Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Torre Velha AL

Sesmarias - Praia Do Castelo, 8200-388 Albufeira, Portugal

#21 of 25 B&Bs and Inns in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 265 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our third year going to Torre Vehla, great location two minutes from a string of lovely sandy coves. Rooms clean and comfy, lovely views over the atlantic. Friendly staff and great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The seagulls are too loud when they are nesting :)

    You can see, hear and smell the ocean. The staff is like my family, they are kind, helpful and always smiling. Special thanks for the cleaning ladies :) If you want to escape from the turist buzz and chill in a quiet place, this is the one :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet is limited to the reception area and the TV in the rooms are old and the limited to only 2 English channels. The hotel has plans to improve this.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is quiet and close to the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of this hotel was perfect for me, you will find a lot of beautiful places around, good and big rooms with balcony or terrace, also swiming pool is available for guests

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location - it is far from the action and public transport is very poor!

    The balcony overlooking the sea, bedroom very comfortable. Nice bread rolls with cheese and ham for breakfast. Restaurant provided very nice meals decently priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Well where do I start? The location of the hotel is pretty poor. Ok there is a beach about 10 minutes walk down the road with one expensive taverna. The price of 2 sunbeds and an umbrella is ridiculous, so cheaper to actually buy a parasol and sit on the sand. There,s one small supermarket in the Hapimag complex, not much choice. Top of the road about 4 eating places. All rather pricy compared to Greece and Spain this year. The hotel itself is quite dated. The pool area has a small amount of sunbeds, no umbrellas though so no shade. Our room was quite small and the beds hard as rocks. Lumpy old pillows. Had to ask for a kettle which should have been supplied in the room. One small hole in the wall to hang clothes. Towels not changed once during our weeks stay. Extremely noisy occupants in other rooms who don,t know how to close a door without slamming it full force. My daughter and I paid roughly £400 for this room. What a rip off!

    The food was OK at the snack bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Umbrellas by the pool would have been nice as it gets very hot late afternoon. Air con in room essential as nights very hot and can't have balcony door open due to killer mosquitoes! More staff during busy lunchtime,as had to go to another snack bar after waiting for nearly 1 hr for someone to to come to our table in order to get a bite to eat!

    Food good value for money,very convenient snack/restaurant/bar by the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could include some yoghurt and fruit to give some variety.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good value for money with a basic room. Quaint,qwerky bar/restaurant environment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet setting between the main road and Castello beach. Bus to Gale or Albufeira on main road, 5mins from hotel. ATM and small supermarket 2mins away at Hapimag resort. Lovely room with seaview. Good value meals, daily dinner deal of 2 courses for €7, soup of the day plus main. Nice pool area and pleasant bar. Helpful staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We're returning clients and are happy with the basic breakfast but I think you need to make it very clear that the breakfast is a very basic continental breakfast and is the same every day - we overheard numerous complaints about the breakfast (although I must stress we are aware of the content and are happy with it)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable-was hard.

    Staff were friendly. Location was right next to the beach. It's only about 10 euros in a taxi to old town and new town. They let you store your luggage and have a shower after you have checked out before your flight.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above lack of English tv

    We have stated here many times and will be back again next year . My only issue would be no English channels only sky news apart from that we can't fault it

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything to fault, maybe updating their aircon as the fans in the room look pretty dated and not the best.

    Me and my fiance came to this hotel two years ago for a stay of 5 nights, we loved it that much we booked it again for 11 nights. Having much more time to explore, we found two separate private beaches down the road, both with a restaurant & bar which would look over the sunset, perfect for a cocktail! Beaches were beautiful, however, there was no water sports which we were dying to find. The hotels food was outstanding, couldn't fault any of our meals. Pleasant and friendly staff who would get involved in karaoke night, which would be absolutely seated out on a Thursday, great atmosphere. The pool is small but big enough, it was always quiet but then that depends the time you go. The hotel is out the way from everything, about €10 from old town and €13 to new town in a taxi. The hotel would phone you a taxi of a price €1 but taxi would be there in minutes. We loved the hotel because it was quiet and had everything you needed, there's a shop round from the hotel which has everything you need. Also a large hotel pretty much next door which has a supermarket. There's also a Spar about 15 minutes walk away which is handy. There was one day we had to find a pharmacy which ended up being a good 1.5 hours walk away, I'd suggest a taxi if you require one. There's several restaurants surrounding the hotel. Angies Bar and Scoobys do a great breakfast and lunch, as we never got up early enough for breakfast in the hotel. The room was standard, clean and small. Shower, hairdryer, aircon and a great little fridge. We had a good sized balcony and a small TV. We would deffinately recommend it for a chilled out holiday, we will be back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn down facilities and equipment. Everything is old and much of the room needs to be replaced. Also it's smelly, the bathroom has moho and you can only get wifi in the front door, if you are very tired you better sleep on the floor since the bed will give you a serious back ache.

    It's a 5 mins walk to get to the best beach in the zone a great restaurant on the same beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property is extremely dirty and the hotel does not change towels and never ever clean the room properly. There is very poor lighting in the room and in corridor. The cupboards are covered by a dirty curtain and the fan makes very loud noise. Breakfast is absolute rubbish and it makes a joke about B&B. Minimal wifi in the communal areas. Best to sleep in a tent on the side room than stay in this place

    They will book a cab for you

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Steep walk down to beach, but that seems to be the way with beaches in Portugal. Too far out the town to walk, no shops close by, but the reception were happy to call a taxi for you, quick and reasonably priced service.

    Amazing drinks gantry at bar plus astonishing 2,000 bottle whiskey collection, has to be seen to be believed. Lovely staff. Great location, lovely setting for just sitting by the pool and visiting the snack bar/restaurant. Would also definitely recommend Scooby's family bar with lovely deep swimming pool, just round the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean, bathroom ok, but no air conditioning and the ceiling fan was making cracking noises, we had to switch it off, so it was hot... Matress not too good either

    Location is great, staff friendly, the bar area and the pool area good, the fridge in the room very handy in summer

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu isn't great and beds are a bit too firm, quite hard actually!

    The location and hotel are lovely, staff are fantastic and it's spotless clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area is far from any attraction. breakfast was dull.

    Reasonable place to stay. not more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast & the lighting in the bedroom

    The staff make the place a home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from places

    Very good place for solo traveller Very homely spot. Nice beaches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, small fridge, no kitchen.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could do with a little updating English Channel on tv would be good

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Highly recommend this hotel. Very quaint, clean and comfortable. Its best feature are the staff who are so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was as described so really there was nothing to dislike

    Exactly as described

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people on the reception. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pulizia molto carente/ room was not very cleaned and they don't change towel all days

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bus service to/from Albufeira - no sun lounger on private terrace

    Size of room and balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi works only in the reception

    Lots of games, a huge bar and nice people. Very beautiful beach nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi is very weak in the rooms. Good in the hall.

    Very nice sea view Nice staff Strategic location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard

    The homeliness and friendliness of the hotel and staff the food at the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I just love this area of Portugal have been going for the last 10 years hotel is perfect for couples going for a long weekend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not fault.

    Warm relaxed and felt risk/worry free. Extra helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi is only reception

    This hotel is very nice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service was always late about 2 pm when most of the people shower have lunch and have the siesta...

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable. There was no proper air conditioning. Facilities were very basic.

    It was cheap and only had to stay one night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine for our requirements and the price we paid so would not have expected it to be any better.

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it

    Overpriced rooms and staff didn't smile much , not a 4 star

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It is time that toaster was replaced !!

    Great staff, peaceful location and good value for money on food and drink

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stopped here for the night during a walk from faro to carvoeiro - a real gem - friendly staff and atmosphere. Room was large and had everything you would need lovely big bar area and nice space by pool to relax with a drink - staff welcoming and made you feel at home - food basic and excellent - fantastic value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We with my husband spend a splendid week in this place, location is perfect, close to the large beach, warm and helpful people are working there, very good restaurant in the hotel and we had a great view at the sea from the balcony of our room. No doubts we will return there!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    door handle broken, room unwelcoming, food very poor standards

    beds ok, pool 0k, chamber maids brill

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything, I go to torre velha every year

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    minimalist room TV from past century

    support given to bicycle travelers

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the area and the staff are excellent. The handyness of the beach to the hotel & the local resturants.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi in room

    Nice holiday feel

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi worked only in the lobby

    Location and value.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Loved all of it

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: