbour and the ocean. Our experience was excellent from start to finish. The staff were first rate and the service was of the highest standard. Our room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the harbour. It was well appointed and quiet. A very good gym, pool and health centre. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and we had several great evening meals. There were building works going on, but they did not detract from our enjoyment. Overall, a definite 5* experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    The details in elegance throughout the hotel and the class...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool windows were in desperate need of cleaning. Dirt and cloudy chlorine streaks were as thick as grey walls. And what appeared to be green mold lining the upper sides of the pool was astonishing and unacceptable for a 5 star hotel anywhere. Please clean these regularly if not daily.

    The details in elegance throughout the hotel and the class of the staff was top notch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Completely relaxing effortless break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’re not told about the added upgrade benefits when checking in, which was a real shame, missed out on 2 upgraded breakfast opportunities.....!!!

    Bed superb, bathroom superb and view superb resulting from our surprise and much appreciated upgrade allowing a la carte restaurant access for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable week in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The decor is a bit dated. We ate dinner once in the Rose Garden restaurant for the Portuguese themed night. It was disappointing both as regards quality and for the lack of explanation of Portugal's traditional dishes. There are great restaurants nearby to choose from and we did not have dinner in the Rose Garden again over our week long stay. I also would have like the pool to be heated a bit more as the outdoor temperature was generally below 20C.

    The property is well situated and very walkable to downtown Funchal. Although we didn't use it there is a shuttle for persons who prefer not to walk. The front desk staff was generally very good and were helpful in arranging transportation to the many island walks that we did. The views to the water and gardens are beautiful. We liked that the bathrooms in the rooms we booked each had 2 sinks. The 5 members of our family all agreed that breakfast in the Rose Garden and Il Gallo d'Oro was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in a great location set in the Atlantic Ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities, all staff were friendly, helpful & gave attention to little detail which added that special touch. Great location set in the Atlantic Ocean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.5
    Facilities and services appropriate to 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vast majority of the staff were charming , the exception was the receptionists who were not

    Breakfast very good buffet -Wide selection of food - fruit , juices , continental and cooked options , very good and swift service The spa is excellent , and the pool area attractive , well equipped gym The position of the hotel is very good , l imagine that most rooms facing the sea have a good view , those where you can see Funchal harbour from the balcony are very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    good hotel, great location but small things matter, like free drinking water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i believe all 5 star hotels should provide bottled drinking water, Cliff Bay fail to. Cost of 1.5L bottle of water outside is 38 cents retail. Cliff Bay charges Euro 3.50

    Bed and pillows were super comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    February Anniversary Indulgence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can’t think of anything!

    Everything! Flowers, bottle of sparkling wine and even a cake in our room on arrival to help celebrate our anniversary - such a lovely welcome! When our return flight was cancelled due to the bad weather the staff couldn’t have been more helpful and that made a potentially stressful situation quite stress free!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    sadly disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole hotel needs an update, it's all very tired and old fashioned like going back 20 years. i wish we'd stayed at Reids! The only lunch we had there was very poor and disappointing.

    the bed was very comfortable and the room was large and clean but outdated. Lovely view of the sea and habour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    A Classic Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to complain about but not really a lot of facilities in the winter and not much to do in the hotel evenings. Clientele on February probably averaged around 65 years old.

    Excellent location with sea front and very comfortable hotel, albeit classic style accommodation. Super staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    All that you would expect from a 5 star hotel close to the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room furniture was a little worn - certainly the dark wood items. If you want to dine at the Michelin 2star book before you go.

    Breakfast, service, ambiance, view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    A beautifully located hotel with fantastic facilities. The spa in particular was great too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertainment was not really to our taste.

    Very large and comfortable beds and massive windows which slid completely back to reveal the fantastic balcony and sea view. The outdoor space had a corner for everyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, calm quiet atmosphere and we were well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We have been to this hotel several times, the last two years ago and we thought the food in the Rose garden wasn't as good as previous visits e.g.. no prawns and smoked salmon in buffet other than mixed in salads which I am unable to eat. Themed nights variable, Italian Night being any sort of mince dish only and included a greek dish - minced lamb. Cliff Bistro excellent menus and quality food and good value.

    Comfortable furnishings and excellent service. Staff in all areas are delightful and go the extra mile to help. Hotel luxuriously furnished but comfortable. Plenty of quiet areas to sit and read.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Well worth it if you can afford the luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If I were to complain about anything, it would be either that the beds in our room were not as comfy as one would expect, or that buffé spread at the other restaurant at The Cliff Bay didnt really match our expectations, we went there once after which we only continued to visit Il Gallo Doro.

    This is one of the better venues I have had the pleasure to stay at. We went there over the holidays (Xmas) and it was just as good as I have been told. We got a Deluxe Suite and it was definately one of the better desicision since it gave us access to the breakfast each morning at the Il Gallo Doro - a wide spread of just about Everything you can imagine from a 5-star hotel. The hotel is also very Close to Funchal, takes about 4-5 minutes to get down to the city center. On top of that, the personel were very attentive, doing their best to offer anything its residents may want/need. This hotel is highly recommended - if you can afford it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. It was the worst nights of my life. The pillows were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept. 2.You should use something so that the door doesn’t slam with a loud noise

    Spa Breakfast (food quality) Location WiFi access Beverage selection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Best firework show in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The situation, on a cliff top overlooking the Atlantic, the port, and the city - next to Reid’s hotel. 15 minutes walk into the centre, and main promenade. Bus connects directly outside the hotel to/from the airport €5, also local buses to the Jardim botanical gardens for those not wanting the (very high!) cable car. Taxis to the airport €38. Staff all excellent, a great front desk, helpful and friendly. Breakfasts excellent, fresh fruit and cooked food, and good coffee! Very large bedrooms, with views directly to the city and the Atlantic. We stayed for New Years Eve and had the best view of the outstanding fireworks from the balcony. Two good sized swimming pools, both indoor and out, one heated, one salt water, and direct diving into the sea from the large patios.. Have stayed before, and is my favourite hotel in Funchal, will return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed breakfast at the Il Gallo restaurant, tasty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit dated. Spa treatments were sometimes a bit shorter than they had to be. A few times sheets were with stains. I wish water in the pools was warmer, especially at the sea water pool, its was really cold. Same about the inside pool, its only partially inside, the board said that the temperature was 30C but it never was, because of the outdoor part

    Really enjoyed breakfast at the Il Gallo restaurant, tasty and beautiful. Great views from the room. Fast room service. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Dinner at the Il Gallo restaurant was great. Also quite enjoyed the spa treatments.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    The service here in all departments was a cut above other good 5 star hotels on our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    It was wonderful. Service excellent, facilities fabulous. Numerous pools, also possible to swim in the Atlantic down a staircase. Anything you wanted was provided, even umbrellas erected. A hawk (a bird of prey) flown every morning at breakfast - loved that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    5 star hotel still stuck in 90's level of service and decoration/furniture. needs a revamping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel of this value there needs to be a big turnaround on several aspects. The whole decoration needs to be redone. Rooms were very antique, and although equioment was comfortable it just isn't up to international standards today (all the carleting and decade old furniture) room service was very week with almost no offering (and what existed isnt very healthy). Wifi worked badly. Charging for a late checkout makes no sense (if it isn't available ok, but charging automatically shouldnt be done). In generall a great location and building but it seems stuck in the 90's and for this value a whole revamping ok service and furniture needs to be done

    Bed was very comfortable. Il Gallo Restaurant was amazing. Spa was good. Staff was nice. Hotel location and pool area is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Would go back, service felt like 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor aging a wee bit although everything was very clean.

    Staff and service impeccable. Thoughtful touches (who has ever noticed we hadn't a charger for toothbrush...they found one and plugged it in without us even mentioning)and quick to address minor problems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.0
    Neve again! The worst 5 star hotel I've ever seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything except the ocean and location. The hotel is very old, it smells everywhere, especially in rooms. The air conditioner didn't work and it was very hot in the room. Bathroom is very old and dirty. We chose this hotel because it has 9,6 at booking.com, I have no ides how hey got this point. We stayed just one night there and we were happy that we didn't stay longer. I on't recommend this hotel at all.

    There is just one thing what we like in this hotel - is the sea. You have direct entrance to the water: either you jump or you can go down by stairs. There is another hotel close to this one (called Vidamar Resorts) which is better but it was fully booked during our stay. So if you want to choose between these hotels, go to Vidamar if its available. Location - close to Funcal city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel for stay in Madeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Wonderful hotel. Best suited to more mature traveler. Fabulous location with excellent food choices. Had superior room with balcony on 6th floor. Beautiful views of hotel grounds and ocean. Excellent, helpful, staff. Free bus service to down town Funchal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    After years of Madeira in june this stay was a little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the breakfast was very chaotic inside , outside on some place you have great view but you have to wait for a place every morning . most of the staff is very friendly ,on reception the are nice when you are check in our out . but if you pass the frontdesk they look at you and say nothing no good evening or morning so strange we find it a very impersonal hotel. also we think that Booking.com get one of the worse rooms 2 years ago we had a room with garden and see view , now we had a side room with two little windows on Funchal and the terrace looked out over the pan roof and then the sea , also the room smelled of old sweat of something like that we have leave the doors of the closet and the window open otherwise your clothes would smell dirty .

    location garden and the view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Overall worth the price and will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two items missing from breakfast food which I thought would be present in a 5 star hotel and only one egg station which gave you a long wait

    The style of the hotel friendly staff, the location and facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay for relaxing holiday where you are looked after by excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    lunch time snack menu was limited and expensive

    Friendly and attentive staff who provided great service in all areas of the hotel. Décor and ambiance of the hotel gave a nice relaxed feel to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    The Cliff Bay Hotel is an excellent place to stay for many reasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main course of the dinner could be disappointing. Starters and desserts were great but main courses lacked imagination. Also no table service.

    Delicious breakfasts, extremely comfortable beds and spacious bedrooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful luxurious hotel in a great city location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunbathing area around the spa pool area was very exposed to the Atlantic wind and therefore sunbathing was not always possible in spite of clear blue sunny skies.

    A modern but classic hotel with wonderful facilities, extremely well appointed private suite and staff who could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel for location and facilies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room upgrade was great but did not include extras such as free water and juices from room bar and use of upgraded breakfast in Michelin restaurant.

    Room upgrade. Beautiful seaview. Plenty of choice at buffet breakfast. Restaurants and bar within easy walking distance. Shuttle bus from hotel into city easy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Great place and location. Check room for bad odour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Missed the flight out due to unforeseen circumstances. Tried to contact Booking.com about the cancellation for the first night. Could not get through to Booking.com to do this. I also, sent a mail to the hotel about the cancellation. However, they said they cannot cancel unless it comes form Booking.com. No refund although they had my cancellation mail. So lost money for first night booking. At hotel they had a problem with horrible smell in bathroom that could not be fixed. So we had to change room for the following night as it was completely impossible to use the bathroom. So we suffered the second night this way. Not nice. No compensation from Hotel. No good.

    Great breakfast buffet and spa facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Holiday Heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was absolutely nothing that the hotel could have done better.

    We enjoyed a sea facing room - our private, large balcony looked out over a garden, with beautiful flowers and grass and very close to the cliff edge and the sea so we had no outside noise at all other than the sea and birds...excellent! With a view over Funchal harbour we also had excellent views of the mountains, shipping, and people trying different water sports.... the tourist sailing ship Santa Maria is a beautiful sight and went out several times a day. Our room was kept spotlessly clean and there was chocolate waiting on our pillow every night. The location made it easy to explore everything that Funchal has to offer. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the Rose Garden is the best place ever to sit outside and eat a delicious breakfast. There are welcome little touches such as a daily news sheet printed in many languages to keep you in touch with major world events as well as letting you know what is happening around the hotel during the day. Our airport transfers were arranged for us and we booked an excursion through the hotel that all happened reliably with no problems at all. We will definitely return to this hotel and look forward to it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault this property

    Met every expectation - courteous staff; helpful reception; wonderful food; great gardens; spacious room with a stunning view AND bubbles on arrival!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Hotel which equalled our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar and restaurant prices were high ( 140 Euros for buffet meal for 2 and a basic bottle of wine)) Late check out for afternoon flights is available, but charged at 50% of the daily room rate

    Fantastic location and views over the harbour. Spotlessly clean and well maintained rooms. The pool was squeaky-clean and the water maintained at the perfect temperature. Breakfast was excellent with really fresh fruit. All staff were highly efficient and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to use this Hotel again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    As always, a beautiful hotel which never fails to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed at the hotel previously, hence a return visit. The spa costs were exceptionally expensive compared to other 5* hotels. The food prices have increased dramatically; sterling rate doesn't help. The staff were very efficient, but not as happy or content as in previous years. I would still return to the Cliff Bay.

    The rooms were very spacious including the bathroom. Tea and coffee availability in the room is always welcome. The breakfast is superb and the new garden room, a pleasant surprise. The hotel is always so fresh and clean with a great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    It was a special anniversary and the staff very sweetly sent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I didn't like the plastic sheet on the bed on arrival ....They changed it very quickly.

    It was a special anniversary and the staff very sweetly sent a cake , champagne etc. Very touching

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Excellent comfortable hotel ideally situated with many good restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Our room was sometimes not cleaned until 2.30-3 pm which was annoying as we liked to sit on the balcony after lunch

    Excellent location and very comfortable. Nice to have separate restaurant for breakfast with superior rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Mattress protector uncomfortable; had to be removed. Very little entertainment in the evening. Wine with dinner too expensive so we ate out every evening.

    Staff; many English TV programmes; number of swimming pools

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Had to ask for replacement cushions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had breakfast at the Rose Garden. Would have liked a choice of coffees. Would have also liked the ability to order a hot breakfast from a waiter rather than only a buffet option.

    Had to ask for replacement cushions. The replacement ones were top rate though. mattress could have been newer.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    during breakfast on the 6th we were not allowed to sit on the outside terrace with the arguement being there was three of us while they can only allow two people to sit at one table. however, there were groups of four people already sitting there so we could not understand that sort of discrimination, which spoiled the end of our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    A great hotel in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We used the wellness facilities....all super clean and well thought out, however, was difficult remembering the "no nudity" part....trying to stay covered while in and moving about from sauna/steam room to showers, etc.... as not usually to what we are accustomed.

    A great hotel in every way! Glass of champagne on arrival was a plus!....We were even upgraded to a lovely, 7th floor room with sea and Funchal below us.....with its beautiful lights and crashing waves on the cliffs...and sunshine on our balcony... ...Bed was super comfy and LARGE with great mattress. Breakfast buffet excellent......beautifully displayed with lots of variety.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Good but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Porter did not deliver us one luggage in time. Reception looked for it late in the evening. We had breakfast in priveledge terrace, but one time we found there long quewe and went for usual breakfast. Next time we had this breakfast but it seemed us more poor than usual breakfast and staff was too slow for example we did not receive two glasses of champagne and waited long for omelettes. Usual breakfast is much better and there you have wider choice of meal

    Nice location. Not far from Centre of Funchal. You can walk there 10-15 minutes. Beautiful sea views of sunrise and sunset. Good swimming pools. Nice restaurant nea sea - blue lagoon - excellent catch of the day:)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.3
    Cliff Bay - Overall lovely but........
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a suite which gave you access to the a la Carte restaurant for breakfast - only to discover on our arrival that it was closed for renovation. No apology/alternative option from the staff. We were travelling with 3 other family members, 2 daughters and son in law, my daughter was given a letter on arrival to say her room had been upgraded, which was a lovely surprise, only to be told when she realised her room was the one she had actually booked, that this letter was a mistake - again no apology and a very dismissive attitude from the receptionist, who made me feel bad for questioning the letter! We booked The Cliff Bay in preference to Reid's for a less formal but equally attentive experience, I was disappointed on the points above and felt let down.

    Beautiful hotel, gorgeous grounds. Excellent breakfast choice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff, fantastic breakfast choice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A shuttle into town early evening was about the only additional thing we could suggest. Otherwise it is about a 30 minute walk or Eur 7 each way by taxi.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, fantastic breakfast choice, all freshly prepared, and a balcony overlooking the port and Funchal. Add to that a 2 star Michelin restaurant within the hotel for a special night and a first class pool / spa., who could ask for more! There is a regular shuttle bus into town by day, otherwise it is a pleasant 30 minute walk - downhill into town, uphill back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.2
    Good competitor to Reids and Vidamar, somewhere in between in price and quality (room 524)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view on Funchal implies no sun in the afternoon and evening, in that respect Vidamar was the top. Alas no complementary drinks offered like Reids does, even no water. Some noise of egalising activities on the eastside of the hotel.

    We checked in around 10 o'clock and our room was directly available, inclusive an upgrade to 'harbour view'. A beautiful spacious room and bathroom, with even a separate shower! Covered balcony with a nice view on Funchal, almost identical as we had at Reids the first day. Of course an excellent breakfast. Nice heated inside/outside pool at the spa. The garden and sunterrace are more green than at neighbour Vidamar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Exellent hotel for relaxing, fine dining and swimming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only minus was the midle price Rose Garden restaurant's food. I only ate once there, and it was awful.

    The Two Star Michelin restaurant was exellent, though expensive. Rooms, Spa and swimming pools were great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.8
    A good modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred a hotel in a less developed area.

    Lots of different places to sit, both inside and outside. The Michelin starred restaurant was very good for that special occasion (and the price reflects that). We were upgraded to a suite! The sea views and sunsets were great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom toiletries not great. Poor lighting in bedroom. Would have liked electric plug socket at table height rather than having to get on floor to connect plug.

    Staff really helpful. Nice room with lovely view. Huge beds. Nice soft bedlinen. Big bath towels.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Perfect stay in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The views from our room were amazing, couldn't fault anything at all. Attention to detail, friendly and knowledgable staff and the delicious food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Splendid experience all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Our top floor room was fabulous, every staff member was friendly and helpful. The spa facilities were lovely and there are so many lovely parts of this hotel that you could always find somewhere comfy and private. We also splashed out on a private Romantic Dinner, which was fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location if you want to stay near Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This standard gets a bit stiff upperclass but that is expectable....

    Fantastic location if you want to stay near Funchal. Great room with nice view of sea and city. Enjoyed food at il Gallo d´Ouro which was surprising and very tasty. Loved my birthday surprise from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel tended to be quite dressy in the evenings, although this was more to do with other guests than any hotel policy. Ladies might want to go prepared with cocktail dresses, although gents tended to get away with smart casual. But you can always slip out to the pub over the road if you want to dress down for the evening.

    Superb comfortable hotel, lovely position, fabulous staff. We had a hiccup on arrival as our booked airport transfer had been overlooked- the receptionist credited our account with the difference in price for the airport taxi AND upgraded our room as well as apologising profusely. I loved the sea access until the weather changed and the large salt water pool was also gorgeous. Breakfast was the most impressive buffet- we were absolutely spoilt for choice. We treated ourselves to an evening at Il Gallo d'oro and the food was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The buffet was disappointing. Good quality food that could have been better presented. No soup spoons! Creme of vegetable soup with lots of vegetables but little or no creme. Pasta with no creme sauce- I had to ask for it. Parmesan cheese that was not grated. Tasteless vegetables. Baked potatoes that turned out to be boiled potatoes with their skins on. Coq au vin which did not look too good - same applied to the duck. Turkey with no bread sauce. Salmon with no hollandaise sauce - I had to ask for it. Disappointing fish night - no trout, no plaice, no cod, no sea bream etc. I did not fancy 'salt' salmon!(The prawn cocktail was very good) Deserts were well presented but reminded me of children's party deserts. Bread pudding was good but no sauce and it was the hot desert two nights running. The above is offered on the basis that this was 'The Cliff Bay'. Certainly I have had better buffet meals at other hotels around the world.

    Breakfast was good but more staff were required. (At the buffet there were too many staff and your plate was gone as soon as you put your knife and fork down. Waiters were standing around with nothing to do.)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel that has it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    (minor) wifi dropping off from time to time in the bedroom; was ok in the main room

    Nice and spacious rooms with an excellent garden/sea view, extra large and super comfortable bed; hotel facilities in excellent shape and staff very helpful and kind. The pools and spa were clean and nice, great restaurant. True five star.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    The best hotel in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing One thing to mind that it is not a youth resort, most of the guests are 50-60+, which is not uncomfortable at all, but Seems different from what you can see in Spain, for example.

    Pool and access the the ocean Delicious food and the way it was cooked Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    The fact that I go twice a year and have done since It was first opened shows how satisfied I am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep slope from hotel to road but impossible to change this.

    Breakfasts and service excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing , Location staff and comfort at the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Food was fair not of goog quality given the status of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was fair not of goog quality given the status of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything!

    Excellent hotel - wonderful efficient and friendly staff. Couldn't fault anything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Everything, including view from the room, hot shower after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    smell in the room

    Everything, including view from the room, hot shower after refreshing swim in the ocean, size of the bed, beautiful garden, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    airco was broken

    view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Best Hotel on Madeira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Best Hotel on Madeira!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not understand why the hotel seems to keep a captive hawk.

    Wonderful property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi and spa
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition was not so cold

    Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi and spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony overlooking car park, some building work noise

    Breakfast, Spa and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel but for the price I would expect a higher standard of design, mainly elderly clients
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea and City View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor bit dated

    Warm pool, comfy sunbeds, lovely garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was brilliant. Extensive selection of fruits, bucks fizz, cold and hot food and even omelettes coked to order!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Cliff Bay - PortoBay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: