Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Vine Hotel 5 stars

Rua Dos Aranhas 27 - A, Se, 9000-044 Funchal, Portugal

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location , very modern and clean hotel with a great roof top pool and bar,staff was very friendly and efficient,if your going to Funchal then this is the place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms aren't functional. for an upscale hotel, i expected more. for example, simple things in the design of the room weren't comfortable: -no tables next to the bed -few charge pods/not enough for two people -no hooks near the shower to hang towels -one door for the bathroom and shower - not comfortable if 2 people are staying in the room (friends/couple) -poor lighting -waste of space in the room (for example, the random light column) -poor functioning drawers I was disappointed in the architecture and design given that it is one of the more expensive hotels in Funchal

    the location is nice and the decor is modern and interesting; the staff is also very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My partner and I stayed here in April. We had booked a Grand Deluxe room but got updated to Junior Suite. The room was spacious and looked truly awesome: indeed the design is exceptional and very unlike anything we’ve seen in hotels. Some people complain about the darkness of the rooms; we however did not have this issue. Yes, much of the walls, ceiling and floor is somewhat dark, but the windows are huge. We also did not experience any inconvenience with the light system. However, we did not enjoy the automatic turning on of the bed lights in the middle of the night once one of us had to get up to use the bathroom. We actually changed our first room after one night. We had the A/C turned on but it seemed to only cool down the entrance area of the room which is separated from the other part by a wide column wall. It was very hard to sleep because of the heat surrounding the bed. The room number is 518. Anyways, we got transferred to another Junior Suite on the 4th floor and it was way much better both in terms of cosiness and A/C. There was only one issue which we told the reception about and we hope they fixed it: the hose of the bathtub was leaking. Anyways we enjoyed that room very much and hesitated to leave it even for breakfast… Which was incredible! Very rich selection of cold food, hot food, desserts, drinks (including sparkling wine). Apart from the buffet you can also ask for some special dish you wish to have starting from porridges and omelets and finishing with waffles. Fresh juice and very good coffee. However, it is true that sometimes the waiters were a bit slow to bring the hot beverages and occasionally they would bring something we had not ordered. Another thing that surprised me was that they would pour orange juice for everyone arriving without asking. So I would come back to my table from the buffet and find 2 glasses of juice we had not asked for. It is disappointing that this food would end up in the trash.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not great and the r staurant service was very very slow.

    The uva restaurant was not at all like we expected. We waited over 30 mins for a soup starter and the over an hour for our mains m, which was cold. I was bitterly disappointed considering we paid 150€ for 2 mains and 2 starters

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The hotel is above a shopping centre which we didn't expect but it really made no difference whatsoever. The location is a very short stroll to the seafront and the main pedestrian areas. We particularly loved the rooftop terrace with a wonderful pool, soft loungers and amazing happy hour cocktails. our room was chic, spotlessly clean and a pleasure to stay in. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was exactly like on the pictures and the description on the website was very accurate. Personally I would prefer a hotel that was not located on top of a shopping mall, but I was aware when I made the booking. It is a very "urban" (dark bedrooms, no outside space) hotel which may not be what one is looking for when going to Madeira. The beauty of Madeira is the outside space/nature - when you are at the Vine Hotel you could be in any big city and totally forget that you are in Madeira.

    I liked the general boutique/luxury feel of the hotel. The overall design is interesting and I appreciated all the effort that had gone into making the hotel unique. The bedroom was very comfortable (great bed/bed linen) and bath tub. The roof terrace is extremely pleasant, and the garden long-chairs were super super comfortable. The service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except having to leave.

    Staff are more than amazing, the pool area fab , the best hotel I’ve stayed in . A excellent time & excellent service The breakfast was delicious with a variety of delicious dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything controlled by a multiplex system. Press a light switch on a control panel and that would signal a computer somewhere to switch on the light. TV would often refuse to switch on or off unless you left it to sulk quietly before trying again. Selection of English news channels and can be confusing to find the right panel and read the small print. Room and hotel dark, you need to carry a small torch as parts of the room have no lighting, eg mini safe, wardrobe (internal light intermittent) and fridge area. Shower controls not marked so confusing although shower a good one. Wash basin in room as no separate bathroom. Access to shower and toilet behind doors at one end of room ( like cupboards). Wash basin stylish though impractical. Few electrical sockets. Hallways have subdued lighting. Good breakfast choice. Nice pool and bar on roof with views.

    excellent super king bed, shower,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    o dark corridors and repetitive piped music got to us o state of the art electronic and design technology that was never going to be properly maintained and in part didnt work o overpriced Uva restaurant

    o magnificent views from room 503 o quiet demeaner of efficient polite staff. 11 out of 10 o a marvelous rooftop terrace but bad weather spoiled the experience o the modern design quality generally o location second to none and the shopping mall below of great value for the room only guest

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was 10/10. Made our stay amazing. Free upgrade. Surprised me when staff arrived to my room with a birthday cake and bottle of champagne.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't too comfortable to sleep at.

    The staff were cooperative in answering our requests. The breakfast had a variety of selections to choose from. The ability to rent a car from the hotel was a great advantage for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb pepper steak, the best chocolate souffle I've ever had, all in a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. And very convenient for all manner of shops, and walking distance to all major attractions in Funchal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just the proof view

    the property may be good in his location in the city center and within shopping center building. the problem in the room and toilet architecture. there is no cleaning system to the toilet and all the time is foul smell. one of the stuff was very cooperative and this in reception. the breakfast every day the same and very bad. with tea that have non favorable task. on the other hand the hotel have good proof view. but in general if you have bad breakfast and bad room smell so you will have a bad stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is dark and moody, hotel is above busy mall. Was on the second floor and couldn’t sleep before the mall closed and noise subsided. Shower leaked water all over the floor every time I bathed. Met another guest who stayed here in 2016 and her suite leaked also. Whoever designed this hotel didn’t think of the consumer. Great in pictures but poor in practice. Also it was extremely overpriced. I know it was NYE 2018 but experience was not worth the cost

    Close to the marina.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was hit and miss; drinks were a bit expensive

    Lovely rooms, wide range of breakfast options; great location and bar views were superb. Restaurant food excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t clean, we had a hand print on one wardrobe and a dirty mark on the other. The decor looked tired and the room was too small for the money we paid. It’s ‘over designed’ you need a degree to operate the lighting and the toilet is open, sharing a door with the shower! We stayed at the Savoy in August at the height of the season, it was half the price and the room was huge with a balcony and superior spa facilities. We wouldn’t stay at the Vine again. It wasn’t awful, just disappointing.

    Location was great, food was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom lights were very confusing, probably the latest technology. But you waste time trying to see what does what? The sink area is poorly laid out. You have a rain shower tap and a big sink. But no surround surface. I balanced my toiletries on the bath massage pads ( waste of time). But my toiletries fell off and I broke one all over the floor. The best light is near the sink but you have to turn sideways to use the mirror!

    The bed was comfortable and large. The room was a good size. Breakfast was very good, with a comprehensive selection. The 360 bar on the terrace was lovely for a pre dinner drink (happy hour 5.30 - 6.30)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for superior room and was given atrium room even though hotel seemed pretty empty. When questioned reception, they did nothing.

    Good breakfast and great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The whole hotel is a bit "style over substance" - everything designed to look trendy but isn't that practical. There was no hand basin in the toilet & having to touch door handles to get out to wash hands is just not nice. We had a junior suite & the shower & toilet were located in what can only be described as the wardrobe spaces. The blinds had seen better days. Operating the lights was an exercise in pressing buttons & hoping you eventually hit the right combination. Overall just minor niggles really & it's a nice place to stay in Funchal for the location alone.

    The location is great. The free car parking in such a central location is excellent. The staff were welcoming & helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay at The Vine Hotel for a surprise birthday treat for my husband , on arrival we were upgraded to a premium room . it was the perfect adult break , the staff were professional yet personable . The hotel was spotless and beautiful design , the roof top heated pool was a real plus for us , as we visited in October the weather was lovely and warm . It is located near the port where there is lots of activity when the cruise liners come in . The port has lots of sea front restaurants and just a 10 minute walk you can be in the old town . I would highly recommend The Vine hotel if you are visiting Funchal , we had a fabulous time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was as good – or better – than we hoped. Thank you!

    In a word, superb. Over the years, we've been to some great design hotels, and sometimes their great looks cover a mediocre experience... and that couldn't be further from the case with The Vine. From a smooth, super-welcoming check-in to a stunning (very clean) room with a wow-factor bathroom and fantastic view of Funchal, to the lovely rooftop back and pool area, we were really impressed. The spa area is great too... make sure you explore this tranquil den in the basement. Breakfast is very good – great choice for all appetites, lovely coffee, fab service. We also ate at the restaurant, and really enjoyed it... great wine list, wonderful view, lovely food, and very attentive wait-staff. The reception team also deserve a mention – they helped us organise car hire (so much easier than DIY!) and were helpful and very friendly. Location is really good too – everything's walkable, you aren't out on a limb like the 'hotel zone' hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time flies when you are having such a great time. Just a recommendation and to be safe, the hotel should consider adding some steps next to the outside steep ramp that leads to the car.

    I’m a regular visitor to Funchal and Hotel The Vine. I can not fault this place as service is excellent and every visit gets better and better. I feel part of the family and I can’t wait to return. Love sitting upstairs in the rooftop bar having a cocktail and spotting possible grand designs amongst the beautiful old buildings in the city centre in desperate need of love.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The view. Not all rooms had a sea view and ours overlooked the ceiling of the shopping mall.

    Initial impressions were slightly deflated because the entrance to the hotel is through the shopping mall. However, the reception certainly makes up for the initial impression. The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because of our delay we only had one night which was not enough to get to grips with the fancy technology!

    The location was great, the staff were good, the bed was comfy. The light that came on under the bed when you moved was disconcerting at first but reassuring later.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a little pricey.

    The roof terrace is cool and it is proper modern. Barman on the roof terrace was thorough, check in staff very organised and breakfast staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug sockets next to the bed! Amazing the amount of otherwise perfectly designed hotels miss this small detail!

    Everything was excellent. Very modern design, big room and bathroom, beautiful terrace bar and great breakfast. Staff helpful, free parking and access to great gym. Location is also ideal in Funchal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite poorly designed. The only mirror to do make up etc was in the bathroom over the sink & only room for one person with nowhere to put your bits. Lighting was difficult to manage and the room lacked that welcoming feel (probably colouring didn't help). With only a lift access you couldn't nip up and down using stairs so a fair bit if waiting around.

    Very close to central Funchal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one day only we were offered pancakes and a little more variety would have been nice but generally good

    Friendly, clean, modern and just really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was difficult to find within LaVie Shopping Centre - not well enough signed. The electrical system for lights etc. in the room is often difficult

    Rooms, facilities like pool etc., breakfasts were all excellent. Service outstanding and super-friendly. Food and service at UVA great, if very expensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The design of almost everything in the room is geared towards form and not function. The light switches are confusing; some buttons are off-only, others are toggle (on/off), the logic behind some is broken and this means you need to press the button 2 times to turn the light on. There are hardly any available power sockets to charge your phone(s). Overall, the room is quite dark. The island is pretty and sunny, and this makes the dark theme of the hotel simply out of place.

    Great location! City center/old town is walkable (and safe area), there is a mall with plenty of shops and a big supermarket. The roof bar has a nice view, although it's quite pricey. The room was quite big with a matching comfortable big bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal in our room was poor, but the hotel did provide us with a wireless router that solved the problem. Some items of furniture in the room need updating as they are beginning to look a little worn.

    The location of the property is excellent as it's in the centre of Funchal. The pool area on the roof is beautiful and offers great views over the city. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was also great and there was a good selection of both hot and cold food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked for two days but my flight left before, they want me to pay also the day we didn't use. A bit of flexibility can be nicer!

    Room confort, roof pool and bar with very nice view are ok, but what impressed me more was the quality of the breakfast. Compliemnts!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just one thing on our room we could ear the cars in the street but the traffic is very low being a very small street

    Everything perfect . Excellent staff very helpful. Excellent breakfast. very good location eveything at wlaking distance. Easy to acess by bus or taxi or car. All equipment you can need swimming pool jacuzzi. Best hote in Funchal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open plan bath and sink (with glass screen to separate from sleeping area) was not to our taste. Fortunately the shower and toilet were enclosed with smoked glass doors. Also due to a design flaw we were unable to use the lovely waterfall effect shower without water escaping into the bathroom. Fortunately there was also a normal shower in the shower room. I found that the roof pool area and sun beds were always full and felt crowded and therefore uninviting. It was a pity that the jaccuzi's and pool closed at 5pm each day.

    The cocktails were excellent. Beds comfy. Easy access to shopping centre, harbour and beautiful town centre. Buffet style breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Nice gluten free rolls and cakes provided. The lower ground large jacuzzi and spa treatments which were available. The roof terrace which, esp at night, had the most beautiful views of the city. Staff, in the main, were extremely helpful and pleasant in addition to being very professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel closed down the pool for an entire afternoon to set up for a private party which went on with very loud music until 1am. No access to facilities! The "suite" is hardly a suite, it's just a big room. The staff were fine; but cannot manage complaints and just don't have a customer service mentality

    The hotel is ok. The pool is very small and crowded.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very fiddly temperamental light controls in the room. Vastly over priced roof top restaurant (fortunately Boho Bistro next door offers food that's twice as good at half the price). Attitude of receptionist when questioning minor overcharge on Bill.

    Great central location. Boutique feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Main issue was lack of towel rails and nowhere to dry towels. We ended up having to use damp, cold towels all the time. Also, the room was decorated in dark colours, which were quite dreary.

    Stylish hotel in a fantastic location between old town and waterfront district of upmarket hotels. Amazing views from rooftop pool. Great happy hour for cocktails. Friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The air con in the room did not seem cold enough and there was only one mirror in the room which was in the bathroom, no getting ready mirror.

    We loved the panoramic swimming pool on the roof. The VIP pool bed experience and the free drinks included in the mini bar. The cleaning staff were excellent and so was Charles, who is a great asset to the hotel, always happy and talkative. We were on our honeymoon and the reception staff kindly arranged for a free bottle of fizz in our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only gripe is nowhere to play music in rooms. And maybe a few more freebies in the mini bar. But it was pretty perfect

    The free upgrade was a nice touch. The breakfast was always full and varied. The staff couldn't do enough to help you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Limited choice of loungers on terrace pool.

    Upgraded when we arrived and comfortable suite. some building work on a small property opposite but didn't bother us. Shutter blinds at night to lower and keep out light and noise. Good choice at breakfast with variety . Very contemporary room which might not appeal to everybody's taste.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very very good and the breakfast perfect. The localisation is very suited for visiting Funchal. Big advantage is that the aerobus stops in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Virtually everything. We were not offered any help with our luggage. We found the reception staff to be unhelpful. The car park was very difficult to get to, especially without help with the baggage. For an expensive hotel, it was very overpriced.

    Not much. The staff were brusque, the room was very dark and featureless. The view was of other rooms. The electrical controls were confusing and difficult to work. The bath was in the bedroom and not very secure. There was very little storage space and no mirrors with the exception of smoked glass mirrors which were impossible to use.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the outdoor and indoor spa Jacuzzis were not as hot as we would have liked

    Location can't beat. Absolutely beautiful ,contemporary, boutique hotel with stunning rooftop bar, pool and restaurant. Gorgeous rooms and decor in public spaces . Excellent full breakfast. Very helpful staff arranged anything we needed. We would choose The Vine again and again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, with great bathroom. Great terace with swimming pool and nice views. Walking distance to most Funchal attractions - market, bar zone, cable car, sea....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not enough light in the rooms and common areas.

    Beautifully designed hotel right in the centre of Funchal, near to restaurants etc. Attentive, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms: Style wins against functions! We missed towel hangers, a table and more storage.

    A wonderful, stylish boutique hotel with a fantastic roof terrace, including bar and infinity pool, overlooking Funchal and the harbor. A great location in the heart of Funchal with very short walking distances to important spots. Free parking available. Very nice and pro-active staff taking care for your well being. Very nice rooms; no disturbance by room neighbors or from the floor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What's not to like?

    Fabulous upgrade. Thank you Hotel The Vine is my 'Madeira home', I stay here every time I visit and already feel part of their family. Friendliest people, relaxing and super cool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We visited the spa one afternoon and there was a German couple in there who ignored the signs and walked around and came into the sauna naked. Kind of awkward when you are relaxing!

    The staff were lovely and very helpful as we had checked out but then got delayed and had to stay another night so we contacted the Vine and they sorted us another night with no problems. They also helped me book an anniversary meal at a local restaurant, can not fault the staff at all :-)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet reception in room poor. Some of the design features looked better than the worked. Some of decor a little tired.

    Roof-top pool and bar with marvelous view. Helpful staff. Spacious, comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queue for breakfast as not enough tables availeable. Breakfast items such as hash browns and bacon were not replaced so became dry and hard

    Jacuzzi! Outdoor pool was amazing despite the weather. Suite was impressive!!!!👌🏻 Location!!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small restuarant very expensive not much choice. Limited snacks on roof terrace only other food choice.Did not like pebble floor in toilet and shower very uncomfortable to walk on

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drinking at the hotel is a tad pricey.

    Great location. Cool roof top infinity pool, sun terrace, bar and restaurant. Fab room with great views of the city. Five star service, nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Being charged for tea bags Inadequate internal lounge area - happy hour had people almost sitting on each other's laps

    view from roof-top pool area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was good but kept requiring a re-login every time I went to use it and the login didn't always work. Would be better if they could require login once and then it keeps you logged in.

    Staff, pool, service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Queuing for a table at breakfast was a bit tiresome and frustrating - the breakfast choice, however, was excellent. Also the evening meal was disappointing considering the price. (We mostly chose to eat out after the first night)

    5 star quality and service plus excellent central location for access into the centre of the town. Plus the unusual feature of being integrated into a shopping centre really worked for us - plus the guest parking facilities were ideal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only grip and it is not a big one is the fact that there isn't an iron in the room, and I had to wait until the morning to get an iron.

    Excellent location, nice and friendly staff. Felt really comfortable asking for help and directions. Really enjoyed my stay there and think that the two happy hours are excellent ideas. I would be hard pressed to stay somewhere else on my return. Loved that there are complimentary drinks in the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish I stayed much longer!

    A boutique design hotel in the city centre. Most hotels in Madeira stick to a pretty formulaic standard and feel very similar. This one tries to escape that. It does have a good restaurant on the roof for lunch and evening dinner at Uva - with fabulous views. The Vine, though, is modern and stylish. What I like most is the rooftop pool and bar area (and restaurant), where one can enjoy a secluded 'sip and a dip' during the day and mix with good looking locals in the evening grooving on down to cocktails and cool beats - the Funchal city-scape has to be one of the most spectacular anywhere at night. Best memories are sitting by the pool sipping giant G&Ts at the double happy-hour. The rooms also stand out in my memory - they are very nicely decorated and you will want to spend time there. Try to book a room on a higher floor, if you can, away from the street. It is not too noisy, though, and remember the appeal of this hotel is that it is in the heart of city life. Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dark, and took some time to find where s the light switches were. The room leaked a little, from the pool on the roof. The pool was much smaller than if looked in the pictures. The cocktails had very little alchahol. The Champagne cocktails had less Champagne in them than I usually spill when pouring!

    Very good breakfast. Good Gym. Nice views, not all rooms have good views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wireless internet was very disappointing with poor service in the room and throughout the hotel

    Breakfast on terrace was great but not always available

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little too dark for us. Breakfast not hot enough. Could do with some small maintenance in the pool area paintwork is starting to look a bit tired.

    The room very clean. Staff are very helpful and cheery. The terrace is fabulous and has a great bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the Thursday of our stay the waiter spent five minutes looking at the ingredients of the cocktail I ordered and when I requested the rest of the ginger ale to dilute it to the long drink it was supposed to be he informed me I was wrong . He was flustered during most of our stay and it was not what I would expect at a five star. The only other negative is some of the furniture has had design over practicality in mind. Some finishes have ended up with unremovable stain marks.

    View was amazing and the rooftop pool was very comfortable, lovely big beds and everything you need in the rooms. I found the staff attentive and were great a greeting you and explained what, where and when. Unusual style decor and good attention to detail, the toilets near reception were the most unique I've experienced! Full darkness room blind and great orange juice at breakfast were unusual perks!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    The location was perfect, located in a relatively good shopping mall. The room decoration and furniture was great. We got upgraded by the management without our request which was very nice from them. They make the best waffles ever, which is served during the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blind broken, room smaller than expected for junior suite. Lighting is not adequate in some parts of the room. Expected something special for our honeymoon but was sadly disappointed. We did receive a card and bottle of sparkling wine so perhaps my expectations were too high. We were told we could not eat the wedding cake we saved at the pool bar.

    Bed was comfortable, breakfast was good. Free parking. Lighting boxes are nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a lot of sunbeds at the pool. We stayed at the pool for 2 days and the first day a lot of guests left their towels at the pool when going out for lunch -and never came back- due to which other guests didn't have any place to sit / sunbathe. (The second day the staff took away the towels after half an hour.)

    * We arrived on my birthday and received a free upgrade -design suite- for the duration of our stay. * The breakfast was terrific, lots of choice; * Staff is very friendly. * House keeping twice a day. Each time leaving a little treat (chocolate, fruit, ...)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting was confusing and inadequate. Bed and pillows sub standard.

    The design was unique. But the rooms lighting system was very confusing and not at all adequate. There was no room on sink area for toiletries or function.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quality of food in restaurant. Roof top area is a great place to eat, but pity about the quality of the food. We had a 3 course package and glad we did not buy a 3 night voucher as we did not want to eat here again. There are better value and much better quality restaurants to choose from. I left half my steak because it was too tough to eat. No apology and no offer to try to remedy the situation. A bit disappointing.

    Location very central for shops, marina, bus service etc

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No coffe machine in room, a Nespresso would have been lovely. -A little noisy, rooms don't seem to be soundproofed enough..

    -Location , pool deck , gym facility , friendly staff , complimentary mini bar with refreshments. -lighting system and do not disturb / make up room panel... Fantastic !!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That young children are allowed to stay and have access to all areas. Some children were a credit to their parents but one child in particular was a nuisance the whole stay, the parents done absolutely nothing to remove the child from the public areas whilst screaming etc. Considering a majority of people were couples looking for peace and quiet maybe the hotel should consider an age restriction, maybe 10 years upwards?

    The staff were what made this hotel great. They were friendly and professional, dealing with queries promptly and efficiently. The hotel has a nice modern feel with unusual fittings and features. The breakfasts were fabulous, lots of choice, fresh and continually refilled. Food and drink at the rooftop terrace was of good quality and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet roll was not good quality but considering that was our only quibble.....

    Amazing atmosphere. Extremely friendly staff, exceptionally clean and facilities just perfect Also REALLY good cocktails

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Design Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You must like modern furnishings, The Vine is decorated in this style. So its not as comy as traditional furnished places.

    it is an ideal location for walking around Funchal, 5 minutes from the harbour and 15 minutes to the old town. It is built above a shopping mall which is quite convenient as there is a good supermarket on the bottom level. The breakfast buffet was really good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop is amazing. The warm pool felt great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like except leaving the best hotel I have ever stayed at

    The staff were amazing 😉

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style of the hotel, the rooftop pool and bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground car park linked directly to the hotel. Noise proof windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was a nightmare,could.nt get the hang of it. Prefer switches!!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Vine Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: