Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Village – Praia D’El Rey Golf & Beach Resort 4 stars

Avenida D. Pedro I, nº30, Praia D’El Rey, 2510-453 Casal da Lagoa Seca, Portugal

#10 of 41 hotels in Casal da Lagoa Seca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 410 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    3.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    The apartment view to the ocean was marvelous and the space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t no internet, they have 4G routers but there was no one available! For the price there should be internet connection include on the apartment for free! Internet nowadays should be not an extra!

    The apartment view to the ocean was marvelous and the space was considerable large and well equipped!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The 4the time we’ve stayed at the resort and, as always, a memorable one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sheets were incredibly rough and over starched. The check out at 10am is a little early. 11 is a bit more flexible. The only minor complaints we have!

    The resort is in a beautiful location. The beaches are gorgeous and not busy. The resort amenities are lovely - the pool was perfect and not crowded. The restaurant was delicious and the tiny grocery store was well stocked and affordable for the necessities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Just what I needed and met my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Outside of the facilities at the resort, there is not much else to do as no nightlife. The spa was not used and did not seem to be in use, but I did not pursue this.

    I went for the golf and having an apartment suited me as it gave me freedom to come an go as I please and the 4 apartment blocks having its own pool, was a bonus. I used the golf clubhouse for my main meals and although a small menu choice, they did allow you to be flexible. Not to expensive either. Staff very friendly and helpful. Golf course well maintained and definitely suits the high handicap golfer. The resort shuttle service is on call and very efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Free welcome drinks for all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse by the Ocean
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The heating didn't work at all when we arrived. An electrician came pretty soon and fixed it. However, it broke again in the midnight. The temperature was maybe 12 outside, but it was only 8 in the house we stayed. We didn't sleep well because it was way too cold for all of us. 2. The hot water is limited. We were a group of 5. Hot water ran out after 2 of us had a shower. 2 of us had to go to the hotel and use the shower there after swimming. 1 of us showered on the next day morning. 3. The paid 10 euro WIFI doesn't work properly all the time.

    It is a beautiful seaside resort with a nice jacuzzi and indoor swimming pool at the Hotel. The rooms are big and with nice outdoor pool view. The kitchen was nice too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable week, chilled and relaxed. Would go back but probably take own towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse by the Ocean
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and bed linen very poor and I would have expected better at premium resort.

    Overall accommodation was excellent. Staff were helpful and facilities were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    The reception is difficult to find and since there are no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is difficult to find and since there are no clear signs to where the apartments are, you can hardly get to your place without somebody taking you there. In our case, we were told somebody would take us, but we waited for more than half an hour and nobody came, even after the reception called them at least three times! So we decided to get there by ourselves, which of course took a while. Curiously this person showed up when we were almost getting to the apartment... Terrible service especially when travelling with kids!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    We had a very nice stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 14 nights

    It's a pitty you don't know in advance which apartment you'll get on which floor. The apartment was located in the back of the building, so we never had any sunlight and no view. There was always a humid smell in the apartment and in the closets and the sheets of the bed felt humid; We had a shower in the main bathroom that leaked terribly . There were not enough sunbeds at the swimmingpool for the amount of people staying in the building , some people even had to sit on the ground. Bad luck if you have noisy neighbours cause you can hear everything .....

    We liked the space in the apartment, the decoration and the interior design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Paradise away from the madding crowd.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Apartment smelt a bit musty at beginning of stay, however cleaning was excellent.

    Quiet but that suited us, we had the pool to ourselves all week. Would have been handy to have a second bathroom. Good facilities. Near Obidos and other places of interest.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shop on site isn't easy to find and doesn't have much, and given the resort is a drive from any towns or shops then you have to have a car if you need anything in your accommodation. Apart from that it's great and perfect for a group/family holiday

    Hired a beautiful villa on the resort, staff are fantastic and there is a lot to do. Services such as shuttle to the Marriott and the attention from the staff is second to none

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Lots of pretentions, but we didn't feel it quite made it. Locations within the site very variable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The (very expensive) apartment we rented turned out not to match the photos we had seen on booking.com when we booked the apartment. We were a block back from the front apartments the only windows not directly overlooked with people walking right outside overlooked the bin store and the car park entrance. The kitchens were not equipped for cooking though the headline equipment was fantastic ie no oven glove, no chopping board. The whole resort was already looking tired and routine maintenance ie cleaning windows and mending the lift was not being done even in high season (the lift was full of step ladders and looked as though it had been that way for some time).

    The facilities in the apartment were good - bedding , chairs etc. When we were moved (after 2 days) the sea view was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    A bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The beach next to the resort was contaminated, red flag Aug 2017. The bath was prohibited by the Portuguese Environment Agency with a clear warning at the main entrance. It was evident a dirty stream reaching the ocean. The closer clean beach was 30 min by car. No regular bus available from the resort.

    Large apartment well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Spacious apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given a "vale" for 10 Euros to spend in the resort shop which we couldn't use as it was closed unexpectedly. The resort could at least have offered us the 10 Euros as we had to get in the car and drive to the nearest village to find a supermarket. Sea view was a bit "sideways" not full front. Weren't allowed to have a coffee in the restaurant as it was full breakfast or nothing.

    Spacious apartment. Lovely pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds quite hard.

    Breakfast was perfect. The beds were a bit hard but happily very large compared to many in Europe. Lovely view. Very comfortable and new apartment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect, you can find in apartments...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect, you can find in apartments everything what you can need starting from kitchen tools and ending with big collection of DVD movies and table games! Big pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Quality vacation in The Village Praia d'El Rey Golf and Beach resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connections in the area were slow and in the apartment there were practically no connections. Even the wifi was not getting connection to internet in our apartment. There was no air conditioning system in the apartment. The weather was not hot during our stay, so it was not a problem for us, but in hot weather it would have been. The ocean nearby was not safe for swimming because of the big waves.

    Beautiful views and area. The apartment was excellent and very comfortable, well equipped and located near the beach. Swimming pools in the area were clean and nice. The personnel in the location was very friendly and polite. They gave us good information and maps of the nearby towns and told us about a safer swimming beach in Baleal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.0
    Too quiet, too empty, but beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    The emptiness and distance from town.

    It is a very empty resort, which makes it feel strange. The facilities are good but one cannot access the Marriott facilities or even park nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Good but very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited access to the Marriott resort. No free wifi except in club house. Most of the apartments are empty so atmosphere is a bit strange. The only pool we had access to was tiny. Probably a great place for an extended stay with a group.

    Nice beaches . Beatiful coastal scenery. Apartment was large and well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Great stay at Praia del Rey resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't work but they came very quickly and tried to fix it, even offered us to move to another apartment as they had to call out an engineer for the next day. The TV was fixed within 2 days and they communicated very well on our mobile as to when it would be fixed.

    Receptionist very welcoming. We got a free upgrade as we requested for a double bed and got kingsize bed instead. They give you new towels and change the bins and do a good clean every 2 days or so which is very impressive considering it's an apartment and not a hotel. Very secure resort with 5mins drive to a nice beach Praia del Rey, 10 min to Obidos natural Lagoon, 20mins to Obidos town and 15mins to Baleal beach and Peniche town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what you get, no wifi on the property. Also check in is too late and check out too early, therefore not a full 24 hours rental, It is a scam.

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    Useful for my work
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security gate played up and the Marriott Hotel in the complex was shut due to refurbishment so my partner could not use their facilities.

    Warm property

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable, great value for money but a bit impersonal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - It is a rather big park with a mix of rented out and privately owned houses. This makes it not very personal or intimate. - The Praia D'El Rey has a golf course, and you can tell by the people visiting. This might not be everyone's crowd.

    - First of all, the welcome by the people at the reception was great. Philip and his colleague informed us about nice activities, good places to visit etc. Philip even drove us to the house. When checking out they had looked up some extra advise and recommendations for our next location. WOW! These guys deserve a raise :) - The house was great. A fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, all very high end and well kept. - The house was sparkling clean. Not something you'd see often in a review, but this was more then can be expected. - The beach nearby is not very big (wide), but it has some impressive waves. Very nice for a long walk., (Always fun to walk too close to the surf and get wet shoes :))

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    Great house with luxury, beautiful resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse by the Ocean
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Confusing signs to find the reception, we recommended to mention on the reservation conformation that reception is at the clubhouse. It's really a big, luxury resort, which is great if you like it but it's not very personal. There is indeed no Wi-Fi at the house itself, you would expect it a such a well equiped house. On the other hand, you can go to the Marriot lobby for free Wi-Fi if you really need it. A few days without internet can be really relaxing too...

    Beautiful, big house (townhouse with 2 bedrooms). Well equiped, from microwave and conventional oven to ironing board (!) to washing machine, everything is there. It was really great and luxury to have a pool in the backyard. Within 2 minutes on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Great resort in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse by the Ocean
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic mix of poolside and Oceanside, great restaurants and villa facilities. Easy drive to other beaches and towns for additional interest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Overall very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Townhouse by the Garden
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for food in restaurants

    Overall very comfortable. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Coastal resort with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Townhouse by The Ocean
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite remote

    Sport facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    An amazing stay. Would definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frequency of Shuttle bus services.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Big, clean, comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big, clean, comfy beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Large apartment, individual bathroom for each dormitory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very limited view from the apartment; noisy works from time to time

    Large apartment, individual bathroom for each dormitory

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Good resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Smell and construction works might be intimidating but was ok with us

    Good resort

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Could be good ... but not!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 1 night

    The warming system is not working

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    i like the facility and the place to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    gas range does not work

    i like the facility and the place to the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    3.8
    apartment was not clean, hot water did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    apartment was not clean, hot water did not work. Does not recommended for short term stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    The beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Townhouse by the Garden
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    It was ok so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Townhouse by the Garden
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean, the property to large for only a few tourists

    The Beach, the reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic apartment beach and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Townhouse by the Ocean
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was quite remote. Without a car you would feel very isolated unless you are a golf player

    Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    It was amazingly beautiful n good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment by the Ocean
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food selection

    No varieties on veg foods

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Great weekend with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are large and confortable with good heating system.Very friendly staff that took care of all our requests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Ww could live in that appartament .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ww could live in that appartament ... :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Super apartment, very nice, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Townhouse by The Ocean
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super apartment, very nice, good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    This part of Portugal is a great place to spend a holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The resort was very quiet and not much around to travel to easily. The golf was very expensive.

    The appartment was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    the weather is very tricky due to Atlantic shore and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment by The Garden
    • Stayed 21 nights

    the weather is very tricky due to Atlantic shore and there is limited possibility to swim with small kids.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.0
    Apartment was spacious and well equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is no one organisation managing the site so no one takes responsibility for any issues, they just pass the buck. The lift to the beach doesn't work. There is litter that is not cleaned up. The polls are in a poor states repair (I cut my foot on a loose tile).

    Apartment was spacious and well equipped

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.3
    Food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sinage to the resort location poor Weather just OK

    Food good Golf good Service good

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice appartment, fully equiped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice appartment, fully equiped. Location very close to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    7.5
    the swiming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    too big windows the the beach front façades

    the swiming pool the patios

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: