Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tivoli Marina Portimao 4 stars

Marina de Portimao, 8500-843 Portimão, Portugal

#13 of 24 hotels in Portimão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was extremely disappointing, don’t know how anyone can mess up a simple omelet. The swimming pool was filled with sea water.

    The staff were nice. Bed was comfortable, nice renovation touches to the room. The free parking was a nice touch as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    had wedding here and would recommend it for same or for family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 7 nights

    couldn't find fault with anything in the hotel

    stayed here for my sons wedding and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and cooked while you wait. beds and towels changed everyday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    This hotel is very beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very beautiful! Check in was perfect. Receptionist Edgar was extremely pleasant and very helpful! View at the breakfast area is stunning. Food is good. I think Tivoli is the best choice to stay in Portimão!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware of movie Channels as they charge $10E per movie even if you just click into it. Grandfather was not aware and got charged for three unwatched movies.

    Location was great. Lovely walks through the marina and beach. No lifts though, so if mobility a problem ask for ground floor. They upgraded for grandparents to have a ground floor which was great. Rooms where clean and house keeping was wonderful everyday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Beautifull city and beaches in the area but very bad experience with this "4 stars" hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Beach One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was deeply desapointed. Although price very high per night, the service (personnel not very helpful, not professionnal: my conversation with the front desk during the check in was regularly stopped due to replies to phone calls at the reception ), the installations (no internet), dirty (dust & mosquitos blood spread on walls), We even found broken glass on the floor (risk of injuries), bed not very confortable (we had to put our mattress on the floor). A very bad experience for a high price.

    The area (near the beach)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Like the quiet & view of the Marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to argue for a double bed which i had booked & it was abailable.

    Like the quiet & view of the Marina. The location good for beach & cafes. Great size pool & free carpark. Giod breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Amazing time will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negatives I can report. The only thing is we arrived early in the morning and had to wait around until after 2 to check in

    Brilliant location, very very clean, sun beds anytime of the day around the pool. Breakfast was amazing, staff helpful and friendly. Great nights sleep due to comfort of beds. Could not fault this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Ideally situated comfartable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Rooms clean and spacey, excellent choice at breakfast and plenty of staff on hand, location is great. The rooms are set around the marina, you can be picked up from your room to go to the restaurant or just enjoy the walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    i would come back - it is my second visit anyhow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bar drinks too expensive 5 euros for a beer- alot of people took their own drinks to the pool

    the whole environment and the tranquility quality of food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location to stay at, highly recommend the Studio beach rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a washing machine for self laundry given that it's a studio!

    The rooms were awesome! Very spacious, hall, dinning, and bedroom. The location was beautiful, close to the beach and many restaurants near by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant marina-side hotel set up for longer stays (kitchenette).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 1 night

    We left very early and although they had prepared breakfast boxes the security guard could not wake up the night manager. It caused us delays including getting to the airport late. Also the North building is the least desirable one. There is a long travel around from the main building to near the North building.

    Beautiful city along the beach. Worth getting over to Alvor area to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was lovely and would return to a beach apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Beach One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Layout of breakfast food area. Egg station worst i have ever known. Fry each egg separately and so long queues. Coffee machines tucked away and cause more confusion as queue gets in the way of people trying to get to the cold breakfast offerings. Madness. Hot breakfast not special really,cold foods are better. Pool water too cold.Very poor storage in apartment. Poor wardrobe doors and patio doors. Not working smoothly. More patio furniture might be nice,

    Great pastries and cold breakfast foods. Good bed and linens and towels etc. Lovely space in apartment and nice terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    The staff throughout the hotel were extremely good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of storage space,no easy chairs had to sit on garden chairs when watching television very uncomfortable

    The beds were very comfortable liked the nesspresso coffee machine although 2 euros per pod expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Praia da Rocha, Portimão. I will return, and often.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My initial room was in the further “block” from the complex but I ended up changing rooms.

    The views were spectacular. The staff couldn’t do enough for you. The breakfast was the best of any hotel in the area (this was my 6th visit to Praia da Rocha, Portimão). Rooms were very clean and spacious, with a great balcony space. The bed was extremely comfortable. The rooms all have Nespresso machines (use of pods is chargeable). The pool is the biggest I have seen at a hotel and is freshwater. Stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff was super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was super nice! At first we had a room with a very noisy neighbor, we informed the staff about this at the desk and they gave us without questioning another room. The breakfast was also perfect. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is at a great location for beach views and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and couches in rooms could be a bit more comfortable.

    The hotel is at a great location for beach views and activities. And the food at the restaurant was very good. Overall, the property is nice and and great for walking and by far was the in the nicest part of Portimão.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    In the words of Arnie, I’ll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better, but that’s purely a preference thing. Nothing wrong with the food at all, just not to my taste.

    The apartment was very clean, tidy and comfortable. I thought it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Heaven on a marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit of a hike from our room to breakfast but I don't take that as a negative.

    What's not to like! It's a beautiful complex with very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Food was delicious and staff amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was delicious and staff amazing. Could not fault it. We were there as part of our pre wedding visit and everyone was so lovely we are really looking forward to our wedding in June. Could not fault the hotel from the beginning to the end of the trip!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    3 star not 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work on pool not notified about ..noise from it and the roof was being replaced with more areas cordoned off Telephone not working Tv on and off Bit more info from reception instead of out of date leaflet

    Lovely breakfast Hard working ..attentive and very pleasant restaurant staff Comfy bed Nice room and view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    We had a slight issue with the rooms we book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a slight issue with the rooms we book. Once the manager was aware of this it was immediately resolve with impeccable results. We are getting married in June at this hotel and look forward to great service from this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    The views from the restaurant are spectacular and all staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little too far from the bars and restaurants and the actual hotel site is very large and not really suitable for anyone with reduced mobility. The buggy system to the marina is very necessary and was most welcome.

    The views from the restaurant are spectacular and all staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Really nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the room are strange. Really. Who would put a few spots in the living room! More lights please! If you are going to be there for a longer time, it would be handy if you have proper cookware to make sometimes your own lunch. Anyway we like to come back again.

    Really nice place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel Tivoli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late evening & the apartment was very cold. Took ages to warm up, but it was January!

    Lovely location. Very nice apartment. Good value for money. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Convenient parking, excellent staff but thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thin walls, we were given a room we could hear everything from the next room so we requested to be moved. The next room was ok for the first night as we did not have neighbours but the next 2 nights were the same, can hear everything from the next room so it was hard to sleep. but overall, I would still rate it highly.

    Excellent service by the staff and convenient spacious underground parking. Good value for money with breakfast included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    The accomodation was grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were told we were being upgraded but that was untrue as Tivoli Marine Sun apartments were closed down for the winter. The were loads of ants in the bathroom. I didnt find the staff at reception much help. We arrived late at night and I asked about milk for a cup of tea and I was told I might get it from room service. There were very few places nearby which were open to get something to eat.

    The accomodation was grand. It was clean and the beds were comfy. There was tea and coffee making facilities with coffee tea and sugar but no milk. the views in the Marina were fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Location for this hotel is amazing, right next to Tivoli...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location for this hotel is amazing, right next to Tivoli Marina - view is breathtaking. Very close to beach, restaurants. Staff very helpful and will answer all your questions and will gives nice recomendation what to see in near places.Breakfast exellent. Hotel on the list for coming back when in Portimao. Thank you for such a nice stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect for a short Autumn break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drains around walkway near the pool.Easy to step into in dark and take a fall. This was the way to the restaurant and bar from accommodation.

    Breakfast had lavish selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location, beautiful place!
    • Couple
    • Classic Beach One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a one bed apartment which cost over €500 for 3 nights and when we got there it was 2 single beds pushed together with single sheets and blankets made as 2 beds when they where pushed together one was higher than the other and separated easily....not exactly comfortable!!!

    Loved the location, loved the view, staff lovely, loved the lay out of everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though the locations is worth 5 stars, the way the room looked is worth 3 stars maximum. There were pieces of the wall missing in our hotel room and in the bathroom, the toilet seat had a crack in it (it's not difficult to have it changed) and the overall aspect of the bathroom looked very used and suited for a 4 star hotel... and not for the money we paid to stay there. The only thing lacking for us at breakfast was an espresso. You could only have one if you paid for it. The rooms there aren't exactly cheap, so maybe some details like this can be taken into consideration.

    The staff was great. Everyone was very polite and always ready to help make your stay better. The breakfast was awesome. The view to the marina is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Excelllent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Beach One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could find no areas that need improvement. We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions because we think it's the best in Praia da Rocha

    Lots of choice for breakfast. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    It was excellent great weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one occasion the room was no done probably mistake on behalf of the cleaning staff which was later rectify

    A large property excellent idea with golf buggy to take you around within the resort and also to restaurants nearby the resort thanks to the staff of the resort excellent service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    comforable hotel,wonderful staff but needs a hub for guests to relax, have a drink and meet others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel lacked a central hub eg comfortable, inviting bar area to relax ,enjoy and meet other guests Noisy maintenance around the pool area nearly every day Pool water was freezing cold

    I enjoyed the marina location and closeness to beach. I liked room with comfy bed,fridge, hotplate & microwave oven I loved the dining room and excellent food and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, great location with a perfect setting for long lazy breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor could do with being smartened up. Kitchenette is not fully stocked sufficiently.

    Breakfast setting was overlooking the marina, beautiful. Staff were very friendly. Hotel is very quiet- perfect for sleeping babies.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The view. The friendly helpful staff, they were amazing. The excellent buggy service with lifts to the beach and anywhere else we needed to go around the complex. So welcome when the legs are tired & it's too hot to walk ! The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.2
    stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast, staff, location, helpfulness.

    rooms nice and clean - thats the only positive. breakfast poor, staff poor, amenities very poor, location poor. Everything was made difficult by the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Great to rest and just "shut down" for a few days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall the cleanliness was great, but I found a smudge or two in our duvet cover, that just shouldn't be there (regarding it's a 4 star hotel).

    The staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. The breakfast is great and with a lot of options. We stayed up north - the quieter quarter of the hotel. We had a pool right next to our bedroom, and everything was peaceful and quiet, great for rest. The buggy transportation service is a great feature that makes distances to the center a lot shorter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 10 nights

    An awning or shade over the balcony would have been good.

    It was all good. Lovely location and view over the marina, little walk to breakfast (although you could get a lift on a golf buggy), so fulfilled the government's requirement that we take a walk every day! Room cleaning good. Breakfast good. Reception staff helpful. Away from the noisier main street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Pool very salty that my first time in pool with salt and it affect my lip swollen when swim under water. Beer is 5 euro rip off. There shop/bar opposite hotel on beach is 1.50-3 euro. Food, ice cream very expensive. Pool snack bar very slowly serve. Took 15min each person. My wife two rings was missing from room. We clearly know where she put it. We cannot finger point at cleaner as no proof, hotel did offer police but what will they do? NOTHING. Next time dont leave your stuff belong open put all in safety deposit. Hotel very expensive for Bed and Breakfast.

    Hotel Good in excellent location but nightlife,shop,bar/resturant is on top of cliff you will need go up by stair very long stair walk up. Staff very friendly. Overall all of resturant we went different each night cannot fault the food it been excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    The beach is very closed to Tivoli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its was the last flat in the port. Next to the apartment was a big disco, we cant sleep at nights,beauce it was very very loud (the windows was closed).

    The beach is very closed to Tivoli. In the apartman was 2 bathroom,it was perfect. The terace was big and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.0
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of breakfast at buffet Lack of staff Asked for an iron 3 times over 2 days before it arrived Golf buggy never arrived Rooms dirty Pool dirty Air con broke Broken shower head

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    A wonderful hotel and staff very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wifi could have been better.

    We loved the breakfast and all the lovely fresh fruit. Staff also make omelettes/fried eggs/waffles to order each morning. Hotel is just a short walk to the beautiful beach of Praia de Rocha.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Big appartement with big rooms and a nice patio looking out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There weren't that many chairs at the pool, if you arrived in the middle of the day you had to look closely to find a seat.

    Big appartement with big rooms and a nice patio looking out on the harbour. Airconditioning. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel town too commercial ⚚
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a bar/tapas bar in the underused reception area of our block open in the evening.

    The position of our rooms was perfect away from the main building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Overpriced but beautiful spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. We had a great time with big group which made our holiday. If we had been just with our own kids we would have struggled to have enough to do for them. Over priced for accommodation, lacking facilities, dated apartment, small bedrooms.

    The location is fantastic with being walking distance to the beach and restaurants, and access to ferraguda by water taxi. The view over the marina is beautiful also and quite unique. The pool area is nice, although it would be nice to have more pool areas throughout the very spread out complex and more sun loungers and more children's facilities. We had a 2 bed beach apartment For 2 adults and 4 kids. Room 277. I would avoid the 2beds and rooms from around 250 unless you absolutely need the space and are a sound sleeper as they are opposite blanco beach club which plays loud music every night until 3am. They are also far, 5 min walk, from the pool and breakfast area which is a real pain if you want to pop back for something. The room itself Has an amazing and huge roof terrace with sun lounger and chairs and with marina view to one side and partial beach on the other side. We unfortunately couldn't use it as we felt nervous having our kids up there. The living area was very spacious which made it good for using the sofa bed, although the bedrooms were a bit cramped with little space for cases and putting away clothes for our group. Not enough drawers, shelves or hangers. There was a shared bathroom and an ensuite. The ensuite shower was more or less unable to be used due to the design of the shower curtain flooding the floor. The whole apt felt quite tired and needing an update. The cleaners came every day and did a very good job. We had a great time on a large group family holiday but I definitely felt the place was very overpriced for the standard of the accommodation. We paid €2300 for 7 nights B&B. You are purely paying for marina location I believe. Praia da Rocha itself has a huge, beauful, very busy sandy beach. The main strip is very touristy and quite tacky.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate shower curtains and unfortunately this hotel had it. Other than that, just minor flaws, there's some noise coming from a nearby disco but nothing that kept us awake.

    Exceeded my expectations! Staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, confortable and had a beautiful marina view. We didn't use the pool but it looked really nice and not overcrowded. Morning breakfast was very busy but the terrace overlooking the sea/river was amazing and breezy. Underground parking was great and location too. The best part for me was the 5' boat trip to Ferragudo, if you have dinner in a particular restaurant it's free! We didn't enjoy the restaurant and used again the small fancy ferry the next day and had to pay 6€ each, I think it's way too expensive but the others restaurant we went to was worth it. I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor beds, tired rooms and bathrooms, ants everywhere. Needs investment. Towels taken off my sun lounger by staffwhilst I was having breakfast after I went swimming - nowhere to sit all day. Not enough loungers or space by pool. Kids club is poor - just a very small room in a tin shed.

    Good breakfast, great location and view from the restaurant at the back overlooking the water.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice location but certainly not up to 4 star quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move rooms as we were on the door of a new nightclub with a licence til 6am, base was vibrating apartment (two bed apartments near beach) All air conditioning units leaked (in both apartments) Not enough shade anywhere! Hotel dated and in need of refurb 4 high chairs in restaurant, all broken and missing straps bar one

    Kids club staff were lovely Nice restaurant Good setting by harbour and beach Breakfast good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    Improvements required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling courtesy room.Breakfast chaotic and if staying in Marina Sun a ten minute walk to the main hotel.

    Room really comfortable. The location is outstanding and lovely view from breakfast and the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    ROOM SIZE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 6 nights

    RESTAURANT DINNER BUFFET WITH VERY POOR MAIN DISHES BUT VERY GOOD STARTERS + FRUIT + SWEETS

    ROOM SIZE FRIENDLY STAFF SWIMMING POOL BREAKFAST SWIMING POOL BAR CAR UNDERGROUND GARAGE

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    ROOM SIZE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 13 nights

    RESTAURANT DINNER BUFFET WITH VERY POOR MAIN DISHES BUT VERY GOOD STARTERS + SWEETS + FRUTS

    ROOM SIZE FRIENDLY STAFF SWIMMING POOL BREAKFAST SWIMMING POOL BAR CAR UNDERGROUND GARAGE

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Great break away near the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool Area on North side could use a little more attention keeping the area around the pool more clean and fresh

    Nice location central in Algarve, Spacious room with great view on Marina (studio, north) Easy accessible and free parking for cars

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only slight complaint was air conditioning unit in one of the bedrooms was leaking water - a staff member called after our second request, identified the problem and stated we needed a part. It wasn't fixed by the time we left - the dripping was so bad the bath towel we left underneath was completely wet in the morning. It wasn't in any way dangerous but really should have been sorted. I don't want to over-emphasise this problem as it didn't really have much of an impact on our holiday. Overall, I would strongly recommend.

    The staff were very friendly. The hotel was very well located close to the beach, marina and Portimao strip as well (although far enough away for a quiet evening)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    This hotel is located near the marina, which is also just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation. Some noice from the beach clubs at night (our room was quite close to the beach).

    This hotel is located near the marina, which is also just a short walk from the beach. They have golf buggies which will bring you and your luggage to your room. Rooms are of good size with a terrace but in need of renovation. The same applies to the pool area. The restaurant and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic holiday at a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked a better equipped kitchen with wine glasses and sharp knifes etc. Also an information pack. We had to find out that to use the safe you need a key from reception which you pay 10 euro deposit for. You need to keep the receipt to claim your money back. Also you need cards from reception to get beach towels from the pool attendant. You have to hand them back and receive the cards back to hand in to reception or else you are charged 50 euros per towel. Only knew about the availability of water taxi because saw it on reviews.

    We liked everything. Staff extremely helpful. We had a room overlooking the marina so it was lovely to sit outside in the evening. When we arrived a golf buggy took us down into the garage to show where to park nearest our apartment and then we were helped in with our luggage. The air conditioning was super efficient and the bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic as you could sit outside right by the marina with lovely views. Very fresh produce, something for everyone. Lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds although people were reserving them so it was good to see the pool attendant going around and removing some of the towels that had been there all morning without anybody using the pool. A very short walk away was a fantastic beach with lovely restaurants along the boardwalk. The first restaurant on the boardwalk was fantastic. Try their steak on a stone or cataplana. The hotel also has a water taxi to take you across the estuary. You get tickets from reception. Just 3 euros each way. This was a fantastic place and did not want to leave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Location excellent and peaceful at night time beside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress on the bed was quite hard to sleep on but that is my personal opinion comfort wise.

    Location excellent and peaceful at night time beside the marina. Staff were very friendly and professional, would recommend the hotel to suit any age group. Lots of choice at breakfast and omelettes freshly made while you wait for a minute or so which was really nice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baring in mind we were getting married in Portugal and they new as I had requested the hotel travel buggy to take my wife to the marina water taxi in her dress so she didn't have to walk there in the heat of the sun, they never once acknowledged the fact we were getting married. No congratulations, not even a flower or card in the room. Very disappointing for a hotel of this standard.

    Food was excellent, service was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent overall, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin bed/two put together is not the most comfortable. Proper double would be best but is a minor point as beds were in gener quite comfy otherwise.

    Excellent location, love the balconies of don't want to go to pool can still get the sun! Service was excellent with buggys to the door with baggage etc. Brekkie was good also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Very nice stay - would happily go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a taxi to go to the station or bus for Faro.

    Very nice to get an upgrade to a bigger room on arrival. Loved the two balconies overlooking the marina. Huge amount of space. Pool too cold to go in at our time of year - early May - but looked tempting. Staff excellent, as was the lemon drink in reception. The breakfast omelette was in my top 5 ever!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.8
    Great if you're looking for a calm place next to the marina, but far away from city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel, for being awarded with 4 stars does not offer unlimited free WiFi. Guests are required to fill a form, sharing personal data with the hotel in order to obtain so called "Premium WiFi". Also, the hotel premises seem to be built with EU Regional development funding. The mandatory plaque to an ounce this to the general public is tucked well away where indigenous people wouldn't notice it. The hotel is situated far from the town centre.

    The hotel staff is correct, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent choice for family stay in Portimao
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Deck One Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Internet connection was a bit confusing but stuff at reception fixed it for us and it was free of charge. Breakfast could have some more variety when you stay for 2-3 weeks, but i also appreciate it is difficult to arrange it for such an amount of people. But the above are just nice to have.

    We loved everything and definitely consider to go there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.0
    Dirty towels. Disappointed couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we had a appointment to meet Claudia to potentially book our wedding and she failed to turn up, she has of yet (3 days later) still failed to contact us. We travelled from ireland for this sole purpose.

    The view is spectacular

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved this hotel. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. I would give them a score of 100. Our room & view were perfect and the location was very peaceful. The breakfast was of a very high standard with different choices everyday including omelettes while you wait. We received champagne in our room for my partner's birthday. This hotel and all the staff exceeded our expectations & we highly recommend it. Thank you Tivoli for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was the distance to walk to get to reception - I liked the stroll but I would imagine this would be an inconvenience for some.

    South facing balcony with great views over the marina. Staff were warm and welcoming. Loads of choice at breakfast. Quiet location and good sized room with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    I was part of holiday part working.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a single thing to dislike...loved my stay here.

    I was part of holiday part working. This is a lovely hotel very close to the beach, lovely views of the Marina and spacious clean rooms. But what made it a fantastic hotel to stay was all the staff,hands down. Staff from porters (men on the doors who welcome you)to reception staff, to staff in the restaurant and catering. Everyone's service and attentive qualities made this stay exceptional for me. Travelling alone can be hard, but I was always made to feel welcome and no request too much to help with and they offered advice to help make all the difference to my experience. So friendly and full of smiles. The staff made my stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    Could not be better in Portimao.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portimao is not a beautiful city. AC/heating was necessary but the airflow was directed in direction of the bed.

    Nice room, nice view, good free wifi, very good breakfast, location, parking just under the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.2
    Very good value for money in the low season.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk outside to the restaurant. If it's raining and windy less pleasant.

    Good breakfast buffet.Nice view over de river from the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Location great, staff friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Please note the Tivoli Marina Hotel is split into 3 complex. The largest block is the Marina Deck which dissects the moorings. Marina Sun a smaller version is at the far end furthest from the beach & Marina Beach runs alongside the water & is nearest the beach. It uses Marina Deck facilities.

    Location great, staff friendly & helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast, & room comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    a real marina hotel - you don´t get much closer to the boats than at Tivoli Marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 1 night

    you had to sign up for the "Discovery - membership" that actually is free with no obligations, to get a free wifi in the room. But I am going to for my next stay at the Tivoli Marina. The lobby was great and had free wifi

    The staff were very helpful. And we were up graded to an appartement with two separate bedrooms. The price was so good that I forgot it was included breakfast. But we enjoyed our breakfast more privately at the nice balcony with view directly to the boats and the river and river banks on the other side. Nice area for small walks. Will certainly come back and stay longer next year - and remember to have my breakfast in the nice restaurant and try the big pool

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beach Two Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi, warmer pool would be nice in October

    The view at breakfast is what keeps us coming back. We have been here 5-6 times because its very handy for the beach and the surf shop. The larger appartments with a kitchenette can accommodate 3kids and 2 adults which gives more flexibility as regards eating in or out. There is balconey and a roof terrace. It had become a little run down by 2014 but we noticed that it had been spruced up and looked cared for again. The beds were also more comfortable and the breakfast quality had improved, but with the view a cup of tea would be enough to make me happy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Stay and watch the boats go by at the Marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV in room did not work and WIFI was patchy in the bedroom but worked in public areas.

    The view from the outdoor dining area across the Arade river towards the mountains was stunning. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel in an excellent location next to the marina and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio beach
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds are a little uncomfortable for me but other than that no problems at all.

    Excellent location with good facilities and good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    We liked the location and the food was very good, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of your tables in both dining areas were rather wobbly but no big worry

    We liked the location and the food was very good, excellent choices and the cakes were very light and tasty

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.0
    Rooms need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Sun
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con leaking on floor constantly with young 3 yr old in room not safe easy to slip on floor. freezer far to small furniture and facilities in room dated for the money paid when hotels close by a lot cheaper and very modern compared to rooms

    Close to beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Amazing week at Tivoli hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Deck
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything was perfect! the staff is very friendly, the location is great, the hotel is peaceful with a nice view on the marina, the breakfast is great. We had a 5 month baby and the staff really helped us providing everything we needed. Our baby lost his small spoon on the terrace between the slats and the waitress managed to find it. Thank you Simona! ;)

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tivoli Marina Portimao traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: