Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Vintage House - Douro 5 stars

Lugar da Ponte, 5085-034 Pinhão, Portugal

#1 of 7 hotels in Pinhão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 911 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Loved Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a stale odor, it needed a room diffuser or a fan to move the air around. The a/c was not great, so the room got hot. There are not good dining options near by, but the area is gorgeous and the grounds are lovely.

    The property is much prettier in person. The room we had was huge. The pool was a great respite after a long day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are helpful but given this is a 5* property that gets voted in conde naste traveller awards I would expect the service to be a lot better and expect the staff to be a lot sharper in their service. For instance on arrival no one came to greet you at the door - we had to ask for help to unload luggage - first night the room was not made up ( curtains drawn beds turned etc). These things should be a given in places like this.

    Amazing place in an excellent location in this sleepy town of pinhao. Beautiful grounds and the swimming pool is a bonus as can get very hot here. Amazing views of the Douro among the river. Simply breathtaking!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel in this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choices were okay. But could have done better.

    Stayed in the valley for a day. This hotel seemed to have the best location and view. It had ample parking space, great vintage rooms, got a room overlooking the river + pool = great. Hotel's quite big too for this small country side town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Expensive in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived at 1200 - not allowed room till 1600. Showed inflexibility by junior staff. Had 2 G&Ts - cost 28 euro - outrageous. Food in restaurant was expensive & fussy. I passed these complaints on at checkout, but not sure they were heeded

    Location superb. Building, pool & gardens excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Douro River beautiful hotel in heart of the Port Vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One little problem: reception is chaotic because it’s one desk and would benefit from being a proper front desk type reception to stop everyone crowding the staff.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival staff couldn’t do enough for us re Helped with luggage as room was a distance from reception however when we were leaving there was no one able or willing to help us and we were left to struggle with all our luggage throughout the hotel not good enough for 5 star

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but lower quality and service than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd say this is a 4 star hotel at best. Our room was a bit dated and quite cold, with no heating available. The room service menu was very limited, and all the reception staff seemed quite young and inexperienced so didn't deliver the 5 star service you would expect. The swimming pool was quite dirty with leaves and grime floating on top. It was quite a cool day when I used the pool so no one else was using it, but I would nonetheless expect the pool at a 5 star hotel to be kept clean at all times. Basically the service and quality was much lower than expected for the price - you're basically just paying for the view. It seemed like this is the only decent hotel in Pinhao though so if you do want to stay over, this is the place to go.

    The hotel interior itself is very nice, the grounds are lovely, and the views of the Douro from the room's balcony is incredible. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the breakfast waiting staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely old hotel with great river views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast experience was a little exasperating with no-one in attendance, no available table, and we waited several minutes for someone to come and lay a table for us. Breakfast food was average.

    This lovely old hotel is well positioned along the river front in the small town of Pinhao, right beside the railway station ,with its own private gate from across the tracks. It's a meandering walk with your luggage through the long and narrow hotels corridors , on several levels, from the railway entrance but follow the signs and eventually you will reach reception. There seems plenty of car parking space at reception level. Our room, more a suite with river view, was enormous, with plenty of space and beautiful comfort and facilities were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    If you ever have the chance to stay in Douro Valley, choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you ever have the chance to stay in Douro Valley, choose this place. Splurge! It's worth it. Lovely grounds and facilities. Most comfortable bed ever. Turn down service for a queen. Dinner at the restaurant was amazing. Octopus salad, slightly smoked and shaved thin slices like I've never had. Fabulous wait staff. Excellent service from check in to check out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    The hotel tardaes and is priced on its location and lack of competition - but is overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant menu is very restricted and the staff not well trained. Some courses were not available and no replacement option , so even more restricted. The outdoor pool MUST be heated if you are going to promote it and charge over E200 per night !

    The views and bedroom OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent - would love to return someday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was just a tad noisy at times as louder voices in the hallways seemed to carry.

    Very welcoming and a perfect location for visiting the Douro valley. A truly elegant yet very comfortable hotel. Marvelous dining and an easy walk to everything in town. Very convenient parking. The staff was simply outstanding and catered to our every need. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    The most beautiful place in the Douro - but avoid dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was ridiculous- eg over complicated fiddling with very small piece of fish 20 euros - one of us cracked and asked for the children’s menu. Served by slow and very ignorant teenager.

    Fabulous rooms - 4 in a row looking out over the pool towards the river and terraces. Best breakfast ever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful scenery to relax and soak up the river views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t encourage anyone to drive the ‘romantic way’ to the hotel but stick to the freeway.

    Amazing views from our balcony to the river and terraces surrounding the hotel. The facilities were excellent including the pool and gardens around the hotel. Staff were helpful and the restaurant was a great place to eat with wonderful service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful views and a peaceful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many choices of restaurants in Pinhão, but after the dinner experience at the hotel restaurant, I would suggest anywhere else.

    Getting away from it all, on the river, and with spectacular views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The setting is spectacular, the hotel beautiful, the breakfast wonderful. We were upgraded to celebrate our honeymoon, with sparkling wine waiting in the room. The one night I got ill, a staff member went into the kitchen after-hours to find me a Coke and some soup. He also brought a light breakfast to our room the next morning, free of charge, just to make sure I was taken care of.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    It is very beautiful room and environment
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trainees who work there are extremely too New ! I was asked room number 5 times in a morning whenever I ask for a small question! And they never really solved my question

    It is very beautiful room and environment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The milk used for the steamed milk for cappuccinos overpowered the flavour of the coffee - that milk had a distinctive flavour that was not very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is situated in a spectacular location on the Duoro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in a spectacular location on the Duoro river deep in the heart of the Duoro valley. Excellent rooms and a quaint little town of Pinhão.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Wish we could've stayed for a week!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The river cruise recommended by the hotel was disappointing. The Douro is beautiful, but it would've been nice to learn about the history and culture of the area and about the many wineries along the river -- as opposed to just being handed a brochure for our two-hour boat "tour."

    Incredible property. Our (big) room had views on three sides of the Douro river. It was like staying in a movie set. Everything first class, including dinner at the Rabelo, highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At some point they will need to upgrade the bathrooms. I don’t like having to step into a bath to have a shower (an accident waiting to happen). This would be the only negative observation from the whole two days.

    Really wonderful location overlooking the Douro. Staff were incredibly helpful. Breakfast excellent choice and well stocked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Position is perfect,beautifully decorated hotel with lots of charm. Shame about the plumbing noises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound proofing for the plumbing needs to be looked at. We could hear neighbour's using their toilet which was not good for a five star hotel.

    Staff very welcoming and efficient. Beautifully decorated room with a glorious view of the river. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very elegant and beautiful interpretation of the period it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very elegant and beautiful interpretation of the period it was built. Sensitive to time and place. It felt like it belonged in historic port country.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    We loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wanted to order room service so we called a couple of times however no one answered the phone. Also there was a spider in the bathroom.

    We loved the breakfast! the fried eggs, baked beans, honey, and fresh fruits were tasty. Furthermore, the location and the view was amazing! They helped us book an olive oil museum tour which turned out to be nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views, great staff, good location, dated hotel, but likely best for the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little musty and dated- as an example, the tissues in the bathroom had mold growing on them.

    Staff was extremely helpful- great with calling cabs, and even called a doctor when I wasn’t feeling well. Ana was very sweet and helped answer questions, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Vintage House is new and sparkles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at rivers edge in a fabulously clean/new/friendly hotel was a vastly better choice for us than being isolated in a Quinta away from Pinhao!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    The Vintage House is a monument to comfort and elegance by the Douro river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant Rabelo was disappointing, and the breakfast wasn't as good as other 5 stars hotels.

    The grounds and the decoration are beautiful. Linen is very good and staff were attentions without being intrusive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Vinyard themed warm and charming 5 star property at superb location in Pinhao
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area is overall a welcoming space but the reception desk itself is slightly underdimensioned during peak check-in and check-out times. The concept is that guests can sit on the sofas ans sip on a glass of Portwine while the check-in is performed (nice), but when we arrived all staff were busy with other guests so it took a while until we were informed about the check-in procedure. Also the rooms were only ready at around 15:30 (note hotel check-in policy is 16:00). Considering the price level and the fact that many people might arrive with the 12:00 train, the property should consider adjusting its check-in policy to allow a check-in time of at least 14:00. The Restaurant did not live up to our expectation. For a property with such an outstanding location it is a pitty that the Restaurant does not have any view (however the terrace of the breakfast area does compensate this). But the price level of the Restaurant is very high for Portugal (main courses starting at around 30€) but the quality of the dishes does not match the price level (ingredients were fresh, presentation was adequate but taste and creativity were rather average).

    Superb Location overlooking the Douro river Our rooms were very spacious (Two Master Suites for two families - each with two younger kids), warmly decorated and with an amazing view from our balconies. Overall the property Meets the 5 star standard in terms of facilities, decoration and service. Historical Vinyard related decorative elements are nicely blended with a modern air. In summer the pool overlooking the Douro must be a real treat. Pinhao is a great hub for activities in the area (boat rides, visiting vinyards like the Quinta de Bom Fim accross the street that also offers a charming PicNic Service overlooking the Douro that can be booked through the hotel with an advance notice). We enjoyed arriving by train from Porto (great ride along the Douro - tip get to the station 20 min before departure and get seats on the right side going to Pinhao / left side on the reverse direction). There is a small hidden gate directly from the end of the train tracks at Pinhao train station to the property - charming and exciting for kids. We had arranged a Vintage Port opening ceremony (basically cutting the bottleneck using a heated metal ring instead of removing the cork) in the bar of the hotel. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar and also the ceremony (even though the cork did break during the ceremony - but that can happen - and the Port was still delicious).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Old world charm with a modern level of comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought prices in the restaurant were a little high, but we were able to eat from a limited choice of dishes in the bar.

    Nice room with great view. Very nice public areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in a scenic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, and especially the coffee...

    View is sensational ! Lovely staff and a great atmosphere and room. Walking everywhere and relaxing 😎

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and relaxing was worried about some negative reviews, but they were not right
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The step into the bathtub/shower is very high( as the bathtub is deep) there should be handle/bar on the glass wall to aid in stepping in and out( they had this in another hotel bathroom with similar tub) just for safety as well

    We booked a junior suite which was lovely, large and facing the river. The breakfast was very nice with excellent coffee. ( the best we had throughout Portugal) Location is wonderful if you are not driving, the train station is 5 minute walk away, as well as Symington winery with tour and shop also right next door. Fluffy towels, great water pressure for shower. The library bar is where we had light snacks with a wonderful atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    If travelling in Portugal, you absolutely must visit Pinhao & The Vintage House, Douro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Vintage House Douro was faultless, it could not be improved on!

    We loved the situation of the vintage House, right by the river with beautiful outlooks onto the river and the garden. Our welcome was superb, lots of information provided and also a glass of beautiful Ruby Port and a personal guided tour of our room and the hotel. We dined one night at the beautiful restaurant in the hotel which was a superb experience. The breakfast buffet at Vintage House was absolutely beautiful with endless choices of all the sorts of things we enjoy when travelling, fruits, yoghurt,eggs, great coffee etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful; thanks to KLM flight cancellation to Porto our stay was shortened, but not hotel's fault.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost perfect. Bed a bit soft, but not really a problem

    Lovely hotel. Midnight arrival, dining facilities closed, but staff arranged room service sandwiches

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Great views from a great hotel located in a beautiful region on the Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar accepted our cash payment but also processed a room charge for the same item. It felt like a scam as the bar man insisted we complete a room charge docket even though we had paid in cash. The hotel reversed the charge without a fuss.

    The view of the Douro from the bedroom balcony was wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay with great views and fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the decoration could have been better, but then it is a question of taste

    The building was very pretty, I particularly liked the gardens where you could have a drink and enjoy the views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    The hotel and restaurant are top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and restaurant are top notch. Far exceeded what we were expecting. We had a 5*+ dinner at the restaurant. Rooms were very large and had a great patio with chairs overlooking the Douro river. Excellent, excellent, excellent!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    $300 to stay in a poop cage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, and had a poopy diaper smell coming thru the vent. It was so pronounced when we came back from dinner, I would have changed rooms right then and there, but we were only there one night. And it was quite late; we were tired. Moreover, when I complained the next morning about the smell, it wasn't even acknowledged, no concessions, apologies, nada. I would not stay here again. The place relies on its supposedly dynamite location, but there are many others. Will not be back.

    The bed and linens were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice place perfectly locates in a pleasant little river town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to ask for a kettle. Kettle with tea bags and coffee & milk should be standard now in higher class hotels.

    Great breakfast. Nice room with - like all rooms - a river view. Perfect downtown location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    The ideal hotel stay in the Douro Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Elegant and very comfortable. Easy walking to several wineries (Quintas), convenient walk along the river to take a 1 or 2 hour river cruse. Hotel can make all the arrangements for you. If you're planning a visit in late fall, be sure and check on the hotel's annual "Harvest Party" with dozens of the best wineries participating!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Would not stay here again due to staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the reception staff are very impolite and arrogant - not offering the 5-star-hotel experience we were looking forward to. They could have provided more guidance on how to find the Quintas. The hosts of smaller establishments were much more friendly. The rooms are overpriced, you are paying mainly for the central location and infrastructure.

    The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Pinhao with a great view overlooking the river and hills. The interior design is worth a look but there is no need to stay in the hotel for that. They offered a breakfast buffet with the biggest range of fresh produce seen on this holiday in Portugal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    A fantastic hotel"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every room has a stunning view. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were lovely, the common areas were comfortable and beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall, a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu selection in the main restaurant could be expanded and I found the pricing to be quite expensive.

    Beautiful location. I particularly liked that all rooms looked over the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Exceeded our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have thought of everything! Only wish we could have stayed longer!

    The Vintage House offers an elegant stay with the highest quality in staff, rooms, view of the river, quality bedding, comfort, pool and garden, as well as dining options. All the meals we had at this hotel were excellent with gracious service. The helpfulness of the staff was unparalleled. Exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location facing Douro river
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are OK, but they need to improve plumbing and water tap (old in style and old in age). Restaurant food is good, staff is friendly, but for a 5 star I would expect a bit more.

    Nice Hotel with a great location and friendly staff. Excellent to enjoy Douro and a glass of wine facing the river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    a delightful and relaxed place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    yes, it's pricey but in this instance you do get what you pay for. The rooms have excellent views and are a good size. There is a lot of space in the hotel to relax in. The pool is well staffed and a good size. It is worth the effort of getting there and worth the money. A special place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Underwhelming, especially given the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of communication between Reception and Restaurant caused confusion over dinner reservation.

    Comfortable beds and pillows. Excellent dinner. Good breakfast (except the bacon). Great location, easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting, beautiful pool and comfortable room overlooking the Duoro. A stone's throw from Quinta do Bonfin for a tasting and it was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff doesn't speak good English, quite hard to manage things efficiently. Weak concierge services. No spa, no gym

    The master suites are of really generous size, great bathroom and amenities. Good breakfast selection. Great view and hotel location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel - our best Portugal experience so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Summer Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not keen on the Croft winery tour that was recommended - was short, brief and not too informative unfortunately. However, it was beautiful to get up higher into the vineyard as the view was fantastic from this vineyard.

    Outstanding service in an incredible property - couldn't fault it at all. Wish we'd stayed longer. Room was fantastic, breakfast, lunch and dinner services were fantastic. Pool was fantastic. Bar was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay. The hotel is beautiful and ideal base to experience the vineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from trains was very loud in the rooms as they passed. Fortunately, this is only a very occasional occurence and did not detract from our stay.

    Room are beautiful (even the standard rooms)and all overlook the river. Scenic location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at vintage house hotel were very accommodating. Nothing was a hassle for them. We caught the train to Pinhao from Porto. The location of this hotel makes the journey really convenient as it is located right next to the station! And there are a number of wineries within walking distance. The staff let us check in early when we arrived, and check out late so we're able to maximize our time in Pinhao and go direct from our hotel to catch the train back to Porto.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Stunning views, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great and attentive staff, do not hesitate to ask the reception for tour information. Lovely grounds, superb view of the vineyards and the river. Really good in-house restaurant, great quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Two nights of comfort in the Douro Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not come here for the nightlife in Pinhao - it does not exist. The choice of local restaurants, outside the hotel is limited and the hotel food was expensive, although I'm sure it would have been of high quality, like everything else about the hotel.

    We really enjoyed our two days in the Douro. This was primarily due to the unique feel of the area, its vineyards and scenery. The Vintage House is a classy establishment with great facilities (garden, pool, tennis, etc.). We really felt well looked after in a quality hotel. The property is wonderfully located on a bend in the Douro river, meaning you can sit on your balcony watching the river and its occupants go by. We were greeted with a glass of Port on our arrival. The staff were very welcoming and polite. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and good quality choices. Note - enter the car park just by the northern end of the bridge!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Feel totally relaxed, sad to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's such a relaxing place, with lots of opportunities to experience local life. We visited a local vineyard Quinta de la Rosa, and joined in with local people treading grapes, we had such a great time singing with such friendly happy people we would recommend this trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    The location and the athmosphere of the hotel is amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the athmosphere of the hotel is amazing, very comforting and relaxing. The decoration is very nice, the food is tasty and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    This hotel is just gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is just gorgeous. The staff is amazing too! they great you with a glass of Porto / Rosé. you are in front of the river. such a great stay. their breakfast was delicious and the service is just 5 stars!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    For couple getaway, young family unwelcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always felt like our kids were disturbing, it's a very quiet place so we had bad looks because of our young kids. Even the staff seem to be disturbed by us bringing kids there. I'd recommend this property to couples or family with kids above 12 years old. Honestly dispaointed by the feeling this place gave us on the family front.

    The view is breathtaking. The Porto is amazing. The Croft picnic was really worth it. The pool is pretty great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the beautiful grounds, the luxury staff and services. I loved that the hotel feels small and exclusive yet still friendly, quaint in feel and unpretentious. The outdoor spaces were gorgeous. I also loved the port upon arrival! We did a tasting menu at dinner, which blew us away. We still talk about it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent despite uninspiring staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Summer Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At check-in we really got a luke-warm reception. Staff's attitude generally uninspiring.

    Great location. Beautiful building and facilities and awesome view on river and surrounding hills.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    The Vintage House became a valued part of our vacation rather than simply a place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Summer Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were enthusiastic and appropriately proud of their hotel. The location and facility were lovely. The food and drink were delicious. We stayed two nights and will definitely return some day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Very nice stuff, good location, excellent view, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More facilities should be available for guests - like spa, family water attractions etc. Not much food possibilities around while a hotel restaurant is expensive

    Very nice stuff, good location, excellent view, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect wine-themed 5-stars hotel in amazing Douro valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not easy to find a way between the room and reception hall but works better after few walks. Hotel restaurant was pre-booked via reception but waiters in restaurant didn't find our reservation and simply refused to give us a table without any discussion.

    We celebrated our wedding anniversary and it was simply a perfect place! Great hotel with a clear touch of luxury located right in Douro valley - area of incredible natural beauty, next to the river, Pinhao town center and rail station (few direct trains to Porto daily) literally next door. Visit to Symington's Quinta do Bomfim was a great experience. As good as all Symington's ventures. Duty manager (worked around 10 pm on July 14) was extremely polite and helpful. He booked another very good restaurant next door for us after our reservation in hotel restaurant was denied. He also helped us to chose a great bottle of local wine and send a bottle of port wine and a bottle of olive oil as a gift to our room. We were really touched! Perfect spot for a romantic escape. We recommend it to all wine and landscape lovers!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great building, disappointing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was simply unacceptable, unworthy of such building. - Got stuck in the bathroom and staff took more than 10 minutes to come... faults can happen but response should be prompt and proper to a deluxe establishment as they attempt to be. Luckily for me I had my own mobile to call them, as there is no emergency possibilities inside. No apologies were given. - Check-in service was the worse I have had in a while, we were not briefed but simply escorted to our room. No information what so ever. - For whatever reason the hotel failed at communication with their own restaurant.. asked for dinner at the reception and we were told no availability, then we walked 50 meters to the restaurant where the answer was an "of course". The restaurant was half empty. - We unloaded, carried in our own suitcase as no one came around, we are young and healthy and we have no inconvenience but I bet this a mayor issue for older persons. The list goes on. The morning shift was clearly better than the afternoon staff.

    The building is grand! Old style but in very good shape. The views from the rooms are special as you can see the vineyards and the river from every balcony. Within walking distance from the hotel you can find Quintas to visits. I think the highlight is the possibility to visit the Quintas. I strongly recommend to visit Pinhao and visit Quinta das Carvalhas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    Stunning scenery, wonderful hotel. But they should be careful about the type of stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our departure was late, as it was a wedding night, was very bad that the receptionist not asked or offered breakfast. Was our honeymoon, were disappointed with the checkout.

    Wonderful hotel. The landscapes are magnificent. The receptionist who received us was very friendly. Bedroom, the bed and the cushions were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a unique part of the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster at breakfast - too small and taking too long to get toasts - and no spa.

    Fantastic hotel in a unique part of the world. Great dinner with plenty of chefs "surprises". My 10 year old sun wanted to leave a recommendation. The hotel didn't have a recommendations book so he wrote it on a piece of paper and left it at the reception. Among other things he said "its the best hotel in the world!" And he's been to other 5* hotels before.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Douro valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service is slow. Staff indifferent

    Excellent river view from room. Beautiful outside spaces and terraces. Interleading rooms - great when travelling as a family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Stunning location and great gardens/pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    Stunning location and great gardens/pool area. The room was nicely renovated with views across the river and the food and service in the restaurant were both great. A very memorable place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Exquisite wine valley hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an unpleasant issue with pool wait staff service.

    Lovely location with well appointed rooms with fantastic views of surrounding towns and landscapes. Easy walk to town, or hop on a boat to wander through the winding river, 10 minute walk to train station or just enjoy all that the property has to offer! Amazing breakfast was enough for the entire day. The property is worth an extra day just to simmer in Pinhão with vineyard walks, wine, port,and espumante tastings. Force yourself to leave and explore the fruits of the gorgeous valley.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location with a gorgeous view from the rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner wasn't as strong as we would have liked and it was quite humid in the room but this is to be expected in Europe.

    The location is fantastic. Every room offers a view of the river. We were on the ground floor and had a huge terrace. Other rooms had a small balcony. This was the perfect place to sit and enjoy the scenery. I didn't want to leave the terrace! The grounds are well maintained and breakfast was plentiful. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and really enjoyed our meal. The chef was able to cater to a vegan diet and prepared lovely dishes. We wish we would have stayed longer; I really didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    The most amazing hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very upper class place, so you must be ready to be among very upper class people. However, the hotel employees are fantastic and always make you feel welcome.

    Amazing hotel with a fantastic room, swimming pool and a truly luxurious feeling. Excelent for a relaxing time near the best wineries in Portugal. Best hotel breakfast I have ever had. Great hotel employees.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    A real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very slow service at dinner: the first night we booked the restaurant as it opened, at 7.30pm so that we could get our children to bed by around 10pm but we only got away from our table at 11pm, all feeling exhausted. We had planned on 3 courses: but actually 2 courses and no couvert (bread, olives, various amuse bouches), would have allowed for a more relaxing experience, without having had to harry the waiters. Also, for a very expensive restaurant, and a limited menu, we expected some changes to the menu, or at least the chef's little extra amuse bouches (quite a treat first time round - but too many of them - wouldn't have planned on 3 courses if we had realised how many amuse bouches would arrive), on the second night. Instead everything was identical. This was fine for the adults as there were enough good alternatives, but our children had eaten the only things on the menu they liked first time round, so were left a bit bored eating exactly the same meal on day 2. If we had known we would have only planned to eat in the restaurant on one night, as the library bar offered good alternatives, and there are plenty of decent cafes (much cheaper) elsewhere in Pinhao and nearby. However, it was good food, and in a perfect location, and for a couple, no children, eating in the restaurant on one night only, and not minding how late they finished, dinner at the Rabelo would have been a huge treat.

    Fab. Wonderful location. Beautifully decorated hotel. Elegant but not stuffy. Staff were truly helpful and very friendly, making you feel very welcome. They were sweet with our children. The room, (junior suite - 2 extra fold up beds provided for the children), was a delight, with amazing views. We took a river trip, and had lunch at Quinta de la Rosa nearby (very good), as well as lunch at the pool bar, and supper at the Rabelo restaurant in the hotel two nights - lovely terrace dining, and a beautiful indoor restaurant space too. Discovered "porto tonico" as a brilliant alternative to a G&T - not just here but at every restaurant we went to! Long list of wines and ports available at the restaurant and a helpful sommelier to offer guidance. Children loved the pool, and as the temperatures hit the high 40s we were all happy to spend a lot of time there, occasionally drifting off to lie in the hammocks strung between palm trees in the garden. There was a tennis court - although it was much too hot to use it. Quinta do Bomfim (Taylors) is just a few metres walk from the hotel, offering tastings and a tour of the lodge, and outdoors if you wanted to brave the heat. You could take the steam train from Pinhao station if you wanted, with the track running alongside the river. The vineyards are very beautiful to look at. The whole experience of the hotel and its surroundings was wonderfully luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    A really special stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely. It was my partners birthday and they sent some wine to the room for us and upgraded the room. It was beautiful. The view from the balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    A room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't advise it for people with reduced mobility (lots of stairs and corridors)

    Lovely atmospheric hotel in a landscape of breathtaking beauty.. Beautul gardens with hammocks to laze away the days. Swimming pool and terraces where you can take drinks/meals all have the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to say. The Rabelo restaurant was a little disappointing in options and beef came out undercooked.

    Great rooms and breakfast. A really nice property to enjoy a few days in the Douro Valley. Pool was a nice plus but we did not have time to use it unfortunately. Staff helpful and friendly. Very close to the train station so easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    You must stay here if visiting the Douro Valley!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!!!

    Everything!!!! What a stunning hotel. Felt like Royalty staying here, wish we could have stayed longer. It was my birthday whilst I was there and I could not have had a more romantic and special setting to celebrate. The view of the Douro River from the hotel is nothing short of spectacular. The gardens and pool area are perfectly maintained. What a wonderful two days!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.8
    Attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we arrive hotel at 12:00 ,staff ask us back after 3:00 for check in . We wait in looby from 2 :40 and lobby only us waiting for check in. Until 3:15 staff still ignore us , so I decide to ask her when we can check in , staff just say Ok you can check in now .I doubt that if I not ask her for check in , how long I keep waiting for check in after 3:00

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: