Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The View – Santo António Villas, Golf & Spa 4 stars

Praia Da Salema, 8650-060 Salema, Portugal

#10 of 14 hotels in Salema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 72 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun only on patio during daytime so we could not eat outside in the evening. Long walk to beach, big uphill climb to return. No kitchen dish soap or dishwasher tabs, a bit would have been nice. Also no beach/pool towels, and we flew carry-on, so could not bring our own. Otherwise well equipped and comfortable.

    Lovely unit, good views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (while cordial) were not very receptive to my informing them that there were a trail of ants in the kitchen, no broom/ dust pan for us to be able to tidy up. However, they did respond quickly when I noticed that one of the comforters on the beds had a urine stain from a previous renter; it was replaced within the hour by housekeeping. Don’t bother with the “gym” it’s rather sad. Go for long walks on the beach or attack some of the hills in the area.. steep and challenging!

    When we checked in the staff gave us directions to the property (about a 5 minute drive from reception). It was a 2 bdrm condo very nicely decorated; lots of beach towels (but only one bath towel per person). Kitchen was well stocked with dishes and pans; but I found it odd that no paper towels, dish soap or dishwasher detergent were provided. The next day, they very kindly brought us coffee/milk/tea/sugar, orange juice, apples. However, it was over 24 hours after checking in and so by then we’d purchased all of it locally.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The price, at €930 for 6 night was quite expensive for October and as a result I would look elsewhere in future. The walk to/from the beach is extremely steep and some pre-warning of this would have been helpful.

    The house was very well situated and fitted out. The views were incredible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were uncomfortable and very little in the way of basics for washing up and toiletries. Had to go to supermarket immediately. Not easy for anyone who has difficulty with hills and steps.

    The views were amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No services. The pool area had a space for a restaurant and bar, but nothing there. No reception at the property-was closed with a sign on the door. Had to drive 15 minutes away to the golf club to check in. No notice of this in advance. No WiFi. Took a full day to fix the problem that was effecting more than our unit.

    Location and pool both excellent. Beautiful views and physical buildings where very nice. Loved the quiet beauty of little Salema

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we would have expected more and better quality toiletries.also would have expected tea coffee and laundry/dishwasher tablets to be provided as is normal in other similar accommodation.lack of on-site restaurant and reception was also disappointing.

    Very spacious.great view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff slow to address problems. Examples as follows. Sewage backfilling into the on suite bathroom! Called the emergency line at night. Staff stated we should put down towels and they would send someone by in the morning. Which they did but stated they did not find a problem. The dirty towels used to dam the filth were left on the floor! No cleaning was done. I called and they said they did not find a problem. Next morning the same problem but with more foul water. I took pictures to the front desk to prove there was a problem. They sent someone to fix the issue but never told us when it was fixed. Upon our return, the plumbing worked better but again no cleaning was performed. There was foul water under the bed and still filling many of the crevices of the tiles throughout the master bedroom. After complaining a third time, housekeeping was finally brought in to address the problem. Also, Wifi did not work in our apartment. Called reception who told us we were not looking in the right place (twice). Finally the next day I took pictures of the area they said we had to look to show them that in fact the password was missing). 6 hours later the problem was finally solved.

    The view is amazing. Pool was great. Nice sandy beach very close (fairly steep hill, however). The apartment would have been perfect except for the problems we experienced (as detailed in the negative section).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-fi connection poor.

    Spacious rooms, clean and well equipped. Children enjoyed pool area and the beach. Tennis with equipment easy to book a short drive away at the golf club. A choice of lovely restaurants a 10 minute walk down the hill.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows Please purchase proper quality pillows to equal the quality of the rest of the accommodation

    Loved the apartment. Very soacious and very well stocked kitchen. Quiet area , great for height of season.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move property by day 2 the upstairs toilet smelt foul the electricity kept switching off and left us with no hot water and tv had 1 channel . We were advised by staff to wash at pool area ! Second property had leather settee with flaking leather we had to put towels down to sit on barbecue was rusty balcony furniture ripped and hot tube damaged broken full of sand . I raised with reception that for £3920 this was poor and have taken photos which I will be sending to them

    Location of property beautiful area of portugal

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception: cold, arrogant, not interested, no clue what service means. Especially one lady, she spoiled this part completely.

    Perfect quiet location, very luxureous, beautiful view at the sea. Very friendly people in the small village of Salema, with wonderful fishfood.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that we did not like was the beds. They were really not comfortable!

    We really liked the location. We were close to the beach and the pool was located right behind our apartment. The village offered great restaurants and still the place was not overly touristic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent experience. Room amazing and clean. facilities excellent. Beaches nearby incredible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen - too small for bed and towels old. Very unpleasant smell from bathrooms - needs attention

    The view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Da vista. Do sossego.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps and lots of them -good exercise though

    Excellent location and facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the house and furnishings

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet.......

    The view The apartment

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was below the villas which are built on a hill, with car access only to a few. We had to climb 63 steps to reach our villa. The villa was very clean but on arrival there was a smell possibly coming from drains as it possibly was not used for some time.,

    the villa was finished to a high standard with high quality equipment. There was a very good view over the beach below, even though the buildings are very close together. The resort was almost deserted at the end of October.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like the beds . They were pretty uncomfortable . I accept that's a personal thing . Also , I didn't like having to pay to use the outdoor pool at PDF

    We love Salema . We enjoyed walking to/from the village . The apartment was terriific

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi - Euro4 per day for dongle - fair as villa so good value.

    Amazing villa, huge, over the sea, brand new feel, great pool, quiet, bbq dinners on terrace, great runs and surf from doorstep. Can't recommend highly enough. We were sceptical of a resort but out of high season this was an excellent find. Loved the llocal village too

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    second visit here and was given a villa at the end/ corner of the complex which didn't have much of a "view" at all. Very overlooked by other accommodation and view of a road. I did mention my disappointment to reception and we were moved three days later when a villa with a view and a garden became available. They were also good at letting us stay for late check out which was helpful and welcomed. Wish they would leave beach supplies in the apartment - we always leave our parasols etc that we buy there but I see in reviews that nothing like this is left in the apartment. Also lack of cleaning supplies - again left loads behind. No pool/beach towels provided this year.

    Salema lovely location - pretty clean beach - good places to eat/coffee Quiet away from it all feel.Complex quiet, clean we didn't stay around during the day as sterile feel but we stayed here as good base for lovely Salema just a short 5 mins fall down the hill. Pool nice size for doing lengths and water lovely and warm. Accommodation basic IKEA kind of feel so not luxury but good and beds were really comfortable. Nice to have tumble dryer.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is a serious problem with the internet. Jacuzzi on our roof did not work

    The first thing that strikes is silence. The place is in the middle of the resort but is so quiet, that it is almost unreal. Swimming pool is great, location is nice - close to a lot of restaurants and nice beach. The View will no longer have perfect view from every house, it is however great place to rest few days.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi did not connect in the villa and we felt the kitchen utensils were limited, nothing provided to clean a pot.

    Accommodation was of a high standard and the views were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I love the place.. Great facilities lovely villa and great staff... Of course if I can rent the place again I will do without debating

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location and the view It's a very big and comfortable apartment Easy to find and easy parking

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: